Skip to main navigationSkip to News Headlines
NJ Division of Consumer Affairs
Global Navigation
Division of Consumer Affairs
The State of New Jersey Office of The Attorney General (Dept. of Law & Public Safety) The State of New Jersey NJ Home Services A to Z Departments/Agencies OAG Frequently Asked Questions
OAG Home
OAG Contact
Division of Consumer Affairs Alerts and Recalls
Division of Consumer Affairs Alerts and Recalls
Office of the Attorney General Homepage Division of Consumer Affairs Acting Director
Division of Consumer Affairs Acting Director
Division of Alcoholic Beverage Control
Division of Consumer Affairs
Division of Consumer Affairs Highlights
Division of Consumer Affairs Topics in a A-Z List Format
Office of Consumer Protection (OCP)
New Jersey Bureau of Securities
Office of Weights and Measures
Legalized Games of Chance Control Commission
Alternative Dispute Resolution
Professions and Occupations List
Contact the Division of Consumer Affairs
Division of Consumer Affairs in Spanish
Division of Criminal Justice
Division on Civil Rights
Division of Gaming Enforcement
Division of Highway Traffic Safety
Division of Law
Juvenile Justice Commission
NJ Racing Commission
State Athletic Control Board
Division of NJ State Police
Victims of Crime Compensation Office
Subscribe to Buyer Beware Alerts
OPRA - Open Public Records Act
Download Free PDF Reader

Certification of Homemaker-Home Health Aides What Everyone Needs to Know

  • Homemaker-home health aides are certified by the New Jersey Board of Nursing ("Board") after successfully completing a required 76-hour training program, a competency evaluation and a criminal history background check.The training program shall consist of a least 76 hours, to include 60 hours of classroom instruction and 16 hours of clinical instruction in a skills laboratory or patient-care setting.

  • The program curriculum, the training faculty and the training facility must be reviewed and approved by the Board. The program coordinator will receive a certification package from the Board which includes the application for certification, the certification and authorization form.

  • After completion of the training program, the agency or school submits the certification package along with the list of eligible applicants (eligibility list) to the Board for approval. Included with the certification package for each applicant is a money order, certified check or company check made payable to the "New Jersey Board of Nursing" in the amount of $70 to cover the costs of application and certification.

  • The submitting agency or school will be notified of the approval or disapproval of the homemaker-health aide, via a faxed copy of the eligibility list, within three to five business days (not including weekends and holidays).

  • A copy of the eligibility list must be retained by the agency or school, and will serve as proof of authorization for the certified homemaker-home health aide to be employed conditionally until the criminal history background check has been satisfied, and the applicant is cleared to receive his or her certificate. The Criminal History Review Unit will notify the Board, the submitting agency/school and the applicant, in writing, of any change in the applicant's status. The eligibility list will indicate the 120-day time frame for conducting the criminal history background check for all applicants who are conditionally approved.

  • The homemaker-home health aide may be assigned to patient care after the submitting agency has been notified of the certified homemaker-home health aide's "approval." An aide listed as "disapproved" may not be assigned to patient care until the submitting agency/school and the applicant have been notified by the Board that the application has been approved.

  • A New Jersey registered professional nurse must supervise the certified homemaker-home health aide and the program of care delivered. A "homemaker-home health aide" means a person who is employed by a home care services agency and who, under the supervision of a registered professional nurse, follows a delegated nursing regimen or performs tasks which are delegated consistent with the provisions of N.J.A.C. 13:37-6.2.

  • Refer to the Board's new fee schedule (effective February 1, 1999) for the following changes to homemaker-home health aide fees: lapsed licenses, late submissions, affidavits and name/address changes.

Certification by Endorsement - What Everyone Needs to Know

  • For an applicant to be considered, she/he must have completed a homemaker-home health aide course of at least 76 hours.
  • The following items must be completed and returned to the Board:
    • An application for certification;
    • A certification and authorization form;
    • A money order, certified check or company check made payable to the "New Jersey Board of Nursing" in the amount of $50 to cover the costs of application and certification;
    • An official letter from the training agency verifying the number of training hours completed. The letter must be mailed directly to the Board; and
    • A promise-of-employment letter from your prospective New Jersey employer.

   
Contact Us | Privacy Notice | Legal Statement | Accessibility Statement
NJ Home Logo
Divisional: DCA Home | Complaint Forms | Proposals | Adoptions | Contact DCA
Departmental: OAG Home | Contact OAG | About OAG | OAG News | OAG FAQs
Statewide: NJ Home | Services A to Z | Departments/Agencies | FAQs
Copyright State of New Jersey
This page is maintained by DCA. Comments/Questions: email

Page last modified: