Skip to main navigationSkip to News Headlines
Global Navigation
Office of The Attorney General
The State of New Jersey Office of The Attorney General (Dept. of Law & Public Safety) The State of New Jersey Services A to Z Services A to Z Departments/Agencies OAG Frequently Asked Questions
OAG Home
OAG Home OAG Contact
Division of Alcoholic Beverage Control
Division of Consumer Affairs
Division of Criminal Justice
Division on Civil Rights
Division of Gaming Enforcement
Division of Highway Traffic Safety
Occupant Protection
Vehicle and Motorcycle Safety
Impaired and Distracted Driving
Pedestrian and Bicycle Safety
Police and Enforcement Resources
Division of Law
Juvenile Justice Commission
NJ Racing Commission
State Athletic Control Board
Division of NJ State Police
Victims of Crime Compensation Board
OPRA - Open Public Records Act
Division of Highway Traffic Safety
Division of Highway Traffic Safety
Child Safety Seats Seat Belt Safety Pedestrian Safety Bicycle Safety Alcohol Awareness Police Crash Investigation TrainingAutomobile Safety
 
The Governor's Teen Driver Study Commission
 
 
Overview I Final Report I Report Updates

Report Updates
 
  arrow Teen Driver Study Commission: Recommendation Report Update - Since the Teen Driver Study Commission issued its report on the state of teen driving in New Jersey, a variety of innovative programs and initiatives have been developed to help reduce teen crashes and ultimately save lives. Presented to the Governor and Legislature in March, 2008, the report outlined 47 recommendations for improving all aspects of teen driving in New Jersey. Included in these recommendations were 14 essential areas that were considered critical and should be addressed immediately to ensure the safety of young drivers. Updates on these essential recommendations, as well as other areas addressed in the report, are provided in this three-page document.
     
  arrow Attorney General Directive Banning GDL Plea Agreements - New Jersey Attorney General Anne Milgram issued a directive effective September 17, 2008, banning municipal prosecutors from offering plea agreements to GDL holders seeking to eliminate motor vehicle penalty points from their driving record. GDL holders who accumulate three or more points must attend a 4-hour MVC Probationary Driver Program and, following successful completion, are monitored for 12 months. Any accumulation of points during that 12 month period will result in a 90 day license suspension.
   
  arrow Kyleigh’s Law (S-2314/A-3069) - Signed by Governor Jon S. Corzine on April 15, 2009, New Jersey is first state in the nation to have a teen driver decal law. Named in honor of 16-year old Kyleigh D'Alessio, the law, which becomes effective May 1, 2010, requires the use of an identifier on vehicles driven by drivers holding a permit or provisional license under New Jersey’s GDL system. The decal is currently being developed by the NJ Motor Vehicle Commission.
     
  arrow Nighttime Driving and Passenger Restrictions (S-16/A-3070) - New Jerseys' Graduated Driver License (GDL) law currently restricts teens (17-20 years of age) on a provisional license from driving between midnight and 5 a.m. Signed by Governor Jon S. Corzine on April 15, 2009, the new law, effective May 1, 2010, renames the provisional license "probationary,” prohibits driving between 11:01 p.m. and 5 a.m., and establishes a one-passenger limit, regardless of family affiliation, unless a parent or guardian is in the vehicle.
     
  arrow Permit Bill (S2848/A3068) - Approved by the General Assembly on March 5, 2009, the bill would require a teen to attend an orientation with a parent or guardian as a prerequisite for obtaining a permit, extend the permit from a minimum of six months to 12 months, require permit holders to log a minimum number of supervised practice hours, and ensure that a 6 hour behind-the-wheel driver training program involves one-on-one, private instruction. The bill was introduced in the Senate on May 21, 2009 and is awaiting action by the Transportation Committee.
     
  arrow Back Seat Loophole Seat Belt Bill (S18/A870) - Would require seat belt use by all passengers in a motor vehicle 18 years of age and older regardless of seating position. The bill was approved by the General Assembly on February 7, 2008 and was introduced in the Senate on May 22, 2008, but has not yet been heard in Committee.
     
  arrow GDL Holder and Teen Passengers Cited for GDL Violations (A3635) - Introduced in the Assembly on January 13, 2009 and assigned to the Transportation Committee, the bill would cite not only the permit or provisional license holder for committing a passenger, nighttime driving or seat belt violation under the GDL law, but all teens holding a permit or provisional license as well.
   

  arrow Teen Driver Study Commission Report:
Implementation Update
PPT l PDF
A Power Point presentation detailing the progress in implementing the recommendations of the Teen Driver Study Commission, presented by Division of Highway Traffic Safety Director Pam Fischer at the 3rd annual Statewide Driver Education Forum, May 21, 2009.
 
  arrow Graduated Driver License (GDL) Requirements - Included in this three-page document is information on the current Graduated Driver License requirements for 16-20 year olds (page 1), as well as the pending changes to the law that will become effective on May 1, 2010. Also included is an overview of proposed changes to the law that would become effective with passage of A3068/S2848 (the “permit” bill), which was approved by the Assembly earlier this year and is now waiting action by the Senate Transportation Committee.
 
     
OAG Home Division of Highway Traffic Safety Director
Division of Highway Traffic Safety Director's Biography and Message
HTS Home HTS en Español
Contact HTS HTS News/Events
HTS FAQs HTS Library
About HTS Police Resources
Seat / Belt Laws Proposed Rules
HTS Grants HTS Services A-Z
Highlights
Fatalities on NJ Roads - Put the Brakes on Fatalities
Driving Under the Influence in New Jersey
Click It or Ticket - Seat Belts Save Lives!
Bicycle and Pedestrian Safety
Motor Vehicle Commission's Motorcycle Safety
Video Lending Library
Protect Your Children by Checking Their Car Seats
Division of Highway Traffic Safety's Safety Cruiser
12 Months of Safety
Dial #77 on your cell phone to report agressive drivers
NJ Amber Alert Plan
NJ Sex Offender Registry
   
Contact Us | Privacy Notice | Legal Statement | Accessibility Statement
NJ Home Logo
Divisional: HTS Home | about HTS | contact HTS | faqs | news | HTS library | HTS grants

Departmental: OAG Home | Contact OAG | About OAG | OAG News | OAG FAQs

Statewide: NJ Home | Services A to Z | Departments/Agencies | FAQs
Copyright © State of New Jersey
This page is maintained by OAG Communications. Comments/Questions: email or call 609-292-4925