

New Jersey

VICTIMS OF CRIME COMPENSATION OFFICE

Claim Application and Instructions (effective.8.1.20)

support Support help respect

We help put the pieces back together



NJ VICTIMS OF CRIME COMPENSATION OFFICEClaim Information and Application Instructions

New Jersey Victims of Crime Compensation Office (VCCO) compensates victims of crime for losses and expenses resulting from certain criminal acts. For your convenience, below are the most frequently asked questions. However, we urge you to visit our website for more information at www.njvictims.org. You can also contact your Victim/Witness Coordinator which is located in each County Prosecutor's Office. A link to those offices is on the VCCO website.

What crimes are covered?

The crimes covered include but are not limited to, assault, homicide, sexual assault, kidnapping and all domestic violence incidents.

How much help can I get from the New Jersey Victims of Crime Compensation Office (VCCO)?

The VCCO can award up to \$25,000* for all expenses. However, many types of benefits have caps. Examples of expense types and the respective caps for some of them are:

- Emergency relocation costs \$3,000
- Care of child or dependent \$6,500
- Mental Health counseling \$20,000
- Funeral expenses \$7,500
- Attorney fees \$10,000

- Loss of earnings or support
- Victim rights in criminal proceedings.
- Hospital, physician and physical therapy
- Attorney fees for assistance in filing a claim and representing you in the appeal process.

How do I qualify for assistance?

If you are a victim or claimant (person filing for a victim or dependents of the victim) you must show that:

- Crime is eligible under the statute.
- You are a resident of the State of New Jersey or the crime occurred in this State.
- You have compensable financial losses as a result of the criminal act.
- The crime was reported to law enforcement within 9 months, and you submitted this application within 5 years from the date of the crime. Consideration will be taken if "good cause" exists for delayed filing.
- You cooperated with police and prosecutor's office. However, eligibility is not dependent upon conviction or prosecution of the offender.
- Insurance and other payment sources such as restitution paid by the offender will not cover the bills submitted.
- With the exception of homicide cases, you did not contribute to your injuries, provoke the incident, and were not responsible for or participated in the crime that caused your injuries.
- You do not have any outstanding VCCO assessments imposed for convictions.
- You do not have any outstanding warrants for indictable offenses or pending criminal charges in Superior Court.

What common losses are not covered?

- Property damage or loss, except crime scene clean up.
- Pain and suffering.

*Additional \$35,000.00 can be awarded for catastrophic benefits for victims with permanent disabilities.

oag.rev.8.25.20 Instructions • page I

NJ VCCO Claim Application Instructions

- Please read the instructions prior to starting the application. Include copies of as much related information (i.e. copies of itemized receipts, bills, insurance statements) as you have. The more information we have now, the sooner your application can be processed. However, you can always forward additional information at a later time.
- The Agency will send you a confirmation letter. Please be aware that if you are submitting your application through another Agency, there will be a delay in the VCCO receiving it.
- In addition to calling to obtain status, you can also email us at nivictims@nivictims.org.
- If you moved or if your phone number changes, please let us know.
- Due to the high volume of the claims we receive and according to the law, the turn around time for processing a claim is 3 months of receipt of all documentation.
- The key to processing the claim expeditiously is receipt of all documentation from you, the hospitals, doctors, law enforcement, employers, governmental agencies, etc.

Where can I get help with this application?

Contact your County Office of Victim/Witness Advocacy or the VCCO at:

Phone: (877) 658-2221 Phone: (973) 648-2107 Fax: (973) 648-3937 www.NJVictims.org njvictims@njvictims.org

Mail all applications to Newark office at:

VCCO 50 Park Place, 5th floor Newark, NJ 07102

SECTION 1:

Victim Information (Required Section)

Print the name of the person injured at the crime scene. This should be the same person listed as the "Victim" on the law enforcement report. Complete the rest of this section with information about the victim.

SECTION 2:

Claimant Information (Required Section)

Print the name of the person applying for compensation if different than the victim. This person may also be the adult assuming responsibility for the crime related bills or the financially responsible person (e.g. parent, guardian, spouse) of a minor, incapacitated or incompetent person injured as a result of the crime.

