– The owner of five gas stations with
a history of Motor Fuels law violations
has been assessed $5,000 in civil penalties
for operating without Motor Fuels Retail
Dealer Licenses and upon payment will be
issued conditional license renewals that
can be revoked, and his stations closed,
if further violations occur.
actions against Irfan Hassan are a coordinated
enforcement effort involving the State Division
of Consumer Affairs’ Office of Weights
and Measures (OWM) and the Division of Taxation
within the New Jersey Department of Treasury.
OWM officers check gas stations for compliance
with state laws and regulations while the
Division of Taxation issues the Motor Fuels
Retailer Dealer License that each station
owner is required to obtain.
stations owned by Hassan have been cited
and prosecuted by OWM officers for violations
including co-mingling regular with premium
grade fuel, which results in lower octane
ratings; selling regular grade gasoline
from a premium grade fuel dispenser at the
premium grade price; and pump prices not
matching the prices displayed on signs.
who see fines as just a cost of doing business
had better reconsider. If violations continue,
the increased mandatory penalties for subsequent
violations may result in the closing of
the stations for a significant period,”
Attorney General Paula T. Dow said.
2009, Hassan was cited by OWM officers for
co-mingling regular grade gasoline with
premium grade at his Delta Gas Station (451
Irvington Avenue) in South Orange. He paid
a $6,000 civil penalty and was barred from
selling fuel for 10 days, under a ruling
by a municipal court judge. Last year, Hassan
again was found guilty of selling regular
grade gasoline as premium grade at this
same station. He paid a $9,800 penalty and
was barred from selling fuel for 15 days.
is enough. Mr. Hassan, by his history of
violations, has demonstrated his utter contempt
for consumers and our laws regulating how
to properly conduct business,” said
Thomas R. Calcagni, Director of the State
Division of Consumer Affairs. “We
are closely watching how consumers are treated
at his stations moving forward, and Mr.
Hassan risks his licenses to operate the
stations if he again violates our Motor
Division of Taxation assessed $1,000 penalties,
and upon payment, plans to issue a one-year
conditional license renewal to the following
companies owned by Hassan:
Builders, Inc. 1064 Avenue C
Builders, Inc. 248 Avenue C Bayonne
Gas, Inc. 221 Central Ave. East
Fuels, Inc. 339 Northfield Ave.
Fuel, Inc. 451 Irvington Ave.
the stations at these locations are Delta
is a good example,” said Acting Superintendent
of Weights and Measures, Robert Campanelli,
“of how two agencies of government
working together can produce positive results
for the protection of the public.”
can report suspected violations to the State
Office of Weights and Measures by filling
out a complaint form located at www.nj.gov/oag/ca/complaint/ocp.pdf
or by calling the Office at 732-815-4840.
who believe they have been cheated or scammed
by a business, or suspect any other form
of consumer abuse, can file a complaint
with the State Division of Consumer Affairs
by visiting its website, www.NJConsumerAffairs.gov,
or by calling 1-800-242-5846
(toll free within New Jersey) or 973-504-6200.
the Division of Consumer Affairs on Facebook
and check our online calendar of upcoming
Consumer Outreach events, at www.NJConsumerAffairs.gov/outreach/.