skip to main content skip to main navigation

For Immediate Release

Thursday, December 27, 2007      

For More Information:

Edye Fineman
(609) 984-1671

Princeton researcher and entrepreneur brings expertise to state panel

Trenton– The New Jersey Senate recently approved Gov. Jon Corzine’s nomination of Princeton professor and entrepreneur, Alain Kornhauser, to the New Jersey Commission on Science and Technology.

Dr. Kornhauser is a professor of Operations Research and Financial Engineering, Director of the Interdepartmental Transportation Research Program, and Co-Director of the Center for Transportation Information and Decision Engineering at Princeton University. He is also founder of ALK Technologies, a transportation technology company based in Princeton, New Jersey.

Dr. Kornhauser’s recent research includes the application of large-scale network models, stochastic optimization techniques, and computer graphics to transportation problems. He is also studying fundamental aspects of human information processing, which he is applying to the design of neural networks, expert systems, robotics and automated highway systems.

“We welcome Dr. Kornhauser to the Commission,” said James Coleman, Jr., Commission Chairman. “His experience as a successful entrepreneur and academic in New Jersey will bring value-added insight to the Commission.”

Dr. Kornhauser received his Ph.D. from Princeton University in 1971. He is a member of many professional societies, has been published extensively in scholarly journals and has made numerous presentations at professional conferences around the world. Recently he led a team of Princeton students to the 2007 Pentagon DARPA Urban Challenge, an open competition, to build an unmanned autonomous vehicle capable of city driving.

About The Commission

NJCST, established in 1985, is responsible for the development and oversight of policies and programs promoting science and technology research and entrepreneurship in New Jersey. Commission members include business leaders, university leaders, scientists, the Secretary of Commerce and Economic Growth Commission, the Commissioner of Education, a representative of the Governor and four legislators.