Skip to main navigationSkip to News Headlines
Global Navigation
Office of The Attorney General
OAG Home
OAG Home Superintendent's Bio
Superintendent's Bio
NJSP Home

Sexual Violence Information

What is sexual violence?

Sexual Violence is any form of unwanted, unwelcome or coercive sexual behavior. Sexual violence exists on a continuum from sexual harassment to rape and can include anything from stalking /sexual stalking on the internet to inappropriate touching to penetration without the victim’s (a) consent or (b) with a victim who is unable to consent. A victim who is unable to consent is someone:

  • Under the age of 13
  • Under the age of 16 when the assailant is at least four years older
  • With diminished mental capacity – which can mean a victim who is drunk, drugged, high, unconscious, or has a developmental disability.

What is sexual assault?

Sexual Assault, often referred to as rape, is legally defined differently in each state. In New Jersey, the law defines sexual assault as "the penetration, no matter how slight, in which physical force or coercion is used or in which the victim is physically or mentally incapacitated". For the full definition of sexual assault please refer to NJSA 2C:14-1.

The law in New Jersey, which is gender neutral, does not specify male or female, but uses the words "actor" and "victim" to describe the persons involved.

Consent: According to New Jersey law, age, physical impairment and mental impairment all contribute to a person's ability to give consent. A person must be 16 years of age to legally consent to sexual activity. A person cannot give consent to sexual activity with someone who has "the duty to care" for them unless they are over the age of 18. Individuals that fall into "the duty to care" category would include parents or guardians, and those in any type of formal supervisory role. If individuals are between the ages of 13 and 15 they can legally consent to sexual activity with a partner who is not more than 4 years older then themselves.

An individual who is physically or mentally impaired, generally, cannot give consent to sexual activity. Physical or mental impairment includes: visual, speech or hearing impaired, a person with a cognitive impairment; a person who is unconscious or sleeping; or a person who is voluntarily or involuntarily under the influence of alcohol or other substance(s).

Criminal Sexual Contact is legally defined as "intentional, non-consensual touching by the victim or actor, either directly or through clothing, of a victim's or actor's sexual organs, genital area, anal area, inner thigh, groin, buttock or breast, for the purpose of degrading or humiliating the victim or sexually arousing or sexually gratifying the actor," (NJSA 2C:14-3).

Sexual Violence can happen to anyone regardless of employment or educational level, race or ethnic background, religion, marital status, physical ability, age or sexual orientation.

If you have been Sexually Victimized

  • Get to a safe place.
  • Donít bathe, shower, douche, change your clothes, eat, drink, smoke, urinate, brush your teeth, gargle or anything else that might destroy or wash away evidence, including evidence of a drug facilitated assault.
  • Contact your county Rape Care Program for emotional support, information and to learn about your options.
  • Seek medical attention for injuries, sexually transmitted infections, HIV and possible pregnancy. Hospitals and satellite emergency departments are required to provide care and information to sexual assault victims about emergency contraception and the contraceptives upon request.
  • Have your Sexual Assault Response Team (SART) activated if you wish to have forensic evidence collected by calling your local police department or dialing 911.

What is a Sexual Assault Response Team (SART)?

The Sexual Assault Response Team consists of a sexual assault nurse examiner (SANE), a rape care advocate and a law enforcement officer. The SART uses a team concept in providing the compassionate and all-inclusive medical care, emotional and informative support, along with the gathering of crucial evidence of the sexual assault incident. For the most part and significantly, the SART will help to support victims in order to formulate knowledgeable resolutions concerning their care and healing.

When is the Sexual Assault Response Team activated?

The SART can be activated 24 hours a day and 7 days a week providing:

  • The victim is 13 years of age or older.
  • The assault occurred within the last 5 days.
  • The victim chooses to utilize SART services.

Options available to you if you become the victim of sexual violence:

  • A Rape Care Advocate from the county Rape Care Center is available to you 24 hours-a-day to accompany you through all medical, legal and court procedures. A Rape Care Advocate is someone who has received specialized training in the dynamics of sexual violence and is knowledgeable about assisting victims through the aftermath of a sexual assault. Rape Care Advocates can provide emotional support and information to you and your significant others, as well as explain your options.
  • Individual and group counseling is available at each county Rape Care Center.
  • All services and fees are confidential, and are available regardless of when the assault occurred or whether a victim reports the crime.
  • If the assault happened within the past five days and you are over the age of 13, the county Sexual Assault Response Team (SART) can be activated.

