New Jersey State Police What's in it for You?



It's Not just a Career Choice, It's a Community Choice.



Extraordinary Career Benefits

As a state-of-the-art law enforcement agency that offers more than 120 career paths, the New Jersey State Police will demand the best of your intelligence, character, and stamina. The pride and satisfaction that come from a job well done and from helping your fellow citizens are often the first rewards that come to troopers' minds. But the New Jersey State Police complements these intangible rewards with a strong compensation package. The State Police offers a competitive starting salary, a sound health benefits package, a generous life insurance plan, and strong retirement options.*

Starting Salary

The current starting salary for a trooper is \$62,403.60 (including allowances). The second-year total compensation significantly increases to \$69,849.30. Troopers also receive yearly increments. Top pay for a Trooper I is \$108,847.13. All recruits receive \$777.78 every two weeks, plus overtime pay. Room and board are also provided while in training.

Work Schedule

Troopers typically work a 40-hour week on a variety of schedules. Overtime is voluntary, except in unusual circumstances, and is rewarded with premium pay or compensation time.

*Salary and benefits are contractual and subject to the state appropriations process.



Minimum Requirements to Apply

Education

A candidate must have: (1) a bachelor's degree; OR (2) possess a minimum of 90 credits and will complete their degree by a specified date prior to the written examination. The deadline for completing a bachelor's degree under option 2 and remaining eligible will be announced at the time of initial application. (3) OR a candidate must have an associate's degree or 60 college credits, PLUS at least 24 months of satisfactory employment or military experience; OR (4) 30 college credits, PLUS at least 24 months of active duty military service with an honorable discharge. All college degrees/credits must be obtained from an accredited college or university.

Age

All applicants must be at least 21 years old and must not reach their 35th birthday prior to the graduation date of their State Police class.

Citizenship & Residency

Only citizens of the United States are eligible for appointment to the New Jersey State Police Academy. You must be a resident of New Jersey at the time that you graduate from the State Police Academy.

Driver's License

Applicants must have a current valid automobile driver's license at the time the background investigations begins.

Background

Applicants must have demonstrated responsibility, reliability, sound moral character, and good reputation. The attributes of candor, honesty and trustworthiness are essential in the performance of a New Jersey State Trooper. Factors that automatically disqualify you for the position of New Jersey State Trooper are listed in the application. An applicant's background, including academic, employment, financial, motor vehicle and criminal conduct will be carefully investigated and subject to verification. After a thorough review, applicants who demonstrate derogatory conduct which conflicts with the expectations for the position will be disqualified.

Selection Process

The selection process is very competitive consisting of an initial application screening, physical qualification test, written examination, qualifications evaluation, and background investigation. Upon receipt of a conditional offer of employment, a medical examination and a psychological evaluation will be conducted. Applicants are also required to complete a two day instructional program. Appointment to the New Jersey State Police Academy is contingent upon a number of factors, including the availability of funded positions and approval by the Superintendent of State Police.

Physical Qualification Test (PQT)

The Physical Qualification Test (PQT) Battery will consist of the following timed tests: 75 Yard Pursuit Run, Push Ups, Sit Ups, and 1.5 Mile Run. Applicants unable to pass the PQT will be disqualified from the current selection process. Please visit the PQT link on the New Jersey State Police website at www.njsp.org for a detailed description of each test.

New Jersey State Police What it Takes continued



New Jersey State Police Physical Qualification Test (PQT) Scoring:

- 1. For each test, the point value corresponding to the applicant's test score will be used.
- 2. Add the four point values and compare the applicant's combined point total to the passing score.
- 3. If the applicant's combined point total is equal to 20 points or higher, the applicant has passed the test battery.
- 4. If the applicant's combined point total is equal to 19 points or less, the applicant has failed the test battery.

NOTE: Applicants must obtain at least one (1) point on each of the four tests.

