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as mandatory seat belt use by everyone in the vehicle, 
appears to be having a positive impact.  

But despite having a strong GDL law, the state has expe-
rienced a rash of fatal teen crashes in the past two years.  
This prompted the New Jersey Legislature to introduce a 
bill, signed into law by Governor Jon S. Corzine, in March 
2007, establishing a Teen Driver Study Commission.

The 15-member Commission was charged with assessing 
the state of teen driving in New Jersey and making 
recommendations to help reduce crashes and save lives.  
The Commission first met on September 27, 2007 and 
every other week thereafter through February 27, 2008.  
Three public hearings and expert panels were convened 
to ensure that the Commission was focusing on the most 
critical issues.  

The scope of the Commission’s work focuses on teens 
16 to 20 years of age, who annually account for more 
than three quarters of the state’s new drivers.  While new 
drivers 21 years of age and older are not addressed in 
this report, progressive stages for these older drivers, as 
mandated under the current GDL system (at least three 
months on a permit, six months on a provisional license 
prior to full licensure), are essential.  

From this work, 47 recommendations were identified and 
categorized into seven key areas: the Graduated Driver 
License, driver education, driver training, enforcement/
judicial, insurance industry, schools, and technology.  
The recommendations do not call for an increase in the 
minimum driving age (currently 17 with restrictions) or 
a single path to licensure for all new drivers. Garnering 
support for a later driving age in a highly mobile state 
would be difficult and there are socio-economic barriers 
associated with one licensure path.  

In addition, there are no specific recommendations 
addressing the impact alcohol use has on teen driver 
crashes because alcohol and other illegal substances do 
not appear on the list of the top 25 causation factors for 
teen crashes in New Jersey.  However, education and 
prevention of unsafe driving behaviors, including DWI, 
is addressed in the recommendations. 

Motor vehicle crashes are the leading cause of teen death 
in the United States.  An average of 6,000 teens die and 
another 300,000 are injured annually across the nation.   
Teens crash for many reasons, but the most common are 
overconfidence, speeding, impaired driving, distraction 
and inexperience.  In addition, seat belt use among teens 
is the lowest of any age group on the road.

In New Jersey, teens (17 to 20 years of age) represent 
just five percent of the population, but are involved in 12 
percent of the crashes.  In 2006, there were 55,792 teen 
crashes in the state.  While many of the crashes were not 
life threatening, 48 teen drivers and 19 teen passengers 
driven by teens died in motor vehicle crashes in 2006, a six 
percent increase over the previous year. Speed, distraction 
and inexperience, coupled with a lack of seat belt use, 
were prevalent factors in these fatal crashes.  And in some 
cases, these teen drivers had multiple violations on their 
driving records.  

In response to the teen driver problem, all 50 states 
have enacted Graduated Driver Licensing (GDL) laws.
Graduated driver licensing is designed to introduce teens 
to driving in stages, over an extended period of time, 
in an environment that minimizes risk. A teen typically 
progresses through a permit phase, where he or she prac-
tices with supervision, to a provisional or probationary 
phase, which allows for independent driving with restric-
tions. Following successful completion of this phase, a teen 
is granted full driving privileges. 

Nationwide, GDL appears to be working. Between 1996 
and 2005, both fatal and police-reported crashes per 
population fell approximately 40 percent for 16-year- 
olds, 25 percent for 17-year-olds and 15 to 19 percent 
for 18-year-olds. Additionally, the number of teens killed 
in crashes in 2005 (latest year for which national data is 
available) was the lowest since 1992.

Teen driver crashes and fatalities in New Jersey are 
down five and 15 percent, respectively, since enactment 
of a GDL law in 2001. New Jersey has the nation’s 
oldest minimum driving age: permit at 16, license with 
restrictions at 17 after six months of practice driv-
ing, and full licensure after 12 months of restricted 
driving, usually no younger than 18. That, coupled with 
nighttime, passenger and cell phone restrictions, as well 
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all merit enactment and/or further study, the following 14 
recommendations are absolutely essential for stemming 
the tide of teen driver crashes in our state and should be 
addressed immediately.
 

What the recommendations do address are specific issues 
that can result in gains in teen driver safety for this age 
group.  A champion has been named for each and charged 
with promoting timely and full implementation.  While 

Develop an “event-based” GDL monitoring program that includes sanctions (training, suspension and 
postponement) that effectively deter GDL and non-serious and serious motor vehicle violations.  

Sanctions are essential for an effective GDL program.  
Adopting an “event-based” rather than a “point-based” 
violations system (currently used in New Jersey) will 
ensure that the Motor Vehicle Commission can monitor 
a GDL holder’s behavior and assess sanctions (i.e., 
driver training, license suspension or postponement 
of full licensure) when a GDL and/or traffic violation 
is committed. If a teen can circumvent the point-based 
system, by pleading a point carrying offense to a non-point 
carrying offense such as “unsafe operator,” the current 
monitoring system is not activated and the remedial needs 
of a GDL holder are not addressed.   

In addition to event-based monitoring, sanctions should 
be strengthened.  Enhancing the sanctions sends a strong 
message to teens that driving is a privilege, not a right.  
Plus, teens view driver training and license suspension 
as the most effective deterrents to unsafe and unlawful 
behavior.  It is recommended that for a first non-serious

offense, a teen be required to complete a driver improve-
ment program and advancement to the next phase of the 
GDL (probationary or basic licensure) be postponed for 
60 days.  For a second non-serious violation, the teen 
would receive a 60-day license suspension and a 120-day 
postponement. For a third and subsequent non-serious vi-
olation, the teen’s license would be suspended for 90 days 
and include a 180-day postponement.  If the teen commits 
a serious violation (i.e., DWI, reckless driving, racing, 
speeding more than 15 mph over the limit, leaving the 
scene of an accident), he or she would receive a 180-day 
license suspension and a 180-day postponement.  

Any suspension and/or postponement would not run con-
current with a suspension or postponement term mandated 
for a prior offense.  And, penalties associated with serious 
violations, (i.e., license suspension for DWI) would not 
be superseded by GDL sanctions.

Until event-based monitoring and enhanced sanctions are implemented, ban plea agreements for traffic 
offenses committed by GDL holders.

As noted above, a GDL holder who receives a citation for 
a point carrying violation can, in some instances, plead 
to a non-point carrying offense, thereby circumventing 
MVC’s monitoring system and sanctions under the law.  
A review of fatal teen driver crash records in New Jersey 
shows that several teen drivers had taken advantage of this 
safe harbor.  And it is unclear how many other teens are 

getting multiple bites at the apple thus putting themselves, 
their passengers and others on the road at risk. An 
Attorney General directive to prosecutors banning plea 
agreements for GDL license holders, at least until event-
based monitoring is implemented, will ensure that new 
drivers, who fail to drive safely and in compliance with 
the law, are sanctioned accordingly.       

Teen Driver Study Commission Report 2



MVC is expected to bring a new computer system 
(MATRX) online in three to four years. While the agen-
cy should ensure that the new system fully supports the 
GDL law, including event-based monitoring and other re-
quirements and recommendations, it should also conduct, 
as soon as possible, an analysis of the programming 
requirements needed to bring the current system into 
compliance with the GDL law. At the very minimum, 
MVC is urged to find a solution for addressing the need 
to monitor and properly sanction GDL holders now.

New Jersey’s GDL law has been in effect since 2001, 
but the computer programming changes needed to fully 
implement monitoring and sanctions have never been 
instituted due to competing priorities and resource issues 
at MVC.  Having the technology in place to monitor GDL 
and motor vehicle violations (as noted in the previous 
recommendation) and administer sanctions is absolutely 
essential if the law is to perform as intended.  

Implement the programming changes necessary to ensure that MVC’s current and pending computer system 
can accommodate all components of the GDL law.

Develop a GDL identifier that must be affixed to a vehicle when driven by a permit or probationary     
license holder.  

Being able to identify a teen driver stands out as the single 
most vexing issue for those responsible for administering 
and enforcing GDL laws. Requiring a GDL holder to 
display an identifier (which has been done in a number 
of countries for many years) on the vehicle he or she is 
driving, will aid police in enforcing the provisions of the 
GDL law and remove any concerns about “profiling.”  
What the identifier would look like and where it would be 

affixed should be addressed by MVC through rulemaking.  
The Legislature, however, would need to amend the current 
GDL law to include “failure to display the identifier” as a 
violation ($100 fine).  And under an “event-based” moni-
toring system (detailed above), a conviction for failing 
to display the identifier would trigger training, license 
suspension and/or postponement for the teen driver. 

Require a parent/guardian to attend a teen driver orientation program with his or her teen prior to applying 
for a permit.

Parents play a pivotal role in the licensing of their 
children.  Ensuring that they fully understand this and 
have the tools to manage their teen drivers is essential.  
There is strong evidence, however, that many parents 
have limited knowledge of how New Jersey’s GDL law 
works.  An orientation program that not only includes a 

comprehensive review of all aspects of the law and the 
importance of parental supervision, but an overview of 
teen crash risk and the importance of driver education and 
training is needed.  A teen and his or her parent/guardian 
would have to complete the orientation as a condition of 
obtaining a permit.
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Require teens to complete a minimum number of hours of certified practice driving during the permit phase.

Under the current GDL law, novice drivers under 21 years 
of age must hold a permit for a minimum of six months.  
While 16-year-olds must complete a six-hour, behind-the-
wheel driver training program to obtain a permit, teens 
between 17 and 20 years of age have no such require-
ment. While the Commission considered requiring all 
teens under 21 to complete a six-hour, behind-the-wheel 
training program, it recognized that there are distinct 
socio-economic differences in our state that must be taken 
into consideration. 

Six hours of driver training, however, does not make a 
skilled and/or safe driver. For this reason, it is recom-
mended that a teen entering the GDL system at 16 years of 
age complete the six-hour program and log a minimum of 
50 hours of certified practice driving (a parent/guardian or 

adult at least 25 years of age supervises the teen’s practice 
driving and certifies, by signing off in a log, the date and 
length of time spent behind-the-wheel).

Teens entering the system between 17 and 20 years of 
age have the option of completing the same minimum 
requirements as a 16-year-old permit holder (as noted 
above) or they must log a minimum of 100 hours of certi-
fied practice driving (20 of which must be at night). A 
teen would be required to have the certified practice 
driving log notarized prior to turning it into MVC when 
taking the skills/road test necessary for obtaining a 
probationary license. Currently 43 states mandate certi-
fied practice driving in the permit phase to ensure that 
teens not only have the chance to build skill, but to do so 
under varying conditions prior to driving unsupervised.

Extend the permit phase from a minimum of six months to one year for all new drivers 16 to 20 years of age.

Practice makes perfect and nowhere is that more important 
than when learning to drive.  Research shows that it takes 
more than 1,000 hours of driving before a teen’s crash risk 
drops significantly. Extending the learner’s permit from 
six months to 12 (as currently done in four other states) 

will provide more time for New Jersey teens to practice 
and gain driving experience in a controlled supervised 
environment. Studies suggest that teen driver crash rate 
decreases of 22 to 40 percent are possible with extended 
learner periods.

Limit the number of passengers in the probationary phase to one regardless of the passenger’s relationship 
to the driver.

A teen driver is 158 percent more likely to be killed in a 
crash while carrying two passengers. The risk increases 
to 207 percent when there are three passengers in a 
teen driver’s car.  The increased risk is often the result 
of distraction and others in the car encouraging the teen 
driver to take risks. Most teen crashes in New Jersey 
occur after school, so minimizing risks associated with 
passengers is critical.

Currently, a New Jersey teen holding a probationary 
license may transport family members and no more than 
one, non-family member passenger in a vehicle. While 

the teen and his or her passengers are clearly at risk, 
enforcing this restriction is all but impossible for law 
enforcement officials. In addition, new research data 
shows that a child’s risk of dying in a crash doubles 
when a teen is behind-the-wheel. Limiting the number 
of passengers a probationary driver may transport to just 
one, regardless of his or her relationship to the teen, is 
an important and proven safety measure. Additionally, a 
probationary driver is a “driver in training” and should 
not be considered a transportation provider for classmates 
and/or siblings.  
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Sanction, in addition to the teen driver, all passengers 16 to 20 years of age on a permit, probationary or 
basic license, who violate the GDL passenger and safety belt restrictions.

Teens know the GDL law, particularly when it comes 
to the restrictions.  But an analysis of fatal teen driver 
crashes in New Jersey found that many of the drivers 
were violating the passenger restrictions and the seat belt 
requirement (driver and all passengers must buckle up).  
Teens pointed out to the Commission that what will stop 
them from violating the GDL law is strict enforcement 
coupled with sanctions for everyone in the vehicle. For 

this reason, if a police officer stops a vehicle driven by 
a GDL holder and there are two or more passengers in 
the vehicle, it is recommended that everyone between 16 
and 20 years of age in the licensing system be penalized 
for violation of the passenger restriction. If a passenger 
is not wearing a seat belt, both the driver (even if he or 
she is belted) and the passenger would be fined.  This will 
necessitate an amendment to the current GDL law.

Lower the nighttime driving hours restriction from 12 a.m. to 11 p.m. for probationary license holders. 

New Jersey’s GDL law currently restricts teens on a 
probationary license from driving between midnight and 
5 a.m.  Although only 15 percent of miles driven by 16 
and 17-year-olds are between 9 p.m. and 6 a.m., more than 
40 percent of their fatal crashes occur during this time.  
Knowing this and that restrictions beginning at midnight 

are too late to affect the majority of nighttime driving 
crashes, it is imperative that New Jersey’s restriction be 
lowered to at least 11 p.m.  A one-hour restriction will 
result in a safety gain, while allowing today’s highly mo-
bile teens to still participate in extracurricular activities 
and get to and from work.  

Close the loophole in the seat belt law to ensure all back seat passengers 18 years of age and older buckle up.

New Jersey’s primary seat belt law contains a loophole 
that does not require backseat passengers 18 years of age 
and older to buckle up. However, all individuals riding 
in a vehicle operated by a GDL holder are required to 
buckle up. Once a teen graduates from a probationary 
license to a basic license that requirement does not apply 
to back seat passengers 18 years of age or older. Knowing 
that teens continue to crash, while their violations nearly 

double after they graduate from a probationary to a basic 
license, ensuring that everyone in the vehicle is properly 
restrained is essential. Seat belts are the single most 
effective safety device in a motor vehicle crash. Several 
recent fatal teen crashes in New Jersey involved lack of 
seat belt use by passengers, several of whom were 18 years 
of age or older.

Appropriate funding for driver education through the GDL-mandated Driver Education Fund.

The GDL law dedicates $5 of the $10 permit fee to a 
Driver Education Fund.  Administered by MVC, the fund 
collects approximately $1.37 million annually. While 
these monies are dedicated, expending them requires an 
annual appropriation, which has not happened since the 
Fund was established in 2001. Ensuring that these funds 
are used for their intended purpose – the development of 

driver education and training materials and initiatives – is 
essential considering the $9 billion annual impact traffic 
crashes have in New Jersey.  To remedy this situation, it is 
recommended that MVC annually request appropriation 
language to ensure that the funds are appropriated and 
expended as intended under the GDL law.
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Develop and deliver to public and private schools a standardized traffic safety/driver education curriculum 
and incorporate it into New Jersey’s Core Curriculum Content Standards for students in grades K-12.

Crash risk does not begin at 16; children start learning 
to drive the minute they are strapped into their car 
seats. Incorporating traffic safety into New Jersey’s Core 
Curriculum Content Standards for students beginning 
in kindergarten is essential. In addition, developing a 
standardized curriculum, starting with high school driver 
education, is needed. The Department of Education has 

begun work on the former, while MVC is leading the 
latter. Both tasks have been given high priority and will 
be instrumental in ensuring that children learn basic traffic 
safety principles in elementary school, leading to basic 
skills in middle and early high school followed by higher-
order skills in high school and following licensure.  

Amend the GDL law and the corresponding regulations to clearly define six hours of behind-the-wheel 
driver training.

A teen who opts to obtain a permit at 16 must successfully 
complete six hours of behind-the-wheel training. While 
MVC requires that a driving school course “be a minimum 
of six hours behind-the-wheel instruction,” the Commis-
sion heard testimony to the contrary from parents and 
teens. To remedy this problem, it is recommended that the 

current MVC regulation be amended to ensure that a teen 
receives six hours of one-on-one, private instruction.  MVC 
is also encouraged to research and adopt a standard, up-
to-date curriculum for behind-the-wheel instruction, based 
on a nationally accepted model that goes beyond simply 
preparing a student to pass the MVC skill test.

Finally, the Commission believes that the community at-large must play a role in addressing teen driving.  
Teen driver safety is not just a parental problem, a police problem or a school problem.  Every citizen and 
every public and private sector organization must invest in teen driver safety.  The expenditure of time and/
or resources, whether it is championing a statutory or regulatory change, partnering with a school or other 
entity to ensure driver education is readily available to all teens, or advising a parent when his or her teen 
is driving irresponsibly, will pay dividends in the form of improved safety for all who use our roadways.
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of U.S. teens killed in motor vehicle crashes each year 
is the equivalent of a commercial airplane full of teens 
crashing to the ground once every week.

