Skip to main navigationSkip to News Headlines
Global Navigation
Office of The Attorney General
The State of New Jersey Office of The Attorney General (Dept. of Law & Public Safety) The State of New Jersey NJ Home Services A to Z Departments/Agencies OAG Frequently Asked Questions
OAG Home
OAG Contact
Division of Alcoholic Beverage Control
Division of Consumer Affairs
Division of Criminal Justice
Division on Civil Rights
Division of Gaming Enforcement
Division of Highway Traffic Safety
Division of Law
Juvenile Justice Commission
NJ Racing Commission
State Athletic Control Board
Division of NJ State Police
Victims of Crime Compensation Office
OPRA - Open Public Records Act
Non Profit Information
 
spacer
View Biography & Photo of the NJ Insurance Fraud Prosecutor
Medicaid Fraud Control Unit Medicaid Fraud Control Unit Medicaid Fraud Control Unit
View Biography & Photo of the NJ Insurance Fraud Prosecutor
Medicaid Fraud Control Unit Home Page Medicaid Fraud News Medicaid Fraud Library Contact the Medicaid Fraud Control Unit About the Medicaid Fraud Control Unit
Medicaid Fraud Control Unit What is Medicaid Fraud? Frequently Asked Questions Resources medicaid Fraud Reporting Form
Medicaid Fraud Tip Hotline...
Toll Free
1-609-292-1272

   

Medicaid Fraud

  • It's illegal to participate in a scheme to offer or receive kickbacks in connection with the furnishing of items or services which are billable to the Medicaid program.
  • It's illegal to over bill Medicaid for services provided.
  • It's illegal to receive more Medicaid benefits than you're entitled to.
  • These are violations of N.J.S.A. 30:4D-17.
  • Punishable by up to 3 years in prison and a $10,000 penalty.
  • They may also be violations of the Health Care Claims Fraud Act and other criminal statutes.

Health Care Claims Fraud

  • It's illegal to submit a false claim form to an insurance company in order to be paid for health care services which were not received or provided.
  • This is a violation of the New Jersey Health Care Claims Fraud Act, N.J.S.A. 2C:21-4.2 and 2C:21-4.3.
  • In addition, this person can be required to pay a fine of up to $150,000 or up to five times the amount of the claim.
  • A person who is not a doctor, chiropractor, etc., could be sentenced to 3 to 5 years in jail for filing just one false claim.
 
     
 
OAG Home Attorney General's Biography
Attorney General's Biography
Executive Assistant Attorney General
Attorney General's Message Ask the Attorney General
Contact OAG About OAG
OAG News OAG Frequently Asked Questions
OAG Library Employment
OAG Grants Proposed Rules
OAG History OAG Services A-Z
OAG Agencies / Programs / Units
Highlights
View the 2012 OAG Annual Report
Report Medicaid Fraud Here or Call 609-896-8772
Report Fraud!
Know When Your Civil Rights Have Been Violated
Report Crime Online or Call 866-TIPS-4CJ
NJ Amber Alert Plan
   
Contact Us | Privacy Notice | Legal Statement | Accessibility Statement spacer
NJ Home Logo
spacer
Departmental: OAG Home | Contact OAG | About OAG | OAG News | OAG FAQs
Statewide: NJ Home | Services A to Z | Departments/Agencies | FAQs
Copyright © State of New Jersey
This page is maintained by OAG Communications. Comments/Questions: email or call 609-292-4925
OAG Home OAG Home