Skip to main navigationSkip to News Headlines
NJ Division of Consumer Affairs
Global Navigation
Division of Consumer Affairs
The State of New Jersey Office of The Attorney General (Dept. of Law & Public Safety) The State of New Jersey NJ Home Services A to Z Departments/Agencies OAG Frequently Asked Questions
OAG Home
OAG Contact
Division of Consumer Affairs Alerts and Recalls
Division of Consumer Affairs Alerts and Recalls
Office of the Attorney General Homepage Division of Consumer Affairs, Director
Division of Consumer Affairs, Director
Division of Alcoholic Beverage Control
Division of Consumer Affairs
Division of Consumer Affairs Highlights
Division of Consumer Affairs Topics in a A-Z List Format
Office of Consumer Protection (OCP)
New Jersey Bureau of Securities
Office of Weights and Measures
Legalized Games of Chance Control Commission
Alternative Dispute Resolution
Professions and Occupations List
Contact the Division of Consumer Affairs
Division of Consumer Affairs in Spanish
Division of Criminal Justice
Division on Civil Rights
Division of Gaming Enforcement
Division of Highway Traffic Safety
Division of Law
Juvenile Justice Commission
NJ Racing Commission
State Athletic Control Board
Division of NJ State Police
Victims of Crime Compensation Office
Subscribe to Buyer Beware Alerts
OPRA - Open Public Records Act
Download Free PDF Reader


Frequently Asked Questions to the Staff of the New Jersey Board Medical Board of Medical Examiners Regarding Physician Assistants

Disclaimer: Any and all statements herein should not be construed as the official policy or positions of the State Board of Medical Examiners, Physician Assistant Advisory Committee. The information is merely provided on our Web page by Board staff for general guidance to the citizens of New Jersey and users of our Web site. No individual staff member is authorized to provide a binding opinion or statement for the full Board. Nothing herein should be construed as legal advice or as a legal opinion for any particular situation. Refer to the rules and laws of the New Jersey State Board of Medical Examiners, Physician Assistant Licensing Act, and consult with an attorney of your choice for clarification.

It is RECOMMENDED that you DO NOT ACCEPT an offer of employment until you have a physician who is willing to sponsor you.

Fees and Charges:


Licensing:


Continuing Education:


Fees and Charges:

  1. Is there a fee required if I switch jobs, change or add a supervising physician? What forms do I need to change, add or delete a supervising physician?

    Yes. There is a $50.00 fee for this service. If you switch jobs, you will need to complete a supervision/employment form. Click on Supervision/Employment to obtain the instructions and forms. Please complete all of the forms in their entirety. Please include the fee in the form of either a check or money order made payable to the Physician Assistant Advisory Committee. Please do not send cash.

  2. What is a temporary license? How much does it cost?
    Pursuant to N.J.A.C. 13:35-2B.13 and 14, a temporary license may be issued at the discretion of the Committee to any applicant who has otherwise met the requirements for licensure and who has applied to take the next available National Commission on Certification of Physician Assistants (N.C.C.P.A.) examination. There is a $50.00 charge for a temporary license issued under these circumstances. Applicants must request a temporary license in writing. The physician?s assistant job duties, while working with a temporary license, are limited to those duties contained in N.J.A.C. 13:35-2B.4(a) except that a temporary licensee may not issue prescriptions.

  3. I have decided not to move to New Jersey and I want to withdraw my application. What should I do? Is my application fee refundable?
    No. The application fee is nonrefundable. If you decide during the application process that you would like to withdraw your application, it is necessary for you to put this request in writing, sign and date the request and give a brief explanation as to why you would like to withdraw your application. The licensure fee may be refunded upon presentation of the front and back of the check or canceled money order.

Licensing:

  1. How do I obtain an application for physician?s assistant licensure?
    The quickest and easiest way to obtain an application for physician?s assistant licensure is by downloading the forms from our Web site at www.njconsumeraffairs.gov/pa/. Click on Application Package. A request for an application for physician?s assistant licensure may also be requested in writing by submitting the following information: your legal name and mailing address. You may also contact the Committee by calling (973) 504-6580 to request that the application be mailed to you.