Teens crash for many reasons, but data shows that this 
age group makes nine common mistakes, sometimes in 
combination with each other, that can result in deadly 
consequences.  These include in no particular order:

Motor vehicle crashes are the leading cause of teen death 
in the United States.  The fatality rate for 16- to 20-year-
olds, based on miles driven, is four times that of drivers 
25 to 69 years of age.1 In 2005 (the most recent year for 
which national data is available), more than 6,000 young 
people in this age group were killed in motor vehicle 
crashes in the U.S.  For every teenager killed, another 90 
on average are injured.2  The end result is that the number 

Overconfidence and an “it can’t happen to me” attitude.
While teens recognize that they might crash and are concerned about making mistakes behind the wheel, 
they overrate their own driving skills believing that they will be able to handle risky situations.  Research 
suggests that the part of the brain responsible for decision-making and impulse control does not fully 
mature until the mid-twenties.3

Failing to buckle up.  
Seat belt use among teens, particularly those killed in motor vehicle crashes, is the lowest of any age group 
on the road.4  Six out of 10 drivers ages 16 to 20 who were killed in crashes in the U.S. were unrestrained.  
Almost two out of three teens killed as occupants of motor vehicles are unrestrained.5  

Talking on a cell phone or texting.
Cell phone ownership and use by teen drivers is at an all-time high.  Nearly 50 percent of teens talk on 
a cell phone while driving.6  The problem is that a young driver’s reaction time slows down to that of a 
70-year-old when he or she talks on a cell phone while driving.7

Speeding.
One-third of U.S. teen fatalities involve speeding and speeding8  by teen drivers is observed much more 
frequently than substance use.9  Crash risk increases incrementally with each mile per hour driven over 
the speed limit.10

Impaired driving.
Alcohol-involved crashes increase from relatively low rates among 16-year-old drivers to a peak among 
drivers 20 to 24 years of age.  In 2004, drivers involved in a fatal crash with a Blood Alcohol Content (BAC) 
of 0.08 percent or higher ranged from 13 and 17 percent, respectively, for 16- and 17-year-olds, to 24 to 29 
percent, respectively, for 18- and 19-year-olds.11

Passenger distractions.
By carrying just one passenger the risk for a crash increases by 50 percent. With three or more passengers, 
the risk is nearly four times greater than while driving alone.12

Driving at night.
Teens are twice as likely to crash at night (9 p.m. – 6 a.m.) than during the day.13

A National Problem
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A New Jersey Problem

driver/bicyclist action (2.6%), backing unsafely (2.3%), 
failure to obey traffic control device (2.1%), improper 
turning (1.9%), and improper lane change (1.8%).20

While nearly 56,000 teen drivers were involved in non-
injury-related crashes in New Jersey in 2006, tragically 
48 teen drivers and 19 passengers driven by teens died, a 
6 percent increase over the previous year. Since 2001, 331 
teens have died in motor vehicle crashes in New Jersey.   
A review of the crash reports shows that speed, distraction 
and inexperience coupled with multiple passengers and 
lack of seat belt use were prevalent factors in these fatal 
crashes.  In addition, in some cases, teen drivers involved 
in these crashes had multiple violations on their driving 
records prior to the fatal event.21

Several counties, Monmouth, Middlesex, Morris, and 
Ocean, have been particularly hard hit by fatal teen driving 
crashes in the past few years. But it is important to note 
that no county or community in our state is immune from 
this problem.  For the past five years, Middlesex County 
has consistently had the highest number of teen driving 
crashes followed by Bergen, Monmouth, Ocean, and 
Passaic.  Meanwhile between 2002-2006, Dover Township 
(Ocean County) ranked number one in teen crashes with 
6,423, followed by Newark (6,196), Woodbridge (4,829), 
Edison (4,712), Paterson (4,408), Hamilton (3,954), and 
Paramus (3,760), illustrating that teen driver crashes occur 
in both suburban and urban areas.22

In 2006 (the most recent year for which state data is 
available), more than 550,000 drivers were involved in a 
crash in New Jersey.  Of that number, 55,792 or 12 per-
cent of these drivers were between 17 and 20 years of 
age. While the number of teen drivers involved in crashes 
decreased by 5 percent between 2002 and 2006, teen drivers 
account for just 5 percent of the state’s driving population 
and, therefore, are overly represented in crashes.17 

In New Jersey, for every 100 licensed young drivers, 16 
on average were involved in a crash, more than double 
the rate for all drivers.  One out of every six young drivers 
licensed in New Jersey was involved in a crash and a 
teen driving crash occurs in the Garden State every nine 
minutes.  And while historically more male than female 
teens are involved in motor vehicle crashes, in the past 
five years that gap has begun to narrow.18

Teens in New Jersey are involved in more crashes in June 
than any other month and these crashes are most likely to 
occur on Friday, followed by Wednesday and Saturday. 
The most dangerous time on the road for teens, based on 
percent of crashes, is between 3 and 6 p.m. followed by 
noon to 3 p.m. and then 6 to 9 p.m.19 

Nearly a quarter (24%) of teen driver crashes are caused 
by driver inattention/distraction followed by unsafe speed 
(7%) and failure to yield to another motorist or pedestrian 
(5.3%).  The other top ten causation factors are:  following 
too closely (4.5%), road surface condition (2.6%), other 
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Failure to anticipate potential dangers.
Crash rates for newly licensed drivers are highest during the first six months of driving.  Evidence suggests 
that lack of experience plays a key role in a novice driver’s tendency to make poor judgments about hazards 
and that most crashes result from a lack of awareness about what is risky.14  

Ignoring car maintenance. 
Teens are more likely to drive older vehicles15 and as few as one in four is responsible for paying at least 
some of the costs associated with vehicle maintenance and damage repairs.16  A lack of financial investment 
may attribute to their willingness to drive in a careless fashion.



Assessing Our System

law in March 2007 legislation, sponsored by Senator 
Ellen Karcher and Assembly members John Wisniewski, 
Joseph Malone and Jennifer Beck, establishing a Teen 
Driver Study Commission.  The Commission was charged 
with assessing, over a six-month period, the state of teen 
driving in New Jersey and making recommendations that 
will reduce crashes and ultimately save lives.  

The 15-member Commission began meeting in September 
2007 and continued to convene on a bi-weekly basis 
through late February 2008. The Commission poured 
over the latest national and international research on 
teen driving; analyzed New Jersey licensing, crash and 

Since New Jersey’s GDL law went into affect in 2001, 
teen driver crashes are down five percent, while fatalities 
involving teens at the wheel are down 15 percent.  The 
law, which has the nation’s oldest minimum driving age 
(17 for licensure) and many other essential elements cited 
as critical for an effective GDL (i.e., extended permit 
phase, passenger and nighttime driving restrictions, a cell 
phone ban and primary seat belt use) is having a positive 
impact.  However, teens are still crashing and dying on 
New Jersey’s roadways.  

In response to several teen driver crashes involving 
multiple fatalities, Governor Jon S. Corzine signed into 
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completion of this second phase, the teen is granted full 
licensure with no restrictions.  

GDL appears to be working. Between 1996 and 2005 
in the U.S., both fatal and police-reported crashes per 
population fell approximately 40 percent for 16-year-olds, 
25 percent for 17-year-olds and 15 to 19 percent for 
18-year-olds. Additionally, the number of teens killed in 
crashes in 2005 was the lowest since 1992, despite the 
largest teen population since 1977. During 2005, 3,889 
passenger vehicle occupants ages 16 to 19 were killed on 
U.S. roads and an estimated 1.9 million were involved 
in police-reported crashes.  This represents eight percent 
fewer deaths and 20 percent fewer police-reported crashes 
than what occurred during 1996 for this age group.23  

Two key elements of GDL – nighttime driving and pas-
senger restrictions – are also paying dividends.  Nighttime 
fatal crashes per population among 16-year-old drivers 
decreased 48 percent from 1996-2005.  Nonfatal crashes 
declined, too.  Nighttime police-reported crashes fell 47 
percent for 16-year-old drivers and 29 percent for 17-year-
olds.  Meanwhile, crashes involving teens driving other 
teens fell 41 percent between 1996 and 2005.  At the 
same time, fatal crashes involving 16-year-olds driving 
alone fell 24 percent. The proportion of fatally injured 
drivers with positive blood alcohol concentrations fell by 
16 percent for 16-year-olds and 5 to 9 percent for 17- to 
19-year-olds.24

Recognizing that something had to be done to stem 
the tide of teen driving crashes across the nation and 
help teens become safer drivers, states began enacting 
Graduated Driver License (GDL) laws beginning with 
Georgia, Michigan and North Carolina in 1997.  New 
Jersey was the 36th state to embrace the GDL concept 
when legislation sponsored by Senators Robert Singer and 
Joseph Palaia, Assemblymen Joseph Malone and the late 
Melvin Cottrell and Assemblywoman Loretta Weinberg 
was signed into law by Governor Christine Todd Whitman 
in 1998 and went into effect on January 1, 2001.

Teens need experience to become proficient, skilled and 
thus “safe” drivers.  But, the process of gaining experience 
runs counter to reducing risk – to learn to drive, you must 
drive.  GDL is designed to introduce teens to driving in 
stages, over an extended period of time, in an environment 
that minimizes risk.  The learner’s or permit phase allows 
teens to obtain much needed supervised practice driving 
over a set period of time (usually six months or longer).  
Crash risk at this stage is extremely low when a supervisor 
is present.  As experience is gained, drivers are exposed 
to more real-world driving situations thus increasing their 
ability to safely drive in most conditions.

The intermediate, or provisional phase, allows newly 
licensed teen drivers to gain valuable independent driving 
experience in low-risk situations, but does not allow teens to 
drive unsupervised in the most dangerous situations (i.e., 
multiple passengers, late at night).  Following successful 

Responding to the Problem



motor vehicle violations data; reviewed teen licensing 
requirements in other states and countries; heard from 
experts in a variety of fields including law enforcement, 
driver education/training, and child psychology; and in-
vited public comment through three hearings (Livingston, 
Essex County; Colts Neck, Monmouth County; and Sew-
ell, Gloucester County) and on the Division of Highway 

Traffic Safety’s website. What the Commission learned, 
through the assistance of many parents, teens, educators, 
police officers and concerned citizens, is that more can 
and must be done to improve the way New Jersey educates 
and licenses teen drivers. Additionally, more can also be 
done to monitor their driving, enforce laws and sanction 
unsafe behavior.

The Commission’s Recommendations

The Commission agreed early in its discussions to focus 
the scope of its work on teens 16 to 20 years of age, 
who account for more than three quarters of new drivers 
annually entering the state’s licensing system.25  Therefore, 
the path to licensure for new drivers 21 years of age and 
older is not addressed in this report but progressive stages 
for these older drivers, as mandated under the current GDL 
system, are still essential.  

As the Commission worked to develop the recommen-
dations detailed in this report, it became clear that 
specific issues must be addressed if gains are to be made 
in teen driver safety.  First, the Commission, following 
significant study and discussion, opted not to recommend 
raising the minimum driving age – currently 16 to obtain 
a permit and 17 to obtain a provisional license. While 
researchers point to brain development as a key factor in 
driver decision making and that an individual’s brain is not 
fully developed until the mid-twenties26, the Commission 
recognizes that garnering public and legislative support 
for a later driving age would be extremely difficult. In 
addition, the Commission also recognizes the need for 
mobility, particularly for those teens who need access to 
a driver’s license in order to support themselves and/or 
their families.

Second, the Commission agreed that while simplifying 
the GDL law so that all new drivers follow the same path 

to licensure was admirable, it was not possible based 
on socio-economic barriers in our state.  Instead, the 
Commission determined that making the current path to 
licensure for teens more robust is the most appropriate 
way to address problems within the GDL program.  

Third, while the Commission was charged with deter-
mining the impact alcohol has on teen driver crashes 
and fatalities, alcohol and other illegal substances do not 
appear in the list of the top 25 causation factors for teen 
crashes in New Jersey.27 Education and prevention of 
unsafe driving behaviors, including DWI, is addressed in 
many of the recommendations in this report.  In addition, 
New Jersey law provides a zero tolerance level for teens 
who use any illegal substances.  

Finally, the Commission agreed that while the New 
Jersey Division of Highway Traffic Safety, in partnership 
with key public and private sector partners, is ultimately 
“responsible” for monitoring implementation of the rec-
ommendations detailed in this report, a champion(s) for 
each recommendation should be identified to carry the 
banner and ensure timely action by the appropriate entities.  

The recommendations are segmented into seven catego-
ries as follows (detailed narrative for each is provided in 
the next section of this report):
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1.	 Graduated Driver License (GDL)

1.1	 Immediately develop and implement an “event-based” GDL driver monitoring program that includes 
sanctions (training, suspension and postponement) that effectively deter GDL and non-serious and 
serious motor vehicle violations.

1.2	 Develop a GDL identifier that must be affixed to a vehicle when driven by a permit or probationary 
license holder and electronically flag all registered vehicles operated by this individual.  Amend the 
current violations in the GDL law to include “failure to display the identifier.” 

1.3	 Require a parent/guardian to attend a teen driver orientation program, delivered through a network 
of approved providers, with his or her teen prior to applying for a permit.  (If the teen driver is 18 to 
20 years of age, participation by a parent is optional.)  

1.4	 Require a teen, entering the GDL system at 16 years of age, to complete an MVC-approved, six-hour 
behind-the-wheel driver training program and log a minimum of 50 hours of certified practice 
driving (10 of which must be at night) in the permit phase.  Teens entering the GDL system at 17 
to 20 years of age have the option of completing the same minimum requirements as a 16-year-old 
permit holder (six hours of behind-the-wheel driving training and 50 hours of certified practice 
driving, 10 of which must be at night) or they must log a minimum of 100 hours of certified practice 
driving (20 of which must be at night).

1.5	 Extend the permit phase from a minimum of six months to one year for all new drivers between      
16 and 20 years of age.

1.6	 Limit the number of passengers in the probationary phase to one regardless of the passenger’s 
relationship to the driver.

1.7	 Sanction, in addition to the teen driver, all passengers 16 to 20 years of age on a permit, 
probationary or basic license, who violate the GDL passenger and safety belt restrictions.   

1.8	 Lower the nighttime driving hours restriction from 12 a.m. to 11 p.m. for probationary license holders.

1.9	 Conduct ongoing research to evaluate the crash and violation experience of teen drivers under       
the GDL system.

1.10	 Adjust the permit and probationary license fee to offset the costs of making improvements to          
the GDL system. 

1.11	 Change the name of the second phase of the GDL from “provisional” to “probationary” to reinforce 
that driving is by law a privilege not a right.

1.12	 Exclude GDL holders from operating emergency medical service (EMS) vehicles and obtaining blue 
light permits (fire and EMS volunteers).

1.13	 List the GDL restrictions and violation penalties on the paper permit carried by teen drivers.
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2.	 Driver Education

2.1	 Dedicate and sustain funding for driver education through the GDL-mandated Driver Education Fund.  

2.2	 Develop and deliver to public and private schools a standardized traffic safety/driver education 
curriculum, and incorporate it into New Jersey’s Core Curriculum Content Standards for students      
in grades K-12.

2.3	 Reactivate the State Advisory Committee on Driver Education to ensure the Teen Driver Study 
Commission’s recommendations are enacted and monitor ongoing progress in improving teen driver safety.

2.4	 Develop and maintain a web-based driver education resource library for public access and a website 
for driver education professionals.

2.5	 Create and disseminate social marketing campaigns, based on ongoing review of New Jersey teen 
crash data, to address teen driving issues such as speeding, distractions, GDL compliance, peer 
influence, and risky behaviors.

3.	 Driver Training

3.1	 Amend the GDL law and the corresponding regulations to clearly define “six hours of behind-the-
wheel driver training.”

3.2	 Encourage more parent/guardian involvement with the licensed driving school instructor so that he 
or she partners with the instructor to reinforce and build upon a teen’s training.

3.3	 Require licensed driving school instructors to attain a minimum level of training to improve the 
quality of instruction.

3.4	 Improve oversight of licensed driving schools to ensure compliance with all statutory and regulatory 
requirements.

3.5	 Enhance the road test to more accurately assess driver skill and safety, and study the feasibility of 
conducting the test on the road rather than on a closed course. 

3.6	 Develop a mechanism for a consumer to lodge a complaint against a driving school.

3.7	 Continue to hold an annual statewide driver education forum for all driver education professionals.

3.8	 Encourage continuing driver education following successful completion of the probationary phase to 
foster driver skill development and lifelong learning.  
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4.	 Enforcement/Judicial

4.1	 Until event-based monitoring and the Commission’s recommended sanctions/penalties are 
implemented, issue a directive banning plea agreements for GDL license holders.

