State Seal New Jersey Motor Vehicle Commission

Translate disclaimer

Lemon Law


 

New Jersey’s Lemon Law protects consumers who purchase vehicles that develop repeat defects or lengthy unusable periods during the first two years or 24,000 miles. The New Jersey Division of Consumer Affairs considers complaints and answers questions on this topic.   Detailed information regarding the Lemon Law is available on that site, as well as complaint forms.

Lemon title designation

Before the MVC can mark “Lemon” on a vehicle title, approval must first be granted by the New Jersey Department of Law & Public Safety, Lemon Law Unit, 124 Halsey Street, PO Box 45026, Newark, NJ, 07101. 
Once approval is granted, visit one of the following motor vehicle agencies that are authorized to issue “Lemon” titles:  Eatontown; Flemington; Manahawkin; North Bergen; Runnemede; Salem; Somerville; and Washington.

Bring the following:

  • Original title assigned to the manufacturer.
  • Original letter on manufacturer letterhead requesting the title be branded as “Lemon”. Letter must be signed, dated and include year, make, model and Vehicle Identification Number (VIN).
  • $60 fee; $85 fee for financed vehicles. The MVC accepts American Express® card, Visa® card, MasterCard®, checks, money orders and cash.
  • Liens must be released, if applicable.
  • Power of Attorney (POA) for the agent signing on behalf of the manufacturer.
  • For out of state vehicles, complete an Application for Certificate of Ownership (Form OS/SS-7).