Skip to main navigationSkip to News Headlines
NJ Division of Consumer Affairs
Global Navigation
Division of Consumer Affairs
The State of New Jersey Office of The Attorney General (Dept. of Law & Public Safety) The State of New Jersey NJ Home Services A to Z Departments/Agencies OAG Frequently Asked Questions
OAG Home
OAG Contact
Division of Consumer Affairs Alerts and Recalls
Division of Consumer Affairs Alerts and Recalls
Office of the Attorney General Homepage Division of Consumer Affairs, Director
Division of Consumer Affairs, Director
Division of Alcoholic Beverage Control
Division of Consumer Affairs
Division of Consumer Affairs Highlights
Division of Consumer Affairs Topics in a A-Z List Format
Office of Consumer Protection (OCP)
New Jersey Bureau of Securities
Office of Weights and Measures
Legalized Games of Chance Control Commission
Alternative Dispute Resolution
Professions and Occupations List
Contact the Division of Consumer Affairs
Division of Consumer Affairs in Spanish
Division of Criminal Justice
Division on Civil Rights
Division of Gaming Enforcement
Division of Highway Traffic Safety
Division of Law
Juvenile Justice Commission
NJ Racing Commission
State Athletic Control Board
Division of NJ State Police
Victims of Crime Compensation Office
Subscribe to Buyer Beware Alerts
OPRA - Open Public Records Act
Download Free PDF Reader

How to Play Amusement Games

Spending a day at the shore, going to the fair or an amusement park, eating hot dogs and cotton candy, strolling along the boardwalk and knocking down all the milk bottles at the game stand, that's summer fun.

The games on the boardwalks, or at amusement parks and fairs, are there to entertain you and your family. And if you are skilled enough, or lucky enough, you may even win a prize. While most amusement games operators are legitimate, some are not, and you can lose your money.

Here are some tips to consider before putting your money down to play an amusement game:

All games must be licensed by the State of New Jersey. Look to see that the license is posted. Rules must be clearly posted. If you can't understand the rules, don't play the game. An operator can charge a maximum of $10.00 to play a game, and the price must be posted An operator must give you your change back immediately. A prize must be labeled indicating what it takes to win it.

If you think you are being cheated, stop playing and walk away. Then you should contact the Legalized Games of Chance Control Commission at 973-273-8000 or write to

The Office of the Attorney General
Division of Consumer Affairs
Legalized Games of Chance Control Commission
P.O. Box 46000
Newark, New Jersey 07101

Is gambling a problem for you or someone in your family? If so, call 1-800-GAMBLER 24 hours a day, 7 days a week. The Council on Compulsive Gambling of New Jersey is located at 1315 W. Street, Trenton, NJ 08618, 609-599-3299.

   
Contact Us | Privacy Notice | Legal Statement | Accessibility Statement
NJ Home Logo
Divisional: DCA Home | Complaint Forms | Proposals | Adoptions | Contact DCA
Departmental: OAG Home | Contact OAG | About OAG | OAG News | OAG FAQs
Statewide: NJ Home | Services A to Z | Departments/Agencies | FAQs
Copyright State of New Jersey
This page is maintained by DCA. Comments/Questions: email

Page last modified: