Skip to main navigationSkip to News Headlines
NJ Division of Consumer Affairs
Global Navigation
Division of Consumer Affairs
The State of New Jersey Office of The Attorney General (Dept. of Law & Public Safety) The State of New Jersey NJ Home Services A to Z Departments/Agencies OAG Frequently Asked Questions
OAG Home
OAG Contact
Division of Consumer Affairs Alerts and Recalls
Division of Consumer Affairs Alerts and Recalls
Office of the Attorney General Homepage Division of Consumer Affairs, Director
Division of Consumer Affairs, Director
Division of Alcoholic Beverage Control
Division of Consumer Affairs
Division of Consumer Affairs Highlights
Division of Consumer Affairs Topics in a A-Z List Format
Office of Consumer Protection (OCP)
New Jersey Bureau of Securities
Office of Weights and Measures
Legalized Games of Chance Control Commission
Alternative Dispute Resolution
Professions and Occupations List
Contact the Division of Consumer Affairs
Division of Consumer Affairs in Spanish
Division of Criminal Justice
Division on Civil Rights
Division of Gaming Enforcement
Division of Highway Traffic Safety
Division of Law
Juvenile Justice Commission
NJ Racing Commission
State Athletic Control Board
Division of NJ State Police
Victims of Crime Compensation Office
Subscribe to Buyer Beware Alerts
OPRA - Open Public Records Act
Download Free PDF Reader


Home Inspection Advisory Committee
Frequently Asked Questions

Licensing:

Continuing Education:

Miscellaneous:

 


Licensing:

1. What is the Home Inspection Advisory Committee’s (“Committee”) Web site so I may obtain a home inspector application and directions?
The Committee’s Web site is: http://www.njconsumeraffairs.gov/hiac/

  

2. What is The Committee’s application process in order to become licensed as a home inspector?
An applicant for licensure as a home inspector must submit an application to the Board’s (State Board of Professional Engineer and Land Surveyor) office and pay the appropriate application fee. In addition, an applicant must have successfully completed an approved course of study of 180 hours, which shall include not less than 40 hours of unpaid field-based training inspections performed in the presence of and under the direct supervision of a licensed home inspector, which inspections shall be provided by the school providing the approved course of study. Finally, the applicant must have successfully passed the national home inspector examination and have an errors and omissions insurance policy in the minimum amount of $500,000 per occurrence.

3. If I am already licensed in another state as a home inspector, am I automatically licensed in New Jersey?
Pursuant to N.J.S.A. 45:8-71a, upon payment to the Board of a fee and the submission of a written application provided by the Board, the Committee shall issue a home inspector’s license to any person who holds a valid license issued by another state or possession of the United States or the District of Columbia, which has standards substantially equivalent to those of this State, as determined by the Committee.

 


 

Continuing Education:

1. What continuing education requirements are required as a home inspector?
Each home inspector shall be required to complete during the preceding biennial period a minimum of 40 units of continuing education in courses and programs.

 


 

Miscellaneous:

1. What is a home inspection?
Pursuant to N.J.A.C. 13:40-15.2(4): A home inspection means a visual, functional, non-invasive inspection conducted for a fee or any other consideration and performed without moving personal property, furniture, equipment, plants, soil, snow, ice, or debris, using the mandatory equipment and including the preparation of a home inspection report of the readily accessible elements of the following components of a residential building: structural components, exterior components, roofing system, plumbing system, electrical system, heating system, cooling system, interior components, insulation components and ventilation system, fireplaces and solid fuel burning appliances, or any other related residential housing component as determined by the Board, in consultation with the Committee, by rule, but excluding recreational facilities and outbuildings other than garages or carports.

2. What is a home inspection report?
A home inspection report means a written report prepared for a fee or any consideration by a home inspector which discloses those systems and components which are designated for inspection and are present at the time of the inspection, as well as those which are present at the time of the home inspection but are not inspected and the reason(s) they are not inspected. A home inspection report also describes systems and components; states what material defects are found in systems or components; states the significance of findings: and provides recommendations regarding the need to repair, replace or monitor a system or component, or to obtain examination and analysis by a qualified professional, tradesman or service technician. as specified

3. As a home inspector do I need an identification card?
Pursuant to N.J.A.C. 13:40-15.9, a 11 licensed home inspectors shall, during the performance of a home inspection, carry an identification card issued by the Committee which contains the name, photograph, license number and signature of the person to whom the identification card has been issued.

4. What are the standards of practice as a home inspector?
Pursuant to N.J.A.C. 13:40-15.16(c)1, a1l home inspectors shall inspect the following systems and components in residential buildings and other related residential housing components: structural, exterior, roofing, plumbing, electrical, heating, cooling, interior, insulation components and ventilation system, fireplaces and solid fuel burning appliances.

5. What are the Committee’s advertising requirements?
Pursuant to N.J.A.C. 13:40-15.18( c), all advertising by a home inspector, other than radio and television advertising, shall include the name of the home inspector; the words “Home Inspector License Number” or “Home Inspector Lic.#” , followed by the license number of the home inspector; and the business address of the home inspector, including the street name and number. Post office box numbers shall not be used as a form of business address.

Contact Us | Privacy Notice | Legal Statement | Accessibility Statement
NJ Home Logo
Divisional: ../DCA Home | ../Complaint Forms | Proposals | Adoptions | Contact DCA
Departmental: OAG Home | Contact OAG | About OAG | OAG News | OAG FAQs
Statewide: NJ Home | Services A to Z | Departments/Agencies | FAQs
Copyright © State of New Jersey
This page is maintained by DCA. Comments/Questions: email

Page last modified: