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State Police Retirement System Death Benefits
State Police Retirement System

INTRODUCTION

Upon your death as an active or retired member of the State Police Retirement System (SPRS), two benefits
are payable. A monthly pension to a specific family member(s) and group life insurance. 

The terms used in the explanation of SPRS death benefits are defined below.

“Spouse” — A person to whom you were married on the date of your death and to whom you continued to
be married until the date of your death. A photocopy of the Marriage Certificate is required for verification. 

“Civil Union Partner” — A person of the same sex as defined by Chapter 103, P.L. 2006, with whom you
were partnered in a civil union until the date of your death. A photocopy of the New Jersey Civil Union
Certificate, or a valid certification from another jurisdiction that recognizes same-sex civil unions, is required for
verification (see Fact Sheet #75, Civil Unions, for details).

“Domestic Partner” — A person of the same sex as defined by Chapter 246, P.L. 2003, with whom you were
partnered in a domestic partnership until the date of your death. A photocopy of the New Jersey Certificate of
Domestic Partnership dated prior to February 19, 2007, or a valid certification from another jurisdiction that rec-
ognizes same-sex domestic partners, is required for verification (see Fact Sheet #71, Benefits Under the
Domestic Partnership Act, for details).

“Child” — Your unmarried child:

• Under the age of 18; or 

• 18 years of age or older and enrolled in high school;

• Any age, who at the time of your death, is disabled because of mental or physical incapacity and is inca-
pable of substantial gainful employment because of the impairment. This incapacity must last or be
expected to last for a continuous period of not less than 12 months as determined by the Medical Review
Board; or

• For an Accidental Death Benefit (see page 5), a “child” may also mean an unmarried child under the age
of 24 who is enrolled in college in a degree program for at least 12 hours per semester. 

“Parent” — Your parent who was receiving at least one-half support from you in the 12 months 
immediately preceding your death (or the accident which led to your death in cases of an Accidental Death
Benefit). The dependency of the parent will be considered terminated if he or she remarries after the death
of the member.

“Final Compensation” — For a SPRS Tier 1 member enrolled on or before May 21, 2010, Final
Compensation means the salary upon which pension contributions were based in the last 12 months of cred-
itable service preceding your retirement or your death as an active member.

For a SPRS Tier 2 member enrolled after May 21, 2010, Final Compensation means the average salary upon
which pension contributions were based for any three fiscal years of membership preceding your retirement
or your death as an active member, that provides the largest possible benefit. 
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PAYMENT OF PENSION TO A SURVIVING FAMILY MEMBER

Active Member

Upon your death as an active member, your surviving spouse, civil union partner, or eligible domestic partner
is eligible to receive a pension benefit equal to 50 percent of your Final Compensation. 

If there is no surviving spouse or partner, the following benefit is payable to your eligible children: 

• 50 percent of Final Compensation to three or more eligible children; 

• 35 percent of Final Compensation to two eligible children; or 

• 20 percent of Final Compensation to one eligible child. 

If there is no surviving spouse, partner, or children, a pension is paid to your eligible parents as follows:

• 25 percent of Final Compensation to one parent; or

• 40 percent of Final Compensation to two parents.

If there is no surviving spouse, partner, children, or parent, the employee contributions are paid to your ben-
eficiary.

Retired Member

Upon your death as a retired member, your surviving spouse, civil union partner, or eligible domestic partner
is eligible to receive a pension benefit equal to 50 percent of your Final Compensation. 

If there is no surviving spouse or partner, the following benefit is payable to your eligible children: 

• 50 percent of Final Compensation to three or more eligible children; 

• 35 percent of Final Compensation to two eligible children; or 

• 20 percent of Final Compensation to one eligible child.

A surviving spouse, civil union partner, or eligible domestic partner may continue health coverage through the
SHBP as long as he or she was listed as a dependent at the time of death. It will be the survivor’s responsi-
bility to pay for the cost of the coverage.

GROUP LIFE INSURANCE BENEFITS

The State pays the cost of your group life insurance coverage. Group life insurance is provided through poli-
cies issued by the insurance carrier (Prudential Group Life Insurance). When you first enroll in the SPRS you
receive an individual certificate from the Division of Pensions and Benefits which you should keep with your
important papers.

ACTIVE COVERAGE

If your death occurs in active service before retirement and is not the result of an accident in the perform-
ance of your regular assigned job duties (see Accidental Death on page 5), your named beneficiary (or
estate where there is no named beneficiary) will receive a death benefit equal to 3 1/2 times your Final
Compensation. 

• If you die during the first year of creditable service, the benefit will be computed at the annual rate of
contribution.



CD-0206-0916                                                                                                                                                Fact Sheet #40
A  P U B L I C A T I O N  O F  T H E  N E W  J E R S E Y  D I V I S I O N  O F  P E N S I O N S  A N D  B E N E F I T S

September 2016 — Page 3                                                                               Fact Sheet #40

Waiver of Coverage

Life insurance coverage above $50,000 provided through employment may be subject to federal and state
taxes. Members of the SPRS may elect to waive noncontributory group life insurance benefits in excess of
$50,000. 

• If you waive your group life insurance coverage over $50,000, your death benefit would be limited to
$50,000.

For more information see Fact Sheet #22, Waiver of Noncontributory Group Life Insurance over $50,000.

Beneficiaries of Active Members

If you are unsure of your beneficiary designations, you may obtain this information using the Member
Benefits Online System (MBOS). You must be registered to use MBOS at:

www.nj.gov/treasury/pensions/mbosregister.shtml

If you are unable to access MBOS you can make a request in writing for the names of the beneficiaries on
file with the Division of Pensions and Benefits. When writing be sure to include your name, SPRS member-
ship number or Social Security number, and your signature. 

