Bergen County Moving Company Agrees to Pay
Consumer Restitution and $20,000 Civil Penalty
NEWARK – A South Hackensack moving company sued by the state last year for allegedly operating without a license has agreed to pay at least $5,774 in restitution to consumers and a $20,000 civil penalty to the state to resolve the matter, Attorney General Stuart Rabner and Acting Consumer Affairs Director Stephen B. Nolan announced.
A Professional Movers, Inc., and its principals, Adam Eliad and Oziel Eliad, also agreed to comply with all applicable provisions of the New Jersey Consumer Fraud Act, the New Jersey Public Movers Licensing Act and Public Movers Regulations in their future business practices. The matter was resolved with no admission of liability or wrongdoing.
“We will not allow the legal protections that consumers are entitled to when hiring a moving company to be violated or ignored,” Attorney General Rabner said. “This agreement requires the moving company to adhere to state laws and regulations or else face additional penalties.”
If A Professional Movers does not comply with the terms of the settlement for a three-year period, an additional $30,000 civil penalty that is currently suspended will become due and payable.
“Moving can be an expensive and emotional experience. Consumer Affairs regulates the moving industry to protect the public, and, in cases such as this one, to provide recourse and take action on their behalf,” Acting Director Nolan said.
Deputy Attorney General Gina M. Betts represented the state in this matter.
Under state laws and regulations, any company providing intrastate moving and/or storage services is required to be licensed by Consumer Affairs. Movers are required to file tariffs listing rates and to have insurance coverage, among other requirements.
Movers must provide consumers with written estimates. State law requires that the estimate be based on a visual survey of the items to be moved, not a verbal description of them. The moving company is required to give the consumer a written estimate that explains how the overall cost is calculated. The estimate is binding on the mover only when it is expressly written on the front of the estimate.
For more information about hiring a moving company, visit the Consumer Affairs web site, http://www.njConsumerAffairs.gov or call 1-800-242-5846 (from within New Jersey only) or 973-504-6200.