PROGRAM ANNOUNCEMENT

The Advocacy Institute Is Pleased to Present

BRIEF CITATION FORMAT 101 & COMMON FORMATTING PECCADILLOS

February 24, 2020
1:00 p.m. -2:00 p.m.
R.J. Hughes Justice Complex
5th Floor Division of Criminal Justice Training Room
Trenton, New Jersey

NOTICE REGARDING COURSE MATERIALS
You will receive the course materials on the day of the program.
Program Summary

It’s time to brush the dust off of your Blue Book! This presentation will be an interactive refresher
of proper citation format for appellate briefs. It will also discuss common formatting peccadillos
that run afoul of DOL style and can be distracting for the reader, whether that reader is your
supervisor or the court.

Who Should Attend?

Attendance at this program is limited to Deputy Attorneys General in the State Police, Employment
and Corrections and Tort Sections of the Division of Law.

Who Is the Faculty?

AAG Jane C. Schuster is a member of the Division of Law’s Appellate Practice Group. She
previously served as a DAG in the Division of Criminal Justice’s Appellate Bureau, where she
litigated criminal appellate cases in the Appellate Division and NJ Supreme Court. She also
worked on numerous special projects for the Division. AAG Schuster isa PTC certified instructor
and taught programs on the Fourth Amendment to law enforcement officers and
prosecutors. Before joining LPS, she was a litigation associate at Paul, Weiss in New York. She
also clerked in the New Jersey Supreme Court for Justice Helen Hoens. AAG Schuster received
a B.F.A. and a Master’s Degree from New York University, and a J.D. from the Cardozo School
of Law, where she was a member of the law review.



CLE Credit
NJ CLE Credit: This program has been approved by the Board on Continuing Legal Education
of the Supreme Court of New Jersey for 1.2 hours of total CLE credit. Of these, 0.0 qualify as
hours of credit for ethics/professionalism.

NY CLE Credit: 1.0 Substantive Credit (pursuant to the approved jurisdiction policy).

PA CLE Credit: 1.0 Substantive Credit ($1.50 mandatory registration fee required).