4.2	 Close the loophole in New Jersey’s seat belt law to ensure all back seat passengers 18 years of age 
and older buckle up.

4.3	 Require for all traffic offenses that a GDL holder’s driver abstract be reviewed by the prosecutor     
and the judge.

4.4	 Develop and disseminate a police training roll-call video to ensure awareness and enforcement        
of the GDL law.

4.5	 Develop and deliver a GDL training program for prosecutors and judges.

4.6	 Publicize free parental access to a teen’s driving record.

4.7	 Prominently place a GDL checkbox on the uniform traffic summons and NJTR-1 crash reporting form.

4.8	 Revise the state Memorandum of Agreement to include police departments notifying schools when 
teens commit a GDL or moving violation.

4.9	 Identify and disseminate best practices for involving parents, police officers, prosecutors and judges, 
elected and school officials, and volunteers in community-based teen driver education and crash-
prevention programs.

4.10	 Establish a protocol for and fund teen driving checkpoints near high schools and other locations 
frequented by teens.

5.	 Insurance Industry

5.1	 Encourage families to use state-of-the art technology to monitor teen driving and 
reduce driver distractions, and assess on an ongoing basis the impact these technologies have on 
reducing teen driver crashes.

5.2	 Work with the Industry and the Department of Banking and Insurance to provide incentives to 
encourage safe teen driving and deterrents to discourage poor teen driving.

5.3	 Encourage all companies and businesses impacted by and/or concerned about teen driver safety to 
investigate ways to support school and community-based driver awareness and training initiatives.
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6.	 Schools

6.1	 Partner with public and private entities to help fund driver education initiatives.

6.2	 Establish and regularly communicate teen driving policies to students and their parents/guardians.

6.3	 Encourage the inclusion of teen crash prevention in the “service-learning” component of a 
community service requirement for graduation.  

6.4	 Consider altering early high school start times to allow for the sleep patterns of teens.

6.5	 Include local law enforcement and transportation officials in the review of transportation plans for 
new school construction and/or existing school expansion or redesign.

7.	 Technology

7.1	 Implement the programming changes necessary to ensure that MVC’s current and pending computer 
system can accommodate all components of the GDL law.

7.2	 Encourage cellular providers to embrace and market existing technology that prevents a teen from 
using a cell phone while driving.

7.3	 Encourage the development and availability of low cost technology that allows parents to monitor 
their teen’s driving behaviors.
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n	Minimum 50 hours of certified practice driving (10 of 
those hours must be at night) with a parent/guardian 
(or licensed driver 25 years of age or older) with 
completion of 6-hour behind-the-wheel training.  
Minimum of 100 hours of certified practice driving 
(20 of those hours must be at night) with a parent/
guardian (or licensed driver 25 years of age or older) 
without behind-the-wheel training

n	No driving between 11 p.m. and 5 a.m.
n	No use of portable electronic devices (i.e., hand-held 

or hands-free cell phones, ipods, video games, etc.)
n	Driver and all passengers must wear seat belts

Permit Phase
n	Complete a parent/guardian teen orientation as a 

condition of obtaining a permit (parent/guardian 
participation optional for drivers 18 and older)

n	Minimum age of 16
n	Obtain a parent/guardian’s signature (if under 18)
n	Hold permit for a minimum of one year (12 months)
n	Pass vision screening and written test
n	Display a “GDL” identifier (color specific) on vehicle
n	Limit of one passenger regardless of relationship to 

driver (unless passenger is 25 years of age or older)
n	Minimum of 6 hours behind-the-wheel training for 

16-year-old permit holder, optional for permit holders 
17-20 years of age

Essential Components of a “New and Improved” Graduated Driver License (GDL) System
For Teen Drivers 16-20 Years of Age 

n CURRENT GDL LAW    n CHANGE OR ENHANCEMENT TO CURRENT GDL LAW    n NEW MANDATE NOT REQUIRED UNDER CURRENT GDL LAW

Probationary (Provisional) Phase
n	Complete all requirements of the permit phase
n	Pass skills/road test
n	Minimum age of 17
n	Hold probationary license for a minimum  of one 

year (12 months)
n	Display a “GDL” identifier (color specific) on vehicle
n	Limit of one passenger regardless of relationship to 

the license holder (unless passenger is 25 years of 
age or older)

n	No driving between 11 p.m. and 5 a.m. (waiver 
available for employment and religious activities 
and/or emergency situations)

n No use of portable electronic devices (i.e., hand-held 
or hands-free cell phones, ipods, video games, etc.)

n Driver and all passengers must wear seat belts

n Event-based sanctions for all GDL holders committing GDL and Title 39 Violations:
n	1st non-serious offense – attend an MVC approved
	 driver improvement program and 60-day postpone-

ment of full licensure
n	2nd non-serious offense – 60-day license suspension 

and 120-day postponement of licensure
n	3rd non-serious and subsequent offense – 90-day 

license suspension and 180-day postponement of 
full licensure. (Suspension of license results in 
postponing completion of the Provisional Phase 
until the full 12 month requirement is met.)

n	180-day suspension and postponement for all GDL 
holders committing serious violations (i.e., high rate 
of speed, racing, reckless driving, leaving the scene 
of a crash, DWI)

n Passenger and seat belt violations result in assessment 
of the GDL fine ($100) and event-based sanctions 
for all GDL license holders (permit and probationary 
phase) or basic license holders 16 to 20 years of 
age.

n	Any suspension and/or postponement would not run 
concurrent with a suspension or postponement term 
mandated for a prior offense.  Penalties associated 
with serious violations, (i.e., license suspension for 
DWI) would not be superseded by GDL sanctions.
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1.1	 Immediately develop and implement an “event-based” GDL monitoring program that includes 
sanctions (training, suspension and postponement) that effectively deter GDL and non-serious and 
serious motor vehicle violations. 

Champion: Motor Vehicle Commission

The Commission reviewed licensing sanctions associated 
with GDL violations and heard testimony detailing the 
failings of the current system. A GDL holder’s ability 
to plea down point carrying violations to zero point 
violations makes a GDL holder who violates the law 
transparent to the MVC’s monitoring system. This is 
because the monitoring of a driver’s behavior is based 
on accumulation of motor vehicle points associated with 
each violation.  An event-based monitoring system can 
effectively monitor and assess sanctions since it does 
not depend on motor vehicle points. Generally, any 
traffic violation, point or non-point carrying, would be 
counted and trigger sanctions.  GDL restriction violations 
(i.e., passenger, nighttime driving, etc.) would also be 
considered an event. Short of a total prohibition on plea 
agreements (discussed in recommendation 4.1), event-
based monitoring is the only way to address the remedial 
needs of GDL holders. This approach also ensures there 
is a consequence associated with a GDL holder’s bad 
driving behavior.

Under New Jersey’s current GDL law, failure to comply with 
the nighttime driving, passenger and cell phone (no use of 
electronic devices including hands-free phones)   restrictions 
as well as failing to buckle up (everyone in the car regardless 
of age), carries a $100 fine, but no points are assessed to 

the licensee’s driving record.  The GDL also mandates that 
following the accumulation of three or more motor vehicle 
points (accrued as a result of motor vehicle violations) 
that the permit or probationary license holder complete an 
MVC driver improvement program.  Failure to complete the 
program and/or the continued accumulation of motor vehicle 
points results in license suspension and postponement of the 
driver’s eligibility to obtain a provisional (if in the permit 
phase) or basic (if in the probationary phase) license for a 
specified period of time.  

A number of problems plague implementation of the 
sanctions component of GDL. First, the computer pro-
gramming changes needed to fully implement GDL 
monitoring and sanctions were never implemented.  
When Governor Whitman signed the GDL legislation into 
law in 1998, MVC (then the Division of Motor Vehicles) 
was given three years to update its computer system.  This 
did not happen due to competing priorities and resource 
issues.  Consequently, to this day, teen drivers committing 
motor vehicle violations are not being sanctioned so they 
are not receiving 90-day suspensions, postponements or 
remedial training triggered by the three-point threshold. 
(A GDL holder is scheduled for driver improvement only 
after committing two, point-carrying offenses.)

1. Graduated Drivers License (GDL)

and promoting timely and full implementation. It is impor-
tant to note that some recommendations will require a 
statutory change, others a regulatory change and still others 
a policy change. The Commission urges the New Jersey 
Legislature and implementing agencies/organizations to 
embrace and champion all recommendations. The entity(ies) 
identified as the champion(s) under each recommendation 
is (are) responsible for its successful implementation.

The Teen Driver Study Commission’s 47 recommen-
dations were developed through extensive analysis 
and review of data, research and testimony, along with 
careful deliberation and discussion. What follows is a 
detailed overview of their recommendations to aid in 
understanding how each can have a positive impact on 
teen driver safety.  

Also noted under each recommendation is a champion 
– the entity that has been charged with carrying the banner  
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(i.e., driver training, suspension and postponement). This 
removes the ability for a teen to circumvent the sanctions, 
which are essential for teen driver safety. Second, the MVC 
must immediately put in place the technology needed to 
support event-based monitoring and the corresponding 
sanctions. This will require a programming change to 
the current computer system.  Such a change cannot wait 
until MVC’s new computer system (MATRX) is brought 
online in three to four years.  

Third, the sanctions should be strengthened so that teens 
are sent a stronger message about the privilege of driving.  
Sanctions should be based on first, second, and third and 
multiple offenses for non-serious violations (i.e., speeding 
up to 15 mph over the posted limit, improper passing, 
failure to stop at a stop sign, etc.). A separate sanction 
should apply to serious violations (i.e., DWI, reckless 
driving, racing, speeding more than 15 miles over the 
posted limited, leaving the scene of an accident, set by law 
and/or MVC regulation ).  The Commission recommends 
that the GDL law be amended as follows:

First Non-Serious Violation – Complete an MVC-approved 
driver improvement program and 60-day postpone-
ment (30-day license suspension for failure to complete 
the program)

Second  Non-Serious Violation – 60-day license suspen-
sion and 120-day postponement

Third and Subsequent Non-Serious Violation – 90-day 
license suspension and 180-day postponement

Serious Violations – 180-day license suspension and 180-
day license postponement

It should be noted that any suspension or postponement 
would not run concurrent with a suspension term mandated 
for a prior offense. For example, if a driver with a prior 
non-serious first violation was then convicted of a serious 
violation, he or she would receive a 180-day suspension 
plus a 180-day postponement. When combined with the 
60-day postponement from the first non-serious viola-
tion, this would equal a total postponement of 240 days. 
The penalties associated with serious violations, (i.e., 
license suspension for DWI) would not be superseded by 
GDL sanctions.

This is a fatal flaw, to the extent that teens do not comply 
with protective restrictions under GDL or motor vehicle 
laws, the safety benefits of the law are reduced. Teens are 
aware of this computer “glitch” and spoke openly to the 
Commission at public hearings about their willingness to 
flaunt the law because there are no consequences.

Another flaw is a teen’s ability to plead down to a non-point 
carrying violation (as noted above). N.J.S.A. 39:4-97.2 
allows a motorist two opportunities to plead certain point 
carrying violations down to “no points” by paying a $250 
fine.  If the violator is a teen on a GDL, and no points are 
assessed for a moving violation, the training, suspension 
and postponement requirements are avoided.  A teen, for 
example, who has been cited twice for exceeding the speed 
limit, while holding a probationary license, may plead the 
offenses down to unsafe operator, pay his or her fine and 
continue driving.  At the end of the 12-month probationary 
period, he or she then is granted full basic licensure.  

Voorhees Transportation Center at Rutgers University is 
currently conducting a study, on behalf of  MVC, examin-
ing the impact of plea bargaining on driver monitoring.  
Sixteen and 17-year-old drivers had approximately four 
percent of motor vehicle violations and crash events 
recorded during their first year of driving over a multi-
year period of the study.  A preliminary analysis of this 
data shows that 32 percent of new male drivers and 19 
percent of new female drivers received more than one 
“unsafe operator” violation in their first year of driving, 
typically an indication of a plea agreement.

In addition to these issues, the Commission heard from teens 
that consequences “have to be meaningful” to deter unlawful 
behavior.  According to teens, license suspension and training 
– requiring a teen to give up his/her freedom and time – will 
get their attention.  While these types of sanctions, as noted 
above, are included in New Jersey’s current GDL law, they 
are not stringent enough to deter violations. 

The Commission believes that several things must happen 
to put the “teeth” back into GDL sanctions.  First, MVC 
should adopt an “event-based” rather than a “point-based” 
violations system to ensure that all GDL holders who break 
the law are sanctioned. Any time a teen fails to comply 
with GDL restrictions or commits a traffic violation, it is 
counted as an event, regardless of whether or not motor 
vehicle points are assessed, thereby triggering a sanction 
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driving, any four point or higher offense, purchasing 
or attempting to purchase alcohol and DWI.  A second 
offense (or any DWI with a BAC of .08 or more) results 
in a 12-month license suspension.  After the law went 
into effect in 1997, the state did not undertake any 
significant public outreach beyond what was provided 
by the news media.  The free advertising generated by 
teens who lost their licenses after violating one or more 
TADRA provisions appears to have been highly effective 
in sending a strong message to other teens.29

In Oregon, drivers under 18 (teens may start the licensing 
process as early as age 15 and gain full driving privileges 
at 17) face license suspension for any measurable blood 
alcohol level; can be suspended until age 18 for a major 
traffic conviction, and upon a single conviction, are 
subject to a four-stage driver improvement program which 
levies successively greater sanctions for each additional 
infraction. Crash data analysis between 1998 and 2004 
(Oregon’s GDL went into effect in 2000) shows a 42.6 
reduction in fatal crashes for 16-year-old drivers.30

Connecticut’s Teenage Driver Safety Study Commission 
issued recommendations to Governor Jody Rell and the 
Legislature in January calling for mandatory license 
suspensions for teens who violate the passenger, nighttime 
and cell phone restrictions of the state’s GDL or who are 
convicted for speeding, reckless driving or street racing.  
Suspensions vary from 30 days to 6 months for a first 
offense, 90 days to one year for a second offense, and 6 
months to one year for a third and subsequent offense.  
Governor Rell has also proposed strengthening the state’s 
underage drinking and driving law by requiring a minimum 
one year license suspension for 16- and 17-year-olds who 
operate a vehicle while intoxicated.31  

While the Commission engaged in considerable debate 
about whether to suspend a GDL holder’s license for a 
first offense, the members agreed that requiring a teen to 
participate in a driver improvement program would not 
only be punitive (as teens pointed out) but rehabilitative in 
nature.  MVC is currently reviewing its more than 20-year-
old driver improvement program and updating the content so 
that it addresses today’s driving conditions and issues, and is 
relevant to teens. The new curriculum, which will include a 
peer-to-peer component, is expected to be deployed in 2008.  
In addition, if the sanctions and the necessary computer 
programming are implemented as recommended above, it is 
highly likely that MVC will experience a considerable spike 
in teens remanded to a driver improvement program.  This 
may necessitate MVC working with a network of providers 
to administer the program.

If a teen fails to complete the driver improvement program, 
he or she would face indefinite license suspension.  Loss 
of license is a strong deterrent.  The first five and a half 
years after Georgia passed its Teenage and Adult Driver 
Responsibility Act (TADRA), the average annual fatal 
crash rate for 16-year-olds (the state’s probationary licen-
sing age) decreased 36.8 percent. Speed-related fatal 
crashes for 16-year-olds were cut by 42 percent and 
alcohol-related fatal crashes by nearly 60 percent.28  
Safety officials in the state attribute this impact to the 
law’s mandatory license suspension.  

Under TADRA, drivers under 21 who are caught traveling 
more than 24 miles per hour over the posted speed limit 
automatically forfeit their driver licenses for 6 months.  
Other offenses that result in automatic license revocation 
include: excessive speeding, hit-and-run or leaving the 
scene of an accident, racing or eluding an officer, reckless 
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1.2	 Develop a GDL identifier that must be affixed to a vehicle when driven by a permit and probationary 
license holder.  Electronically flag all New Jersey registered vehicles operated by GDL holders.  
Amend the GDL law to include a violation for failure to display the identifier.

Champion: Motor Vehicle Commission and New Jersey Legislature

A number of countries require novice drivers to display 
plates that indicate their status as either a learner or 
probationary driver. In Australia, drivers on a learner’s 
permit display “L-plates,” while probationary drivers 
display “P-plates.” In British Columbia, novice drivers 
display “N-plates,” while in Northern Ireland, they require 
“R-plates.” Researchers suggest these “status” plates 
are important for several reasons:  they allow for better 
enforcement of GDL laws; they allow other road users to 
be aware that the driver is a novice so that greater caution 
can be exercised, and they may help limit the risks that 
novices are willing to take while displaying their license 
status.32  (It is important to note, that the Commission 
found no evidence in other countries of identifiers being 
used by predators to target teens.)

