State Seal New Jersey Motor Vehicle Commission

Translate disclaimer

Wheelchair Symbol Plates and Persons With a Disability Placards


General Information

Individuals who meet the medical qualifications are eligible to choose from one of three options:

  • One (1) set of wheelchair symbol license plates
  • One (1) person with a disability placard
  • One (1) set of plates and one placard

Qualified applicants receive one set of wheelchair symbol license plates for a vehicle registered either to the qualified person with a disability OR to one family member who provides the qualified person with transportation (aka driver). See the Qualifications page for detailed information.

The Persons with a Disability placard will authorize the driver to park any vehicle in a wheelchair symbol parking space so long as the qualified person designated on the Person with a Disability Identification Card is in the vehicle and has their ID card with them.

The individual who holds the Person with a Disability Identification Card must be in the vehicle or with the driver at all times as proof of disability.  The Card is non-transferable and must be with on the individual at all times to utilize the wheelchair symbol parking privileges. Any abuse or misuse of this privilege will be cause for immediate revocation of the ID card, placard and plates.

Under New Jersey law (N.J.S.A. 2C:21-4a), making a false statement or providing misinformation on an application to obtain or facilitate the receipt of license plates or placards for persons with disabilities is a fourth degree crime and a person who has been convicted of an offense may be subject to pay a fine, such fine not to exceed $10,000 and a term of imprisonment of up to 18 months.

Persons with a disability parking privileges are valid for three year periods, after which a new application and certification by an approved medical practitioner must be submitted.

How to apply

To apply for plates or a placard, complete the Application for Vehicle License Plates and/or Placard for Persons with a Disability (Form SP-41).  There is no fee for either the license plates or the placard.

This transaction can be completed by visiting a motor vehicle agency or submitting a request through the mail.  If you choose to submit through the mail, send to:

New Jersey Motor Vehicle Commission
Special Plate Unit
225 East State Street
PO Box 015
Trenton, NJ 08666-0015

A copy of the vehicle registration must be included with the plate application.

Applicants without a driver’s license or non-driver identification (ID) card must prove identity by meeting the 6 Points of ID verification requirements.

Note: Wheelchair Symbol plates cannot be issued for vehicles owned by or leased to companies, organizations or groups

An Instruction Checklist (Form SP-41A) is available to ensure you have all of the necessary information to fully complete the application and avoid processing delays. 

How to recertify and renew

How to renew wheelchair symbol license plates

You must renew your wheelchair symbol license plates every year as part of the Statewide renewal process. Every three years, beginning August 1, 2013 a medical recertification will be required to renew your wheelchair symbol license plates.

If you no longer qualify for the plates, you must surrender your wheelchair symbol plates and Person with a Disability Identification Card and apply for a new set of regular license plates at a motor vehicle agency.

How to renew persons with a disability placards

You must recertify your qualifying medical condition every three years.  You may renew your placard by mailing the recertification application (SP-41) or you may visit a motor vehicle agency to do so.

There is no fee to recertify.

Only original documents will be accepted; no photocopies permitted.

If you did not receive a renewal notice

If you do not receive your renewal notice in the mail, you may download the Application for Vehicle License Plates and/or Placard for Persons with a Disability (Form SP-41).   Also review the Instruction Checklist (Form SP-41A) is available to ensure you have all of the necessary information to fully complete the application and avoid processing delays.   Mail the completed application to:

New Jersey Motor Vehicle Commission
Special Plate Unit
225 East State Street
PO Box 15
Trenton, NJ 08666-0015

OR, you may call the MVC’s Special Plate unit at 609-292-6500 to have an application and a checklist mailed to you.

Medical Recertification

The law requires a statement from a qualified medical practitioner recertifying your qualification for wheelchair symbol plates or placards every three years.  The medical certification must be dated within 60 days of submitting your application.  Detailed information on Qualifications is available.

How to replace lost, stolen or damaged documents

  • If you are replacing a placard, you may visit a motor vehicle agency or submit a request through the mail.
    • If you visit a motor vehicle agency, bring the original Disabled Person Identification Card, and the placard (if damaged and not lost) and the original non-driver identification (ID) card (if you have one).

New Jersey Motor Vehicle Commission
Special Plate Unit
225 East State Street
PO Box 15
Trenton, NJ 08666-0015

OR, you may call 609-292-6500 to have an application and checklist mailed to you.
    • If you have lost the Disabled Person Identification Card and the placard, you must bring/mail a notarized statement confirming the loss of these items.
    • There is no fee for replacement.

Temporary parking placards

Temporary placards are issued for six months, with one six-month renewal allowed.  Temporary placard applications must be submitted in person to a Municipal Chief of Police rather than to the MVC.

  • To apply for a temporary parking placard you must complete the following steps:
    • Complete the Application for Temporary Placard (Form SP-68) or visit a local, municipal police department to obtain the application.
    • Obtain certification from a qualified medical practitioner that you are qualified for a temporary placard; see Qualifications for medical certification information.
    • Submit the completed application to a municipal police department along with a check or money order for $4 made payable to NJMVC.

After review and upon approval by the municipal Chief of Police, their department will issue your temporary placard.