Where are the services available?

View below.


Sexual Violence Contact Services

Sexual Violence Contact Information

The New Jersey State Police does not conduct counseling services; however, assistance is available from the following organizations and agencies:

ATLANTIC COUNTY

Atlantic County Women's Center
Violence Intervention Program
PO Box 311
Northfield, NJ 08225
Emergency Shelter 24 Hr. Hotline: (609) 646-6767
Toll free: 1-800-286-4184

TTY: (609) 645-2909
Fax: (609) 645-8877
Web: www.acwc.org

Back | Top  

BERGEN COUNTY

YWCA of Bergen County
75 Essex Street, Suite 108
Hackensack, NJ 07601
24 Hr. Hotline: (201) 487-2227
Office: (201) 488-7110
Fax: (201) 487-9609
TTY: (201) 487-0916
Email: bcrcc@aol.com
Web www.bergencountyrapecrisis.org

Back | Top  

BURLINGTON COUNTY

CONTACT of Burlington County
PO Box 333
Moorestown, NJ 08057
Dial "211" - In Burlington
24 Hr. Hotline: (856) 234-8888
Fax: (856) 778-3880
Email: contact333@contactburlco.org
Web: www.contactburlco.org

Back | Top  

CAMDEN COUNTY

Services Empowering Rights of Victims - Family Counseling Services
584 Benson Street
Camden, NJ 08103
24 Hr. Hotline: 1-866-295-SERV [7378]
Office: (856) 964-1990 x232
Fax: (856) 964-4150
Web: http://www.centerffs.org/Back | Top  


CAPE MAY COUNTY

CARA, Inc. (Coalition Against Rape & Abuse, Inc.)
PO Box 774
Cape May Court House, NJ 08210
Emergency Shelter 24 Hr. Hotline: (609) 522-6489
Toll free: 1-877-294-CARA [2272]

TTY: (609) 463-0818
Office: (609) 522-6489
Fax: (609) 463-0967
Email: carasafe@bellatlantic.net

Back | Top  

CUMBERLAND COUNTY

Cumberland County Guidance Center
Sexual Assault Program

2038 Carmel Road
Millville, NJ 08332
Hotline: (856) 293-9753
Office: (856) 825-6810 x209
Fax: (856) 327-4281
Computer: (856) 327-6784

Back | Top  

ESSEX COUNTY

Essex County Rape Care Program
Family Service League, Inc.

204 Claremont Avenue
Montclair, NJ 07042
24 Hr. Hotline: 1-877-733-CARE [2273]
Office: (973) 746-0800
Fax: (973) 746-2822
Email: uliebowitz@familyserviceleague.org
Web: www.familyserviceleague.org

Back | Top  

GLOUCESTER COUNTY

Services Empowering the Rights of Victims
584 Benson Street
Camden, NJ 08103
24 Hr. Hotline: 1-866-295-SERV [7378]
Fax: (856) 964-4150
Email: serv@centerffs.org

Back | Top  

HUDSON COUNTY

Hudson County Rape Crisis Center
Christ Hospital Counseling and Resource Center

179 Palisades Avenue
Jersey City , NJ 07306
24 Hr. Hotline: (201) 795-5757
Office: (201) 795-8741 or
(201) 795-5816
Fax: (201) 795-8761 or
(201) 418-7017
Education & Outreach: (201) 795-8375 ext. 5269

Back | Top  

HUNTERDON COUNTY

Women's Crisis Services
47 E. Main Street
Flemington, NJ 08822
24 Hr. Hotline: (908) 788-4044
Toll free: 1-888-988-4033

TTY: (908) 788-4044
Office: (908) 788-7666
Fax: (908) 806-4725
Email: wcrisis@aol.com
Web: www.womenscrisisservices.org

Back | Top  

MERCER COUNTY

Womanspace, Inc.
1212 Stuyvesant Avenue
Trenton, NJ 08618
24-Hr. Hotline: (609) 394-9000
TTY: (609) 394-9000
Office: (609) 394-0136
Fax: (609) 396-1093
Email: pmh@womanspace.org
Web: www.womanspace.org