In addition to these reasons, New Jersey parents who 
testified before the Commission pointed out that a vehicle 
identifier could have the same positive impact as a 
neighborhood watch program, where neighbors keep an 
eye out for unlawful or suspicious behavior and report 
it to law enforcement officials. In this case, neighbors 
would alert the parents of teens, as well as police, when 
they see teens driving in an unsafe or unlawful manner. 
This not only protects the teens, but others on the road as 
well as pedestrians and bicyclists.  

Norway introduced a requirement for permit holders to 
display status plates when under private driver instruction 
(by a licensed instructor or when supervised by a parent, 
guardian or other adult).  The initiative reduced the novice’s 
crash risk.33 In the Australian Capital Territory, the re-
moval of license status plates is used as an incentive 
for probationary drivers to undertake additional driver 
education and/or training.  Researchers also suggest using 
the display plate requirement as an incentive for safer 
driving by removing the requirement for probationary 
drivers who have had a violation free record for 12 months 
(Australia has a 2-year probationary driving period).34

While no U.S. state is currently requiring the use of 
display plates or identifiers on their vehicles, every state 

is concerned about enforcement of their GDL laws and is 
watching to see how New Jersey will address this problem. 
(Connecticut Governor Rell’s Teen Driving Safety Task 
Force, which issued its preliminary recommendations on 
January 25, 2008, included a requirement that 16- and 
17-year-old drivers prominently display an identifying 
windshield sticker when operating a vehicle.35)  Being 
able to identify a teen driver stands out as the single most 
vexing issue for those responsible for administering and 
enforcing GDL laws.  Police officers believe that having 
an identifier on a vehicle driven by a teen will aid them 
in enforcing the provisions of the GDL and will remove 
any concerns about “profiling” from the equation.  
Additionally, it is important to note that by law, driving is 
a privilege, not a right, so requiring a GDL holder to place 
an identifier on the vehicle he or she is operating does not 
violate that individual’s rights.  

What the identifier should look like and where it should 
be affixed on the vehicle is best left to the Motor 
Vehicle Commission through rulemaking. However, the 
Commission believes that the identifier should be highly 
visible (even reflective so that it can be seen at night), 
removable (many vehicles have multiple operators), and 
displayed in the front and back of the vehicle. Failure to 
display the identifier should be treated as a violation of the 
GDL law, which would necessitate an amendment to the 
current law and carry a $100 fine. Under an event-based 
monitoring system, it would also be considered an event 
thereby triggering driver training and/or suspension and 
postponement. The enactment of the identifier program 
through statutory and regulatory change would supersede 
all local identifier ordinances ensuring one statewide pro-
gram.  This will eliminate confusion for parents, teens and 
law enforcement officials.  

In addition to the identifier, the Commission believes 
that placing a flag on the registration record of vehicles 
operated by teens would aid in enforcement.  If a police 
officer, for example, stops a teen for a moving violation 
and finds, after running the vehicle plates, that he or 
she is driving on a probationary license and is not 
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nership with MVC. The Commission encourages the 
MVC to consider vendors who have multiple (in-person, 
mail, phone and online) fulfillment capabilities. Flagging 
vehicle registrations would be a function of MVC.  Mean-
while, amending the current GDL law to include failure 
to display the marker, which would carry the same fine 
($100) and penalties as other GDL violations, must be 
addressed by the Legislature.

displaying the marker, he or she would be cited for both 
the GDL (identifier) and moving violations. Testimony 
to the Commission provided by law enforcement officers 
highlighted the need to identify a GDL holder’s vehicle 
to enforce passenger restrictions. To that end, this recom-
mendation will ensure better enforcement of what could 
be the most significant GDL restriction. 

The implementation and distribution of the identifier 
could be done through a private provider working in part-

1.3	 Require a parent/guardian to attend a teen driver orientation program, delivered through a network 
of approved providers, with his or her teen prior to applying for a permit.  (Participation of a parent 
is optional for teen drivers 18 to 20 years of age.)  

Champion: Motor Vehicle Commission

Parents play a pivotal role in the licensing of their children.  
They supervise their teens’ early driving experience, deter-
mine when they’ll get their license, govern access to 
vehicles and may impose restrictions on driving privileges 
beyond what is spelled out in the state’s Graduated Driver 
License (GDL) law. But most importantly, parents are 
their children’s role models. Since the first day a child was 
strapped into a car seat and took to the open road, he or 
she has been taking note of how mom and/or dad behave 
behind-the-wheel. Research clearly shows that teen drivers 
mimic their parents’ behavior. Ensuring that a parent 
and/or guardian fully understands this and has the tools 
to manage his or her teen driver is absolutely essential, 
particularly under the state’s GDL requirements.  

New Jersey’s current Graduate Driver License (GDL) law 
called for the development of an informational booklet 
to help parents and teens understand the GDL and how 
best to prepare for the privilege of driving.  While such 
a booklet, Safe Driving, A Parent’s Guide to Teaching 
Teens, was developed by the Motor Vehicle Commission 
and the Division of Highway Traffic Safety in 2006, 
it is not reaching its intended audience. The booklet is 
supposed to be distributed to a teen when he or she obtains 
a permit either through an MVC agency or from a driver 
education instructor. This, however, is not happening as 
evidenced by the number of parents who simply have no 
understanding of how the GDL works or that this booklet 

even exists.  And even if teens and their parents/guardians 
are receiving the booklet, there is no guarantee they are 
reviewing and/or using it. 

Studies show, however, that simply distributing edu-
cational/advisory materials, such as the Parent’s Guide, 
does not appear to influence their behavior as “driving” 
supervisors. More persuasive techniques are needed to 
ensure parents use the materials and guidance that are 
available to them.36  An orientation program that not only 
includes a comprehensive review of all aspects of the 
GDL law, with a strong emphasis on the law’s restrictions 
and penalties, along with teen crash risk can fill this 
need.  The orientation should also address driver training 
(classroom, behind-the-wheel and practice driving, and 
driving school service agreements), continued parental 
supervision during the probationary phase, vehicle selec-
tion, automobile insurance, parent/teen and parent/parent 
driving agreements, and the rules of the road, as well as 
include distribution of the Parent’s Guide. 

Providing the orientation through a network of MVC-
approved providers, who follow an MVC-developed cur-
riculum, would ensure statewide accessibility for all and 
could be modeled after the current defensive driving 
program also administered by MVC. High schools, 
which already conduct driver education classes and are 
well suited to orient parents within the driver education 
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1.4	 Require a teen, entering the GDL system at 16 years of age to complete an MVC-approved, six-hour 
behind-the-wheel driver-training program and log a minimum of 50 hours of certified practice 
driving (10 of which must be at night) in the permit phase.  Teens entering the GDL system at 17 
to 20 years of age have the option of completing the same minimum requirements as a 16-year-old 
permit holder (six hours of behind-the-wheel driving training and 50 hours of certified practice 
driving, 10 of which must be at night) or they must log a minimum of 100 hours of certified practice 
driving (20 of which must be at night).

Champion: Motor Vehicle Commission 

Currently, a teen who enters the GDL system at 16 years 
of age must complete a six-hour behind-the wheel driver-
training program, while a 17-year-old does not have to 
fulfill this requirement.  This differentiator was written 
into the GDL law to ensure that a teen who cannot afford 
the costs associated with obtaining six-hours of behind-
the-wheel training is not shut out of the licensing system.  

While the Commission considered requiring all teens under 
21 years of age to fulfill this mandate, it recognized that 
there are distinct socio-economic differences in New Jersey 
that must be taken into consideration.  While most public 
schools did at one time provide traditional “30 and 6” (30 
hours of classroom and six hours of behind-the-wheel 
instruction) driver education, this is no longer the case.  
Most schools, in an effort to control costs, either completely 
eliminated their behind-the-wheel programs (continuing to 
offer the 30-hour classroom component through the health 
and physical education curriculum) or opted to contract 
with a driving school to provide training to students at their 
own cost.  Driving schools offer this training to students at 
an average cost of $350 (for six hours of training).37  

Six hours of driver training, however, does not make 
a skilled and/or safe driver. For this reason, 43 states 

currently require teen permit holders to log a minimum 
number of hours of certified, supervised practice driving.  
The number ranges from a low of 12 hours to a high of 
100, with 40 to 50 being the norm.38 In addition, some 
states require a certain number of these hours to be 
accumulated at night.  

Taking into account the need to ensure that economics do 
not preclude a teen from obtaining a driver’s license and 
that practice is essential in the permit phase, the Com-
mission carefully scrutinized Oregon’s licensing system.  
Under the Oregon GDL, a teen holding a permit may opt 
to log at least 50 hours of practice driving and complete a 
formal driver education course or log at least 100 hours of 
practice driving with no formal driver education.  A study 
comparing the driving records of 16-, 17-, 18- and 19-year-
olds in the state who followed these distinct paths found 
that the crash rate for teens taking formal driver education 
was 11 to 21 percent lower than those who logged 100 
hours of practice driving without formal driver education.  
In addition, the teens who took driver education also had 
significantly lower traffic convictions (39 to 57 percent) 
and driver license suspension rates (51 to 53 percent) than 
their counterparts.39  

following completion of the orientation.  A teen would be 
required to present this certificate at an MVC agency or 
to a driver training instructor prior to obtaining a permit. 
The Delaware Office of Highway Safety, in partnership 
with high schools, provides a 90-minute GDL parent 
orientation program. Participation by a teen and at least 
one parent/guardian is required for successful completion 
of the school’s driver education class.   

curriculum, would be encouraged to join the provider net-
work. In addition, AAA Clubs, the New Jersey State Safety 
Council, licensed driving schools, community colleges 
and police training academies may wish to offer the 
orientation following approval by MVC.  These entities 
would be allowed to charge a reasonable fee to offset the 
cost of instruction, materials and/or facility rental fees. 
In addition, an approved provider would present the 
parent or guardian and his or her teen with a certificate 
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1.5	 Extend the permit phase from a minimum of six months to one year for all new drivers 16 to 20 
years of age.

Champion: Motor Vehicle Commission

Obtaining driving experience in a variety of situations 
before driving unsupervised is a key component of Gradu-
ated Driver Licensing systems. Currently, New Jersey’s 
GDL requires new drivers under 21 years of age, but no 
younger than 16, to hold a permit for a minimum of six 
months. While traffic safety researchers indicate that a sub-
stantial amount of practice – at least six months42 – is needed 
for a novice to gain real-world experience, studies suggest 
that teen driver crash rate decreases of 22 to 40 percent are 
possible with substantially extended learner periods.  

Currently, four states – Colorado, Georgia, North Carolina, 
and Vermont – require a teen driver to hold a permit for 
at least 12 months, while Virginia requires nine months 
of practice driving.43  To give novice drivers more time 
to gain experience, Sweden increased its learner’s permit 
from six months to an optional 18 months (licensing 

age is 18) to study the impact of a longer permit period.  
Teens who took advantage of the extended permit period 
obtained three times as much driving practice, resulting in 
a 40 percent lower crash risk (compared to teens who did 
not opt for the extension) following licensure.44

They say, “practice makes perfect” and nowhere is that 
more important than when learning to drive. Research 
shows that it takes more than 1,000 hours of driving be-
fore a teen’s crash risk drops significantly.45 An extended 
learner’s permit will provide more time for a teen to 
practice and gain driving experience in a controlled, 
supervised environment that includes exposure to a full 
range of road conditions (i.e., rain, snow, fog) and driving 
situations (i.e., rush hour/congestion, merging, nighttime, 
on multi-lane highways).  

the log, parents/guardians should be cautioned that the 
50 and 100-hour requirements are minimum levels and 
not the “gold standard” for ensuring a safe, skilled driver.  
Not all teens learn to drive at the same pace; some teens 
will require more practice than others.  While there is no 
research confirming a “magic” number, a Swedish study 
found that teens who had obtained an average of 118 
hours of supervised driving had lower crash rates than 
those who had about 40 hours of supervised driving.41  

It is also important to note that for practice driving to 
be meaningful, emphasis should not only be placed on 
the amount of time spent behind-the-wheel, but time of 
day, roadway type and conditions, and any other factors 
that may have an impact on the novice driver (i.e., other 
passengers in the car, and different cars being driven if 
several are at a teen’s disposal).

For this reason, the Commission’s recommendation is writ-
ten to encourage all teens, regardless of age, to take formal 
driver education. The alternative route – 100 hours of cer-
tified practice driving – is included in the recommendation 
to accommodate those teens who simply cannot afford 
behind-the-wheel training. In addition, teens must log a 
minimum number of practice driving hours at night.  This 
requirement is critical not only because a disproportionately 
high number of teen driver fatal crashes occur at night, but 
driving at night is one of the most dangerous times on 
the road for motorists regardless of driving experience.40  

Maintaining a practice log (which would be addressed at 
the teen/parent orientation) will be the responsibility of 
the teen and his or her parent/guardian.  It is recommended 
that the log be notarized and that the teen turn it in at the 
MVC driver-testing center prior to taking his or her road 
skill test. While there may be concerns about “fudging” 
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perienced driver may need to transport a sibling, there’s 
no reason to believe that siblings are less likely to create 
distractions for the driver.  Since this exemption puts more 
than one child from a family at risk, limiting the number 
of passengers a probationary driver may transport to just 
one, regardless of his or her relationship to the driver, is an 
important and proven safety measure.  It is also important 
to note that a probationary driver is a “driver in training” 
and should not be considered a transportation provider. 

States with passenger restrictions are seeing gains in crash 
reduction. In North Carolina, for example, multi-teen 
occupant crashes dropped 13 percent for 17-year-olds after 
enactment of a provision limiting the probationary driver 
to a single young passenger.48 Another study estimates 
that 83 to 493 lives could be saved annually in the U.S. 
if 16- and 17-year-old drivers were not allowed to carry 
passengers under the age of 20.49

 
Limiting teens to one young passenger reduces risk – 
particularly distraction, a leading cause of teen crashes 
– and makes it easier for parents and police officers to 
enforce the GDL law.

It is important to note that critics of a passenger restriction 
often point to the potential for an increase in teen crashes 
caused by forcing more teen drivers onto the road. There 
is no empirical evidence that supports this concern. One 
study indicates that the increased risk resulting from 
more teens driving themselves is outweighed by the 
dramatically higher crash risk faced by teens who drive 
with multiple passengers.50

Like nighttime driving, transporting passengers pre-
sents a significant risk to teen drivers. A 17-year-old 
driver is 158 percent more likely to be killed in a crash 
while carrying two passengers.  That risk increases to 207 
percent with three passengers in a teen driver’s car.46  This 
increased crash risk appears to result from distractions 
that young passengers create for novice drivers, who 
are both easily distracted and need to concentrate more 
than experienced drivers on the multiple tasks involved 
in driving. Passengers may also encourage the driver to 
take risks (i.e., speeding, running red lights, intentionally 
skidding) that he or she wouldn’t normally take when 
driving alone. In New Jersey, where most teen crashes 
occur after school (between 3 and 6 p.m.), minimizing 
the risks associated with teens transporting passengers is 
particularly critical.  

Currently, a New Jersey teen driver holding a probation-
ary license may only transport family members and no 
more than one, non-family member passenger. While the 
teen and his or her passengers are clearly at risk, enforcing 
this restriction is all but impossible for law enforcement 
officials. How does a police officer know if a passenger 
is a family member, particularly if the passenger isn’t 
carrying identification? And if a passenger is a teen 
driver’s family member, does that reduce the crash risk 
noted above?  

Most states exclude family members from passenger 
restrictions, but new research data shows that a child’s 
risk of dying in a crash doubles when a teen is behind-the-
wheel.47 While there may be times when a young, inex-

1.6	 Limit the number of passengers in the probationary phase to one regardless of the passenger’s 
relationship to the driver.

Champion: New Jersey Legislature
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1.8	 Lower the nighttime driving hours restriction from 12 a.m. to 11 p.m. for probationary license holders.

Champion: New Jersey Legislature

Under this recommendation, if a police officer stops 
a vehicle driven by a GDL holder and there are two or 
more passengers in the vehicle, everyone in the licensing 
system between 16 and 20 years of age will be penalized.  
If the passengers are under the GDL (holding a permit or 
probationary license) the violation would be treated as an 
event and they, along with the driver, would be sanctioned 
accordingly based on whether it is their first or subsequent 
offense. If a passenger holds a basic license and is under 
21, he or she would be assessed a $100 fine as dictated 
under the GDL law.  If a passenger is not wearing a seat 
belt, both the driver (even if he or she is belted) and the 
passenger would be fined.  This will require an amendment 
to the current GDL law.

