

PROGRAM ANNOUNCEMENT

The Advocacy Institute Is Pleased to Present

FIRST AND FOREMOST: THE HISTORY OF THE NEW JERSEY LAW AGAINST DISCRIMINATION

March 2, 2020 10:30 a.m. to 11:45 a.m. R.J. Hughes Justice Complex 4th Floor Conference Room A Trenton, New Jersey

NOTICE REGARDING COURSE MATERIALS

You will receive the course materials approximately forty-eight (48) hours prior to the date of the course. The materials will be contained in an email attachment.

Program Summary

With the enactment of the Law Against Discrimination in 1945, New Jersey became the first state in the nation to adopt a comprehensive anti-discrimination statute. Since that time, New Jersey has remained at the forefront of ensuring of its citizens' civil rights by amending the LAD numerous times, adding further protections to keep pace with evolving societal changes. In describing the impact of the LAD, the New Jersey Supreme Court recently said, "[o]ne searches in vain to find another New Jersey enactment having an equivalently powerful statement of purpose." This presentation will outline the history of the LAD's expansion with a focus on the statute's current coverage.

Who Should Attend?

This presentation is open to all government attorneys, space allowing.

Who Is the Faculty?

DAG James Michael is the Section Chief of the Administrative Civil Rights Section of the Division of Law, where he provides counsel to the Division on Civil Rights and supervises the prosecution of discrimination complaints related to employment, public accommodations and housing on behalf of the Division of Civil Rights. DAG Michael has also worked on a series of initiatives aimed at improving access for people with disabilities in places of public accommodation, including schools, shopping malls, hospitals, and polling places. He previously worked in the Affirmative Litigation Section, where he focused on a range of issues including mortgage fraud, pharmaceutical marketing and abusive debt collection practices. Prior to joining the Division of Law, DAG Michael served as a Deputy Attorney General and Governor's Fellow

with the Division of Gaming Enforcement. He holds an undergraduate degree from Franklin and Marshall College, a Master's Degree in Public Policy from the Eagleton Institute of Politics of Rutgers University and a J.D. from Rutgers Law School – Camden.

CLE Credit

NJ CLE Credit: This program had been approved by the Board on Continuing Legal Education of the Supreme Court of New Jersey for 1.5 hours of total CLE credit. Of these, 0.0 qualify as hours of credit for ethics/professionalism.

NY CLE Credit: 1.5 Substantive Credits (pursuant to the approved jurisdiction policy).

PA CLE Credit: 1.0 Substantive Credit (\$1.50 mandatory registration fee required).

How Do I Register?

State Employees

State employees able to register for this Most are course by going http://reg2.dcj.lps.state.nj.us/lpcreg/login.aspx?portalid=2 and creating an AGAI Course Registration account. To do so, your computer **must** be attached to the government's Garden State Network. Upon opening the AGAI Course Registration System home page, you will see the Create Account link in the Login Box. Click on it and create your account, which will include you selecting a user name and password. Once you create your account, you can access the AGAI Course Registration System at http://reg2.dcj.lps.state.nj.us/lpcreg/login.aspx?portalid=2 to register for future courses or to manage your account. Please retain your user name and password for your records.

Non-State Employees or State Employees not Connected to the Garden State Network

If you are not a State employee, or are otherwise unable to access the AGAI Course Registration System through the Garden State Network, kindly email the Advocacy Institute at: njagai@njoag.gov for an authorization code to allow you access to the AGAI Course Registration System through the My New Jersey portal. Setting up your account through the portal is a two-step process, the details of which are set forth in the next two paragraphs.

Once you receive the portal authorization code you will be prompted to go to the My New Jersey portal at http://www.state.nj.us/ and create a portal account. Once your portal account is created you are prompted to enter your authorization code. This is Step 1 of the process, which you need only do once.

If you have already been issued an authorization code in the past you do not need to request another one. You can log into your account on the Garden State Network at http://www.state.nj.us and under the heading NJ L&PS Applications you will see the Attorney General's Advocacy Institute's Registration System. Click on that and log into your account on our system.

Upon setting up your portal account, you need to set up your AGAI Course Registration System account. This is Step 2. To do so, log on to the My New Jersey Portal http://www.state.nj.us/. Upon opening the AGAI Course Registration System home page, you will see the Create Account

link in the Login Box. Click on it and create your account, which will include you selecting a new user name and password. Once you create your account, you can access the AGAI Course Registration System at http://reg2.dcj.lps.state.nj.us/lpcreg/login.aspx?portalid=2 to register for future courses or to manage your account. Please retain your user name and password for your records.