

Business Licensing Services Bureau P.O. Box 170 Trenton, NJ 08666-0170 609-292-6500 ext. 5014 609-292-4400



Announcement All Initial Business License Applicants

The New Jersey Motor Vehicle Commission, Business Licensing Services Bureau (BLS) does not accept up-front license and registration payments (excluding application fees) with the submission of an initial business license application for the following license privileges:

- New and Used Car Dealers
- Special Category Registration and Plates
- Auto Body Shops
- Driving Schools
- Inspection and Emission Repair Facilities

A notification requesting payment of the license and registration fees along with proof of insurance and bond requirements will be sent after preliminary approval of all licensing requirements and a site inspection, where applicable. The wall license and license plates, if applicable, will be mailed to the licensed location once your payment is processed.

Your compliance with this policy is greatly appreciated. For further information on the initial licensing process, call 609-292-6500 x5014.

Note: Applicants for Auto Body and Private Inspection Facilities licenses must submit a \$20.00 application fee with their initial license application.







August 1, 2016

NOTICE TO ALL LICENSED NEW JERSEY MOTOR VEHICLE CONVERTERS REGARDING CONVERTER DEFINITION AND PLATE POLICY

The MVC has adopted the following industry standard definition of a "vehicle converter" as well as criteria for determining the number of "converter plates" (as defined under N.J.S.A. 39:3-18) for which a vehicle conversion company is eligible.

Industry Standard Definition for a Vehicle Converter:

"A company whose primary business is to assemble, install, or affix a body, cab, or special equipment to the chassis or substantially add or subtract from a previously assembled or manufactured motor vehicle." *Note: Accessorizing a vehicle by definition is not a conversion.*

License Plate Criteria:

Converter plates can be placed on any vehicles owned or controlled by the converter, but only if such vehicles are operated for shop, demonstration or delivery purposes.

Beginning on September 1, 2016, a vehicle converter must show proof of ownership or control of at least one vehicle over the previous twelve months as defined above in order to qualify for a set of "converter plates".

A vehicle conversion company holding "converter plates" and whose business does not show proof of ownership or control of a sufficient number of qualifying converted vehicles must contact the MVC's Business Licensing Services (BLS) unit for assistance. Failure to comply with this request may result in the proposed suspension of your converter plate registrations.

If you have any questions, please contact Business Licensing Services at (609) 292-6500 x-5014.



Business Licensing Services Bureau P.O. Box 171 Trenton, NJ 08666-0171 609-292-6500 ext. 5014

(Rev. 10/17)



Enclosed is copy of the applicable law, application and supplemental forms necessary to apply for Converter plates and registrations.

Each applicant for Converter plates and registrations must establish and maintain a permanent place of business in New Jersey. Said business must display an exterior sign, which reflects the business name and the facility must conform with all municipal requirements.

A certificate of insurance must be submitted which reflects liability insurance coverage in the minimum amounts of \$100,000/\$250,000 bodily injury and \$25,000 property damage and the total number of plates that the policy will cover. The certificate holder must read as follows:

NJ Motor Vehicle Commission Business Licensing Services Bureau P.O. Box 171 Trenton, NJ 08666-0171

During the licensing process, all correspondence between the New Jersey Motor Vehicle Commission and the applicant, will be mailed to the applicant's business address.

The fee for issuance of the registrations and one set of five license plates is \$257.50. A notification requesting payment of the registrations and plates fees will be sent after preliminary approval of all licensing requirements and a site inspection, where applicable.

If you have any questions, please call (609) 292-6500 ext.5014.

Sincerely,

Business Licensing Services Bureau





OF THE STATE OF TH

Business Licensing Services Bureau P.O. Box 170 Trenton, NJ 08666-0170 609-292-6500 ext. 5014 609-292-4400

APPLICATION FOR BUSINESS LICENSE FOR OFFICE USE ONLY License No. ____ Date Reg. No. Fmail EIN#_____ Approved by _____ The undersigned hereby applies for the license(s) checked in Part 3 and submits the following certified statement: Name of Business (if corporation, corporate name) **Business Phone** 2. Please Check Trade Name Corporation ☐ Partnership Proprietorship Other **Business Address** 3. Please check appropriate box for applicable license: City Zip Code County ☐ Leasing Company ☐ Driving School ☐ Private Inspection Facility ☐ Fleet Inspection Facility ☐ New & Used Motor Veh. Dealer ☐ Used Motor Veh. Dealer All applicants please provide the following information and attach copies ☐ Auto Body (Limited) ☐ Auto Body (Full) ☐ Auto Body (Sublet) of proof thereof: Special Category Registration (Select one from options below) NJ Sales Tax Identification Number ☐ Auction ☐ Boat Dealer □ Converter ☐ Finance ☐ Insurer NJ Unemployment Registration Number ☐ Manufacturer ☐ Non-Conventional ☐ Transporter □ Leasing Federal Employer Identification Number ___ Complete the following for proprietor, partners or corporate officers: Title Home Address Telephone Number Name Have the owners, partners or officers ever been arrested, charged or convicted of a criminal or disorderly person offense in this or any other state? ☐ Yes If ves. explain: □ No Has any current or prospective partner, officer, director, other controlling person, or employee of the applicant previously held a license issued under the authority of the Commission or any other state, which license was suspended or revoked and never reinstated?