If an Applicant obtains "0" points on any of the four tests, he or she fails the test battery regardless of their scores on the remaining tests.

· · ·				
Points	Push Ups	Sit Ups	1.5 Mile Run	75 Yard Run Best Trial
0	17 or less	20 or less	14:27 or more	19.6 or more
1	18-19	21-22	14:26-14:18	19.5
2	20-21	23-24	14:17-14:09	19.4-19.3
3	22-23	25-26	14:08-14:00	19.2-19.1
4	24-26	27-29	13:59- 13:51	19.0-18.9
5	27-32	30-34	13:50- 13:00	18.8-18.5
6	33-46	35-48	12:59- 11:32	18.4-17.4
7	47 or more	49 or more	11:31 or less	17.3 or less

Criteria for Becoming a New Jersey State Trooper

All qualified candidates will be considered for employment. The State of New Jersey and New Jersey State Police are Equal Opportunity Employers.

When applications are available, interested parties can apply by visiting www.njsp.org for filing instructions.

The New Jersey State Police application process is designed to identify highly qualified candidates. After each stage of the selection process, only those applicants meeting the high standards of the New Jersey State Police will continue in the application process. Before beginning the process of applying for a trooper position, be aware at minium:

• Applicants must not have been convicted of an indictable offense or have had an indictable conviction expungement, or conviction of any offense involving domestic violence.

• Applicants must be of high moral character and free of any recent major or habitual violations of the law, including drug usage or other activities or associations that would affect their credibility as a police officer. Applicants, within the past ten years, must not have possessed or used any illegal drug or drugs, including

New Jersey State Police What it Takes continued



Criteria cont. from page 3

anabolic steroids, other than those prescribed or provided by a physician or purchased over the counter, or have used marijuana or hashish within the past three years.

• Applicants must not have been adjudicated by a court or found by an employer to have violated any person's civil rights in this State or any other State.

• Applicants must not have been convicted of driving while intoxicated two times in his/ her lifetime or once within the past five years in this State or any other State.

• Applicants must not have a suspended driver's license at the time of application.

• Applicants must not have been dishonorably discharged from any branch of military service or law enforcement agency.

• Applicants must not have ever renounced their United States citizenship.

• Applicants must not have been terminated or asked to resign from a public office, position, or government employment for misconduct involving such public office, position, or employment. Beyond automatic disqualification criteria and after a thorough review, applicants demonstrating other derogatory conduct inconsistent with the state trooper position will be disqualified.

When you complete the initial application, you will be required to address these standards and other minimum qualifications for employment. You will be afforded the opportunity to provide answers to each question. If you are unsure of how these criteria for qualification apply to you, please contact a State Police Recruiter at 1-877-NJSP-877.

Career Benefits

(cont'd. from page 1)

Holidays, Vacation and Sick Leave

There are 12 paid holidays a year.

▼ Troopers are allotted one vacation day per month in the first year of service, as well as three personal days per year. The initial vacation allotment of 12 days increases after a trooper has been on the job for five years and increases at regular intervals.

▼ Sick leave is allotted.

Health Benefits

Members of the State Police and their eligible dependents are offered two options for medical coverage, two options for dental coverage, and a prescription drug plan. More information can be found at www.state.nj.us/treasury/ pensions/shbp.htm.

The two options for medical coverage are:

▼ Health Maintenance Organization (HMO) The two HMO plans are administered by Aetna HMO and Cigna HeathCare HMO. The HMOs have participating providers from which you must select a Primary Care Physician (PCP). That Physician coordinates all of your care. Referrals must be obtained from your PCP in order for you to visit a specialist. The co-payment for HMO in-network primary doctor visits and visits to a referred specialist is \$15.

▼ NJ DIRECT 15

Combining features from the traditional and HMO systems, this plan allows you to choose from a network of physicians, covers 100 percent of services in network, and requires

New Jersey State Police What's in it for You?



a \$15 co-payment for services. NJ DIRECT 15 combines managed care with the option to get reimbursed (30% / 70%) for services performed out of the NJ Plus network of physicians, hospitals, or laboratories.