An analysis of fatal teen driver crashes in New Jersey 
found that many of the drivers were violating the passenger 
restrictions and the seat belt requirement. Research has 
shown that teen drivers carrying one teen passenger have 
twice the risk of a fatal crash as teens driving alone; the 
risk increases five-fold for teens carrying two or more teen 
passengers.51   Meanwhile, teens have the lowest seat belt use 
rates of any age group, leading to deadly consequences.52

Teens know and understand the GDL law, particularly 
when it comes to the restrictions. They are also keenly 
aware that GDL enforcement is spotty, even lax, in some 
communities.  And teens pointed out to the Commission 
that what will stop them from violating the GDL restric-
tions is strict enforcement coupled with sanctions for 
everyone in the vehicle.  

Research shows that a nighttime driving restriction 
is an essential component of a “good” GDL program.  
This restriction has proven particularly important during 
the probationary phase when teens are driving without 
supervision.  Although only about 15 percent of the miles 
driven by 16- and 17-year-olds are between 9 p.m. and 6 
a.m., more than 40 percent of their fatal crashes take place 
during these hours.53

In North Carolina, after introduction of the state’s GDL 
which restricts driving between 9 p.m. and 5 a.m., teen 
crashes between that time period dropped 43 percent 
among 16-year-olds (the state’s probationary licensing 
age) and daytime crashes decreased 20 percent.54  
Following Michigan’s GDL, that restricts driving after 
midnight, there was a 24 percent reduction in 16-year-
old driver crashes during the daytime (5 a.m.- 8:59 p.m.), 
a 21 percent reduction in crashes during the evening (9 
p.m. - 11:59 p.m.) and a 53 percent reduction in nighttime 
crashes (midnight - 4:59 a.m.),55 A nighttime driving 
restriction clearly results in a reduction in crashes and the 

reduction corresponds closely to the time the nighttime 
restriction begins.  

Knowing this and the fact that restrictions beginning at 
midnight or later are too late to affect the majority of 
nighttime driving crashes,56 it is not only imperative that 
New Jersey maintain its nighttime restriction for proba-
tionary drivers, but that it be lowered one hour from 
midnight to 11 p.m.  Based on research in other states, the 
Commission believes that a one hour reduction will result 
in a safety gain, while allowing New Jersey’s highly mobile 
teens to still participate in extracurricular activities (i.e., 
athletics, musical and theatrical performances, religious 
activities, etc.) and get to and from work.  In addition the 
change to 11 p.m. mirrors the nighttime driving restriction 
for permit holders, offering some simplification of the GDL 
law for parents, teens and law enforcement officials.  

A teen would be exempt (as currently allowed under New 
Jersey’s GDL) from the nighttime driving restriction, if 
he or she has proof of employment (detailing work hours) 
and/or is fulfilling a religious obligation.  
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1.7	 Sanction, in addition to the teen driver, all passengers 16 to 20 years of age on a permit, 
probationary or basic license, who violate the GDL passenger and safety belt restrictions.   

Champion: New Jersey Legislature



1.10	 Adjust the permit and probationary license fee to offset the costs of making improvements to the 
GDL system. 

Champion: Motor Vehicle Commission

1.11	 Change the name of the second phase of the GDL from “provisional” to “probationary” to reinforce 
that driving is by law a privilege not a right.

Champion: Motor Vehicle Commission

Prior to enactment of the Graduated Driver License 
law in 2001, New Jersey referred to a driver on a 
restricted license as a “probationary” driver. While this 
recommendation may seem inconsequential when it comes 
to reducing crashes and saving lives, the Commission 

believes that it will send a strong message to teens.  
Driving is a privilege that can be suspended when a 
license holder fails to drive in a safe, responsible and 
law-abiding manner.

New Jersey should, like Oregon, also undertake ongoing 
research to compare the impact 50 hours of practice 
driving coupled with formal driver training has on teen 
driver crashes, violations and suspensions versus 100 
hours of practice driving without formal driver training.  
In addition, a study should be initiated to compare the 
driving experience of teens who held their permit for six 
months versus those who held their permit for twelve.

It is imperative that New Jersey monitor and measure 
data related to teen drivers to ensure that initiatives are 
having their intended impact.  What we learn by analyzing 
violations and crashes, for example, can be used to make 
adjustments, as needed, to the GDL system. Research 
also provides a “feedback loop” for driver education.  
For example, if a significant number of teens are being 
cited for violating traffic control devices, driver education 
curriculum can be adjusted to focus more attention on that 
problem thereby improving teen driver safety.  

MVC should consider the fiscal impact of the recom-
mendations noted above and later in this report and 
determine what are the appropriate permit and probation-
ary license fees.  The current permit fee, which was last 
raised by $5 in 2001 following enactment of the GDL, is 
$10.  The permit is valid for two years from date of issue.  
The fee for a probationary license, which is valid for four 
years, is $24. 

While the fee increase in 2001 may cover costs associated 
with the implementation of a secondary school driver 

education curriculum (detailed in recommendation 2.2), 
it will not cover the cost of providing an event-based 
monitoring system, parent orientation, administration, 
research, marketing, and system programming. MVC 
was recently granted authority by the Legislature (S65) 
to increase its fees and surcharges for certain documents/
services including special and examination permits.  An 
increase to the probationary license fee would require 
legislative approval.
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1.9	 Conduct ongoing research to evaluate the crash and violation experience of teen drivers under the 
GDL system.

Champion: Division of Highway Traffic Safety



1.13	 List the GDL restrictions and violation penalties on the paper permit carried by teen drivers.

Champion: Motor Vehicle Commission

age 18) are prevented from operating an ambulance 
under EMS’s regulations for certification; however, no 
provisions exist for uncertified operators (under the First 
Aid Council).  

The MVC issues blue light permits to EMS volunteers 
and firefighters.  The use of these lights by a driver in 
training is highly inadvisable and should be addressed 
through a regulatory change.

The operation of an emergency vehicle (i.e., ambulance, 
fire truck) takes skill and experience, something a proba-
tionary license holder simply does not have in his or her 
young driving career. It takes at least 12 months57 and 
between 1,000 to 1,500 miles58 of driving before there is 
a steep drop in crash risk for novice drivers.  Giving teens 
the keys to a vehicle that may need to be operated at a 
high rate of speed and under extreme conditions (i.e., bad 
weather, congestion, through controlled intersections), is 
a recipe for disaster.  According to EMS, minors (under 

1.12	 Exclude GDL holders from operating emergency vehicles (EMS) and obtaining blue light permits  
(fire and EMS volunteers).

Champion: Motor Vehicle Commission
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The current 8½ by 11-inch paper document includes, 
under the permit holders demographic information, the 
following reference to holding a permit under New 
Jersey’s motor vehicle laws: “This permit only valid when 
used in compliance with the provisions set forth on NJSA 
39:3-13.1, NJSA 39:3-13.2 and NJSA 39:3-13.2A of the 
revised statutes.”  

This has no meaning or relevancy to a teen and it is 
unlikely that he or she will attempt to look up the statutes.  
For this reason, it would be more effective to list the 
GDL restrictions (i.e., nighttime, passenger, cell phones, 
mandatory seat belt use, etc.) on the permit (the back of 
the document is blank) and note that a violation of these 
and/or a motor vehicle statute will result in mandatory 
training and/or license suspension and postponement.   



2.2	 Develop and deliver to public and private schools a standardized traffic safety/driver education curriculum 
and incorporate it into New Jersey’s Core Curriculum Content Standards for students in grades K-12.

Champion: Motor Vehicle Commission and New Jersey Department of Education

Crash risk doesn’t begin at 16.  Children start learning to 
drive the minute they are strapped into their car seats and 
continue that process while sitting in the back seat and 
eventually in the front. If driver education and training 
are to produce a safety benefit, it is clear that the lessons 
must begin at an early age. Incorporating traffic safety 
into New Jersey’s Core Curriculum Content Standards for 
students beginning in kindergarten is essential. 

But making sure that driver education is a priority in the 
state’s school system has been difficult.  First, there is no 
clear owner of driver education.  While driver education 
can be part of a health and safety curriculum in secondary 
schools, curriculum is managed at the local level, not by 
the New Jersey Department of Education (DOE).  While 
MVC produces a driver’s manual and administers tests, 
curriculum development falls outside the agency’s core 
responsibilities.  Without a strong base of support for driver 

education at the state level, some schools no longer offer 
it (even the 30-hour classroom program) and in many cases, 
it fails to provide an effective foundation for safe driving. 

The good news is that the DOE is currently reviewing and 
revising the state’s Core Curriculum Content Standards 
in Comprehensive Health and Physical Education (the 
area under which driver education falls) for publication in 
2009. The DOE will ensure that the revised standards 
include additional cumulative progress indicators that 
reflect a comprehensive kindergarten through twelfth 
grade traffic safety and driver education focus. An effec-
tive scope and sequence is one factor that will lead to 
development of a more viable curriculum at the local 
district level.

At the same time, the Motor Vehicle Commission, in 
partnership with the Division of Highway Traffic Safety 

Since a funding mechanism is in place, the Commission 
recommends that MVC annually request appropriation 
language to ensure that the funds are appropriated and ex-
pended for driver education purposes.  These funds should 
be used to develop, deliver and update the K-12 curriculum 
(detailed in recommendation 2.2); conduct ongoing driver 
education research; maintain a web-based driver education 
resource library for the public and a dedicated website for 
driver education professionals (detailed in recommendation 
2.4); provide grants to schools for innovative traffic 
safety and driver education programs; and develop other 
driver education initiatives as needed. The return on this 
investment will not only be marked in dollars saved (i.e., 
health care, insurance and vehicle repair costs to name a 
few), but in fewer lives lost.

The Graduated Driver License law (C 27:5F-42) dedicates 
$5 of the $10 permit fee to the Driver Education Fund.  
Administered by MVC, the fund collects approximately 
$1.37 million annually.59  While these monies are dedicated, 
expending them requires an annual appropriation, which 
has not happened since the Fund was established in 2001. 

Ensuring that these funds are used for their intended 
purpose is essential, particularly when you consider the 
economic impact – $9 billion – traffic crashes annually 
have in New Jersey.  While some states such as Oregon and 
Massachusetts fund high school driver education programs, 
no such funding is provided in New Jersey. While many 
schools continue to include 30 hours of classroom training 
in their health and physical education curriculum, behind-
the-wheel training (essential for learning to drive) has been 
cut from most school budgets.  In addition, funds for new 
curriculum and technology are scarce.  

2.1	 Appropriate funding for driver education through the GDL-mandated Driver Education Fund. 

Champion: Motor Vehicle Commission and New Jersey Legislature
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compliance with state benchmarks, the Transportation
Safety Action Plan, the Safety Management Plan and na-
tionally recognized measures. New Jersey should consider 
forming a similar organization (see recommendation 2.3).  

Since the Oregon program is high school based, DHTS will 
also be reaching out to Texas, which is currently developing 
a K-12 traffic safety/driver education curriculum, and 
Kentucky, which is pursuing funding for an enhanced 
program for students in grades 6-12.  Developing a program 
that builds on basic traffic safety principles at an early age 
in elementary and early middle school (i.e., proper restraint, 
bike helmet use, safe bicycling and walking, passenger 
behavior, distraction) leading to basic skills in late middle 
school and early high school (i.e., the introduction of vehicle 
handling skills) followed by higher-order skills in high school 
and following licensing (i.e., hazard detection, advanced 
judgment). Using a two-stage approach to teaching driver 
education over a four to five year period, aligns itself with 
the multi-stage approach of a graduated driver license.

In addition to developing curriculum for all grade levels, 
it is imperative that those who teach it do so effectively.  
NJAC 6A:9-11.6 states that any teacher who holds a 
Certificate of Eligibility with Advanced Standing (CEAS) 
or standard New Jersey instructional certificate with a 
driver education endorsement is authorized to teach driver 
education in all public schools.  DOE recommends that the 
driver education endorsement be modified to allow only 
health certified or health and physical education certified 
instructors to teach driver education in New Jersey public 
high schools.  A content specialist trained in health and 
safety would provide more effective instruction. These 
individuals should receive initial and ongoing training in 
the new curriculum (at all grade levels) and be held to the 
highest standards based on teacher competencies and best 
practices.  Furthermore, MVC should work with DOE to 
ensure secondary school instructors are properly licensed, 
monitored and trained to teach the new driver education 
curriculum. This may require synchronizing MVC and 
DOE regulations.

(DHTS), is working on the development of a new high 
school driver education curriculum. This is good news.  
Driver education teachers have no uniform curriculum, an 
issue cited repeatedly as a major concern and frustration 
at the statewide driver education forums held in 2006 
and 2007. This results in many teachers using MVC’s 
driver’s manual for content so students learn how to pass 
the written law knowledge test, rather than the skills and 
information necessary to learn how to drive safely.  

Rather than reinvent the wheel, however, MVC is looking 
closely at Oregon’s Driver Education Risk Prevention 
Curriculum that focuses on teaching driver decision 
management along with rules of the road and vehicle 
operation.  Researchers point out that putting an emphasis 
on the first element is essential if driver education 
programs are going to produce safer drivers. For example, 
inexperienced drivers make poor judgments in their first 
months of driving, resulting in a high crash rate. These 
failed judgments often represent mistakes in assessing, 
or even noticing, hazards in the driving environment.  
They also reflect misconceptions about drivers’ limited 
abilities and their susceptibility to crashing.  A promising 
approach for improving young driver safety may lie in 
more effectively training them to perceive hazards and to 
respond accordingly60 rather than focusing entirely on the 
kinds of basic vehicle control skills that are frequently 
equated with safe driving.  

Oregon, like New Jersey, has many segments of government 
involved in the management of driver education and 
roadway safety. But the state has bridged the disconnect 
between these entities by employing an organization that 
blends the interests of all of the parties concerned with 
driver education.  Oregon’s Traffic Safety Education Organ-
ization coordinates changes to the curriculum, trains 
instructors, and distributes curriculum and teaching 
materials.  The curriculum focuses on simple to complex 
risk prevention behaviors and is weighted using research 
based facts that show casual factors associated with 
teen driver collision.  It is updated regularly to ensure 
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2.4	 Develop and maintain a web-based driver education resource library for public access and a website 
for driver education professionals.

Champion: Division of Highway Traffic Safety

The Division of Highway Traffic, in partnership with 
NJIT, is building a web-based, driver education resource 
library (i.e., teaching tools, pamphlets and brochures, 
research reports, other websites, instructional programs, 
etc.) for parents, teens and other interested parties.  The 
library will be accessible through a homepage link on 
the Division’s website at www.njsaferoads.com. It is 
anticipated that the project will take six to eight months to 
complete, with a launch date in the fourth quarter of 2008.  
The website will be updated regularly to ensure that the 
content is current and relevant to users.  

In addition to the resource library, the Division is also 
working with MVC, to build a website for driver education 
professionals.  The site will provide public school teachers 
and commercial driving school instructors access to MVC’s 
forms, driver’s manual and parent’s guide; the statewide 
driver education curriculum currently under develop-

ment; best practices; continuing education opportunities; 
and links to key traffic safety and driver education 
websites (i.e., AAA, Insurance Institute for Highway 
Safety, National Highway Traffic Safety Administration, 
Driving School Association of New Jersey, American 
Driver & Traffic Safety Education Association, National 
Transportation Safety Board, Centers for Disease Control 
and Prevention, MADD). In addition, the site will 
also include a link to the Division of Highway Traffic 
Safety’s driver education resource library noted above.  
The Division anticipates launching the site in the fourth 
quarter of 2008.  
 
Federal funds are being used to cover the start-up costs for 
both initiatives. DHTS and MVC will, however, look to use 
monies from the Driver Education Fund (noted in recom-
mendation 2.1) to maintain both projects in the future.

education and training.61 This board, however, was nev-
er appointed. The Commission recommends that the 
Board be activated and include representation from 
key state agencies (i.e., Division of Highway Traffic 
Safety, MVC, Department of Education) as well as those 
entities currently represented on the Teen Driver Study 
Commission (i.e., driver education, AAA, insurance, 
PTA, teens, enforcement/judicial, school administration 
and local government).  

While the Division of Highway Traffic Safety, in part-
nership with key public and private sector partners, 
is ultimately responsible for ensuring that the recom-
mendations detailed in this report are implemented, 
having an entity in place to monitor this progress as well as 
improvements in teen driver safety is essential.  

The GDL law established a State Review Board on 
Driver Education which was charged with making recom-
mendations to MVC about the law, as well as driver 

2.3	 Reactivate the State Advisory Committee on Driver Education to ensure the Teen Driver Study Commission’s 
recommendations are enacted and monitor ongoing progress in improving teen driver safety.

Champion: Division of Highway Traffic Safety
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government, service clubs, Girl and Boy Scouts, etc.) 
to deliver key messages. “Real” New Jersey teens, who 
have been impacted by teen driving crashes, should be 
identified to serve as campaign spokespersons and teens 
should be invited to come forward and share their stories.  
Data conveyed through the campaign should be relevant 
and impact a teen audience (i.e., New Jersey town-by-
town crash data, a teen crash occurs in New Jersey every 
nine minutes).  