  2. How long will it take to get my physician?s assistant license?
    Once your application has been received, the processing time is eight to 12 weeks. You will be notified in writing regarding approval of your application




  3. I have a temporary license, but I did not pass my required examination. What must I do?
    Applicants holding a temporary license who do not pass the required N.C.C.P.A. examination must stop practicing immediately and surrender their temporary license to the Physician Assistant Advisory Committee.




  4. I have a job offer and need a physician?s assistant license immediately. What should I do?
    The best thing for you to do under these circumstances is to check with your primary source verifiers (e.g., school transcripts, references, postgraduate training program, test scores and out-of-state licensure verification), to make sure they send your information directly to the Committee in a timely fashion. It is highly recommended that you do not accept an offer of employment in New Jersey until you have met all of the necessary requirements for licensure and have been notified in writing of the approval for you to receive a physician?s assistant license.




  5. I am scheduled to complete my educational program in June of next year. When should I apply for my New Jersey physician?s assistant license?
    Applications for a physician?s assistant license remain active for one year only. Therefore, you should not apply for a physician?s assistant license with the New Jersey Physician Assistant Advisory Committee until you have satisfactorily completed the required educational program.




  6. I received my education outside of the United States. May I apply for a Physician?s Assistant license if I went to an international school?
    No. New Jersey law requires satisfactory completion of a Physician?s Assistant education program that has been approved by the Accreditation Review Commission on Education for the Physician Assistant (ARC-PA) Inc.) or its successor.




  7. I hold a Doctor of Medicine degree. I received my medical education outside of the United States. May I apply for a physician?s assistant license if I went to an international medical school and while I am waiting to be licensed as a medical doctor?
    No. New Jersey law makes no provision to allow licensure for physicians to practice as physician?s assistants regardless of their training in or outside of the United States.




  8. I received my medical education in the United States. I am a medical doctor (or doctor of osteopathy) by training. May I work as or apply for a physician?s assistant license while I am waiting to be licensed as a medical doctor?
    There is no provision in the law to allow for a physician, regardless of his or her medical training, to work as a physician?s assistant while waiting to be licensed as a physician. New Jersey law specifically requires physician?s assistants to have completed an educational program for physician assistants which has been approved by the ARC-PA program.




  9. What does ?primary source verification? mean?
    The Committee verifies all applicant information as ?primary source? verification. This means that we must receive the information directly from the issuing source. (e.g., School transcripts must come directly from your school. The Committee will not accept a noncertified copy).




  10. May a licensee practice in New Jersey using a physician?s assistant license from another state?
    No. The only exception that allows out-of-state licensed physician?s assistants to practice in New Jersey is when the U.S. military, another federal entity or a reservation for Native Americans employs the individual. Physician?s assistants who work for the federal government, as such, may not practice outside the employing federal facility without first obtaining a New Jersey physician?s assistant license.



Continuing Education:

  1. Are physician?s assistants in New Jersey required to obtain continuing medical education (C.M.E.) Credits every year? How do you know if the credits taken are fulfilling the requirements?
    Physician?s assistants are required to complete 50 Category I continuing education credit hours per biennial renewal. The licensee must check to make sure that all Category I C.M.E. course have been approved by at least one of the following: the American Medical association, the American Academy of Physician Assistants, the American Osteopathic Association or the Accreditation Council or Continuing medical Education (N.J.A.C.13:35-2B.8). At the time of renewal, proof of C.M.E. completion is not required upfront. Continuing medical education is checked by random audits and proof of completion must be provided upon demand. Failure to provide proof of C.M.E. completion may lead to possible action taken by the Committee.




Miscellaneous

  1. How do I update my address or report a name change?
    You can use the online form, mail, or fax the information to 973-504-6580, Attn: Physician Assistant Advisory Committee. Please include your name as registered with the Board, your current mailing address, current phone number, and your license number.

Contact Us | Privacy Notice | Legal Statement | Accessibility Statement
NJ Home Logo
Divisional: ../DCA Home | ../Complaint Forms | Proposals | Adoptions | Contact DCA
Departmental: OAG Home | Contact OAG | About OAG | OAG News | OAG FAQs
Statewide: NJ Home | Services A to Z | Departments/Agencies | FAQs
Copyright State of New Jersey
This page is maintained by DCA. Comments/Questions: email

Page last modified: