The Facts About New Jersey Teen Driving



The Facts About the Numbers

- Motor vehicle crashes are the leading cause of death for young people in New Jersey and across the nation between the ages of 16 and 20.
- In 2009 in New Jersey, 34 teen drivers and 8 teen passengers lost their lives in crashes involving teen drivers. In 2010, 19 teen drivers and 14 teen passengers tragically lost their lives in these crashes. (preliminary numbers)
- Every ten minutes a teen crashes in New Jersey. In 2009, there were 47,960 crashes involving teen drivers between 16 and 20 years of age.
- Teen crashes are most often the result of distraction, inexperience, speeding, and/or failure to yield.

- Teens represent the largest contingent of New Jersey drivers involved in crashes. They account for only six percent of the licensed drivers in the state and are involved in 13 percent of the crashes.
- Seat belt use among teens is the lowest for any age group.
- More male drivers than female drivers are involved in teen crashes.
- A greater amount of teen crashes occur in May than any other month and on a Friday than any other day of the week
- The most dangerous time on the road for teen drivers is between 3 and 6 p.m., followed by noon and 3 p.m.

The Facts About the Law

Teens (16-20 years of age) holding a probationary license under New Jersey's Graduated Driver License (GDL) law:

- may not drive between 11:01 p.m. and 5 a.m.
- may only transport one passenger, unless the driver is accompanied by a parent or guardian or the passengers are the driver's dependents (children).
- can not use a cell phone (hand-held or hands-free), hand-held video games or any other hand-held wireless electronic devices (i.e., ipod, GPS).
- must ensure that they and all of their passengers wear seat belts.
- must display the GDL decals on any vehicle they drive.
- face a fine of \$100 for a violation under the GDL law.
- may not plea bargain any point carrying offense.



MOVING toward zero fatalities

WWW.NJSAFEROADS.COM