Rather than reinvent the wheel, the Division should 
review best practices in other states and consider adapting 
successful programs such as Utah’s “Don’t Drive Stupid” 
campaign and North Carolina’s “R U Buckled” college 
seat belt initiative for implementation in New Jersey.  

The Division of Highway Traffic Safety should dedi-
cate a portion of its federal safety grant monies to 
fund a statewide social marketing campaign aimed 
specifically at teens 17 to 20 years of age.  The campaign 
should address crash causation factors (i.e., distraction/
inattention, speeding, lack of seat belt use, alcohol) as 
identified through crash data analysis for New Jersey 
teens.  In addition, the campaign should be conducted in 
conjunction with enforcement initiatives targeted at teen 
drivers during the most dangerous times of the year – 
spring (proms), summer (graduation, trips to the shore), 
fall (sports, daylight savings time).  

The campaign should use teen appropriate media (i.e., 
Internet websites, pod casts, school publications) and 
teen-related organizations (i.e., sports teams, student 

2.5	 Create and disseminate social marketing campaigns, based on ongoing review of New Jersey teen 
crash data, to address teen driving issues such as speeding, distractions, GDL compliance, peer 
influence, and risky behaviors

Champion: Division of Highway Traffic Safety
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3.2	 Encourage more parent/guardian involvement with a driving school instructor so that he or she 
partners with the instructor to reinforce and build upon a teen’s training.

Champion: New Jersey Parent Teacher Organizations and New Jersey Driving School Associations 

ensure that a teen receives one-on-one, private instruction.  
In addition, providing time guidelines for how to structure 
the lessons would ensure that driving schools allow adequate 
time to appropriately cover all topics mandated by MVC. 

Today, MVC provides each licensed driving school with a 
list of instructions to be included in all behind-the-wheel 
courses.  While the list of instructions such as signaling 
and speed control, are important, the list is provided to 
help ensure driving schools prepare students to pass the 
road skill test.  For this reason, MVC is encouraged to 
research and adopt a standard, up-to-date curriculum 
for behind-the-wheel instruction, based on a nationally 
accepted model that goes beyond simply preparing a 
student to pass the MVC skill test.

Under New Jersey’s GDL, a teen opting to obtain a 
permit at 16 must successfully complete six hours of 
behind-the-wheel driver training.  While MVC’s “initial 
driving school application” clearly states that a driving 
school course “be a minimum of six hours behind-the-
wheel instruction,” the Commission heard testimony to 
the contrary from parents and teens.  While it’s assumed 
that a teen will spend six hours behind-the-wheel, what 
the teen may actually be getting is six hours of “time in 
the car” (some of this time may be instructional) and that 
time might be shared with another student.  

Since MVC regulates the driving school industry, the 
Commission recommends that the current regulation be 
amended (in sync with any changes to the GDL law) to 

3.1	 Amend the GDL law and the corresponding regulation to clearly define “six hours of behind-the-
wheel driver training.”

Champion: Motor Vehicle Commission and New Jersey Driving School Associations

Driver training is a vital part of learning to drive. But the 
classroom teachers and behind-the-wheel driver training 
instructor(s) are not the only persons who should be 
working with the new driver.  Parental involvement in driver 
training is a must. Parents must form a partnership with 
the driver training instructor to build upon the foundation 
provided in a six-hour program. This partnership should 
be forged the minute the driving school is selected.  

A parent/guardian should not only review and sign the 
driving school’s service agreement (which a driving 
school is required to provide under MVC regulation) and 
list of fees (remembering that the latter, while important, 
should not be the only factor in selecting a driver training 
program), but request a synopsis of how the behind-the-
wheel program will be structured.  While a 16-year-old, by 
law, cannot practice drive with a parent or guardian until 

after he or she has completed the full six-hour training 
program, it is imperative that practice begin as soon after 
that as possible.  Since 17- to 20-year-olds can practice with 
a supervising driver between lessons, scheduling practice 
sessions as soon as possible after a professionally taught 
behind-the-wheel session and adhering to the timeline 
detailed in the synopsis will help to reinforce what a teen 
has learned and better prepare him or her for the next 
formal lesson.  Checking in with the instructor after each 
session will also ensure that a parent/guardian is aware of 
his or her teen’s driving strengths and weaknesses.  

Parent teacher organizations at New Jersey high schools 
are encouraged to join with the New Jersey Driving School 
Associations to launch a public education campaign to 
educate parents and driver training professionals about 
the importance of “teaming up” to help teen drivers.
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3.4	 Improve oversight of driving schools to ensure compliance with all statutory and regulatory requirements.

Champion: Motor Vehicle Commission and the New Jersey Driving School Associations 

MVC issues licenses that authorize driving schools 
and instructors to operate within the state of New Jersey.  
In addition to providing behind-the-wheel instruction, 
the license allows driving school owners and specified 
instructors or agents to purchase learner’s permits, schedule 
road tests and, with additional endorsements, administer 
state-approved knowledge and vision tests.  

MVC is required to audit each licensed driving school 
annually (N.J.S.A. 39:1.2-4.1). The audit, however, should 
go beyond a review of the facility and required doc-
uments, and include performance, training and other 

model criteria that may be established under the law and 
regulations. The Commission urges MVC to work with 
the various New Jersey Driving School Associations to 
better communicate and enhance standards that apply to 
every driver education/training program/school.  These 
standards should encourage quality and compel adherence 
to program standards.  

MVC and the Driving School Associations are also en-
couraged to consider a “Middle States-type” audit process, 
which uses peer-review to evaluate whether an entity is 
carrying out well-defined goals and objectives. 

monitored by school management, undergo periodic per-
formance evaluations and maintain clean driving records.  

It is important to note that MVC reviews an instructor’s 
driving record at time of license renewal. Instructors 
with nine points are called into MVC for a hearing and 
instructors with suspended driver’s licenses are not 
renewed.  MVC, however, does not automatically suspend 
instructor licenses when a driver’s license is suspended. 
This should be rectified so that an instructor’s driver’s 
license is proactively monitored – by both MVC and his 
or her employer – and appropriate action taken to ensure 
he or she is not instructing students if his or her driving 
privileges have been revoked.   

Membership in a professional driving school association 
is also encouraged. MVC should amend the current 
driving school regulations (scheduled for re-adoption in 
2009) to ensure that driver training instructors acquire 
continuing education credits (CEUs) like other educa-
tion professionals to maintain licensure and that new 
instructors complete a six-hour defensive driving course 
prior to licensure.

The training required to teach behind-the-wheel driver 
instruction through a New Jersey licensed driving school 
is minimal at best.  A driving school must have at least one 
instructor on staff who has successfully completed one, 
three-credit driver education-related college course and 
logged at least 500 hours of behind-the-wheel instruction. 
The requirements for all other instructors employed by 
a driving school are that he or she undergo a criminal 
background check, hold a basic license in New Jersey (or 
comparable in other state), be at least 21 years of age, 
take a “special” law knowledge, skill and visual acuity 
test, and complete an MVC-approved, six-hour defensive 
driving course prior to initial license renewal.  There are 
no other formal education requirements.  

The Commission believes that before, not after, an individ-
ual is licensed as a driver training instructor, he or she 
should, at the very least, successfully complete a six-hour 
defensive driving program. Following licensure, driver 
training in-structors should be required to participate in 
continuing education programs to ensure that they know 
how to teach current information such as the latest visual 
search and scan techniques. Instructors should also be 

3.3	 Require driving school instructors to attain a minimum level of training to improve the quality of instruction.

Champion: Motor Vehicle Commission and New Jersey Driving School Associations 
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3.6	 Develop a mechanism for a consumer to lodge a complaint against a driving school.

Champion: Motor Vehicle Commission and the New Jersey Driving School Associations

A driving school should help new drivers learn proper 
vehicle-control techniques, not just prepare a student to 
pass the state’s driving exam. If a parent/guardian feels 
that a driving school is not providing sufficient instruction 
to meet this goal, he or she should talk with the instructor 
or the school manager or owner. In turn, the school 
instructors and management should take constructive 
action to ensure the new driver graduates with good basic 
skills.  If corrective action is not taken, the parent/guardian 
should be able to file a complaint.  

As noted in the previous recommendation, MVC is 
responsible for licensing and auditing driving schools/
programs. In addition to completing the necessary 
paperwork for licensure and adhering to the insurance, 
vehicle, instructor, and record-keeping requirements, a 

licensed driving school must present each student and his 
or her guardian with a statement of services or service 
agreement.  This document must detail what services the 
school will provide and a list of fees (i.e., cost of six hours 
of instruction, cost for additional instruction beyond the 
six-hour requirement, missed lesson and/or cancellation 
fee). While the agreement must be signed by either the 
student or his or her parent/guardian, the Commission 
recommends that the parent/guardian be required to sign 
the agreement.  This ensures that the parent/guardian fully 
understands the parameters of the training, fees, etc.  

The Commission also urges MVC to prominently display 
on the homepage of its website a phone number(s) and/
or form/email for lodging a complaint about a driving 
school.  The number/website should connect directly with 

Commission recognizes the dynamic nature of safe driving 
and how, in some cases, it may not be possible to improve 
one program aspect without first achieving improvements 
in another. The Commission still believes it is time for 
MVC to look to the American Association of Motor 
Vehicle Administrators (AAMVA) for ways to enhance 
and/or improve driver skills and adopt standardized testing 
procedures.  AAMVA is currently engaged in a three year 
project to develop a state-of-the-art, non-commercial 
model testing system that ensures new drivers receive 
proper information on safe motor vehicle operating 
practices and are tested in a standardized manner ensuring 
they possess the minimum knowledge and skills for the 
safe operation of a motor vehicle.  The project will include 
the development of a model driver manual, knowledge 
test, GDL parent support materials for use in providing 
supervised instruction, vehicle safety inspection skills 
testing procedures, off-street basic control skills testing 
procedures and on-road testing procedures.   

The behind-the-wheel driving test that a novice driver 
in New Jersey must pass to obtain a probationary license 
has not changed in more than fifty years.  Does the ability 
to parallel park, perform a K-turn, use turn signals, and 
brake smoothly, among other things, mean that a novice 
is ready to drive unsupervised?  

The main objective of driver license testing is increased 
safety, such that minimum standards are met and those who 
lack the required competencies are not permitted to enter 
the system.62 In light of this, the Commission must ask is 
our state’s minimum standards for passing the driving test 
appropriate based on today’s driving conditions?  And are 
teens spending too much time practicing the skills necessary 
to pass the test rather than working on a systematic 
development of skills related to safer driving behavior? 

It may be difficult for MVC to “raise the bar” on testing 
without first improving behind-the-wheel training. The 

3.5	 Enhance the road test to more accurately assess driver skill and safety, and study the feasibility of 
conducting the test on the road rather than on a closed course.

Champion: Motor Vehicle Commission
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3.7	 Continue to hold an annual statewide driver education forum for all driver education professionals.

Champion: New Jersey Driving School Associations

should also be encouraged to file compliments and com-
plaints about driving schools with the Better Business 
Bureau and the State Division of Consumer Affairs.  

Driving school complaints and compliments lodged with 
MVC should be properly documented and investigated, 
and the consumer should be advised of the outcome of the 
investigation.  This information should also be taken into 
account during the audit process to ensure that corrective 
action/measures were put in place.

the MVC Business License Compliance Driving School 
Unit, which is responsible for driving school licensure.  
This number, along with a link for filing complaints, 
should also be provided adjacent to the list of registered 
driving schools on the MVC website www.state.nj.us/
mvc/Licenses/LicensedDrivingSchools.htm.  

Including contact information for the New Jersey 
Driving School Associations is also recommended, since 
the organizations have a vested interest in ensuring the 
integrity of their members and the industry. Consumers 

For the past two years, MVC and the Division of High-
way Traffic Safety have sponsored a statewide forum 
for driver education professionals. While the majority 
of the attendees have been high school teachers, driving 
school instructors have been participating as well. From 
75 participants in 2006 to over 300 in 2007, it is evident 
that driver education professionals are hungry for training 
and information that will help them deliver top-notch 
programs to their students.  

The Commission recommends that this training continue 
to be held annually, but for now there be two forums – one 
for classroom instructors and one for behind-the-wheel 
instructors. MVC and the Division of Highway Traffic 
Safety should transition administrative responsibility of 
the instructor behind-the-wheel forum to the New Jersey 

Driving School Associations.  Both forums should give 
instructors the opportunity to hear from experts in the 
field, obtain continuing education credits through inter-
active workshops, preview the latest teaching tools and 
technology, and network with their peers.  

While the ultimate goal is to hold one forum, separate 
workshops would guarantee relevant content for licensed 
driving school instructors (who focus primarily on 
behind-the-wheel training) and public school teachers 
(who are responsible for teaching the 30-hour classroom 
curriculum).  In addition, the workshops will provide 
driving education/training professionals with the means to 
fulfill their CEU requirements (as mandated by DEO and/
or MVC and detailed in recommendation 3.3) in state, at 
a reasonable cost and on an annual basis.  
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3.8	 Encourage continuing driver training following successful completion of the probationary phase to 
foster driver skill development and lifelong learning.  

Champion: AAA Clubs of New Jersey and the Insurance Council of New Jersey

The Commission heard testimony from a number of 
individuals promoting the benefits of advanced driver 
training. Typically, these courses, which focus on emer-
gency handling skills such as skid control, are taught by 
car club members, police officers or race car drivers on 
a controlled course (i.e., race tracks, parking lots) over a 
one- or two-day period. 

Although few of these courses have been evaluated, 
available research points to a safety “disbenefit;” meaning 
that crash involvement appears to increase, rather than 
decrease, among young drivers who participate in this 
type of training.63 It has been suggested that training in 
vehicle-handling skills, particularly advanced skills, leads 
to overconfidence, which may offset or even replace 
normally cautious behavior by young drivers.64

For this reason, the Commission believes that advanced 
driver training should be pursued following successful 
completion of the probationary phase of the GDL.  During 

the GDL, a teen’s progress should be monitored by a 
parent/guardian, who routinely rides with the teen and 
offers feedback.  In addition, driver education, beyond 
the pre-licensing classroom instruction typically provided 
in the sophomore year of high school, should, following 
licensure, continue during the junior and senior year.  The 
curriculum should shift from basic vehicle handling skills 
to more advanced cognitive/judgment skills to help teens 
become “wiser” drivers.  

Driving, like many complicated tasks, takes continued 
practice. The Commission urges motorists, regardless of 
age, to continually assess their driving skills and seek out 
training that will foster skill development and lifelong learn-
ing. In addition, the Commission encourages institutions 
of higher learner to include for-credit courses in driver 
education (with a focus on decision making and behaviors) 
and businesses to offer defensive driving and advanced 
driving courses for employees and their families. 
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4.2	 Close the loophole in New Jersey’s seat belt law to ensure all back seat passengers 18 years of age 
and older buckle up.

Champion: New Jersey Legislature

A review of recent fatal teen driver crash records in New 
Jersey shows that several of the teens had taken advantage 
of this safe harbor.  It is unclear, however, how many 
other New Jersey teens are getting multiple bites at the 
apple thus putting themselves, their passengers and others 
on the road at risk.  

Research suggests that the danger is very real. An analysis 
of  U.S. fatal crash data involving 15- to 17-year-old driv-
ers between 1995 and 2004, found that of the 30,917 
people who died, 11,177 were the teen drivers while 
9,847 were their passengers, 7,477 were occupants of other 
vehicles, and 2,323 were non-motorists. Nearly two of every 
three people killed in teen-driver crashes are people other 
than the teen driver.65

While the ability to plea bargain to an “unsafe operator” 
offense would become moot if New Jersey adopts an 
“event-based” GDL violations program (detailed in 
recommendation 1.1), issuing this ban on plea agreements 
in the interim would close this loophole and send a strong 
message to teens and their parents that teens who violate 
the law and put themselves and others at risk will be 
sanctioned accordingly.  

Recognizing that driving by law, is a privilege, not a 
right, and that this privilege can and should be rescinded 
if a motorist fails to drive safely and in compliance with 
the law, the Commission urges the Attorney General to 
send a directive to prosecutors banning plea agreements 
for GDL license holders.

As noted in an earlier recommendation, allowing a teen to 
plead down to a non-point carrying violation, negatively 
impacts the intent and integrity of New Jersey’s GDL law.  
N.J.S.A. 39:4-97.2 allows a motorist two opportunities to 
plead certain point carrying violations down to “no points” 
by paying a $250 fine.  If the violator is a teen holding a 
GDL, and no points are assessed for a moving violation, 
the training, suspension and postponement requirements 
of the GDL never kick in.  A teen, for example, who has 
been cited twice for exceeding the speed limit, while 
holding a probationary license, may plead the offense 
down to unsafe operator, pay his or her fine and continue 
driving.  At the end of the 12-month probationary period, 
he or she is then granted full licensure.