Yes

Give name and address of person





7.	Do the owners, pri	ncipals, partners or officers now hold, or have they e	ver held, any of the licenses listed in #3 or in any other jurisdiction?					
	Yes If yes, please provide the type of license(s), license number(s) and jurisdiction(s) and dates of licensure:							
	□ No	□ No						
8.	Have the license(s) provided above ever been suspended or revoked in New Jersey or any other jurisdiction?							
	☐ Yes	Yes If yes, explain:						
	□ No							
9.	Does this business have a subsidiary company or a parent company?							
	☐ Yes							
	□ No	No						
10.	Have the owners, partners or officers, agents or employees of your organization ever used an alias or been known by any other name?							
	☐ Yes							
	□ No							
11	_	older own more than 10% of the corneration's stock?						
11.	Does any stockholder own more than 10% of the corporation's stock? Yes If yes, give name, address and holding:							
	□ No	in yee, give hame, address and nothing.						
	□ NO							
	Diago of Incorporatio	on / Formation	Attach copy of the Certificate of Incorporation/Formation					
	Place of Incorporation / Formation		which has been filed with the N.J. Secretary of State.					
	Date of Incorporation/Formation		Foreign Corporations must submit a copy of their Authorization to do business in New Jersey as a Foreign					
			Corporation in addition to a copy of their corporate or formation papers.					
	Date of authorization	nto do business in New Jersey	ioimation papers.					
13.		Does the location for which you seek a license, or seek to renew a license, comply with all State and local laws, ordinances and regulations concerning the activities permitted by this license?						
	☐ Yes	uvides permitted by this needisc:						
	□No							
14.	The applicant cert	The applicant certifies all information contained herein is true and agrees that any untruthful representation and any violation of the applicable						
	statutes and regulations promulgated by the Commission shall be reasonable and proper grounds for license suspension or revocation and may subject the applicant to administrative, civil or criminal penalty. He/She further agrees to notify the Commission immediately of any change							
	in the status of the business or of any other information which would change the answers and statements in this application or supplement thereto.							
15.	Lam and will cont	inue to be in compliance with all State and local laws	s regulations and ordinances regarding the operation of this business					
16.	I am, and will continue to be, in compliance with all State and local laws, regulations and ordinances regarding the operation of this business. The individual(s) signing this application certifies that they have read the applicable statutes and are thoroughly familiar with the details							
10.	provided and potential penalties.							
I, the	e undersigned, nereb	or certify that I am theororororororororororororororororororororororororororororororororororororororororororororororororororororororororororororororororororororororororororororororororororororororororororororororororororororororororororororororororororororororororororororororororororororororororororororororororororororororororororororororororororororororororororororororororororororororororororororororororororororororororororororororororororororororororororororororororororororororororororororororororororororororororororororororororororororororororororororororororororororororororororororororororororororororororororororororororororororororororororororororororororororororororororororororororororororororororororororororororororororororororororororororororororororororororororororororororororororororororororororor	the above business named					
and	that the information	I have submitted is true. I am aware that if any of the sta	atements are willfully false, I am subject to penalty.					
Prin	t Name of Applicant		Signature and Title of Applicant					
I, the	undersigned, hereby	certify that I am Secretary/Member/Partner of the above C	Corporation and have witnessed the signature of					
		,	. •					
who is		of said corporation. wner, Officer, Member						
			Signature of Secretary/Member/Partner					







Business Licensing Services Bureau P.O. Box 170 Trenton, NJ 08666-0170 609-292-6500 ext. 5014 609-292-4400

			APPLICANT	'S INFORMA	TION			
PLEASE PRINT								
BUSINESS NAME						BUSINESS PHONE NUMBER		
1. APPLICANT FULL NAME	(Including Middle	and Suff	ix, if any)					
2. STREET ADDRESS								
3. CITY				4. STATE		5. ZIP CODE	6. COUNTY	
3. OTT				4. OTATE		5. ZII CODE	0. GOONT 1	
7. HOW LONG HAVE YOU	LIVED AT THE AB	OVE AD	DRESS?		8. HOME PHONE N		l UMBER	
9. LIST ALL THE CITIES, S	TATES AND FORE	IGN CO	UNTRIES WHERE YOU I	HAVE LIVED, OVER T	HE LAST 20 \	LYEARS AND HOW LOT	NG YOU LIVED IN EACH.	
l								
10. DATE OF BIRTH (MON	TH, DAY, YEAR)	11. PLA	CE OF BIRTH (CITY, STA	ATE OR FOREIGN CO	TE OR FOREIGN COUNTRY)		12. SEX	
L								
13. HEIGHT	14. WEIGHT		15. COLOR OF EYES	16. DRIVER LICEN	NSE NUMBEF	₹		
17. SOCIAL SECURITY NUM	MBER*							
*You <i>must</i> disclose your	Social Security	number	r to the NJMVC. Failur	e to do so may resu	ılt in denial/n	on-renewal of licens	sure.	
Pursuant to N.I.S.A. 5	4:50-25 et seg	of the	New Jersey taxation I	aw and N.ISA 2/	A·17-56 7 et	sea of the New .	Jersey Child Support Program	
Improvement Act, the licensing agency is a	censing agency t	to which	n this form is submitted	d is required to obtai	in your Socia	al Security number.	Pursuant to these authorities,	
a. the Director of	f Taxation to ass	ist in th	ne administration and e		tax law, inclu	uding for the purpose	e of reviewing compliance with	
			g tax records; <u>and</u> jency responsible for ch	hild support enforcer	ment, upon i	request		
l	•	Ü	,					
18. HAVE YOU EVER BEEN						0		
☐ NO ☐ YES IF YES, A COURT OR ADMINISTRAT					IIY AND STA	TE WHERE OFFENSE	OCCURRED, IDENTIFY	
I CERTIFY THAT TH	E INFORMATI	ON PF	ROVIDED HEREIN A	ND ATTACHMEN	NTS, IF AN	IY, ARE TRUE. I	AM AWARE THAT IF ANY	
OF THE STATEMEN	TS ARE WILL	FULLY	FALSE, I AM SUB	JECT TO ADMINI	ISTRATIVI	E, CIVIL AND/OR	CRIMINAL PENALTY.	
SIGNATURE:				С	DATE:			





Business Licensing Services Bureau P.O. Box 170 Trenton, NJ 08666-0170 609-292-6500 ext. 5014 609-292-4400

CHILD SUPPORT CERTIFICATION FORM

Business	Name				
Applicant's Name (Print)		Date of Birth			
Social Se	ecurity Number				
	st disclose your social security number to the of licensure.	NJMVC. Failure	to do so	may result in d	enial/non-
the New o	to N.J.S.A. 54:50-25 et seq. of the New Jers Jersey Child Support Program Improvement Ac d to obtain your Social Security number. Pursu to provide your Social Security number to:	t, the licensing ac	ency to wh	nich this form is	submitted
a.	The Director of Taxation to assist in the adm for the purpose of reviewing compliance with				
	<u>and</u>				
b.	The Probation Division or any other agenc request.	y responsible fo	r child sup	oport enforcem	ent, upon
Intentiona	e provisions of N.J.S.A. 2A:17-56.7a et seq., re al misstatements may result in administrative a e suspension or revocation of the license, or c	ction including, b	ut not limit		
1.	Do you have a child support obligation?	Yes		No	
2.	If yes, does the amounts in arrears equal or equal or equal for six months?	exceed the amou		support No	
3.	Are you subject to a child-support warrant?	Yes		No	
	hat the foregoing responses made by me are ts are willfully false, I am subject to penalty.	e true and I am	aware tha	at if any of the	foregoing
Signature	3		Date		



Business Licensing Services Bureau P.O. Box 171 Trenton, NJ 08666-0171



BUSINESS HOURS

Name of Business	License No				
Address					
Days Open for Business	Business Hours				
Monday	From	To			
Tuesday	From	То			
Wednesday	From	То			
Thursday	From	То			
Friday	From	То			
Saturday	From	То			
Signature of Proprietor, Partner, Officer or Member					

Date_____

39:3-18. General registration; "D" or temporary plates; fees

A manufacturer of motor vehicles, motor-drawn vehicles, motor vehicle bodies, motorized bicycles, or motorcycles doing business in this State may, with regard to motor or motor-drawn vehicles, motorized bicycles, or motorcycles owned or controlled by him, obtain general registration and registration plates therefor of the style and kind provided for in this subtitle, with the letter "D" stated thereon. Such plates can be placed on any vehicle or cycle owned or controlled by such manufacturer, but only if it is operated only for shop, demonstration or delivery purposes.

A bona fide converter of commercial motor vehicles, motor-drawn vehicles or motor vehicle chassis doing business in this State may, with regard to motor or motor-drawn vehicles owned or controlled by him, obtain general registration and registration plates therefor of the style and kind provided for in this subtitle, with the letter "D" stated thereon. Such plates can be placed on any vehicles owned or controlled by such converter, but only if such vehicles are operated for shop, demonstration or delivery purposes.