Dental Coverage

The Employee Dental Plans are offered to active State employees and their eligible dependents as a separate dental benefit. The offered enrollment is in one of two basic types of dental plans: one of several Dental Plan Organizations (DPOs) or the Dental Expense Plan.

Prescription Plan

Under the plan offered to troopers and their eligible dependants, generic drugs require a co-payment of only \$3. Brand name drugs without generic equivalents require a co-payment of \$10. Brand name drugs with a generic equivalent require a co-payment of \$25.

Leaves of Absence

Leaves of absence encompass all approved leaves with or without pay. These include:

- Approved leave of absence for illness
- Approved leave of absence other than illness
- ▼ Family Leave Act (Federal and State)
- ▼ Furlough
- Workers' Compensation
- ▼ Suspension (COBRA continuation only)

Deferred Compensation Plans

Members are eligible to participate in a deferred compensation plan or supplemental annuity collective trust plan in order to supplement retirement income.

Life Insurance

Enlisted members are covered by a group Life Insurance Policy that provides $3\frac{1}{2}$ times their final average salaries in a lump sum to beneficiaries.

Retirement Package

The State Police Retirement System is overseen by a Board of Trustees, which includes two members of the State Police. When a trooper retires, he or she can take advantage of a comprehensive retirement plan. The plan offers a wide variety of benefits, depending on years of service. More information can be found at www.state.nj.us.treasury/pensions/ sprsl.htm.

Mandatory Retirement

Every enlisted member of the State Police must retire by age 55 except the Superintendent.

Pension

▼ Enrollment in the State Police Retirement System (SPRS) is a condition of employment. Your employee contribution will be 9% of your annual salary. The term "final compensation" listed below means the average salary upon which pension contributions were based for any three fiscal years of membership that provides the largest possible benefit.

▼ Service Retirement: After 20 years of service as a New Jersey State Trooper, you are eligible to receive a pension, regardless of age, consisting of 50% of your final compensation.

New Jersey State Police Retirement Package continued



▼ Special Retirement: After 25 years of service as a New Jersey State Trooper, you are eligible to receive a pension, regardless of age, consisting of 65% of your final compensation plus 1% for each year above 25 years. The maximum benefit that you can receive under a special retirement is 70% of your final compensation as defined above.

▼ Deferred Retirement: Troopers who serve for 10 years and then terminate their employment before qualifying for a service retirement are vested and thereby eligible for a pension benefit at age 55. The benefit is 2% of final compensation for each year of SPRS service.

▼ Optional Purchase of Former Membership: You can purchase former membership from a New Jersey State administered pension plan (e.g. PERS, TPAF, PFRS) that could increase your retirement benefit. This service cannot be used to qualify for a Special or Service Retirement. However, it can be used to compute your retirement allowance on the basis of 1% of final compensation for each year of such service credit.

State Paid Health Benefits

▼ Troopers who attain 25 years of service in the SPRS are entitled to State paid health benefits in retirement according to the terms of the bargaining agreement in effect at the time they reach 25 years of service.

▼ Troopers who do not attain 25 years of service in the SPRS before they retire or terminate employment may qualify for State paid health benefits in retirement if they have purchased former membership from a New Jersey State administered pension plan. The former membership purchased and the SPRS time must add up to 25 or more years to qualify.

▼ Troopers who do not obtain a total of 25 years of state service will be eligible to receive continuous State health benefits covered at a group rate.

Pension Benefits and Disability

If a trooper retires because of a job-related accidental disability, he or she receives a pension equal to two-thirds of his or her final compensation. If a trooper retires as a result of a non-job-related disability, he or she is eligible for a pension of no less than 40 percent of his or her final compensation.

