– Routine inspections last week by the
Division of Alcoholic Beverage Control of
a nightclub and liquor store in Atlantic City
resulted in three individuals being charged
with underage drinking offenses.
ABC investigators made their inspections
in the evening on May 3 at the 40/40 Club
and Crown Liquors, two businesses licensed
by the Division. They first observed a crowd
of youthful patrons lined-up outside the
40/40 Club. Shortly thereafter, they entered
the club and identified Alison Silverman,
of Mountain Lakes, consuming a drink. Their
investigation revealed that she had only
recently turned 20. She was carded at the
door and displayed a poor quality, fake
Florida driver's license. She was issued
a summons for consuming alcohol underage.
Earlier that night, detectives were at Crown
Liquors when they observed a youthful male
purchasing beer. The investigation revealed
Johnny Ramirez to be 20 years old and he
was not carded by the clerk, Hemant Patel.
Ramirez, of Atlantic City, was charged with
purchasing alcohol underage. Patel, of Ventnor,
was issued a summons for selling alcohol
to an underage person.
The charge of selling alcohol to underage
patrons is a disorderly persons offense
which carries penalties including a fine
of at least $500. Underage drinking is also
a disorderly persons offense, carrying a
potential fine of at least $500 and a six-month
driver’s license suspension.
The liquor licenses of establishments involved
in last week’s enforcement efforts
will be reviewed by ABC for possible administrative
charges. Those charges could result in the
suspension of the bar’s alcoholic
Division of Alcoholic Beverage Control
Director Michael Halfacre said the ABC conducts
undercover enforcement operations throughout
New Jersey and its detectives have full
police powers. The Division is the only
statewide agency that exclusively enforces
the Alcoholic Beverage Control laws.