Skip to main navigationSkip to News Headlines
Global Navigation
Office of The Attorney General
OAG Home
OAG Home Superintendent's Bio
Superintendent's Bio
NJSP Home
> NJSP Home  |  > FAQ's
     
FAQ's - Frequently Asked Questions NJSP Badge
 
Computer Crimes  |  Criminal History Background Checks  |  Emergency Management  
Office of Employee and Organization Development (OEOD)
Firearms  |  Marine Services  |  Missing Persons  
Office of Professional Standards  |  Private Detectives  |  Recruiting  
 
 

Firearms Firearms Information  | Related Forms

NEW PAGE


Private Detectives Private Detective/Security Info  | Related Forms

Q1.

What Rules Govern the Private Detective Industry?

A1.

The Private Detective Act of 1939 and the Administrative Rules and Regulations define the statutory obligations of anyone applying for or operating under a private detective license in the State of New Jersey.

As mandated the New Jersey State Police, Private Detective Unit has the responsibility to administer and regulate those individuals engaged in the private detective industry.


Q2.

What are the Qualifications to become a Private Detective?

A2.

Applicant must be 25 years of age and a U.S. citizen.

Applicant must possess good character, competency and integrity.

Applicant must have a minimum of 5 years experience with an organized police department of the State, County or a Municipality or an investigative agency of the United States of America or possess 5 years investigative experience which can be documented. Applicant must successfully complete a comprehensive background investigation, which includes a criminal history fingerprint check, NOTE: An individual may only serve as qualifier for one agency, however they may hold a corporate office position for more than one company.


Q3.

How do I obtain a Private Detective License?

Download Forms

A3.

If qualified, applications may be obtained online at www.njsp.org
Click on “Services” then “Forms to Download”


Q4.

Do I need a Private Detective License to operate a security company in New Jersey?

A4.

At the present time, Yes. However, the Security Officer Registration Act, (SORA) will be implemented in the fall of 2006. All aspects of private security, executive protection and security officers will be required to comply with SORA by January 1, 2007.


Q5.

What are the fees for a New Jersey Private Detective License?

A5.

The cost for an Individual license is $250.00, Corporation, Partnership, LLP, and LLC, is $300.00.


Q6.

How long is a New Jersey licensed issued for?

A6.

All issued private detective licenses are valid for a two year period and are subject to renewal thereafter.


Q7.

Can an active law enforcement officer hold a Private Detective license?

A7.

No, While an active member of a organized police department he/she cannot hold a private detective license or be a member of a corporate structure.


Q8.

Do I have to be a resident of New Jersey to be a licensed Private Detective?

A8.

No, out of state residents may obtain a private detective license provided he/she meets the listed qualifications.


Q9.

How do I apply for a Private Security Agency License/ Security Officer Certification or Security Officer Instructor Certification?

A9.

All SORA applications will be submitted and paid for electronically via the Internet. Creation of the electronic applications and e-commerce systems are near completion. The requisite fees and experience are explained in the Security Officer Rules and Regulations.


Q10.

What are the qualifications required to apply for a Security Agency License/ Security Officer Certification or Security Officer Instructor Certification?

A10.

Requisite experience for each a application is outlined in the Security Officer Rules and Regulation which can be found at www.njsp.org Click on “Services” then Private Detective/Security Info.

 



Casino Gaming Back

Q1.

How Can I contact the Casino Gaming Bureau?

A1.

609-441-7464


Q2.

How can I contact a gaming law enforcement agency outside of New Jersey?

A2.

Other Gaming Law Enforcement Agencies


Q3.

I have been arrested for underage gambling, what are the penalties?

A3.

CCA 5:12-119


Q4.

Where will my court case be held?

A4.

If you have been arrested for Underage Gambling, or any disorderly or petty disorderly offense, it will be heard in the Atlantic City Municipal Court. If you have been arrested for an indictable offense it will be forwarded to the Atlantic County Superior Court.


Q5.

How can I get discovery for my client’s casino related arrest?

A5.

New Jersey State Police CJRB


Q6.

How can I contact an Atlantic City Casino Security Department?

A6.

Atlantic City Casinos


Q7.

I am with a law enforcement agency that needs help with an on going criminal investigation, who do I contact?

A7.

Casino Investigations Unit


Q8.

I am a victim of Identity Theft, who can I contact?

A8.

www.njsp.org , www.consumer.gov/idtheft , www.ssa.gov/pubs/idtheft.htm

 


Office of Employee and Organization Development (OEOD)

Q1.

What types of services does the OEOD handle?

A1.

The OEOD provides assessment, consultation, and referral services in the areas of:

     
  • relationship, marital or family
  • chemical dependence and codependency
  • domestic violence
  • depression and anxiety
  • occupational stress including critical incident stress
  • psychological, personal, and behavioral difficulties
  • job performance issues
  • grief, separation, and loss

Q2.

Is the OEOD really confidential?

A2.

The hallmark of OEOD is confidentiality. The OEOD must adhere to Federal Confidentiality Laws as well as the ethical mandates of the profession. All clients are asked to sign a statement of confidenciality at the time of service. This form states that everything is confidential and information will not be released unless the client signs a release of information. The only exception to this is if a client appears to be a danger to self or others. The OEOD by law has a duty to warn and protect any people who may be at risk for harm.

There is no record in your personnel file file documenting that you have used the OEOD. The OEOD by law cannot share any information without your written permission. All OEOD files are confidential and remain with the OEOD.


Q3.

Who uses the OEOD?

A3.

OEOD is utilized by personnel at all levels of the organization. Many people find it useful to consult with an objective professional when they are experiencing stress, personal concerns, or are in the midst of a life transition.


