Skip to main navigationSkip to News Headlines
NJ Division of Consumer Affairs
Global Navigation
Division of Consumer Affairs
The State of New Jersey Office of The Attorney General (Dept. of Law & Public Safety) The State of New Jersey NJ Home Services A to Z Departments/Agencies OAG Frequently Asked Questions
OAG Home
OAG Contact
Division of Consumer Affairs Alerts and Recalls
Division of Consumer Affairs Alerts and Recalls
Office of the Attorney General Homepage Division of Consumer Affairs, Director
Division of Consumer Affairs, Director
Division of Alcoholic Beverage Control
Division of Consumer Affairs
Division of Consumer Affairs Highlights
Division of Consumer Affairs Topics in a A-Z List Format
Office of Consumer Protection (OCP)
New Jersey Bureau of Securities
Office of Weights and Measures
Legalized Games of Chance Control Commission
Alternative Dispute Resolution
Professions and Occupations List
Contact the Division of Consumer Affairs
Division of Consumer Affairs in Spanish
Division of Criminal Justice
Division on Civil Rights
Division of Gaming Enforcement
Division of Highway Traffic Safety
Division of Law
Juvenile Justice Commission
NJ Racing Commission
State Athletic Control Board
Division of NJ State Police
Victims of Crime Compensation Office
OPRA - Open Public Records Act
Download Free PDF Reader

Paula T. Dow,
Attorney General

Division of Consumer Affairs
Thomas R. Calcagni, Director

 

 

For Immediate Release:
November 17, 2011
For Further Information Contact:
Jeff Lamm, 973-504-6327
Neal Buccino, 973-504-6327
 

New Jersey Division of Consumer Affairs
Provides Holiday Shopping Tips for Consumers

NEWARK With the busiest shopping day of the year just over one week away, the New Jersey Division of Consumer Affairs today reminded shoppers to know their rights about rainchecks, gift cards, and item refunds, and also to check the national list of recalled toys before going online or to stores this holiday shopping season.

"We're seeing a resurgence in layaway plans offered by stores this year. As with any offer, consumers should learn all the details, know the associated costs, and judge whether it is a good deal for them," said Thomas R. Calcagni, Director of the State Division of Consumer Affairs.

Calcagni urged consumers to know their rights in the marketplace and offered the following advice and information:

Store Layaway:

  • Know the terms of the store's layaway plan. Do not assume layaway is free.

Rainchecks:

A retailer may, but is not required to, offer a raincheck for advertised merchandise that is not available for purchase. When a raincheck is issued:

  • The retailer has 60 days to honor the raincheck, unless the consumer holding the raincheck agrees to an extension;

  • If the item costs more than $15, the retailer must give written or telephonic notice to the consumer when the item becomes available; and

  • After such notice is given, the item must be held for the consumer for at least 10 days or the end of the 60-day raincheck period (whichever is greater).

Refunds:

Refund policies at some retailers may include a restocking or reshipping fee. Whatever the refund policies, retailers must conspicuously post them for all merchandise in one of the following locations:

  • Attached to the item itself;

  • Affixed to each cash register or at point of sale;

  • Situated as to be clearly visible to the buyer from the cash register; or

  • Posted at each store entrance used by the public.

Gift Cards:

No gift card or gift certificate can expire for five years after purchase;

  • No dormancy fee can be imposed within the first 24 months following purchase or within the 24 month period following last use of the gift card;

  • After 24 months of non-activity, the issuer may charge a maximum dormancy fee of $2 per month; and

  • The gift card must include a telephone number to call for information about its expiration date or dormancy fees.

Online Purchases:

  • Be certain the website is secure or uses encryption before entering personal and credit card information look for "https" in the website address;

  • Verify that the business operates from a real location and be wary of businesses that only list a Post Office Box as an address;

  • Find out how the business resolves consumer disputes, by reading the posted "terms and conditions";

  • Print out a transaction record for each purchase and keep it to resolve any issues regarding the item being purchased; and

  • Do not click on links contained in unsolicited emails from supposed shopping websites.

Be a Savvy Shopper:

  • Make a budget and know what you can afford before you start shopping;
  • Compare prices for the same item in store flyers or on the internet before making your purchase; and
  • Avoid identity theft by protecting your credit card receipts and sales slips that contain personal information.

Toy Safety:

The U.S. Consumer Product Safety Commission has authority to issue recalls for unsafe or dangerous toys. Consumers can check the list of recalled toys via the Division's website at http://www.state.nj.us/lps/ca/recall/recalls.htm .

Charitable Giving:

All charities doing business in New Jersey must be registered, unless the charity raises less than $10,000 annually and does not use paid fund raisers to solicit donations.

To verify whether a charity is registered, check the online registry maintained by the Division at http://www.njconsumeraffairs.gov/charity/chardir.htm .

Know the warning signs of a scam. If you receive a telephone call from a charity asking for a donation:

  • Avoid being pressured into making an immediate donation;

  • Beware if you are offered a prize or gift in return for your donation;

  • Do not give credit card information to an unknown person over the telephone; and

  • Never agree to have a messenger or delivery person come to your home to pick up your donation.

When receiving a solicitation for a donation by mail, remember:

  • Trinkets and other items accompanying the donation request are gifts. You are not required to send a donation because you received a trinket or item;

  • Be dubious if the charity claims you made a past donation or pledge but you have no record of it; and

  • Ignore harassing letters that demand payment of a donation pledge that you have no record or recollection of making.

Consumers who believe they have been cheated or scammed by a business, or suspect any other form of consumer abuse, can file a complaint with the State Division of Consumer Affairs by visiting its website, , or by calling 800-242-5846 (toll free within New Jersey) or 973-504-6200. Follow the Division of Consumer Affairs on Facebook, at http://www.facebook.com/pages/NJ-Division-of-Consumer-Affairs/112957465445651 . Check our online calendar of upcoming Consumer Outreach events, at http://www.nj.gov/oag/ca/outreach .

###

   
Contact Us | Privacy Notice | Legal Statement | Accessibility Statement
NJ Home Logo
Divisional: DCA Home | Complaint Forms | Proposals | Adoptions | Contact DCA
Departmental: OAG Home | Contact OAG | About OAG | OAG News | OAG FAQs
Statewide: NJ Home | Services A to Z | Departments/Agencies | FAQs
Copyright State of New Jersey, 1996-2007
This page is maintained by DCA. Comments/Questions: email

Page last modified: