skip to main content skip to main navigation

For Immediate Release

Monday, May 19, 2008

For More Information:

Arti Sahni: (609) 984-1671

 Peter R. Reczek, Ph.D. Named Executive Director
of the New Jersey Commission on Science and Technology

Trenton – Peter R. Reczek, Ph.D. has been appointed by Governor Jon S. Corzine as Executive Director of the New Jersey Commission on Science and Technology.

“Dr. Reczek has over twenty years of experience in biotechnology especially in the area of pharmaceutical discovery,” Governor Jon S. Corzine said. “Coupling his life science background with his extensive knowledge and experience in science policies and programs in general, I am certain that he will be an asset to New Jersey’s high technology community.”

Dr. Reczek has served as an Associate Professor in the Molecular and Cellular Biophysics department of the Roswell Park Cancer Institute in Buffalo, NY since 1994. He is the founder and CEO of Quintessence Biotechnology, LLC, a company specializing in intellectual property management and drug discovery and development. Dr. Reczek has also previously worked as Drug discovery Director at Bristol Myers Squibb.
Dr. Reczek received his Ph.D. from Roswell Park Cancer Institute Division of the State University of New York, Buffalo, NY. He has extensive academic and industrial experience at both the administrative and research level.

“I am honored that Governor Corzine has asked me to serve in this role,” Reczek said. “I look forward to helping realize the mission of the New Jersey Commission on Science and Technology to help maintain and grow one of New Jersey’s greatest assets, its science and technology base”.

About The Commission

NJCST, established in 1985, is responsible for the development and oversight of policies and programs promoting science and technology research and entrepreneurship in New Jersey. Commission members include business leaders, university leaders, scientists, the Secretary of Commerce and Economic Growth Commission, the Commissioner of Education, a representative of the Governor and four legislators.