Contact Information
New Jersey Motion Picture and Television Commission
153 Halsey Street - 5th Floor
P.O. Box 47023
Newark, New Jersey 07101

Tel: 973-648-6279
Fax: 973-648-7350

NEW Email:

New Jersey Motion Picture and Television Commission
Press Releases


(PRINCETON) -- Acting Governor Richard J. Codey on Friday night honored David Chase, creator of the award-winning drama series "The Sopranos," with the Governor's Award for Filmmaking. Chase was recognized for his contributions to New Jersey's film and television industry.

"David's creative writing and rich character illustration have produced a show unlike anything else on television," Codey said. "It is an honor to present this award to a New Jersey native who never forgot his roots."

Several of "The Sopranos" cast members joined Codey at Drumthwacket to celebrate Chase's achievement.

"In 1903 Hollywood was born in New Jersey, but by 1928 most of the industry had moved west. I hope that over the past seven years we succeeded in bringing a little of it back," said Chase. "'The Sopranos' continues to have an excellent working relationship with the State of New Jersey, and I am flattered to be the first recipient of the Governor's Award for Filmmaking."

Born in Mount Vernon, NY, and raised in New Jersey, David Chase is best known for his work on the Peabody and Emmy award-winning series "The Sopranos." However, his long and distinguished career in television and film began in the 1970s. He has written, produced, and directed many memorable television series during that time including "The Rockford Files," "Northern Exposure," "I'll Fly Away," and "Almost Grown."

Throughout his career, Chase has garnered Emmys, Golden Globes, Writers Guild and Directors Guild Awards.

"The Sopranos" is the first major television series to be filmed on location in New Jersey. All six seasons of the show were set and filmed in the state. Following "The Sopranos," several television series were filmed in the state including "Ed," "Oz," and "Law and Order: Special Victims Unit."

This is the first presentation of the Governor's Award for Filmmaking, which will be given annually to prominent filmmakers who have made substantial contributions to New Jersey's motion picture and television industry.