Back | Top  

MIDDLESEX COUNTY

Rape Crisis Intervention Center
29 Oakwood Ave.
Edison, NJ 08837
24-Hour Hotline: 1-877-665-7273
Fax: (732) 549-4060

Back | Top  

MONMOUTH COUNTY

180 Turning Lives Around
One Bethany Road, Building 3, Suite 42
Hazlet, NJ 07730
Office: (732) 264-7273
Hotline: 1-888-264-RAPE [7273]
Fax: (732) 888-4776
TTY: (732) 264-3089
Email: info@180nj.org
Web: www.180nj.org

Back | Top  

MORRIS COUNTY

Morris County Sexual Assault Center
95 Mt. Kemble Avenue
ABH Box #52
Morristown, NJ 07962
24 Hr. Hotline: (973) 829-0587
Office: (973) 971-4715
Fax: (973) 290-7614

Back | Top  

OCEAN COUNTY

Rape Crisis Services
Long Beach Island Community Center

4700 Long Beach Boulevard
Long Beach Township, NJ 08008-3926
24 Hr. Hotline: (609) 494-1090 [Southern Ocean County]
24 Hr. Hotline: (732) 370-4010 [Northern Ocean County]

Office: (609) 494-1554
Fax: (609) 361-9653
TTY: (609) 494-0441
Web: www.stfranciscenterlbi.com

Back | Top  

PASSAIC COUNTY

Passaic County Women's Center
Rape Crisis Program

1027 Madison Avenue
Paterson, NJ 07513
24-Hr. Hotline: (973) 881-1450
Phone: (973) 881-0725
Fax: (973) 881-0938
TTY: (973) 278-8630

Back | Top  

SALEM COUNTY

Salem County Women's Services
Sexual Assault/Rape Crisis
PO Box 125
Salem, NJ 08079-0125
24-Hr. Hotline: (856) 935-6655
Toll free: 1-888-632-9511

TTY: (856) 935-7118
Fax: (856) 935-6165

Back | Top  

SOMERSET COUNTY

Somerset County Sexual Assault Support Services
Women's Health and Counseling Center

71 Fourth Street
Somerville, NJ 08876
Office: (908) 526-2335 x130
24-Hr. Hotline: (908) 526-7444
TTY: (908) 218-7775
Web: www.womenandhealth.org/

Back | Top  

SUSSEX COUNTY

Domestic Abuse and Sexual Assault Intervention
Sexual Trauma Resource Center

PO Box 805
Newton, NJ 07860
24 Hr. Hotline: (973) 875-1211
Phone: (973) 300-5609
TTY: (973) 875-6369
Fax: (973) 579-3277
Email: dasi@nac.net
Web: www.dasi.org

Back | Top  

UNION COUNTY

Union County Rape Crisis Center
300 North Avenue East
Westfield, NJ 07090-1499
Office & Hotline: (908) 233-RAPE [7273]
Fax: (908) 654-0260
Email: rcc@unioncountynj.org
Web: www.ucnj.org

Back | Top  

WARREN COUNTY

Domestic Abuse & Rape Crisis Center (DARCC)
PO Box 423
Belvidere, NJ 07823
24-Hr. Hotline: (908) 475-8408
Toll free: 1-866-6BE-SAFE [623-7233]

TTY: (908) 453-2553
Office: (908) 453-4121
Fax: (908) 453-3706
Email: darcc@goes.com
Web: www.darccwc.org

Back | Top  
   
Contact Us | Privacy Notice | Legal Statement | Accessibility Statement spacer
NJ Home Logo
Divisional: NJSP Home | Contact NJSP | About NJSP | NJSP News | NJSP FAQs | Recruiting
Departmental: OAG Home | Contact OAG | About OAG | OAG News | OAG FAQs
Statewide: NJ Home | Services A to Z | Departments/Agencies | FAQs
Copyright © State of New Jersey
The State of New Jersey Office of The Attorney General (Dept. of Law & Public Safety) The State of New Jersey NJ Home Services A to Z Departments/Agencies OAG Frequently Asked Questions