Information or questions regarding your eligibility for any retirement benefit should be directed to the Division of State Police, Office of Human Resources at (609) 882-2000 ext. 2620.

New Jersey State Police What's in it for You?



More than 120 Career Paths

An Organization You Can Grow With

One of the remarkable aspects of the New Jersey State Police as a law enforcement agency is the diversity of its career paths. After spending a period of four years on average performing road patrol functions, troopers may be able to apply to the many specialty assignments available. From crime scene investigation to community policing, from aviation to marine law enforcement, from forensics to communications, the New Jersey State Police has a speciality area that is sure to suit your unique skills and interests. Some of the specialty units and areas are listed as follows:

- Alcoholic Drug Testing Unit
- Armorer Unit
- Arson/Bomb Squad
- Auditing and Grant Management
- Auto Unit
- Automated Fingerprint Identification System (AFIS) Unit
- Aviation Unit
- Ballistics Unit
- Budget Operations Bureau
- Commercial Vehicle/Bus Inspection Unit
- Canine Unit
- Cargo Theft Unit
- Casino Investigations Unit
- Commercial Carrier/Safety Inspection
- Communications Bureau
- Composite Drawing

- Construction Unit
- Counterterrorism Bureau
- ▼ Crime Scene Investigation
- ▼ Criminal Records Unit
- Criminal Justice Records Bureau
- Criminal Investigation Bureau
- Digital Technology Investigation Unit
- ▼ Preparedness & Exercise Training Unit
- Electronic Surveillance Unit
- Emergency Management Section
- Equal Employment Opportunity Bureau
- Evidence Management Unit
- Executive Protection Bureau
- ▼ Fatal Accident Investigation Unit
- Field Operations Section
- Firearms Investigations Unit
- Fiscal Control Bureau
- Forensic Photography
- ▼ Forensic Science Bureau
- ▼ Fugitive Unit
- Hazardous Materials Response Unit
- Computer Crimes and Technology Surveillance Bureau
- Identification & Information Technology Section
- ▼ Intelligence Management Bureau
- Internal Affairs Investigation Bureau
- Investigations Unit
- ▼ Joint Terrorism Task Force
- Major Crime Unit
- Management Review Unit
- Marine Services Bureau
- ▼ Medical Services Unit

New Jersey State Police Career Paths continued



- Microcomputer Database Development Unit
- Micrographics
- Missing Persons & Child Exploitation Unit
- ▼ Motor Vehicle Racing Control
- ▼ Narcotics and Organized Crime Bureau
- ▼ Office of Professional Standards
- Official Corruption Unit
- Organized Crime Control
- Logistics & Planning Support Bureau
- Polygraph Unit
- Private Detective Unit
- Programming Unit
- Office of Public Information
- Radio Electronics & Telecommincations Unit
- Radiological Emergency Response Planning and Technical Unit
- Records Management Unit

- Recruiting/Museum and Learning Center Unit
- Research and Development Unit
- Response and Recovery Mitigation Unit
- Selection Process Unit
- Solid Hazardous Waste
- Special Investigations Unit
- ▼ Office of State Governmental Security
- ▼ State Bureau of Identification
- ▼ Street Gang Unit
- T.E.A.M.S. (Technical Emergency and Mission Specialists)
- ▼ Traffic & Public Safety Bureau
- ▼ Training Academy
- Uniform Crime Reporting/Crime Statistics
- Urban Community Outreach
- Victim Services Unit
- Witness Relocation Unit

For More Information

Contact the Division of State Police at 609-882-2000, extension 6400 or call toll-free: 1-877-NJSP-877 to speak to a Recruiter.

More information is available by attending a Career Night or visiting the New Jersey State Police website at www.njsp.org.

Facebook and Twitter can be accessed for informational updates Contact us on Facebook at: http://www.facebook.com/NewJerseyStatePolice.

Follow us on Twitter at http://twitter.com/NJSPRecruiting.