SECTION 3: Additional Information

Print the name of a person that the VCCO may contact if we are unable to reach you.

SECTION 4:

Crime Information (Required Section)

Print details about the crime here. Attach a copy of the incident report. If you don't have one, the VCCO will request one from the police and/or prosecutor. The law enforcement incident report on the crime is necessary to determine your eligibility and process the claim.

SECTION 5:

Services Requested (Required Section)

Please review the possible benefits available and select which services are being requested. Supporting documentation will be requested for each benefit that is selected.

SECTION 6:

Insurance Information (Required Section)

If you have insurance that may cover some of your crime-related bills, list your insurance information here.

SECTION 7:

Medical/Counseling Providers

List the names of doctors, hospitals and others who have provided services. If you already have itemized bills, please send copies with your application.

SECTION 8:

Employment Information

List your job information if you have not been able to work because of crime-related injuries or to take care of someone with crime related injuries.

SECTION 9:

Dependent Information

In an incident of homicide, list the victim's dependents who depended upon the victim for support.

SECTION 10:

Attorney Information

Complete this section if you hired a lawyer to represent you in this claim, assist you in court, settle an insurance claim or file a lawsuit related to this crime.

SECTION 11:

Referral Source Information

Print the name of the victim advocate or other professional who assisted you with this application.

SECTION 12:

Legal Responsibility and Signature

(Required Section)

This application is a legal document that must be read and signed by the adult Claimant.

SECTION 13:

Authorization to Obtain Records

(Required Section)

This Authorization to Obtain Records is necessary to obtain information from your doctors, hospital, employer, police and prosecutor, so that the VCCO can process your claim.

SECTION 14:

Assignment of Interest (Required Section)

This is a legal agreement that must be signed in order for the VCCO to pay compensation to you.

SECTION 15:

Authorization for Release of Information Under the Health Insurance Portability and Accountability Act (Required Section)

This authorization is necessary to obtain information from your health care providers under federal law. It must be completed, signed and dated in order for the VCCO to process your claim.

SECTION 16:

Section to Provide Additional Details

(If Needed)



New Jersey Office of the Attorney General Victims of Crime Compensation Office

877-658-2221 • www.NJVictims.org • njvictims@njvictims.org

oag.rev.8.25.20

FOR OFFICIAL USE ONLY				
Application No				
Claim No				
☐ Death ☐ Personal Injury				

Claim Application

SECTION 1: VICTIM INFORMATION
The victim is the same person listed as a victim on the crime incident report. (complete a separate application for each victim) The claimant is the person applying for compensation. Do not complete SECTION 2 if the victim is the claimant.
○ Mr. ○ Mrs. ○ Ms. ○ Mx. (Choose One)
Full Legal Name of Victim
Social Security Number Date of Birth / /
Check if Victim is: ODeceased (date of death/) Ounder 18 OIncompetent ODisabled
Home Mailing Address
City State Zip Code
Home Phone (Work Phone ()
Cell Phone () Email
Sex: Male Female Undesignated/Non-Binary
Race/Ethnicity: Asian African American American Indian/Alaska Native Latino Middle Eastern Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islander Caucasian Multiple Races Other
Marital Status: Single Married Divorced Separated Widowed
SECTION 2: CLAIMANT INFORMATION
Claimant Definition: "Claimant" means the person applying for compensation, who may or may not be the victim of the crime that forms the basis for the claim application for compensation. Do not complete this section if you are the victim stated above. Mr. Mrs. Ms. Mx. (Choose One)
Full Legal Name of Claimant
Social Security Number Date of Birth / /
The Claimant is the Victim's Spouse Parent Sibling Child Other
Home Mailing Address
City State Zip Code
Home Phone () Work Phone ()
Cell Phone (Email