Q4.

What can I expect from the OEOD?

A4.

You can expect to meet with an OEOD coordinator for one to six sessions for problem identificaiton and short term consultation focused on problem solving. Your OEOD coordinator, if needed, will refer you and or your family member for on-going counseling to health care providers in your insurance network with the appropriate expertise, licensure, or certification.


Q5.

Where is the OEOD located?

A5.    Location and contacts listed below.

 

800-FOR-NJSP
Jim Nestor
Director
Office of Employee and Organization Development
609-292-6039

210 South Broad Street, 5th Floor
P.O. Box 062
Trenton, NJ 08625

 

Name

Title

Region

Phone #

Jackie Pestana

Coordinator

North

 609-292-0710

 

 

 

 

Lisa Bozenhand

Coordinator

Central

 609-943-4822

Karen Husband

Coordinator

 

 609-633-3718

Kathleen Williams

Coordinator

 

 609-292-6065

Lou Mascioli

Coordinator

 

 609-292-6285

Mike Parmenter

Coordinator

 

 609-984-6413

Cinda Burnside

Data Analyst

 

 609-292-8063

Dawn Abatto

Administrative Assistant

 

 609-292-0794

 

 

 

 

Ernie Pescatore

Coordinator

South

 609-292-0074

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 


Recruiting

 

Link To FAQs


Office of Professional Standards

 

FAQs to come. Please checkback later.


Emergency Management

 

From Operational Planning Section

Q1.

How do I know if my community is in . the National Flood Insurance Program (NFIP)?

A1.

Participation in the NFIP is voluntary The community building official or planning office will know if your community participates.


Q2.

What is a Special Flood Hazard Area (SFHA)?

A2.

An area of land that would be inundated by a flood having a 1% chance of occurring in any given year (also referred to as the base or 100-year flood).


Q3.

Q. What is the "100-year flood"?

A3.

It is not the flood that will occur once every 100 years. Rather, it is the flood elevation that has a 1% chance of being equaled or exceeded each year. The 100-year. The 100-year flood, which is the standard used by most Federal and state agencies, is used by the NFIP as the standard for flood plain management and to determine the need for flood insurance.


Q4.

Can I build in the Special Flood Hazard Area?

A4.

Development may take place within the SFHA, provided that development complies with local floodplain management ordinances, which must meet the minimum Federal requirements.


Q5.

What assistance is available for individuals and families affected by a major disaster?

A5.

Rental payments for temporary housing for those whose homes are unlivable. Assistance is available up to 18 months depending on need.

Grants for minimal repairs to make damaged homes habitable.

Grants ranging from several thousand dollars to a maximum $12,900 to help meet serious disaster-related needs not covered by insurance or other federal, state and charitable aid programs.

Unemployment payments up to 26 weeks for workers who temporarily lost jobs because of the disaster and who do not qualify for state benefits, such as self-employed individuals.

Low interest loans at 4 or 8 percent to cover uninsured private and business property losses. Loans available up to $200,000 for primary residence; $40,000 for personal property, including renter losses and $1.5 million for businesses.

FAQ's for courses


Computer Crimes

 

FAQs to come. Please checkback later.


Missing Persons

 

FAQs to come. Please checkback later.


Criminal History Background Checks Criminal History Background Checks Info

Q1.

Can I do a check on my friend, neighbor, or relative?

A1.

No.   State law governs the dissemination of criminal history record information compiled and maintained by the Division of State Police.

New Jersey Executive Order Number 123 (1985), and its successor, Executive Order Number 69 (1997), both exempt criminal history record information from the category of records automatically available to the public under New Jersey's Right to Know Law, N.J.S.A. 47:1A-1 et seq. Only a federal or state statute, rule, regulation, administration code, or executive order could mandate release of criminal history record information to you. Criminal history record information may only be accessed by an authorized individual or agency for an authorized purpose.


Q2.

Can I do a record check on a perspective employee (babysitter, gardener)?

A2.

Yes.   N.J.A.C. 13:59-1.2(a)2 authorizes the dissemination of criminal history record information to a person or non-governmental entity of this State for the purpose of employment.


Q3.

My previous employer did a record check; is it necessary to have another done for a new job?

A3.

Yes.   Since the results of a record check are dated and may have changed since your last background check, your new employer may require a new check be conducted. This of course is at the discretion of your new employer.


Q4.

Can an attorney or private detective do a background check?

A4.

Yes.   N.J.A.C. 13:59-1.2(a)3 authorizes attorneys licensed by the state of New Jersey to obtain criminal history record information for any contested matters docketed in any State or Federal courts or administrative agencies of this State.

Requests must be by the submission of a subpoena.

Yes.   N.J.A.C. 13:59-1.2(a)4 authorizes private detectives licensed by the Division of State Police pursuant to N.J.S.A. 45:19-8 et seq. for purposes of obtaining information in furtherance of the performance of their statutorily authorized functions, as specifically enumerated by N.J.S.A. 45:19-9(a)1 to 9.

Requests may be submitted utilizing the SBI 212B Form.

    Top of Page
   
Contact Us | Privacy Notice | Legal Statement | Accessibility Statement spacer
NJ Home Logo
Divisional: NJSP Home | Contact NJSP | About NJSP | NJSP News | NJSP FAQs | Recruiting
Departmental: OAG Home | Contact OAG | About OAG | OAG News | OAG FAQs
Statewide: NJ Home | Services A to Z | Departments/Agencies | FAQs
Copyright © State of New Jersey
The State of New Jersey Office of The Attorney General (Dept. of Law & Public Safety) The State of New Jersey NJ Home Services A to Z Departments/Agencies OAG Frequently Asked Questions