

Salvage Inspection Fee Application



Date Special Title Unit RF: Vehicle I D. No. P.O. Box 017 Trenton, NJ 08666 Year, Make, Model 609-292-6500 ext. 5063 Salvage Title Control No. PLEASE PRINT Proper delivery depends on a complete address. Owner Name **Business Phone** Street Address Phone (Home and Cell) City, State, Zip Code Email NOTICE OF APPOINTMENT FOR VEHICLE IDENTIFICATION INSPECTION Your vehicle must be physically inspected to determine if it conforms to the vehicle description and identification as noted on the salvage title presently held by you in your name before a valid negotiable title can be issued by the Motor Vehicle Commission. NOTE: To comply with the Motor Vehicle and Traffic law (Title 39) of the State of New Jersey, YOU MUST tow your vehicle to the inspection site or obtain a 5-day temporary registration at your local Motor Vehicle Agency. If you are a dealer, dealer plates may be used. CHECK INSPECTION SITE BLOCK: Time: **Phone Numbers Email Addresses** Fee Paid (clerk's initials): □Eatontown, 109 Rte. 36W 732-217-2560 MVC.SalvageAsbury@mvc.nj.gov \$200.00 (\$100.00 Motorcycles ONLY) (NON-REFUNDABLE AND EXPIRES IN ONE □Secaucus. County Ave. and 551-220-2241 MVC.SalvageWestfield@mvc.nj.gov Secaucus Rd. YEAR.) Winslow, 550 Spring Garden Rd. 856-249-0149 MVC.SalvageWinslow@mvc.nj.gov **NO CASH – CHECK OR MONEY ORDER ONLY IMPORTANT** All paperwork **must be emailed** to the inspection site and reviewed/approved before an appointment for inspection can be made. The inspection will take approximately one hour. You may **NOT** observe the inspection of your vehicle. Do NOT bring children with you. Failure to appear for your scheduled appointment will result in forfeiture of your inspection fee unless you request a rescheduling at least 5 working days prior to the above date. If you are late for the scheduled appointment, you also forfeit the inspection fee and must reapply. COMPLETE THE INFORMATION BELOW AND BRING TO INSPECTION SITE Previous Owner's Name Street Address City, State, Zip Code **VEHICLE CONDITION - CHECK ALL THAT APPLY** ☐ Vehicle Identification Plate Missing, Altered, or Defaced **MAJOR COMPONENT PARTS REPLACED** ☐ Frame – Must Surrender Title if Available □ Engine ☐ Transmission □ Roof ☐ Decklid Tailgate or Hatchback ☐ Cowl ☐ Hood or Front End Assy. ☐ Door(s) ☐ Front or Rear Fender(s) or Panel(s) ☐ Shock Tower or Apron ☐ Front or Rear Bumper(s) □ Other (specify) ☐ Assembled Items: Nose (Fenders, Hood, Bumper, Radiator) ☐ Short Clip (Rear Clip Without Roof) ☐ Front Clip (Cowl. Frame Section, Shock & Apron Structure) ☐ Rear Clip (Rear Sheet Metal, Frame, Section, Roof) Receipts for parts replaced must accompany the salvage title when emailing documents for an inspection appointment. The identification number of the vehicle they were removed from must be on the receipt. Also required: before & after color pictures and work order. CONSENT FOR INSPECTION OF VEHICLE IDENTIFICATION NUMBER I certify the information on this application is true and consent to have the identification of my motor vehicle verified by employees or authorized representatives of the State of New Jersey. This verification may include the removal of parts. Signature of Owner: For the regulations pertaining to Salvage Certificate of Title (N.J.A.C. 13:21-22.1. et seq.), please visit our website at www.njmvc.gov/biz





Salvage Inspection Information and Instructions



Inspection Services Enhanced I/M Unit P.O. Box 680 Trenton, NJ 08666

IMPORTANT: Follow salvage inspection instructions below AFTER a New Jersey Salvage Certificate of Ownership has been issued and you wish to have the vehicle repaired and subsequently inspected.

If the salvage inspection is passed and all requirements are met, the vehicle will be eligible to be converted to an operable salvage title.

Note: The inspection may take one hour. You may not observe the inspection. DO NOT bring children.

Below is a detailed list of requirements for a salvage inspection. All documents must be emailed to your preferred inspection site and reviewed/approved before an appointment for inspection can be made. If you have any questions, please visit our website at www.njmvc.gov or contact the inspection site directly (specialty site information listed on Page 1).

- 1. Photographs before and after repairs are required. After a new owner of a salvage motor vehicle takes possession of the vehicle, the <u>first</u> step is to take color photographs of the vehicle. The photos must be clear and cannot cut off any portion of the vehicle. These photos must include the following:
 - At least 1 photo of the entire front and left side of the vehicle (before and after repairs).
 - At least 1 photo of the entire rear and right side of the vehicle (before and after repairs).

Note: If repairs were started before pictures could be taken, a damage report from your insurance company is required. This report will substitute only for the before photos. It is the responsibility of the current owner to obtain a damage report. The NJMVC cannot provide this information to Salvage Inspection customers.