SECTION 3: ADDITIONAL CONTACT
A person that the Victim/Claimant is comfortable with the VCCO reaching out to if the Victim/Claimant is not available.
Name
Relationship OParent OSibling OFriend OAttorney OTherapist Other
Address
City State Zip Code
Phone () Work Phone () Cell Phone () Email
Cell Filotie () Liliali
SECTION 4: CRIME INCIDENT INFORMATION
If available, attach a copy of the following: police report, incident report, TRO, FRO, etc.
Date of Crime / Date Reported / /
Name as it Appears on Incident Report
Name of Law Enforcement Agency
Location/Address of Crime County State 7in Code
City State Zip Code Police Complaint Number Prosecutor's File Number
Police Complaint Number Prosecutor's File Number
Type of Crime Arson Kidnapping Aggravated assault Indecent acts with children
Bias crime Manslaughter Human trafficking Lewd, indecent or obscene acts
Burglary** Robbery Domestic violence Disorderly conduct offenses
Murder Sexual assault Motor vehicle offenses**
Stalking Simple assault Threats to do bodily harm
Brief Description of Incident and Your Injuries:
Name(s) of Offender(s), if known:
Relationship to Offender(s), if any:
Was the victim living in the same household with the offender at the time of the crime? O Yes O No
Has restitution been ordered? Yes No
Did you file a police report within 9 months? Yes No*
Is this claim filed within 5 years of the crime? Yes No*
* If you answer "No" to either of the above two questions, you must provide the Agency with legitimate reasons showing
"good cause" for your failure to file timely reports. (See Section 16A or B for space to provide reasons). **Certain conditions apply

SECTION 5: SERVICES REQUESTED Please select which service(s) are being requested. Depending on the services selected, additional information may be required. **Medical**: Medical expenses directly related to a crime related injury and not totally covered by insurance or charity care. () **Counseling**: Mental health counseling expenses related to the incident and not covered by insurance. The maximum allowance for counseling expenses is as follows: Homicide Survivor \$20,000, Injured victim \$20,000, Secondary victim(s) \$7,000, Group Counseling \$50 a session per victim. **Dental**: Dental expenses directly related to a crime related injury and not totally covered by insurance. Prescription: Prescription expenses directly related to a crime related injury and not totally covered by insurance. **Relocation**: The maximum allowance for relocation assistance is \$3,000. The VCCO may consider relocation expenses where there is a need to protect the health and safety of the victim and/or their family. The Office may consider expenses such as the security deposit payable directly to the landlord, temporary shelter, moving services, monthly rental and mortgage cost differential, first month's rent, one month's rent if relocation occurred within one year of filing the application and/or personal expense items deemed reasonable and necessary. Funeral: The maximum allowance for funeral expenses is \$7,500. The office may consider expenses such as the funeral costs, flowers, repast expenses, cemetery costs and grave markers/headstones. Transportation to Funeral: \$500 per person with a maximum reimbursement of \$3,000. This may include air fare or railroad expenses. () Loss of earnings (victim): Loss of earnings to a victim that were incurred directly due to the crime related injury while in a no pay status. The VCCO cannot consider reimbursement if the victim was paid through accrued vacation or sick time. Maximum loss of earnings considered is \$600 per week with a maximum of 104 weeks. **Loss of earnings** (claimant): When the claimant was employed at the time of the incident, but missed time from work for having to care for the victim as a result of their injuries. The VCCO cannot consider reimbursement if the claimant was paid through accrued vacation or sick time. Maximum loss of earnings considered is \$600 per week with a maximum of \$7,000. Loss of support (homicide claim): Loss of support may be considered when the victim was supporting the claimant/household at the time of their death. Maximum loss of support to be considered is \$600 per week not to exceed 48 months. () **Loss of support** (from the offender): Loss of support may be considered where it can be determined the offender was supporting the household prior to the incident and is now incarcerated, a fugitive or has ceased providing support due to the incident. Maximum loss of support considered is \$600 per week not to exceed 48 months. Stolen cash reimbursement: (Senior citizen or permanently disabled persons only) VCCO may reimburse cash (minimum \$50) stolen directly from the person of an eligible crime victim where the monetary loss was reported to police. Maximum reimbursement is \$1,000.

SECTION 5: SERVICES REQUESTED continued **Attorney fees** (victims' rights in certain criminal and/or civil proceedings that are directly related to the VCCO claim): VCCO can assist with certain fees when the representation is related to the criminal matter upon which the claim is based. Attorney fees are payable at \$275 per hour not to exceed \$10,000 maximum allowance. Attorney representation with filing claim: Attorney fees payable at \$275 per hour or 15% of the total award whichever is less. **Domestic help**: VCCO may reimburse domestic help expenses arising as a direct result of the crime. Domestic help may include housecleaning, laundry, cooking, companionship and other services related to providing day to day living support for the victim. Maximum reimbursement is \$6,500. Day care services: VCCO may reimburse child care or day care expenses for a minor child (14 years old or less) or for an adult where the need for such services is a direct result of the crime. Maximum reimbursement is \$6.500. **Medical equipment**: VCCO may reimburse reasonable charges for reasonably needed products such as wheelchairs, braces, splints, crutches, walkers and other personal adaptive equipment required to meet the victim's disability needs. **Medically related transportation**: VCCO may reimburse transportation costs for the victim's visits to treating physicians and other health care facilities. Maximum reimbursement is 31 cents per mile not to exceed \$10 per day and \$3,000 total. Crime Scene Clean up: VCCO may compensate the reasonable and necessary costs for the cleaning of a victim's residence and/or personal vehicle where the injurious crime occurred or where the direct costs have become the direct victim or claimant's financial responsibility. Compensation includes the actual clean-up costs, reasonable replacement value of bedding, carpeting, doors, windows, locks or furniture which has been rendered damaged or useless as a result of the crime or the collection of evidence. Maximum allowance for crime scene clean-up shall not exceed \$4,000 in the aggregate. **Bereavement**: Loss of earnings may be paid to members of the victim's family for funeral attendance and bereavement for a period of no more than two weeks. Maximum loss of earnings to be considered is \$600 per week. Court Attendance: Loss of earnings may be paid to victims and secondary victims for court attendance. Maximum loss of earnings to be considered is \$600 per week with a maximum allowance of \$7,000 for all secondary victim expenses. Court Attendance transportation: VCCO may reimburse transportation costs for the victim/ claimant's court attendance. Maximum reimbursement is 31 cents per mile not to exceed \$10 per day and \$3,000 total. Supplemental Compensation for Catastrophically Injured (CAT): A catastrophically injured crime victim is defined as a person who has been determined by the Office to have sustained a severe long-term or life-long injury. Compensation for loss of earnings, loss of support, property damage and pain and suffering is excluded from catastrophic injury compensation. The VCCO may make one or more supplemental awards solely for the purpose of providing rehabilitative assistance and services to direct victims who have been catastrophically injured. Please check if you believe you may meet these criteria and wish to apply for CAT assistance.

SECTION 6: HEALTH INSURANCE/BENEFITS INFORMATION Please identify any Health and/or Automobile Insurance coverage. The insurance information provided may be used to notify a provider of medical services that there is another source of payment before the VCCO can consider compensation in accordance with N.J.A.C. 13:75-1.19. MEDICAL INSURANCE () Yes () No Carrier _____ Policy No. _____ SECONDARY MEDICAL INSURANCE () Yes () No Carrier ___ Policy No. ____ DENTAL INSURANCE () Yes () No Carrier ____ Policy No. _____ AUTOMOBILE INSURANCE Yes No Carrier Policy No. If neither the victim nor the offender has auto insurance, and the incident involves a motor vehicle, then the claimant must apply to the New Jersey Property Liability Insurance Guaranteed Association (NJPLIGA) within 180 days from the date of the incident. Have you applied to NJPLIGA? () Yes () No WORKER'S COMPENSATION () Yes () No. HOME OWNER'S/RENTER'S INSURANCE () Yes () No Carrier Policy No. Charity Care () Yes () No Date of charity care application _____/ ____/ If you checked no, VCCO is the payer of the last resort, the victim's/claimant's primary insurance or charity care will come first. Please apply for charity care at the hospital where the victim was treated. **SECTION 7: MEDICAL/COUNSELING PROVIDERS** Hospital/Doctor Name _____ Date(s) of Treatment _____ Address Phone Number _____ Hospital/Doctor Name _____ Date(s) of Treatment _____ Address Phone Number _____ Date(s) of Treatment _____ Hospital/Doctor Name _____ Address __ Phone Number ___