New Jersey’s primary seat belt law contains a loophole 
that does not require backseat passengers 18 years of age 
and older to buckle up.  However, all individuals riding in 
a vehicle operated by a GDL holder are required to buckle 
up.  Once a teen graduates from a probationary license to a 
basic license that requirement does not apply to back seat 
passengers 18 years of age and older.  This is troubling 
because it sends a mixed message to teen drivers, who 
have the highest crash risk of any age group66 as well as 
young children who model adult behavior.  

An analysis of New Jersey crash data for 2006 shows 
that 17-year-olds experienced the greatest number of 
crashes, 15,934, while their 18- (14,882), 19- (13,408) 
and 20-year-old (12,208) counterparts continued to be 
involved in a high number of crashes, as compared to 
other age groups, but the numbers start to decline with 
experience.67  Meanwhile a one-year (December 1, 2006 
through November 30, 2007) review of all motor vehicle 
citations (GDL and moving violations) issued to 16- to 
20-year-old New Jersey drivers, reveals the opposite 
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4.1	 Until event-based monitoring and the Commission’s recommended sanctions/penalties are 
implemented, issue a directive banning plea agreements for motor vehicle traffic offenses committed 
by GDL license holders

Champion: Office of the Attorney General



4.3	 Require that for all traffic offenses a GDL holder’s driver abstract be reviewed by the prosecutor 
and the judge.

Champion: Motor Vehicle Commission, Administrative Office of the Courts, 
New Jersey Municipal Prosecutors Association and Office of the Attorney General

passengers reduces the chance of death and serious injury 
in a motor vehicle crash by 55 to 75 percent.70  

During the past four years (2003 through 2006), 202 un-
belted, backseat passengers died in motor vehicle crashes 
in New Jersey.71  Had these 202 individuals worn seat belts, 
as many as 168 might be alive today (based on a 55 to 75 
percent survival rate).  Several recent fatal teen crashes in 
New Jersey involved lack of seat belt use by passengers, 
several of whom were 18 years of age or older.  

The Assembly recently passed legislation (A870) closing 
this loophole, but a bill has not yet been introduced in 
the Senate.

trend. The lowest number of citations, 1,373, was written 
to 16-year-olds (permit holders), followed by 49,250 for 
17-year-olds (probationary license holders). The number 
of citations spiked significantly for 18-year-old drivers 
(76,476) and continued to rise slightly for 19-year-
olds (80,793).68

Knowing that teens continue to crash (albeit at a slightly 
lesser rate as they continue to gain experience), while 
their violations nearly double after they graduate from 
restricted to full licensure, ensuring that everyone in the 
vehicle is properly restrained – even adults – is essential.  
Seat belts are the single most effective safety device in a 
motor vehicle crash.69 The use of seat belts by backseat 

For most driving offenses, teen drivers, like all drivers, 
can plead guilty and pay to the court the required fine 
(online, mail or in-person). Assuming event-based 
monitoring of violations is implemented, more teen 
drivers are likely to challenge summonses by appearing 
in court.  The Commission believes it is important for the 
prosecutor and also the judge to review a teen driver’s 
conviction record prior to considering plea arrangements.  
Prosecutors and judges should recognize GDL is a critical 
time when new drivers develop behaviors that can extend 
over their entire driving career.  Unless the driver abstract 
for a teen driver is reviewed, the court will be unable to 
distinguish a driver with one violation from one with 

many.  Affording the teen driver with multiple, and in 
some cases, serious violations a “free pass,” can lead to 
more serious violations and collisions over the long term. 

The Motor Vehicle Commission now provides on-line, 
free access to driver abstracts for all local prosecutors 
and the Administrative Office of the Courts provides 
access to driver abstracts for court personnel supporting 
the municipal judge.  Easy access to driver abstracts can 
support efficient implementation of this recommendation.   
The Commission encourages the Office of the Attorney 
General to determine if this GDL holder abstract review 
should be added to the rules governing New Jersey Courts.
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4.5	 Develop and deliver a GDL training program for prosecutors and judges.

Champion: Administrative Office of the Courts, 
New Jersey Municipal Prosecutors Association and Motor Vehicle Commission

Jersey police agencies and the police training academies.  
The video should clearly explain New Jersey’s current 
GDL law (restrictions, exceptions and sanctions) and 
why enforcing the components of the law is essential for 
minimizing teen driver risk.  As the recommendations in 
this report are enacted, the video should be updated so that 
police officers are the first rather than the last to know.  

With proper training, geographic and political disparities 
in GDL enforcement can be overcome, police officers will 
understand the rationale for GDL and its restrictions, and 
enforce the law accordingly throughout the state.  

Ensuring that police officers understand the GDL law is 
essential if it is to have its intended effect. When the GDL 
was implemented in 2001, little, if any, attention was given 
to explaining the law to the enforcement community.  This 
has not only resulted in spotty enforcement and general 
confusion in the law enforcement community, but aware-
ness on the part of teens that if they violate the GDL law, it 
is unlikely that they will be stopped and possibly cited.  

Giving police officers the tools they need to enforce 
the law starts with training. A roll-call video should im-
mediately be developed and disseminated to all New 

Judges and prosecutors must be aware of and support 
the enforcement of GDL restrictions by police.  If judges 
or prosecutors frequently dismiss GDL violations, police 
enforcement will do little to increase compliance with 
restrictions.  Additionally, if judges and prosecutors do not 
understand the importance of enforcing GDL restrictions, 
they may be unwilling to follow through with prescribed 
sanctions for GDL violations.  This can undermine the 
success of an enforcement program and the GDL system 
in general.  

While there are municipal judges in New Jersey who 
refuse to allow any plea agreements for teens who violate 
the GDL law or commit a moving violation, there are others 
who similarly dismiss teen driving cases with a simple slap 

on the wrist.  For this reason, developing a GDL training 
program for judges and prosecutors is essential.  

The training, should, like the police roll-call video, 
address restrictions, exceptions and sanctions to the GDL 
law, as well as the rationale for the GDL approach itself.  
It should also address the need to review a teen driver’s 
abstract (recommendation 4.3) prior to rendering a ruling 
on a violation, and the ability of the courts to access this 
information online through a new MVC initiative, and 
point out how plea agreements send an inappropriate 
message to teens about the “privilege” of driving.  The 
program should also include best practices showcasing 
municipal judges and prosecutors who are taking an active 
role in fostering teen driver safety in their communities.
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4.4	 Develop and disseminate a police training roll-call video to ensure awareness and enforcement of 
the GDL law.

Champion: New Jersey Division of Highway Traffic Safety, 
New Jersey Police Traffic Officers Association and New Jersey Chiefs of Police Association



4.7	 Prominently place a GDL checkbox on the uniform traffic summons and NJTR-1 crash reporting form.

Champion: Administrative Office of the Courts and the Motor Vehicle Commission 

provide information about how to obtain a teen’s driving 
record to parent organizations, driving schools, AAA Clubs 
and other organizations for distribution to their constituents.  
Information is currently available by calling the MVC 
Customer Contact Center in Trenton or by visiting an MVC 
agency.  The information contained in the teen’s driving 
record such as violations and suspensions is provided 
verbally.  If the parent wishes to obtain a paper copy of the 
abstract there is a $10 fee.  

MVC should consider making abstracts available via its web-
site to make it easier for parents to take advantage of the 
free service. At present, the driver abstract (record) page on 
the website contains no information about the free service, 
other than a link to the main abstract request section. New 
Jersey officials may wish to review the Illinois DMV 
website which includes a well-placed link on its homepage 
for parents seeking their teens’ driving record.  

Ensuring that parents monitor their teens’ driving, par-
ticularly during the probationary period of the GDL, is 
essential.  Having access to driver information keeps parents 
in the loop; this enhanced parental supervision, particularly 
during those first twelve months of unsupervised driving, 
can help reduce crashes which spike considerably after the 
permit phase.  

Last fall, Governor Corzine signed into law legislation that 
gives the parents of teens under 18 years of age holding 
a permit or probationary license free access to their 
teens’ driving records. The Motor Vehicle Commission 
should initiate a public outreach campaign with parent 
organizations, the New Jersey Driving School Associations 
and other traffic safety partners to advise parents about 
this service. While parents/guardians should be advised 
about the availability of information when attending 
the Commission-recommended teen driving orientation 
(detailed in recommendation 1.3), MVC should also 

Based on testimony from police officers at all three of 
its public hearings, the Commission recommends that a 
“GDL violation” checkbox be included on the form an 
officer uses to issue a summons or ticket to a motorist.  In 
addition, a “GDL” checkbox should also be added to the 
form (NJTR-1) that a police officer uses to file a motor 
vehicle crash report. This box would be checked if the 
operator of the vehicle(s) was a GDL holder.  

Since the GDL law went into affect in 2001, many police 
officers have not been citing the appropriate statute when 

issuing a ticket to a teen who is violating one or more of the 
GDL restrictions.  Having the checkbox on the form will 
call attention to GDL and help to ensure that police officers 
use the correct motor vehicle statute when completing the 
summons. Summons are also reviewed by prosecutors who 
should, based on prior concerns, be aware of GDL violators.  
Careful collection and reporting of motor vehicle summons 
and crash data is essential for tracking how well GDL 
restrictions are enforced and the impact they are having on 
reducing teen driver crashes.  
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4.6	 Publicize the availability of free parental access to teen driver information.

Champion: Motor Vehicle Commission, Parent Organizations and New Jersey Driving School Associations



4.9	 Identify and disseminate best practices for involving parents, police officers, prosecutors, judges, 
elected and school officials, and volunteers in community-based teen driver education and crash-
prevention programs.

Champion:  Division of Highway Traffic Safety

To encourage statewide adoption of such an initiative, 
the Commission recommends that the Memorandum of 
Agreement signed annually between all school systems 
and law enforcement agencies in New Jersey be revised to 
include police departments notifying schools when teens 
are convicted of committing a GDL or traffic violation.  
Hand-in-hand with this, schools should consider adopting 
policies related to driver behavior and parking privileges 
(see recommendation 6.2).

Some police departments are notifying schools when a teen 
commits a GDL or moving violation (see recommendation 
4.9).  In the Freehold Regional High School District this 
notification results in the teen losing his or her parking 
privileges for a set period of time.  School officials indicate 
that students view the loss of their parking privileges as a 
strong deterrent to violating the GDL.  

Teen driver safety is not just a parental or police 
problem, it’s a community problem. Engaging all sectors 
of the community in helping to address teen driver safety 
is essential not just for teens but everyone on the road 
– including pedestrians and bicyclists. A community-
based approach sends a strong message to teens that their 
behavior behind-the-wheel is being monitored not just 
by their parents and police officers, but everyone from 
neighbors, teachers, and coaches, to business owners 
and town officials, and will be reported and dealt with 
appropriately and in accordance with the law.  

The New Jersey Division of Highway Traffic Safety 
should identify and share, through its 13 county-based 
Community Traffic Safety Programs (CTSPs) and other 
traffic safety partners, examples of effective community-
based approaches to teen driver education and crash 
prevention.  This information should also be posted on 
the Division of Highway Traffic Safety’s website in the 
driver education resource library for access by the public 
and driver education and traffic safety professionals.

The good news is that communities in New Jersey are 
actively involved in teen driver safety. In Randolph 
(Morris County), for example, the town’s Traffic Advisory 

Council (TAC), which has the support of the mayor, 
town council and police department, has developed a 
commu-nity-wide approach to teen driver safety that 
includes a requirement that all high school students and 
their parents attend the National Safety Council’s Alive 
at 25 program in order for students to obtain parking 
privileges on campus. The municipal judge participates 
in this program pointing out that he has a “no tolerance” 
policy for teens that violate the GDL or other motor 
vehicle statutes.  The TAC has also been working to 
secure funding to make simulator training available to 
teens and municipal em-ployees through a partnership 
with the Morris County Fire & Police Training Academy.

The Freehold Regional High School District, the state’s 
largest with six high schools, also requires its students 
and their parents to attend the Alive at 25 program and 
has tied it to parking privileges.  The District has taken 
it one step further by tying that privilege to a violation-
free driving record.  If a police officer in any of the 
communities served by the District cites a student for 
violating the GDL or another motor vehicle statute, the 
school is notified and the student’s parking privileges are 
rescinded for a set period of time. 
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4.8	 Revise the State Memorandum of Agreement to include police departments notifying schools when teens 
commit a GDL or moving violation.

Champion: Department of Education



4.10	 Establish a protocol for and fund teen driving checkpoints near high schools and other locations 
frequented by teens.

Champion: Division of Highway Traffic Safety, New Jersey Traffic Officers Association and New Jersey State Police

Clermont County, Ohio, instituted a court-based program 
called “Last Chance” aimed at 16- to 24-year-olds who 
have received multiple driving violations. To date, 1,800 
teens have participated, with an 80 percent success 
rate. The program is the combined effort of a number 
of agencies including the county sheriff, juvenile court, 
safe communities, the Office of Highway Safety, child 
focus, and MADD.  

The Division should also look beyond New Jersey for 
best practices. For example, in Virginia, after a teen has 
completed all the requirements and conditions of the 
state’s GDL, both the parent and teen must appear in court 
before a judge to receive the teen’s driver’s license.  This 
formally emphasizes the responsibility of the parent for 
the teen’s driving behavior.  

Enforcement accompanied by extensive publicity has 
been successfully employed to increase seat belt use72 
and reduce alcohol-impaired driving.73 The New Jersey 
Division of Highway Traffic Safety provides federal 
grants to municipal and State Police agencies to conduct 
Click It or Ticket (seat belt) and Over the Limit, Under 
Arrest (DWI) mobilizations across the state.  Employing 
these same tactics to encourage young drivers to adhere to 
the GDL law should be implemented in New Jersey. 

Checkpoints held near high schools and other locations 
frequented by teens can enforce seat belt, passenger 
and cell phone restrictions. Of equal importance, they 
provide concrete, highly visible evidence of enforcement.  
Checkpoints could be held during lunchtime or after 
school as students are dismissed. Many schools have a 
school resource officer who is assigned to the school and 
who can assist in conducting checkpoints. 

To enforce nighttime driving restrictions, checkpoints and 
saturation patrols can be employed in the evenings in areas 
with high concentrations of teen drivers (i.e., after school 
sporting and musical events, adjacent to movie theaters 
and shopping malls). Enforcement of GDL restrictions 
should be a part of routine traffic enforcement.  Publicity 

for enforcement activities should focus on media outlets 
that are most likely to reach young drivers such as radio, 
the Internet, and school publications/newspapers.

The Division of Highway Traffic Safety is piloting a GDL 
enforcement mobilization with the Bergen County Traffic 
Officers Association in April 2008.  Police departments in 
the county will receive grants from the Division to fund 
saturation patrols for a two-week period.  The Division will 
develop public education materials designed to engage 
teens in talking about teen driver safety that will be 
distributed through police departments and high schools.  
Municipal prosecutors and judges will be alerted about 
the pilot program to enlist their support and the media 
will be urged to notify the public through a countywide 
press release. 

Meanwhile, in South Jersey, the New Jersey State Police, 
through a Division of Highway Traffic Safety grant, is 
working with Seneca High School (Burlington County) to 
launch a teen driver enforcement initiative that includes 
monitoring parking lots and issuing citations for GDL 
violations, coupled with delivery of the Alive at 25 pro-
gram for students and their parents.
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5.2	 Work with the Industry and the Department of Banking and Insurance to provide incentives to 
encourage safe teen driving and disincentives to discourage poor teen driving.

Champion: Insurance Council of New Jersey and Its Member Companies

60 volunteer policyholders with teen drivers in their 
household.  Each vehicle was equipped with two cameras 
– one positioned to show the interior, the other positioned 
to show the roadway on which the vehicle was traveling.  
The cameras activated when the driver initiated an unsafe 
action such as sudden acceleration, hard braking, and 
sharp turns or impacted with another object.  The footage, 
which was downloaded weekly, serves as the basis for a 
documentary that is being used to educate parents and 
teens about teen driver safety.  

These technologies clearly provide an opportunity to 
monitor, provide feedback and ultimately improve teen 
driving habits. Therefore, The Insurance Council of New 
Jersey (ICNJ) and its member companies are encouraged 
to develop avenues to inform the public about the availabil-
ity and value of these technologies, ideally in partnership 
with traffic safety officials, education professionals, the De-
partment of Banking and Insurance, and the media. 

Insurance companies are doing their part to help 
reduce the number of crashes involving teen drivers by 
subsidizing the cost of electronic devices that parents can 
install in their vehicles to monitor the way teens drive or 
by offering discounts to policy holders with teens who use 
these devices.  