A bona fide dealer in motor vehicles, motor-drawn vehicles or motorcycles doing business in this State and having a license to do business as such issued by the director may, with regard to motor or motor-drawn vehicles or cycles owned by him, obtain general registration and registration plates therefor of the style and kind provided for in this subtitle, with the letter "D" stated thereon. Such plates shall only be placed on any vehicle or cycle owned by such dealer; and provided, such vehicle is not used for hire. Any person who shall be convicted of a violation of this paragraph shall be subject to a fine not, exceeding \$100.00.

A bona fide dealer in motorized bicycles, as defined in R.S. 39:1-1, who has an established place of business in this State, may, with regard; to motorized bicycles owned by him, obtain general registration and registration plates therefor of the style and kind provided for in this subtitle, with the letter "D" stated thereon. The plates can be placed on a motorized bicycle by the dealer, but only if the motorized bicycle is operated only for shop, demonstration, or delivery purposes.

Any person engaged in the business of financing the purchase of motor or motor-drawn vehicles or motorized bicycles or lending money thereon may, with regard to motor or motor-drawn vehicles or motorized bicycles owned or controlled by him, obtain general registration and registration plates therefor of the style and kind provided for in this subtitle, with the word "temporary" stated thereon. Such plates can be placed on any such vehicle only when it is being transported from the place where it has been kept by the purchaser or borrower to the place where it is to be kept by the repossess or, when the repossessor desires to operate it for the purpose of demonstration for sale.

Any corporation engaged in the business of insuring motor vehicles, motorized bicycles, or motor-drawn vehicles against theft may, with regard to vehicles owned or controlled by it, obtain general registration and registration plates therefor of the style and kind provided for in this subtitle, with the word "temporary" stated thereon. Such plates can be placed on any such vehicle, if ownership or control thereof has been obtained by virtue of the terms of an insurance against theft contract made by such corporation, and only "when the vehicle is to be transported for delivery to the owner thereof from the place where it has been abandoned by or seized from a thief.

Any person, partnership or corporation engaged in the business of transporting motor or motor-drawn vehicles or motorized bicycles from the place of manufacture for delivery to dealers may, with regard to such vehicles, obtain general registration and registration plates therefor of the kind and style provided for in this subtitle, with the word "temporary" stated thereon, but only if the director is satisfied as to the financial responsibility of such person, partnership or corporation to meet any claim for damages arising out of any automobile accident and satisfactory evidence of such responsibility; has been filed with him.

Any person engaged in the business of renting or leasing motor vehicles, motorized bicycles, or motor-drawn vehicles may, with regard to said motor vehicles, motorized bicycles, or motor-drawn vehicles owned by him, obtain general registration and registration plates therefor, provided for in this subtitle, with the word "temporary" stated thereon. Said registration plates may be placed on any motor vehicle, motorized bicycle, or motor-drawn vehicle owned by such person while said vehicle is not individually registered and not in use as a rented or leased vehicle.

A bona fide dealer in "nonconventional" type motor vehicles, as defined in R.S. 39:10-2, who has an established place of business in this State, may, with regard to "nonconventional" type motor vehicles owned by him, obtain general registration and registration plates therefor of the style and kind provided for in this subtitle, with the letter "D" stated thereon. Such plates can be placed on any "nonconventional" type motor vehicle by such dealer, but only if such "nonconventional" type motor vehicle is operated only for shop, demonstration or delivery purposes.

Any person, partnership or corporation engaged in the business of conducting a wholesale automobile auction block in this State for duly licensed dealers only, at least once each week, may, with regard to vehicles controlled by it, obtain general registration and registration plates therefor of the style and kind provided for in this subtitle, with the word "temporary" stated thereon. Such plates can be placed on any vehicle controlled by the auction block, which is to be transported from the place where stored by the owner to the auction block. Such plates may not be displayed on a vehicle sold at the auction block for delivery to the purchaser. Application for such plates shall be approved only if the director is satisfied as to the financial responsibility of such person, partnership or corporation to meet any claim for damages arising out of any automobile accident and satisfactory proof of such responsibility had been filed with him.





Business Licensing Services Bureau P.O. Box 170 Trenton, NJ 08666-0170 (609) 292 6500 ext. 5014

Special Category Registration Certification – Allowable Use of Business Location

I understand that, in accordance with N.J.A.C. 13:21-15.2 (h), a special category business location must comply with all zoning, planning use and environmental laws and ordinances and that all activities permitted by the license will be permitted therein.

I hereby certify that the location(s) for which I seek a license complies with all State and local laws, ordinances and regulations concerning the activities permitted by the dealer license.

I certify that the foregoing statements made by me are true. I am aware that if any of the foregoing statements are willfully false, I am subject to penalty.

Name of Business:		
Dealer Owner/ Principal Name	Signature	 Date

