The mission of the New Jersey Martin Luther King, Jr. Commemorative Commission is to raise public awareness of Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr.'s ideals and philosophy.
Commission Members
Mayor Donald Guardian, Co-Chair
George V. Guy, Jr, Co-Chair

Edith Savage-Jennings,
MLK Center Representative
Senator Diane Allen
Senator Jennifer Beck
Senator Ronald Rice
Senator Shirley Turner
Assemblywoman Mila Jasey
Assemblywoman Cleopatra Tucker
Assemblyman Chris A. Brown
Assemblywoman Mary Pat Angelini
Bahiyyah Abdullah
Nancy Axelrod
James L. Ballentine
Rev. Dr. Deborah K. Blanks
Dr. Kenyon C. Burke
Geraldine Clark
Linda Coles-Kauffman
Stephenine Dixon
Yvette Donaldson
Sarah Dundas
Lynda Gallashaw
Roy Garcia
Dr. Richlyn Goddard
Geraldine Hayer
Deborah M. Prinz
Wanda Sims
Kimberly Smith
Darrell Terry
Professor Wendel White
Governor's Proclamation
Information Links
Contact the NJ Martin Luther King, Jr. Commemorative Commission
NJ Martin Luther King, Jr.
Commemorative Commission
P.O. Box 456
Trenton, New Jersey 08625-0204

Tel: (609) 633-9627
Fax: (609) 777-2939

Email: Feedback@sos.nj.gov
Translator Disclaimer


NJ State Flag
Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr.

Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr. was a vital figure of the modern era. His lectures and dialogues stirred the concern and sparked the conscience of a generation. The movements and marches he led brought significant changes in the fabric of American life through his courage and selfless devotion.

This devotion gave direction to thirteen years of civil rights activities. His charismatic leadership inspired men and women, young and old, in this nation and around the world.

Celebrating the 51st Anniversary of Dr. Martin Luther King's Receipt of the 1964 Nobel Peace Prize

Essex County unveiled a statute of Dr. King on October 19, 2015, the 51st anniversary of Dr. King’s receipt of the 1964 Nobel Peace Prize.

Edith Savage-Jennings and Deborah Prinz, members of the New Jersey Martin Luther King Jr. Commemorative Commission, spoke at the unveiling ceremony. The statue was created by Oregon-based artist, Jay Warren.
Read More


Annual King Holiday Commemorative Celebration
The Annual King Holiday Commemorative Celebration is held on or about the third Sunday in January of each year in honor of Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr.’s birthday.

The Commemorative Celebration brings together a diverse group of people to celebrate Dr. King’s life’s work and legacy. It also allows New Jerseyans an opportunity to recommit themselves to fulfilling Dr. King’s dreams in the 21st century. The Commemorative Celebration continues to be the premier event in the State of New Jersey that honors Dr. King.

“Behold” Sculpture
The Commission coordinates programming around “Behold”, the ten-foot, bonded-bronze sculpture.

The State of New Jersey purchased this casting of “Behold” shortly before an outdoor, bronze casting was installed permanently on a site overlooking the tomb of Dr. King at the King National Historic Site in Atlanta, Georgia in 1990. In June of the same year, the Commission installed its casting of the “Behold” statue at Essex County College in Newark, where it was unveiled and has remained on public exhibition.

Commemorative Commission Award Recipients

The New Jersey Martin Luther King, Jr. Commemorative Commission has started an initiative which recognizes community members who exemplify the spirit and legacy of Dr. King. 

The following are two of the recipients whose service was honored by Commissioner Stephenine Dixon of Atlantic City, Mr. Adrian Wilson and Ms. Penny Ely.