The American Family Insurance Group has supplied 2,000 
families in the U.S, with video cameras that alert parents 
when a teen driver makes a driving error.  The program 
includes discounts for families that use the camera, which 
is operated by an independent company that provides 
weekly reports for parents.  AIG and Safeco Insurance use 
global positioning systems (GPS) to monitor teen drivers 
so that parents can be alerted by email, text message or 
phone if their teens exceed present boundaries for distance 
and limits for speed.74    

In Connecticut, Travelers Insurance Company partnered 
with DriveCam to install cameras in the vehicles of 

Automobile insurance rates for teen drivers are always 
higher than for other drivers because as a group, teens 
pose a higher risk of crashing than more experienced 
drivers.75  Among licensed drivers, young people between 
15 and 20 years of age, have the highest rate of fatal 
crashes relative to other age groups, including the elderly. 
The risk of being involved in a fatal crash for teens is 
three times greater than for drivers ages 65 to 69.76

Adding a teenager to an insurance policy can mean a 50 to 
100 percent increase in the parents’ insurance premium.77  
Some insurance companies offer discounts for students 
with good grades.  This “good student discount” is usually 

available to students who maintain a grade point average 
of “B” or higher. 

The Commission recommends that the automobile insur-
ance companies in New Jersey work with the Department 
of Banking and Insurance (DOBI) and the Legislature (as 
necessary) to develop and implement creative ways to 
incent safe teen driving and disincent unsafe teen driving.   
These discounts would be offered to families whose teens 
remain crash and violation-free during a specified period 
of time. Recently, Allstate Insurance began advertising 
that it will “pay” its policyholders for remaining crash 
free for a set time period.  
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5. Insurance

5.1	 Encourage families to use state-of-the art technology to monitor teen driving and reduce driver 
distractions, and assess, on an ongoing basis, the impact these technologies have on reducing       
teen driver crashes.

Champion: Insurance Council of New Jersey and its Member Companies



5.3	 Encourage all  companies as well as insurance companies impacted by and/or concerned about 
teen driver safety to investigate ways to support school and community-based driver awareness and 
training initiatives.

monitor their teens’ driving. And for those teens who must 
foot a portion or all of the costs associated with driving 
(including insurance), these initiatives could prompt them 
to take greater care when behind-the-wheel.   

If incentives/disincentives are permitted, allowing a 
greater ability to differentiate and allocate the true costs 
associated with safe versus unsafe teen driving, it may 
provide strong motivation for parents (who normally pay 
to ensure the vehicles driven by their teens) to more closely 

Many insurance companies are funding teen driver safe-
ty research that is helping to shape public policy. For 
example, a 2007 report published by The Children’s 
Hospital of Philadelphia (CHOP) and State Farm Insurance, 
found that 64 percent of teens said they would stop 
using cell phones while driving if their license could be 
taken away if they were caught.  Receiving an insurance 
discount would deter 58 percent and 51 percent would be 
deterred if there was a law against it.  

While New Jersey currently has a ban on the use of any 
electronic device (hand-held or hands-free) by a teen 
holding a GDL, the CHOP/State Farm report reaffirms the 
importance of this public policy as an effective deterrent. 
To date, 15 states have enacted laws prohibiting young 

drivers from using cell phones when driving.  Insurance 
companies are encouraged to continue to participate in this 
type of research and share it with their insured families, 
government agencies, driver education professionals, law 
enforcement officials and the media.  

In addition, insurance companies and the ICNJ are en-
couraged to assist in efforts to raise the awareness levels 
of parents and teens regarding driver safety issues. (i.e., 
providing speakers for teen driver orientation and classroom 
driver education programs).  For example, Allstate has 
provided a $22,000 grant to the Randolph (Morris County) 
Traffic Advisory Council to help establish a simulator-
training program for teens and town employees.  
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6.2	 Establish and regularly communicate teen driving policies to students and their parents/guardians.

Champion: Local High School Districts 

entities.  While grants may be available from state agencies 
such as the Division of Highway Traffic Safety (federal 
dollars are used to fund grants to municipal entities), 
foundations (private and corporate, particularly insurance 
company foundations), businesses (i.e., car dealerships, 
insurance agencies and other businesses that have a vested 
interest in the community, teens and/or traffic safety), and 
local service and civic clubs may wish to contribute to 
teen driver safety initiatives.  

Whether a school is trying to sponsor a teen driver safety 
day, purchase software that helps teens identify and react 
appropriately to roadway hazards, or train teachers to 
deliver a teen/parent educational program, funding or at 
the very least, in-kind services, may be available, from a 
variety of sources that schools should pursue. 

Schools play a key role in helping to train teen drivers.  
While most public high schools no longer provide in-car 
training, the majority continue to provide a minimum of 
30 hours of classroom training. This lays the foundation 
for the behind-the-wheel training a teen receives, whether 
supervised by a driver training professional, a parent/
guardian, and/or another experienced adult, during the 
permit phase. Those schools that have discontinued 
behind-the-wheel and in-car training are encouraged to 
develop opportunities for students to receive, at a discount, 
behind-the-wheel training through partnerships with local 
driving schools or driving school associations.

As schools struggle to deliver quality education while 
controlling costs, they should be encouraged to think 
outside the box and pursue funding for driver education 
and other important initiatives from public and private 

School buses are the safest form of transportation for 
teens traveling to and from school and school-related 
activities.  On a per-trip basis, students are 44 times more 
likely to be killed in a vehicle driven by a teen, than while 
riding on a school bus.78

Despite this fact, today’s teens are driving themselves, 
their classmates and siblings to school in record numbers, 
and this has resulted in a marked increased in crashes 
involving young drivers. In New Jersey, more teen crashes 
occur between 3 and 6 p.m. – when teens are driving home 
from school and school-related activities – than any other 
time of the day.79

For this reason, it is essential that schools establish and 
regularly communicate teen driving policies to students 
and their parent/guardians. Including these policies in 
parent handbooks that are distributed at the start of the 
school year and require sign-off by a parent/guardian is 
a required procedure. However, schools are urged to use 

back-to-school nights, parent/teacher conferences, parent/
teen safe driving programs, and other events to regularly 
reinforce teen driving policies, with a strong emphasis on 
safe driving practices in and around school grounds.

Some school systems have tied student parking privileges 
to participation in a parent/teen safe driving program.  
Failure to abide by the rules, including any violation 
of the GDL restrictions or a motor vehicle statute, can, 
at some schools, result in the loss of parking privileges 
for a set period of time. The Commission encourages 
schools to consider adopting such policies since loss of 
parking privilege has been identified as a strong deterrent 
for teens who are tempted to violate the GDL and other 
motor vehicle laws. (Several earlier recommendations ad-
dress schools and police officers working together on 
notification of teen GDL and motor vehicle violations.)

In addition, schools with open-lunch policies, where 
some or all students are allowed to leave campus during 
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6. Schools

6.1	 Partner with public and private entities to help fund driver education initiatives.

Champion: New Jersey State Parent Teacher Organizations and Individual School Districts



6.3	 Encourage inclusion of teen crash prevention in the “service-learning” component of a community 
service requirement for graduation.  

Champion: Local High School Districts and the New Jersey Department of Education

A recent study compared crashes involving teen drivers 
in three counties in North Carolina:  two with open-lunch 
policies and one without.  The rate of crashes was three 
times higher between the hours of 12 p.m. and 2 p.m. in 
the two counties with open-lunch policies.81 Also of note, 
teens were carrying more passengers with them at the 
time of the crash in counties with open-lunch policies.  

the lunch period (this policy may be in place to relieve 
overcrowding in the cafeteria), should be aware that the 
second most crash-prone time on the road for New Jersey 
teens is between noon and 3 p.m.80 

It is not surprising that open-lunch policies are associated 
with more frequent vehicle crashes among young drivers.  

Many high schools require students to participate in 
school or community-based volunteer activities as a 
requirement for graduation. These “service-learning” 
activities run the gamut from volunteering at a hospital, 
soup kitchen, shelter or day care center to collecting food, 
clothing, books or school supplies as well as participation 
in countless other worthwhile projects that benefit the 
public good.  

The Commission encourages schools to include teen 
crash prevention in the service-learning component of a 
community service requirement for graduation.  Engaging 
teens in activities that address motor vehicle crashes, the 
number one killer of teens (as well as all individuals 
33 years of age and younger)82, could foster stronger 
understanding and acceptance of the GDL law and the 
importance of safe driving behaviors. 

For example, volunteering with a local first aid squad or 
in a hospital emergency room can expose a teen to the 
carnage associated with traffic crashes. While this may be 
too grim for some students, developing school specific, 
peer-to-peer driver education programs may be another 
way to engage students in working to improve teen driver 
safety, while garnering community-service hours.

The friends of Andrew Lundy, one of four individuals 
killed in a 2007 crash caused by teens racing each other on 
a county road, established Project Lundy with the support 
of the Freehold Regional High School District.  The peer 
driver education program, delivered by teens to teens, 
aims to reduce deaths caused by teen drivers by helping 
teens understand the consequences of their actions when 
they are behind-the-wheel.  

At Bergen County Technical High School in Paramus, 
22 graphic design students in teacher Karen Waller’s 
class broke the Guinness World Record for the longest 
graffiti scroll by spray-painting messages about safe 
teen driving.  The 2,000 feet of paper includes sayings, 
statistics and quotes about teen driver safety that a grab 
teen’s attention.  

These and other examples of peer-to-peer service learn-
ing opportunities should be included in the statewide 
driver education curriculum currently being developed 
by the Motor Vehicle Commission (detailed in recom-
mendation 2.2).
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6.5	 Include local law enforcement and transportation officials in the review of transportation plans for 
new school construction and/or existing school expansion or redesign.

Champion: Local High School Districts and the New Jersey Department of Transportation 

Studies in Forsyth County, North Carolina and Fayette 
County, Kentucky have found that another benefit of later 
school start times is a reduction in teen driver crashes.  
In both cases, when countywide school systems revised 
school start times, motor vehicle crashes involving high 
school age drivers decreased. In North Carolina, when 
this moderate-sized county changed the school start time 
from 7:30 a.m. to 8:45 a.m., the per capita crash rate of 16- 
and 17-year-olds declined 18 percent. This compares with 
a 7.6 percent decline in three other comparable counties 
over the same time period, reflecting the effect of a change 
in young driver licensing that took effect at the same time.  
A similar effect was seen in the Kentucky County.88 Early 
high school start times have also been discontinued in 
Edina and Minneapolis, Minnesota; Ithaca, New York; 
and South Burlington, Vermont

The Commission recognizes that school start times 
are carefully scheduled to make use of school buses so 
this and other factors must be taken into account when 
considering implementation of this recommendation. 
However, the safety and educational gains associated with 
allowing teens to sleep later cannot be ignored.

Driving drowsy can result in decreased alertness, slowed 
reaction time, failure to notice emergency situations and, 
in the extreme, falling asleep. Recent studies suggest that 
even moderate sleep deprivation can be comparable to 
having a blood alcohol content (BAC) level of .08 percent83 
– the limit at which someone is deemed legally drunk. 
From 2000 to 2003, approximately 4 percent of crashes in 
the U.S. involved a driver who was either sleepy or had 
fallen asleep.84  Drivers younger than 25 are responsible 
for the majority of drowsy driving crashes.85

Fatigue can play a role in early morning crashes.  Recent 
research on human sleep needs indicates that because of 
a biologically based sleep phase shift, teens begin to fall 
asleep later. Consequently, in order to obtain sufficient 
rest, they need to be asleep during the early morning (i.e., 
6 a.m.).86 In response to this information, school systems 
throughout the U.S. are beginning to reverse the trend 
of earlier high school start times. The results of moving 
start times back from 7:30 a.m. or earlier to 8:30 a.m. or 
later have produced dramatic improvements in academic 
performance and behavior.87

Each year, approximately 450 teens are killed and 78,000 
injured in crashes during normal school travel hours.89 
Teen drivers represent only about 15 percent of the trips 
and miles traveled to and from school, yet they account for 
more than 50 percent of the injuries and fatalities related 
to school travel.90 Since some of these crashes occur on or 
near school property, managing driving risk in and around 
schools can play a role in reducing young driver crashes.

Ensuring that local law enforcement and county and/or state 
transportation officials are involved in the transportation 
plans for all new school construction and/or existing school 
expansion or redesign is important. While this recom-
mendation is most easily employed with new schools, 
reviewing transportation plans for existing schools when 
they are expanded or modified should be considered as well.  

For example, if an existing school has a dangerous traffic 
pattern it could most easily be improved in conjunction 
with new construction.

It is also important to note that each school has different 
characteristics that affect teen driver risk, so a one-size-
fits-all safety solution will not do. In urban areas, for 
example, traffic around a school may be high, and there 
may be fewer options for designing egress and ingress 
points. In suburban and rural areas, there may be more 
flexibility in designing traffic patterns, however, students 
may be dispersed onto two-lane roads with high speed 
limits that pose substantial risk for novice drivers.  
Keeping teen drivers away from school bus and parent-
driven vehicle drop off areas, where pedestrian traffic will 
be high, should also be taken into consideration.  
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6.4	 Consider altering early high school start times to allow for the sleep patterns of teens.

Champion: Local High School Districts 



7.2	 Urge cellular providers to embrace and market existing technology that prevents a teen from using a 
cell phone while driving.

Champion: Cellular Telephone Industry 

law, including event-based monitoring, compliance for 
orientation and certifications, and  other new requirements, 
it should also conduct, as soon as possible, an analysis 
of the programming impact of all of the Commission’s 
recommendations to determine the feasibility of imple-
menting them on the current computer system. Where 
practical, programming should be undertaken to bring the 
current system into compliance with the GDL law. At the 
very minimum, MVC is urged to find an alternative solution 
now for addressing the need to monitor and properly 
sanction GDL holders – the cornerstone of the law. 

New Jersey’s GDL law has been in effect since 2001, 
but the computer programming changes needed to fully 
implement monitoring and sanctions were never under-
taken due to competing priorities and resource issues at 
MVC. Having the technology in place to monitor GDL 
and motor vehicle violations (as noted in recommendation 
1.1) and administer sanctions is absolutely essential if the 
law is to perform as intended.  

MVC is expected to bring its new computer system 
(MATRX) online in three to four years. While the agency 
should ensure that the new system fully supports the GDL 

New Jersey’s GDL law bans teens from using hand-held 
or hands-free electronic devices while operating a vehicle.  
Despite the restriction, teens admitted to the Commission at 
public hearings that they talk and text on cell phones and 
other devices while driving. While talking on a cell phone, 
whether hand-held or hands-free, is physically and cogni-
tively distracting for a driver, it is particularly dangerous for 
teens.  Young drivers, by necessity, must devote all of their 
attention to the task of driving because of a lack of experi-
ence. The distraction of adding a cell phone conversation to 
the mix greatly increases a teen’s crash risk.  

Research supports this assertion.  A recent study conducted 
in Australia, where cell phone records are available to 
researchers, found that cell phone use is associated with 
a fourfold increase in the likelihood of a serious crash 
resulting in hospitalization of the driver.91 The increased 
risk of a crash was similar for men and women, and applied 
to both hand-held and hands-free phones.  An earlier, study 
conducted in Canada, also found that the risk of collision 
was four times higher when a cell phone was being used.92 
Again, hands-free phones offered no safety advantage 
over hand-held phones. Results of the recently completed 
“100-Car Naturalistic Driving Study,” which closely 

monitored driver behaviors during a year of driving in the 
Washington, DC metropolitan area, indicate that using a 
mobile phone accounted for more than 7 percent of all 
crash and near-crash incidents.93

Technology exists today that can prevent a teen from using 
a cell phone while driving. The technology uses the GPS 
tracking devices embedded in most cell phones to monitor 
how fast the phone is moving when it is being used and 
whether it is on the road or not. Parents could sign up for 
the service through their cell phone carrier and choose what 
limits to place on phone use. These technologies range 
from disabling the phone altogether while it is in motion, 
to routing calls to voice mail, to playing a message that the 
person appears to be driving and it would be dangerous to 
answer the phone. (An override is available in the event of 
an emergency.)

The Commission urges cellular providers to embrace and 
market this technology to parents to not only help them 
ensure that their teens are adhering to the GDL restriction 
that is designed to protect them, but to also help minimize 
dangerous distractions as much as possible.
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7. Technology

7.1	 Implement the programming changes necessary to ensure that MVC’s current and pending computer 
system can accommodate all components of the GDL law.

Champion: Motor Vehicle Commission



devices.  Many of these devices, however, are expensive, 
costing hundreds even thousands of dollar.  Plus, not all 
insurance companies are offering such assistance to its 
insured families. The Commission urges companies to 
develop and market affordable technology that allows 
parents to monitor their teens’ driving behavior. 

Insurance companies are doing their part (as noted 
in recommendation 5.1) to help reduce the number of 
crashes involving teen drivers by subsidizing the cost 
of electronic devices that parents can install in their 
vehicles to monitor the way teens drive or by offering 
discounts to policy holders with teens who use these 
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7.3	 Encourage the development and availability of low cost technology that allows parents to monitor 
their teens’ driving behavior.
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