Governor Chris Christie • Lt.Governor Kim Guadagno  
The Official Web Site For The State of New Jersey - Department of Treasury
Global Navigation
FAQs Departments/ Agencies Services A to Z NJ Home Page
Disclaimer


NJ Income Tax - Part-Year Residents


If you are a New Jersey resident who moved into the State during the taxable year, or if you were a New Jersey resident and you moved out of the State during the taxable year, then you are considered a part-year New Jersey resident. Part-year residents may be required to file a New Jersey income tax return.

Since New Jersey does not have a special form for part-year filers, you should file using the regular New Jersey resident return, Form NJ-1040. The return provides a line for you to show the period of your residency in the State.

As a part-year resident, you should report only the income you earned or received while you were a New Jersey resident. All of the credits, exclusions, exemptions, and deductions that you qualify for as a resident must be prorated, which means that you will only be allowed to take that part of the full deduction, credit, exclusion, or exemption which represents the amount of time or percentage of the taxable year that you were a resident of the State.

If you continued to receive income from New Jersey sources after you moved out of the State, or if you received income from New Jersey sources prior to moving to the State, then you will also have to file a New Jersey nonresident tax return, Form NJ-1040NR. In this case you will file both a part-year resident return and a part-year nonresident return.

Please note, you must file a return and pay tax on the income you earned while you were a resident of the State if your filing status is single or married/CU partner, filing a separate return and your income for the entire year was more than $10,000. You must also file a return if your income for the entire year was more than $20,000 and your filing status is married/CU couple filing joint return, head of household, or qualifying widow(er)/surviving CU partner.

More information concerning the filing requirements for part-year residents is available in Tax Topic Bulletin GIT-6, Part-Year Residents.

Last Updated: Wednesday, 12/26/12



Taxation: Home | Site Index | Site Help | Legislature | Judiciary | Revenue | IRS | Other Tax Links
Treasury: Home | ServicesPeopleBusinesses | Divisions/AgenciesForms
Statewide:
NJ Home | Services A to Z | Departments/Agencies | FAQs
Copyright © State of New Jersey, 1996-
This site is maintained by the Division of Revenue and Enterprise Services.


Accessibility Statement Legal Statement Privacy Notice Contact Us Open Public Records Act