SECTION 8: LOST WAGES/SUPPORT INFORMATION Complete if you have lost time from work because of your injuries or to take care of an injured victim. (If more than one employer, please attach additional sheets) Victim loss of Earnings Claimant Loss of Earnings Loss of Support Employee Name ___ Company Phone (_____) ____ - ____ Company Fax (_____) ___ - ____ Company/Business Name _____ Company/Business Address _____ City ______ State ____ Zip Code ____ Dates absent from work due to crime related injuries: _____/ _____ to ____/ _____ to ____/ _____/ Did the incident occur while on the job? () Yes () No If injured on the job, does your employer have Worker's Compensation? () Yes () No Have you applied for State/ Private Disability or Family Leave for reimbursement for lost wages? () Yes () No If YES, supply all notices received from State/Private Disability or Family Leave. Is your household losing income/paychecks due to the crime? () Yes () No Are you missing work to care for the victim? () Yes () No If available, please supply your pay stubs from the week before the crime, the week you returned to work and a letter from your doctor stating your period of disability. If you are self-employed, you must supply copies of your income tax returns and business tax returns for the last 2 years before the crime. Loss of support may be awarded for dependents of homicide victims. Please supply copies of the victim's income tax returns for the last three years. **SECTION 9: DEPENDENT INFORMATION** Tell us about the victim's dependents or others who depended on the victim for support. (If none, skip to section 10) Dependent Name Relationship to Victim _____ Address _____ Date of Birth _____/ ____/ Are you the legal guardian? Yes No Social Security Number _____ - ___ - ____ Relationship to Victim _____ Dependent Name _____ Date of Birth ____/___/ Address Social Security Number _____ - ____ - ____ Are you the legal guardian? () Yes () No Relationship to Victim _____ Dependent Name _____ Date of Birth _____/ ____/ Address _____ Social Security Number _____ - ___ - ____ Are you the legal guardian? () Yes () No Is there anyone else who depended upon the victim for court ordered support? () Yes () No

SECTION 10: ATTORNEY IN	FURMATI	ON	
A. Type of representation: VCCO Application	Civil Suit Victim	n rights in crim	ninal matters/criminal proceedings
Name of Attorney			
Address			
City County		_ State	Zip Code
Phone ()			
B. Type of representation: VCCO Application	Civil Suit Victim	n rights in crim	ninal matters/criminal proceedings
Name of Attorney			
Address			
City County		_ State	Zip Code
Phone ()			
C. I intend to file a lawsuit at a later date Yes	No		
SECTION 11: REFERRAL IN	FORMATIO	ON	
Who referred you to the VCCO? OPolice Frie	ad/Polativa C	Propositor	Victim Witness Coordinator
Hospital Funeral Home Domestic Viol	•		
Medical professional Other			
SECTION 12: LEGAL AUTHO	RIZATIO	N AND	SIGNATURE
This is a legal document which must be signed by an adult.*			
Program Qualification:			
I understand that I am responsible for all bills and the costs not covered by another source. Submitting this		•	• • •
Reimbursement:	11		
I agree to repay the VCCO if I receive money from a any payment I may receive from the offender, any ir			
I have provided accurate and truthful information to		•	
knowingly withheld, concealed or misrepresented a	ny information that v	would have a	material bearing on my eligibility
for benefits or compensation. I understand that if an subject to civil and criminal punishment.	y of the information	I have provid	ded is knowingly false, I may be
XSignature of Victim/Claimant		Date	
Signature or Victim/Claimant			

