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            INTRODUCTION 
 
Tax officials at every level of New Jersey government recognize that proper assessment of property for taxation 
requires special training, knowledge, and skills. Property tax revenue has increased dramatically in recent years. 
From less than $400 million per year in 1950, the property tax was responsible for raising $23.2 billion in Fiscal Year 
2008. Clearly, the tax base upon which this amount of money is generated must be equitable. Seeking competent, 
professional assessors, the Legislature enacted the Assessor Certification and Tenure Act in 1967 to provide for the 
qualification, examination and certification of municipal assessors.  
 
Chapter 44, P.L. 1967 requires the Director, Division of Taxation to determine the qualifications of applicants for the 
office or position of municipal assessor. Applicants who successfully pass a certification exam can qualify for a Tax 
Assessor Certificate. Chapter 278, P.L. 1999 requires that licensed assessors must renew their certificates by 
participating in continuing education activities in five-year cycles initially and then, following this initial cycle, 
three-year cycles to maintain their certificates. 
 
This brochure provides applicants with current information about New Jersey’s assessor certification program. 
Applicants are encouraged to read its contents carefully.  It should answer many of the questions that are usually 
asked regarding the certification process.  
 
                                                                                         OBJECTIVES 

 
Realizing that the local property tax is the major source of revenue in State-local finance in New Jersey, that it will 
remain vital into the foreseeable future, and perceiving that the single most important factor in ensuring accurate, 
equitable administration and levying of the property tax is that the original assessment be made by a qualified 
individual, the legislature by enactment of Chapter 44, P.L. 1967 sought to develop a high level of competence in 
assessment administration. 

 
Only persons who hold a valid Tax Assessor Certificate can be appointed to the position of municipal assessor in 
New Jersey. 

 
Tenure in office as municipal assessor accrues only to holders of Tax Assessor Certificate who meet certain other 
requirements as specified by law.  

 
                 ADMINISTRATION 

 
The Director of the Division of Taxation administers the certification process for municipal assessors in New Jersey. 
The Director receives and reviews all applications for admittance to the Tax Assessor Certificate exam in accordance 
with the provisions of the law, and admits all qualified persons to the certification exam. 

 
The Director conducts C.T.A. exams in March and September of each year. Persons who successfully pass this exam 
are eligible to receive a Tax Assessor Certificate upon payment of the $25.00 certification fee. Actual receipt of the 
certification fee is a prerequisite to issuance of the certificate.   

 
The holder of a valid Tax Assessor Certificate, in effect, possesses a license for appointment to an assessor position in 
any New Jersey municipality. The certificate does not guarantee the holder an assessor position.  

 
The Director of the Division of Taxation may prescribe such requirements and forms that are deemed necessary to 
carry out the administration of this certification exam. 
 



 3 
          

 

 
REQUIREMENTS 

 
Any person, whether or not engaged in property tax assessment work, who satisfies the requirements listed below 
may file a C.T.A. exam application: 
 
1. File written application (form AC-1, revised 6-2002) at least thirty (30) calendar days prior to the announced 

date of the exam.  
2. Be at least 21 years of age. 
3. Be a citizen of the United States. 
4. Be of good moral character, good health, and free from disabling physical and mental defects. 
5. Have obtained a certificate or diploma issued after at least four years of study in an approved secondary 

school, or have received an academic education considered and accepted by the Commissioner of Education 
as fully equivalent. 

6. Have graduated from a four-year course at a college of recognized standing. However, for this requirement, 
an applicant who does not meet the college education requirement may substitute full-time experience in real 
estate appraisal work or experience in property tax assessment work on a year-for-year basis.  

 
                                                                                        APPLICATION  
To obtain a C.T.A. exam application (form AC-1), write to:      

State of New Jersey 
PO Box 251 
Trenton, NJ 08695-0251 
Attention: Assessor Certification  
Telephone: (609) 292-7813; (609) 292-9439 (fax); or download the application form at:  
http://www.state.nj.us/treasury/taxation/lpt/localtax.shtml   

 
Return the signed, notarized, completed application to Property Administration at least thirty (30) calendar days 
prior to the announced date of the exam. A $10.00 check or money order payable to the State Treasurer must 
accompany the completed application with all necessary proofs attached. The application fee is not refundable. All 
data on the application must be answered in full and the $10.00 application fee paid each time an applicant files a new 
application. The AC-1 form contains detailed instructions to assist applicants with the filing process.  
 
