claim must be filed within three (3) years from
the date of the personal injury or death, or
after three (3) years if the VCCO determines
that good cause existed for the delayed filing.
crime must be reported to the police within
nine (9) months after it occurs, or within nine
(9) months from the time it was known, or from
the time there was reason to believe, that a
incidents prior to June 26, 1995, you must have
suffered at least $100 in out-of-pocket medical
expenses and/or two weeks continuous loss of
earnings or support.
are no minimum loss requirements for incidents
occurring on or after June 26, 1995.
must cooperate fully with the police and prosecutor's
office; however, eligibility is not dependent
upon conviction or prosecution of the offender.
to cooperate with the VCCO investigator or failure
to inform the VCCO of a change of address will
result in a denial of compensation.
you have any VCCO assessments imposed on you
by the courts for prior convictions, you must
pay them in full before you can receive any
crime must occur in New Jersey, although you
need not be a New Jersey resident; or you must
be a New Jersey resident who became a victim
in another state or jurisdiction that does not
have a crime victim compensation program or
has a program which has not provided full compensation
for your crime-related losses.
is Not Eligible?
for which Compensation is Available
The Board may order the payment of compensation
for personal injury or death which resulted
from the commission or attempt to commit any
of the following offenses:
an explanation of or further information on
the listed crimes, please contact the VCCO at
The Board will pay legal fees only if it awards
compensation. Attorneys are limited to receiving
fees that are set by statute and by the Board.
from the offender which is payment made by assailants
to their victims, as ordered by the court in
a criminal proceeding. It may include compensation
for property loss or damage, or for medical
expenses. Restitution is now mandatory where
the offender has the ability to pay. Please
consult your County
Victim-Witness Coordinator, in your County
government or any agency of the United States,
the State of New New Jersey or its political
subdivisions, or of any two or more states
Security, Medicare and Medicaid
or Union Local disability programs
payable to the victim for a loss sustained because
of the crime
contract providing prepaid hospital and other
health care services or benefits for disability
received from any civil or related third party
actions. However, the first $1000 recovered
is not to be included as money received from
another source. This applies even though a settlement
or any other resolution of the action is worded
to recover any economic loss, such as pain and
suffering and property loss, which the Board
does not compensate.
can also get an application from the VCCO. Please
call 973-648-2107 or 877-658-2221
obtain benefits, you must file a completed claim
form and comply with Board regulations which
are explained in the instructions. You will
be asked to submit information to support your
application. Where possible and to speed up
processing, it would be helpful to submit a
copy of a police report and related bills, receipts
and insurance statements together with the application.
Please send copies only and keep the originals
for your own records.
VCCO Application form is downloadable as a Portable
Document Format file (PDF). PDF documents
appear the same as the original printed forms.
To view and print these forms, you must have
a PDF viewer which is available
Phase: The claim will be processed in the chronological
order in which it is received by the Board.
Upon receipt of the application, the claim is
opened, given a claim number, an acknowledgment
of receipt is sent to the applicant, and if
needed, additional information is requested.
All requests for emergency assistance and counseling
are reviewed immediately.
Phase: After a police report is received, the
Board's eligibility investigators will review
all the circumstances surrounding the incident,
including, but not limited to, direct discussion
with police and prosecutorial personnel, securing
trial related information from the courts, and
speaking with witnesses. The investigator will
provide the Board's commissioners with a recommendation
either that the claim is eligible for compensation
or to deny compensation because there has been
a failure to comply with one of the statute's
Phase: Once determined eligible for compensation,
your claim enters the compensation phase. The
Board's investigator will verify losses by communicating
directly with providers of medical services,
securing insurance benefit statements, and gathering
loss of earnings and disability payment information.
are required to show a minimum loss of at least
$100 unreimbursed medical expenses or two continuous
weeks loss of earnings or support. For incidents
occurring on or after June 26, 1995, the minimum
loss requirement no longer applies. Accordingly,
please respond to the Board's requests as quickly
additional information comes to the Board's
attention which requires the Board to change
its determination of eligibility, you will be
notified and you will be given an opportunity
to respond to the Board's new decision.
Phase: The investigator may send you a recommendation
denying eligibility or may recommend an amount
of compensation with which you disagree. You
will have twenty (20) days to advise the Board
in writing whether you accept the recommendation.
You are entitled to a hearing before the Board.
At the hearing you will be given an opportunity
to submit proofs in support of your position.
Board does not require that you appear at formal
hearings with an attorney. You have the right,
however, to be represented before the Board
at all stages of proceedings by a New Jersey
the hearing you will be called upon to respond
to questions from the Board's legal counsel
and the Board's commissioners. You will have
the opportunity to make a statement and question
witnesses. There may be issues and questions
for which legal advice would be beneficial.
you decide to obtain an attorney, you must notify
the Board within twenty (20) days of your hearing
date. Your attorney must also send a letter
to our Legal Department confirming that the
attorney is representing you.
Board does not assign or provide attorneys for
you, but will be able to refer you for assistance.
For further information, please contact the
Board's Victim Counseling Service at 201-648-2535.
frequently asked questions about hearings, see
further information regarding the procedure
for filing an appeal, you may contact the Appellate
Division at 609-292-4822.
psychological needs of immediate family members
of crime victims may also be met.
VCCO can arrange for translation services to
assist you in processing your claim. Please
call ahead for an appointment to ensure the
services of a translator.