l,	, authorize the NJ Victims of Crime Compensation
Office (VCCO) or its agent, representative or beare copies, of all medical records and records pertainin agency, attendance and any other records pertainin	er to inspect, review and make copies, including photostaticing to employment, earnings, income or grant from any ang to or related to employment or economic assistance, and nine qualification for my claim for compensation. Photocopies
XSignature of Victim/Claimant	Date
·	
Legal representative must sign if the victim is under 18	5, legally declared incompetent or deceased.
SECTION 14: ASSIGNMENT	OF INTEREST
1	understand that New Janesy Jawassins and to
reimburse the NJ Victims of Crime Compensation C	, understand that New Jersey law requires me to Office (VCCO) for any monies I may receive from other such additional monies from the offender, civil law suit, mental or private agency.
I further assign and give to the VCCO the right to be to me from the proceeds of any civil law suit I have	e directly reimbursed for two-thirds of the VCCO's award started or will start arising out of this incident.
•	amount to be paid to me in the way of restitution ordered the incident. Reimbursement to the VCCO shall be limited
must be signed in order to receive compensation. I will provide a copy of this Assignment of Interest to	st freely and voluntarily. I understand that this Assignment further certify that if at any time I initiate a civil lawsuit, so my attorney with the instruction that my attorney is relying in good faith on this Assignment in order to pay
compensation to me.	
compensation to me.	Date

SECTION 15: AUTHORIZATION FOR RELEASE OF INFORMATION UNDER THE HEALTH INSURANCE PORTABILITY AND ACCOUNTABILITY ACT

Patient's Name Social	al Security Number	
Date of Birth / Phone	e ()	
Address		
City County	State Zip Code	
I authorize the use and disclosure of health information about me as	described below	
Facility authorized to release my health information:		
Agency or individual(s) authorized to receive my health information:	NJ Victims of Crime Compensation Office	_
Health information that may be used/disclosed is limited to the follow	vina:	
	ultation(s) Lab	
	ng/X-ray Entire Record	
Health information that may be used/disclosed is limited to the follow	ving treatment dates:	
Health information to be released to the above named agency/individual is (include Research or Marketing, if appropriate): To determine the amount of including the payment of any outstanding bills for services rendered by the	of compensation the patient is entitled to receive.	
Health information identifies you (the patient) by name, and includes other may include, but is not limited to: medical records, x-ray films, slides, tracin its agents and employees from any and all liabilities, responsibilities, dama information authorized herein, to include alcohol, drug abuse, communicable diagnoses compiled during my visit, encounter or hospitalization, or make co	ngs, strips, etc. I hereby discharge the releasing facility ages and claims which might arise from the release of a disease including HIV status, and/or psychiatric opies thereof in accordance with the policies of this facility.	ty
Protected Health information used or disclosed pursuant to this authorization and no longer protected by this privacy rule. If research-related Health information purposes, an expiration date or event does not apply.		
This authorization shall be valid for the entire duration of the processing of my of at such time the NJVCCO has rendered a final decision for my compensation be authorization at any time, in writing, as stated in the Notice of Privacy Practices in reliance upon my prior authorization.	benefits. I understand that I have a right to revoke this	
Treatment, payment, enrollment or eligibility for benefits may not be condition. Portability Accountability Act prohibits such conditioning. If conditioning is per denial of care or coverage.	•	е
NOTICE TO RECEIVING AGENCY OR INDIVIDUAL: This information is to Portability and Accountability Act (HIPPA) privacy regulations.	be treated in accordance with Health Insurance	
Patient's or Authorized Personal Representative's Signature	Date Time	A.M.
X		P.M.
Relationship to Patient / Authority to Act on Patient's Behalf	Interpreter, if Utilized	
Witness Signature	Expiration Date or Event	
X		

SECTION 16: ADDITIONAL INFORMATION					
A :					
1.					
3:					



New Jersey Office of the Attorney General **Victims of Crime Compensation Office**

 $877\text{-}658\text{-}2221 \bullet www. NJV ictims.org \bullet njvictims@njvictims.org$