If you wish to change your beneficiary designation, you must do so using MBOS. The new designations will
become effective immediately. 

RETIRED COVERAGE

If you die after retirement, your named beneficiary (or estate where there is no named beneficiary) will
receive group life insurance equal to 1/2 of your Final Compensation. 

If you retire on a Disability Retirement, the amount will be equal to 3 1/2 times your Final Compensation until
age 55, when it will be reduced to 1/2 of Final Compensation. 

Life insurance is in force after retirement only if you retired with 10 or more years of pension membership
credit or retired on a disability retirement.

Beneficiaries of Retirees

Retirees can access their beneficiary information through MBOS. You can also make a request in writing for
the names of the beneficiaries on file. Write to the Division of Pensions and Benefits, PO Box 295, Trenton,
NJ 08625-0295 and be sure to include your name, retirement number or Social Security number, and your
signature. 

To change beneficiaries, retired members can do so through MBOS, or can submit a Designation of
Beneficiary form which is available on the Division’s Web site at www.nj.gov/treasury/pensions or from the
Office of Client Services at (609) 292-7524. 

PAYMENT OF GROUP LIFE INSURANCE

Group life insurance benefits for active members can be paid in one of several ways (group life insurance for
retirees must be paid in a lump sum). 

The options are: 

• Lump Sum — A single payment to your beneficiary.
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• Annuity Certain — Equal installments over a selected period of years.

• Life Annuity — Paid monthly to your beneficiary for life. 

Death benefits cannot be paid until all the necessary information and claim forms have been received from
your beneficiary by the Division of Pensions and Benefits. 

To report a death, contact the Office of Client Services at (609) 292-7524. 

LIFE INSURANCE ON LEAVE OF ABSENCE

Your group life insurance coverage will continue in full force for an official leave of absence without pay under
the following conditions:

• Up to two years while on an official leave of absence for personal illness. 

• Up to one year while on an official leave to fulfill a residency requirement for an advanced degree or as
a full-time student at an institution of higher education. 

• Up to 93 days while on an official leave for personal reasons. 

A member who has been suspended without pay is covered for group life insurance during the period of sus-
pension.

CONVERSION OF GROUP LIFE INSURANCE

Upon Termination or Leave of Absence

If you terminate employment before retirement — or if your insured status while on a leave of absence expires
— you will continue to be covered under group life insurance for the following 31 days. During that period you
may convert your group life insurance, without medical examination, to an individual policy with Prudential.
You may select any type of individual policy customarily offered by Prudential except term life insurance or a
policy containing disability benefits. The premiums will be the same as you would pay if you were applying for
a private policy at your current age. 

Example: If your compensation in the 12 months prior to your termination or leave of absence was $30,000,
your death benefit would be $105,000 (3 1/2 x $30,000). If you decide to convert your coverage, you could
purchase up to $105,000 worth of life insurance.

At Retirement

When you retire, your group life insurance will be reduced (see page 3). Within the 31-day period following
your termination of employment, you may convert the difference between the amount of life insurance you
had before you retired and the reduced amount in effect at retirement to an individual policy. 

Example: If the base salary you earned in the twelve months prior to retirement was $30,000, your total
death benefit as an active member would be $105,000 (3 1/2 x $30,000). Once you retire, that benefit would
be reduced to $15,000. If you decide to convert your coverage, you could purchase up to $90,000 ($105,000-
$15,000) worth of life insurance.

To initiate a conversion, contact any Prudential Insurance agent or call 1-800-524-0542; if you live in New
Jersey, call 1-800-262-1112. You will need to provide the group insurance policy number (G14800) and your
individual certificate number (your SPRS membership number). If you do not convert your group life insur-
ance by the end of the 31-day period, your active coverage will terminate.
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This fact sheet has been produced and distributed by:

New Jersey Division of Pensions and Benefits • PO Box 295 • Trenton, New Jersey 08625-0295

(609) 292-7524  •  For the hearing impaired: TRS 711 (609) 292-6683 
URL: http://www.nj.gov/treasury/pensions  •  E-mail: pensions.nj@treas.nj.gov

This fact sheet is a summary and not intended to provide total information. 

Although every attempt at accuracy is made, it cannot be guaranteed.

ACCIDENTAL DEATH BENEFITS

If you die as a result of an accident during the performance of your regular or assigned duties, and your death
is not a result of your willful negligence, your survivors are entitled to special Accidental Death benefits. A
report of Accidental Death must be filed with the Division of Pensions and Benefits within 60 days of the acci-
dent. In order for a survivor to claim benefits, an Application for Accidental Death Benefits must be filed with
the Division of Pensions and Benefits within five years of the date of your death.

In the case of Accidental Death, your eligible surviving spouse or partner is paid an annual pension equal to
70 percent of your Final Compensation (or, if appropriate, Adjusted Final Compensation in accordance with
N.J.S.A. 53:5A-14), in addition to employer-paid health benefits.  

Accidental death benefits are a lifetime benefit to your surviving spouse or partner, in addition to any group
life insurance benefits which may be payable. 

If there is no eligible surviving spouse or partner or your spouse or partner dies, a pension will be paid to
your eligible dependent children, in equal shares, in the amount of 70 percent of your Final Compensation
(or Adjusted Final Compensation, if appropriate).

This benefit also applies to your child of any age who is mentally or physically disabled and incapable of gain-
ful employment due to this impairment. This condition must be expected to last for not less than 12 months
as determined by the SPRS Medical Review Board.

If there is no eligible surviving spouse, partner, or children, a pension will be paid to an eligible surviving par-
ent as follows:

• 25 percent of Final Compensation to one eligible parent; or

• 40 percent of Final Compensation to two eligible parents.

If a parent remarries, the benefit ceases.


