NJOEM Home  |  NJOEM News Room
News Header Graphic
NJ Office of Emergency Management Logo
NJ Office of Emergency Management
Colonel Rick Fuentes Major Dennis McNulty
Superintendent, New Jersey State Police
State Director of Emergency Management
Commanding Officer, Emergency Management

Michael Drewniak
Kevin Roberts 609-777-2600
December 13, 2011

Governor Christie Announces Bergen, Middlesex and Passaic Counties Added to Federal Disaster Declaration for October’s Severe Storm

Eleven New Jersey Counties Now Eligible for FEMA Public Assistance Program

TRENTON, NJ - Governor Chris Christie announced today that the Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) has approved Bergen, Middlesex and Passaic Counties for federal disaster reimbursement to cover public sector damages and costs related to the severe storm which impacted New Jersey on October 29, 2011.

"Further review of the State’s request has resulted in eligibility for recovery assistance for three additional New Jersey counties," said Governor Christie. "Now, Bergen, Middlesex and Passaic Counties can fully recover from one of the most intense early season storms that our state has experienced in recent years."

In the aftermath of the October storm, Governor Christie sent a formal request to the White House for federal disaster assistance. A comprehensive storm damage assessment led by the New Jersey Office of Emergency Management (OEM) in conjunction with federal, county and local officials was completed. On December 1, Governor Christie announced FEMA approval of the counties of Cape May, Essex, Hunterdon, Morris, Somerset, Sussex, Union, and Warren for aid. Today’s announcement of eligibility for Bergen, Middlesex and Passaic counties follows continued work by state, federal and local officials to fully determine the level of damage, and brings the total to eleven counties eligible under the Federal Emergency Management Agency’s (FEMA) Public Assistance Program. In addition, federal funding is available for Hazard Mitigation and risk reduction measures in all 21 counties.

The State, county and local governments, and certain eligible private nonprofit organizations can apply for assistance on a cost-sharing basis for emergency work and the repair or replacement of facilities damaged by the storm. New Jersey Office of Emergency Management officials are scheduling meetings for the newly designated counties regarding the application process. State and local emergency management officials are currently managing the recovery related to four active Presidential Disaster Declarations. More information about these declarations, and the recovery process, can be found online at:

Federal Emergency Management Agency’s NJ page: http://www.fema.gov/news/disasters_state.fema?id=34
New Jersey Office of Emergency Management website: www.ready.nj.gov



To stay informed about disasters and emergencies in New Jersey via social media, follow the NJOEM on Twitter @ReadyNJ, "like" us on www.facebook.com/READYNEWJERSEY, or get email and text message alerts via www.Nixle.com or www.njalert.gov.