                                                                             EXAMINATION 

 
The examination is designed to determine the applicant’s knowledge of assessment law, practices and procedures, 
and appraisal principles and techniques.  
 
The exam is in two parts and covers the fields of property tax administration and real property appraisal. Part I (the 
morning session) covers the administrative aspects of property tax assessment. Part II (the afternoon session) covers 
real property appraisal. The exam is composed almost entirely of multiple choice questions. Applicants must 
complete each part of the exam within an allotted time of three hours. Total exam time is six hours. The exam is 
scheduled on a Saturday at the Richard J. Hughes Justice Complex, 25 Market Street, Trenton, NJ or any other 
location to be announced by the Director of the Division of Taxation. 

Enrollment in Rutgers University in-service assessment administration/real property appraisal training courses is 
excellent preparation for the C. T. A. exam but is not required. Training courses include: 
 

 Property Tax Administration-Part 1 (18 hours); 
 Property Tax Administration-Part 2 (24 hours);  
 I.A.A.O. Course 1-Fundamentals of Real Property Appraisal (33 hours); 
 I.A.A.O. Course 2- Income Approach to Valuation (33 hours) 

 
The following course is also available: Review - Appraisal and Assessment Administration (10 hours, 2 sessions).    
 
To obtain information concerning the Rutgers training courses, please contact:   
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Edward J. Bloustein School of Planning and Public Policy 
Rutgers, the State University of New Jersey 
Center for Government Services 
33 Livingston Avenue, Suite 200 
New Brunswick, NJ 08901-1979 
 
Attention: Assessment Administration 
 
Telephone:  (732) 932-3640, extension 647  
Fax Number: (732) 932-3586;  
Internet Website: www.policy.rutgers.edu/cgs (then click on “ASSESSMENT ADMINISTRATION,”        
then “schedule” and/or “brochure.”  
 

Candidates should bring a supply of pencils and a calculator to the examination center. Calculators permitted 
should be able to perform only basic, arithmetical functions such as addition, subtraction, multiplication, division, 
percent, square root and basic memory. HP-12C’s, personal digital assistants (PDA’s), iPods, or BlackBerries are not 
permitted. This policy prevents applicants from entering the examination center with calculators with word 
capabilities. Two to three weeks before the exam date, candidates will receive an approval letter that contains the 
Division’s guidelines regarding calculator use during the exam. The proctors supply all other necessary materials. 
Candidates may not bring textbooks, booklets, papers, laptop computers, headsets, cell phones, pagers, or other 
supplies into the exam center. 

 
Candidates who do not pass the exam may request an exam review by writing to Property Administration within 
two months of the date that appears on the notification of failure. The mailing address appears on Page 4 of this 
brochure. In your correspondence, include several alternative days of the week or dates that are convenient for you 
to attend the review. All reviews are held on the 6th Floor of the Taxation Building, 50 Barrack Street, Trenton, NJ 
08695-0251. You will receive confirmation of the time and date of your review.  

 
            SAMPLE EXAM QUESTIONS 

 
When choosing answers to multiple choice questions on the exam, applicants must select only one answer; choosing 
two or more answers to one question means that both answers will be scored as incorrect. Several alternative 
answers may appear correct or partly correct, but candidates must choose the one answer that, in the context of the 
question, is most nearly correct. In some cases, the correct answer is not the best of all conceivable answers to the 
question, but if that answer is the best of the five alternatives offered, it is the correct answer. 
  
Example 1. 
 
A new claimant for the $250 property tax deduction accorded to senior citizens, disabled persons, and surviving spouses must file an 
application either on or before 
 

A. October 1 of pretax year with the assessor, or on or 
before December 31 of the tax year with the collector. 
 

B. December 31 of the pretax year with the assessor,  
or during the tax year with the collector. 
 

C. December 31 of the pretax year with the collector,  
or during the tax year with the assessor. 
 

D. October 1 of the pretax year with the assessor, or on 
or before June 1 of the tax year with the collector. 
 

  E. none of the above. 
 
The correct answer to Example 1 is “B.” 
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Example 2. 
 
