Skip to main navigationSkip to News Headlines
NJ Division of Consumer Affairs
Global Navigation
Division of Consumer Affairs
The State of New Jersey Office of The Attorney General (Dept. of Law & Public Safety) The State of New Jersey NJ Home Services A to Z Departments/Agencies OAG Frequently Asked Questions
OAG Home
OAG Contact
Division of Consumer Affairs Alerts and Recalls
Division of Consumer Affairs Alerts and Recalls
Office of the Attorney General Homepage Division of Consumer Affairs Acting Director
Division of Consumer Affairs Acting Director
Division of Alcoholic Beverage Control
Division of Consumer Affairs
Division of Consumer Affairs Highlights
Division of Consumer Affairs Topics in a A-Z List Format
Office of Consumer Protection (OCP)
New Jersey Bureau of Securities
Office of Weights and Measures
Legalized Games of Chance Control Commission
Alternative Dispute Resolution
Professions and Occupations List
Contact the Division of Consumer Affairs
Division of Consumer Affairs in Spanish
Division of Criminal Justice
Division on Civil Rights
Division of Gaming Enforcement
Division of Highway Traffic Safety
Division of Law
Juvenile Justice Commission
NJ Racing Commission
State Athletic Control Board
Division of NJ State Police
Victims of Crime Compensation Office
Subscribe to Buyer Beware Alerts
OPRA - Open Public Records Act
Download Free PDF Reader

Instructions for the Home Inspection Application under P.L. 2005, c.201(Effective February 17, 2006)

A) Complete the APPLICATION and remit payment of a $125.00 application fee. Payment should be made payable to the State of New Jersey.

B) Be of good moral character; and have successfully completed high school or its equivalent pursuant to N.J.S.A. 45:8-68(a) and (b).

C1) PROOF OF EDUCATION -Please provide proof (original certificates awarded by the school) that you successfully completed the 180 home inspection approved course of study, which shall include not less than 40 hours of unpaid field based inspections under the supervision of a licensed home inspector, as provided by the school providing the course of study pursuant to N.J.S.A. 45:8-68(c)(1).

OR

C2) PROOF OF 250 HOME INSPECTIONS- This provision only applies to individuals that have not passed an approved course of study through the NJ Department of Education. Submit a list of 250 fee paid home inspections performed in the presence of and under the direct supervision of a licensed home inspector who supervised and takes full responsibility for the inspection process and any report produced. After the Committee receives your application the Committee office will randomly audit this list and request that 10% (25 home inspection reports) be submitted for evaluation. You must also provide PROOF OF SUPERVISION by submitting the Certification(s) of on-site direct supervision under a licensed home inspector which must coincide with the list of 250 inspections provided pursuant to N.J.S.A. 45:8-68(c)(2).

D) PROOF OF INSURANCE pursuant to N.J.S.A. 45:8-76 and N.J.A.C. 13:40-15.8, every licensed home inspector engaged in the profession of home inspection shall secure, maintain and file with the Committee, proof of a certificate of an errors and omissions insurance policy in the minimum amount of $500,000.00 per occurrence. Therefore, please instruct your insurance carrier to submit proof of this coverage by providing an original certificate of insurance, stating all individual(s) covered under the policy, directly to the Committee office with your application number prominently referenced on it. COPIES OR FACSIMILES WILL NOT BE ACCEPTED. Finally, the Home Inspection Advisory Committee MUST BE REFERENCED AS A CERTIFICATE HOLDER so that it will be notified if the policy is renewed, altered or canceled.

E) PROOF OF EXAMINATION- Proof of successful completion of the National Home Inspector Examination (EBPHI) evidenced by an original score card pursuant to N.J.S.A. 45:8-68(d).

F) If a licensed professional engineer, please complete the Home Inspection Licensure Application for Professional Engineers available at "http://www.nj.gov/lps/ca/pels/hipelsapp4_03.pdf"

G) If a licensed architect, please contact the New Jersey Board of Architects for an application for licensure as a home inspector at (973) 504-6595.

PLEASE NOTE: Any submission to the Committee office must prominently display your assigned application number (an application number will be issued upon receipt of your application). Additionally, please ensure that your current address is on file with the Committee. The Committee office will not assume the responsibility for non-delivery of mailings. All address changes must be made in writing to the Committee. Additionally, any licensed professional engineer or licensed architect who practices home inspection in New Jersey is REQUIRED to obtain a home inspection license and carry the requisite insurance.

Finally, IT IS THE APPLICANT’S RESPONSIBILITY TO DETERMINE WHETHER ALL REQUIRED DOCUMENTS HAVE BEEN RECEIVED BY THIS OFFICE. NO ACTION WILL BE TAKEN ON YOUR APPLICATION UNTIL ALL VERIFICATIONS, TAX RECORDS, HOME INSPECTION REPORTS AND OTHER REQUIRED DOCUMENTS ARE RECEIVED. If you have any questions regarding your application or its status, please contact the Committee office at (973) 504-6233.

   
Contact Us | Privacy Notice | Legal Statement | Accessibility Statement
NJ Home Logo
Divisional: DCA Home | Complaint Forms | Proposals | Adoptions | Contact DCA
Departmental: OAG Home | Contact OAG | About OAG | OAG News | OAG FAQs
Statewide: NJ Home | Services A to Z | Departments/Agencies | FAQs
Copyright (C) State of New Jersey, 1996-2007
This page is maintained by DCA. Comments/Questions: email

Page last modified: