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Upon your death as an active or retired member of 
the State Police Retirement System (SPRS), two 
benefits are payable: a monthly pension to a specific 
family member(s) and group life insurance. 
The terms used in the explanation of SPRS death 
benefits are defined as:
Spouse — A person to whom you were married on 
the date of your death and who has not remarried 
or entered into a civil union. For an exception, see 
the “Accidental Death Benefits” section. A photocopy 
of the Marriage Certificate is required for verification.
Civil Union Partner — A person of the same sex as 
defined by N.J.S.A. 37:1-29, with whom you were 
partnered in a civil union until the date of your death 
and who has not entered into a new civil union or 
married (except for an Accidental Death Benefit). A 
photocopy of the New Jersey Civil Union Certificate, 
or a valid certification from another jurisdiction that 
recognizes same-sex civil unions, is required for ver-
ification. See the Civil Unions and Domestic Partner-
ships Fact Sheet for details.
Domestic Partner — A person of the same sex as de-
fined by N.J.S.A. 26:8A-3, with whom you were part-
nered into a domestic partnership until the date of 
your death and who has not entered into a civil union 
or married (except for an Accidental Death Benefit). A 
photocopy of the New Jersey Certificate of Domestic 
Partnership dated prior to February 19, 2007, or a 
valid certification from another jurisdiction that rec-
ognizes same-sex domestic partners, is required for 

verification. See the Civil Unions and Domestic Part-
nerships Fact Sheet for details.
Child — Your unmarried child:

• Under the age of 18;  
• 18 years of age or older and enrolled in high 

school;
• Any age who, at the time of your death, is dis-

abled because of mental or physical incapacity, 
and is incapable of substantial gainful employ-
ment because of the impairment. This incapacity 
must last or be expected to last for a continuous 
period of not less than 12 months as determined 
by the Medical Review Board; or

• For an Accidental Death Benefit (see the “Acci-
dental Death Benefits” section), a child may also 
mean an unmarried child under the age of 24 
who is enrolled in college in a degree program 
for at least 12 hours per semester. 

Parent — Your parent who was receiving at least 50 
percent support from you in the 12 months immedi-
ately preceding your death or the accident which led 
to your death in cases of an Accidental Death Bene-
fit. The dependency of the parent will be considered 
terminated if he or she remarries after the death of 
the member.
Final Compensation — For a SPRS Tier 1 member 
enrolled on or before May 21, 2010, Final Compen-
sation means the salary upon which pension contri-
butions were based in the last 12 months of credit-

able service preceding your retirement or your death 
as an active member.
For a SPRS Tier 2 member enrolled after May 21, 
2010, Final Compensation means the average salary 
upon which pension contributions were based for the 
last three years or any three fiscal years of mem-
bership preceding your retirement or your death as 
an active member that provides the largest possible 
benefit. 

PAYMENT OF PENSION  
TO A SURVIVING FAMILY MEMBER

Active Member
Upon your death as an active member, your surviv-
ing spouse, civil union partner, or domestic partner 
is eligible to receive a pension benefit equal to 50 
percent of your Final Compensation. 
If there is no surviving spouse or partner, the follow-
ing benefit is payable to your eligible children: 

• 50 percent of final compensation to one eligible 
child; or 

• 50 percent of final compensation to two or more 
eligible children, payable in equal shares. 

If there is no surviving spouse, partner, or children, 
a pension is paid to your eligible parents as follows:

• 40 percent of Final Compensation to two par-
ents; or

• 25 percent of Final Compensation to one parent.
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If there is no surviving spouse, partner, children, or 
parent, the employee contributions are paid to your 
beneficiary.

Retired Member
Upon your death as a retired member, your surviving 
spouse, civil union partner, or domestic partner is eli-
gible to receive a pension benefit equal to 50 percent 
of your Final Compensation. 
If there is no surviving spouse or partner, the follow-
ing benefit is payable to your eligible children: 

• 50 percent of Final Compensation to three or 
more eligible children; 

• 35 percent of Final Compensation to two eligible 
children; or 

• 20 percent of Final Compensation to one eligible 
child.

A surviving spouse/partner may continue health cov-
erage through the SHBP as long as he or she was 
covered by the retiree’s plan at the time of death. It 
will be the survivor’s responsibility to pay for the cost 
of the coverage.

GROUP LIFE INSURANCE BENEFITS
The State pays the cost of your group life insurance 
coverage. Group life insurance is provided through 
policies issued by Prudential Group Life Insurance. 
When you first enroll in the SPRS, you receive an 
individual certificate from the New Jersey Division 
of Pensions & Benefits (NJDPB) which you should 
keep with your important papers.

Active Coverage
If your death occurs in active service before retire-
ment and is not the result of an accident in the per-
formance of your regular or assigned job duties (see 
the “Accidental Death Benefits” section), your named 
beneficiary (or estate where there is no named ben-
eficiary) will receive a death benefit equal to 3 1/2 

times your Final Compensation. If you die during 
the first year of creditable service, the benefit will be 
computed at the annual rate of contribution.

Waiver of Coverage
Life insurance coverage above $50,000 provided 
through employment may be subject to federal and 
State taxes. Members of the SPRS may elect to 
waive Noncontributory Group Life Insurance benefits 
in excess of $50,000. If you waive your group life in-
surance coverage over $50,000, your death benefit 
would be limited to $50,000.
For more information see the SPRS Member Guide-
book.

Beneficiaries of Active Members
If you are unsure of your beneficiary designations, 
you may obtain this information using the Member 
Benefits Online System (MBOS). You must be regis-
tered to use MBOS at: www.nj.gov/treasury/pensions
If you are unable to access MBOS, you can make a 
request in writing for the names of the beneficiaries 
on file with the NJDPB. Write to the New Jersey Divi-
sion of Pensions & Benefits, P.O. Box 295, Trenton, 
NJ  08625-0295 and be sure to include your name, 
SPRS membership number or last four digits of your 
Social Security number, and your signature. 
If you wish to change your beneficiary designation, 
you must do so using MBOS. The new designations 
will become effective immediately. 

Retired Coverage
If you die after retirement, your named beneficiary 
(or estate where there is no named beneficiary) will 
receive group life insurance equal to 50 percent of 
your Final Compensation. 
If you retire on a Disability Retirement, the amount 
will be equal to 3 1/2 times your Final Compensation 
until age 55, when it will be reduced to 50 percent of 
your Final Compensation. 

Life insurance is in force after retirement only if you 
retired with 10 or more years of pension membership 
credit or retired on a Disability Retirement.

Beneficiaries of Retirees
Retirees can access their beneficiary information 
through MBOS. You can also make a request in writ-
ing for the names of the beneficiaries on file. Write 
to the New Jersey Division of Pensions & Benefits, 
Beneficiary Services, P.O. Box 295, Trenton, NJ 
08625-0295 and be sure to include your name, re-
tirement number or last four digits of your Social Se-
curity number, and your signature. 
Retired members can change beneficiaries through 
MBOS. 

Payment of Group Life Insurance
Group life insurance benefits for active members can 
be paid in one of several ways (group life insurance 
for retirees must be paid in a lump sum): 

• Lump Sum — A single payment to your benefi-
ciary;

• Annuity Certain — Equal installments over a se-
lected period of years; or

• Life Annuity — Paid monthly to your beneficiary 
for life. 

Death benefits cannot be paid until all the necessary 
information and claim forms have been received 
from your beneficiary by the NJDPB. 
To report a death, contact the Office of Client Ser-
vices at (609) 292-7524. 

Life Insurance on Leave of Absence
Your group life insurance coverage will continue in 
full force for an official leave of absence without pay 
under the following conditions:

http://www.nj.gov/treasury/pensions
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• Up to two years while on an official leave of ab-
sence for personal illness; 

• Up to one year while on an official leave to fulfill 
a residency requirement for an advanced de-
gree, or as a full-time student at an institution of 
higher education; or 

• Up to 93 days while on an official leave for per-
sonal reasons. 

A member who has been suspended without pay is 
covered for group life insurance during the period of 
suspension.

Conversion of Group Life Insurance
Once your group life insurance as an active employ-
ee ends (for retirement, termination, or leave of ab-
sence without pay), you have the option to convert 
your group life insurance coverage to an individual 
policy with Prudential. See the Conversion of Group 
Life Insurance Fact Sheet for more information.

ACCIDENTAL DEATH BENEFITS
If you die as a result of an accident during the perfor-
mance of your regular or assigned duties, and your 
death is not a result of your willful negligence, your 
survivors are entitled to special Accidental Death 
benefits. A report of Accidental Death must be filed 
with the NJDPB within 60 days of the accident. In 
order for a survivor to claim benefits, an Application 
for Accidental Death Benefits must be filed with the 
NJDPB within five years of the date of your death.
In the case of Accidental Death, your eligible sur-
viving spouse or partner is paid an annual pension 
equal to 70 percent of your Final Compensation (or, if 
appropriate, Adjusted Final Compensation in accor-
dance with N.J.S.A. 53:5A-14), in addition to employ-
er-paid health benefits.  
Accidental Death benefits are a lifetime benefit to 
your surviving spouse or partner, in addition to any 
group life insurance benefits which may be payable. 

If there is no eligible surviving spouse or partner, or 
your spouse or partner dies, a pension will be paid to 
your eligible dependent children, in equal shares, in 
the amount of 70 percent of your Final Compensa-
tion (or Adjusted Final Compensation, if appropriate).
This benefit also applies to your child of any age who 
is mentally or physically disabled and incapable of 
gainful employment due to this impairment. This con-
dition must be expected to last for not less than 12 
months as determined by the SPRS Medical Review 
Board.
If there is no eligible surviving spouse, partner, or 
children, a pension will be paid to an eligible surviv-
ing parent as follows:

•  40 percent of Final Compensation to two eligible 
parents; or

•  25 percent of Final Compensation to one eligible 
parent.

If a parent remarries, the benefit ceases.

This fact sheet has been produced and distributed by:

New Jersey Division of Pensions & Benefits 
P.O. Box 295, Trenton, NJ 08625-0295 

(609) 292-7524 
For the hearing impaired: TRS 711 (609) 292-6683  

www.nj.gov/treasury/pensions
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