Skip to main navigationSkip to News Headlines
Global Navigation
Office of The Attorney General
OAG Home
OAG Home Superintendent's Bio
Superintendent's Bio
NJSP Home
> NJSP Home  |  > Registry Home
 
registry home | about sex offenders | guidelines | contacts | personal safety | faq's | questions / comments

IMPORTANT INFORMATION FOR SEX OFFENDERS

Incarcerated offenders
You are required to register prior to release.

New Jersey resident offenders
If you work or attend school in another State, but remain a New Jersey resident, you must still register in the State where you are employed or attend school in accordance with nonresident procedures.

Offenders moving to New Jersey
You must notify the chief law enforcement officer of the municipality in which you intend to reside or the State Police within 10 days of your arrival in New Jersey.

Change of address
You must notify the law enforcement agency with which you are registered and, if moving to another town, must re-register with the new agency at least 10 days prior to the move.

Verification of Address
You must verify your address with the law enforcement agency where you are registered annually . The time period for determining the verification requirement is calculated from the date of initial registration or most recent re-registration resulting from a change of address or release from incarceration, not the date you appear at the law enforcement agency for address verification.

If you served your sentence at the Adult Diagnostic and Treatment Center (Avenel), or if you were found to be a repetitive and compulsive sex offender, you must verify your address with the local law enforcement agency every 90 days. Failure to verify your address every 90 days is a fourth degree offense.

In-State Registrants Enrolled In or Working At Institutions of Higher Education
At initial registration, you must provide information when you:

  1. enroll in any public or private educational institution in this State, including any secondary school, trade or professional institution, institution of higher education or other post-secondary school on a full-time or part-time basis, or

  2. are employed or carry on a vocation in any public or private educational institution in this State, including any secondary school, trade or professional institution, institution of higher education or other post-secondary school in this State on either a full-time or a part-time basis, with or without compensation, for more than 14 consecutive days or for an aggregated period exceeding 30 days in a calendar year.

In addition to any other registration requirements, a person required to register who is enrolled at, employed by, or carries on a vocation at an institution of higher education in this State, must also register within 10 days of commencing such attendance, employment, or vocation with the law enforcement unit of the educational institution, if any. A law enforcement unit is defined as a campus police department or other form of state recognized law enforcement agency, not a campus security department. If there is no law enforcement unit, that person must register with the local law enforcement agency having primary jurisdiction for the campus.

Change of school employment or school enrollment status
You must notify the law enforcement agencies with which you are registered no later than 5 days after any such change.

Nonresident Students and Workers
Persons who are required to register as sex offenders in other jurisdictions, and either:

  1. enroll on a full-time or part-time basis in any public or private educational institution in this State, including any secondary school, trade or professional institution, institution of higher education or other post-secondary school, or

  2. are employed or carry on a vocation in this State, on either a full-time or a part-time basis, with or without compensation, for more than 14 consecutive days or for an aggregate period exceeding 30 days in a calendar year,

must register in this State within 10 days of commencing such school attendance or employment, with the chief law enforcement officer in the municipality in which the educational institution, employer, or vocation is located. If the municipality does not have a local police force, such persons must register with the Superintendent of State Police.

Failure to Register is a third degree crime.

Violation of special sentence of parole supervision for life is a fourth degree crime.

Removal from Registry

The removal of a sex offender’s name from the Sex Offender Registry can occur for the following reasons: death of the individual; the individual no longer resides in the State of New Jersey; or reclassification of the individual to a Tier 1. Additionally, N.J.S.A. 2C:7-2(7)f allows registrants to terminate the obligation after 15 years from the date of first registering upon proof to the Court that no offenses have been committed during that time and the registrant is no longer a danger to others. There is an exception in 2C:7-2(7)g wherein offenders who have been convicted for more than one offense of aggravated sexual assault or sexual assault may not seek such removal from the registry.

IF YOU HAVE QUESTIONS REGARDING ANY OF THE ABOVE INFORMATION,
CONTACT YOUR COUNTY PROSECUTOR MEGAN’S LAW UNIT.
 
   
Contact Us | Privacy Notice | Legal Statement | Accessibility Statement spacer
NJ Home Logo
Divisional: NJSP Home | Contact NJSP | About NJSP | NJSP News | NJSP FAQs | Recruiting
Departmental: OAG Home | Contact OAG | About OAG | OAG News | OAG FAQs
Statewide: NJ Home | Services A to Z | Departments/Agencies | FAQs
Copyright State of New Jersey
The State of New Jersey Office of The Attorney General (Dept. of Law & Public Safety) The State of New Jersey NJ Home Services A to Z Departments/Agencies OAG Frequently Asked Questions