2. <u>Bill of sale</u> is required for each *major component part used in the reconstruction, rebuilding, or repair of the vehicle. Each bill of sale must include the name and address of the buyer and seller, the date of purchase, and the sale price of the part. Whether **New** or **Used**, part(s) must contain the following:

If **new parts** are used, the bill of sale must contain a description of the part and the part number. If **used parts** are used, the bill of sale must contain the following:

- A description of the part.
- The date the part was dismantled or removed (if applicable).
- The name and address of the person or business that removed the part.
- The year, make, model, and the vehicle identification number (VIN) from the vehicle the part was removed from. If the VIN is not available, you must supply a statement from the part(s) seller as to why the VIN is not available.
- 3. <u>If used, *major component parts</u>, the full and correct VIN from the vehicle(s) which parts were removed is required. All VIN's must be listed on the next page of this form.

**ALL required documents listed in this packet MUST be emailed to your preferred inspection site for review and approval BEFORE an appointment for inspection can be made.

Westfield: MVC.SalvageWestfield@mvc.nj.gov Eatontown: MVC.SalvageAsbury@mvc.nj.gov WWinslow: MVC.SalvageWinslow@mvc.nj.gov

*MAJOR COMPONENTS ARE DEFINED AS:

- Engine
- Transmission/Transaxle
- Front Bumper
- Rear Bumper
- Each Front Fender
- Hood/Engine Cover
- All Doors Front, Side and Rear
- Each Quarter Panel
- Decklid, Tailgate, Hatchback
- Roof (Including T-Tops)
- Cowl
- Frame

ASSEMBLED ITEMS ARE DEFINED AS:

- Nose (Fenders, Hood, bumper, Radiator Support)
- **Front Clip** (Cowl, Frame Section, Shock and Apron Structure)
- Rear Clip (Rear Sheet Metal, Frame Section)
- Short Clip (Rear clip without Roof)





Salvage Inspection Information and Instructions



4. Email your preferred inspection site attaching copies of your NJ Salvage Title, OS/SS-3 "Salvage Inspection Fee Application" WITH RECEIPT OF PAYMENT, and all other required documents listed below. You will receive a confirmation email containing a record ID number. Upon review and approval of your documentation, you will be notified that you may call the inspection site to make your appointment. When you call for your appointment, you will need to provide the record ID number as a reference. You may be requested to bring documents to your appointment as well. In accordance with NJAC 13:21-22.10(f), cancelling an appointment must be done at least five days prior to the appointment. If you are late or miss your scheduled appointment, your inspection and fee will be forfeited, and you must reschedule the inspection. The inspection fee is non-refundable and expires in one (1) year.

5. Required documents for your inspection:

- The NJ Salvage Title issued in your name.
- Your copy of the OS/SS-3 attached to the NJ Salvage Title.
- Your receipt of payment for the OS/SS-3 "Salvage Inspection Fee Application."
- Bills of sale for each major component part used.
- Before and after color photographs (Damage report if no before photos).
- Work order showing all repairs made.
- VIN numbers of new and used parts, with detailed description of work performed on work order.
- If flood vehicle, a damage report from the insurance company is required.
- If theft recovery vehicle, a theft report from the law enforcement agency which recovered the stolen vehicle is required (NJAC 13:21-22.15(b)3).

COMPONENT PARTS Vehicle Identification Number (17 Digits) Engine Transmission Frame LF Fender RF Fender Hood LF Door RF Door LR Door RR Door FR Bumper R Bumper L Quarter Panel R Quarter Panel Decklid/Hatchback Tailgate Cargo Box/Pickup Bed Truck Cab Body-Car Air Bags Misc.





Salvage Photos



The Motor Vehicle Commission requires before and after photos of the vehicle. These photos must clearly show all four sides of the vehicle. The requirements and restrictions of the photos are as follows:

- The vehicle must be clean and free of any debris or snow.
- Color photos are required.
- Photos must be clear.
- Photos cannot cut off any portion of the vehicle.
- Photos must be standard size or larger (2 1/4 X 4 1/4).
- Polaroid photos are acceptable.
- Photo quality paper is required if pictures are self-printed.

NOTE: If you do not have before photos, you must contact the previous owner. If you are unsuccessful in obtaining acceptable before photos, a damage report from the insurance company is required. It is the responsibility of the current owner to obtain the damage report. This will only substitute for the before photos.



A, B, & C are all acceptable photos

D is an unacceptable photo and will be rejected because the rear bumper is cut off.

E & F are acceptable photos. This is an example of taking a photo that captures two sides of the vehicle in a single picture.

G is an unacceptable photo because it does not show the entire vehicle (top is down).

If you have any questions, feel free to contact any one of the following Salvage Inspection sites:

Eatontown: (732) 217-2560 109 Rte. 36W, Eatontown 07724 MVC.SalvageAsbury@mvc.nj.gov Secaucus: (551) 220-2241
County Ave. and Secaucus Rd., Secaucus 07094
MVC.SalvageWestfield@mvc.nj.gov

Winslow: (856) 249-0149
550 Spring Garden Rd., Winslow 08095
MVC.SalvageWinslow@mvc.nj.gov

