New Jersey Home My New Jersey People Business Government Departments
New Jersey Statewide Navigation Bar New Jersey Home My New Jersey People Business Government Departments
NJ Department of Law & Public Safety Home
Police Resources Header graphic
Graphic Link back to DIV of Criminal Justice Home
Drug Testing Link Internal Affairs Link Record Keeping Link Training Resources Link Radar Certification Link Management Assistance LInk Police Training Link Firearms Training Link
Police Resources HomeAttorney General GuidelinesNew Laws added LinkOther Resources and Information LinkLaw Enforcement LinkDomestic Violence

RADAR CERTIFICATION


Requirements for Certification

Operator (3 year certification)

  • Minimum of four (4) hours classroom instruction on the Division of Criminal Justice RADAR manual.
  • Minimum of four (4) hours supervised hands-on practical training in RADAR operation.
  • Minimum of eighty (80) hours hands-on non-enforcement operation of the RADAR equipment.
  • Upon completion of the above requirements, application must be made to the Division of Criminal Justice for certification.

Instructor (3 year certification)

  • Satisfactory completion of RADAR operator requirements.
  • Two years experience as a RADAR operator.
  • Completion of a course for RADAR instructors approved by the Police Training Commission.
  • In order to instruct RADAR in the Basic Course for Police Officers and the RADAR Instructor's Course the instructor must meet the Methods of Instruction requirements specified in N.J.A.C. 13:1-4.4. THIS IS FOR ACADEMY LEVEL TRAINING ONLY.

Upon completion of these requirements application must be made to the Division of Criminal Justice for certification.

Recertification as a Radar Operator

  • Two (2) years of continuous RADAR operation following initial certification.
  • Four (4) hours of in-service training during the last year of the operator's current certification period by a certified instructor. The training must include two hours of classroom instruction with updates on court decisions or related training issues and two hours of practical exercise using a vehicle mounted RADAR unit or equivalent training device.
  • Upon completion of these requirements application must be made to the Division of Criminal Justice for recertification.

    Recertification as a Radar Instructor

  • Presentation of at least one (1) RADAR course at a certified police academy or police department during the instructor's current certification period.
  • Attendance at a Division of Criminal Justice approved RADAR instructor refresher course or equivalent course.
  • Upon completion of these requirements application must be made to the Division of Criminal Justice for recertification. THIS IS SATISFIED UPON COMPLETION OF THE RADAR INSTRUCTOR REFRESHER COURSE.

 

Police Graphic and Div OF Criminal Justice BADGE
 
New Jersey Home Contact Us Privacy Notice Legal Statement
 
bottom navigation graphic    
Division: DCJ home | DCJ news | guidelines | units | contact info | most requested | visit other DCJ Web-sites
departmental: lps home | contact us | news | about us | faqs | library | employment | programs and units | services a-z
statewide: njhome | my new jersey | people | business | government | departments | search
New Jersey Division of Criminal Justice
Richard J. Hughes Justice Complex
25 Market Street, P.O. Box 085
Trenton, NJ 08625-0085
(609) 984-6500

Comments or Technical problems? Please contact Webmaster
Copyright © State of New Jersey

New Jersey Home Contact Us Privacy Notice Legal Statement