The following breakdown of aggregate assessed valuation appears on an SR-3A that a municipal assessor filed with his respective county 
board of taxation: 
 
  1- VACANT LAND       $   1,732,500 
  2- RESIDENTIAL              34,567,950 
  3a-FARM, REGULAR                           2,032,450 
  3b-FARM, QUALIFIED                                          302,500 
  4a-(COMMERCIAL); 4b (INDUSTRIAL); 4c (APARTMENT)                             12,848,900 
  Total                                                                      $ 51,484,300 
 
Usable sales in the municipality produce a weighted ratio of 89.67% for the residential classification. Compute the true value of the residential 
classification. 
 

A. $ 46,165,971 
 
B. $ 30,997,080  

 
C. $ 38,550,184 

 
D. $ 34,567,950 

 
E. $ 57,415,301 

 
The correct answer to Example 2 is “C.” 
 
    TOTAL ASSESSED VALUATION OF RESIDENTIAL CLASS        ÷           DIRECTOR’S RATIO         =       TRUE VALUE 
 

                 $ 34,567,950                 ÷                   89.67% (.8967)                =           $ 38,550,184   
 
Example 3. 
 
In construction terminology, a curtain wall is defined as  
 

A. a wall that supports its own weight plus 
the weight of the walls and roof above it. 
 

B. a movable partition of asbestos material forming 
a curtain for an elevated stage-like area. 
 

C. the front and rear walls  
of a rectangular building. 

 
D. the side walls of a 

rectangular building. 
  
E. a wall that does not support any of the  

building weight other than its own weight. 
 
The correct answer to Example 3 is “E.” 
 
Example 4. 
 
A commercial property recently sold for $708,000. A nearby commercial property similar to the first sold for $890,400. The total 
annual income for the first property was $118,000, while the second generated $148,400 of total annual income. The gross income 
multiplier indicated is 
 

A.   5. 
 
B.   7. 

 
C. 10. 

 
D.   6. 

 
E.   72. 

 
The correct answer to Example 4 is “D.” 
 
SALES PRICE   ÷      GROSS INCOME          =    GROSS INCOME MULTIPLIER 
     
    $ 708,000        ÷             $ 118,000      =            6 
    $ 890,400        ÷             $ 148,400      =            6 
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Example 5. 
 
In appraising a particular income-producing property, you have found the following information: 
 
Net income before recapture   = $ 211,000 
Discount rate applicable    = 7% 
Land value by comparison   = $ 300,000 
Remaining economic life of building  = 40 years 
 
From the data shown above, your indication of value of the real estate by the income approach would be 
 

A. $ 2,300,000. 
 
B. $ 2,221,000. 

 
C. $ 3,014,000. 

 
D. $ 2,000,000. 

 
E. $ 2,070,000. 

 
The correct answer to Example 5 is “A.”  
 

BUILDING RESIDUAL TECHNIQUE 
 
Net income before recapture                  $     211,000 
Net income attributable to land = $300,000 X 7% (.07)                  -     21,000 
Net income attributable to building                              $     190,000 
 
__1__                      =_1_   =    .025 
R.E.L. (remaining economic life of building)                     40   
 
Discount rate attributable                           = 7%     + .070 
Capitalization rate                    .095 
 
_I_        $190,000 
RV   =       .095        = Building value    $ 2,000,000 
                                     Land value by comparison      =            + $    300,000 
                                     Total value of real estate                $  2,300,000 
 
 
******************************************************************************************************************************** 

SUGGESTED STUDY MATERIALS 
 

1. HANDBOOK FOR NEW JERSEY ASSESSORS 
Published and sold by Division of Taxation. $30.00 by mail; $26.00 in person. Contact Property Administration 
personnel at (609) 292-7237 for purchase. 

  
2. REAL PROPERTY APPRAISAL MANUAL FOR NEW JERSEY ASSESSORS, THIRD EDITION 

Published and sold by Division of Taxation. $28.00 by mail; $25.00 in person. Contact Property Administration 
personnel at (609) 292-7237 for purchase. 
 

3. ASSESSORS’ LAW MANUAL 
Published by Division of Taxation. Contact Property Administration personnel at (609) 292-7237.    

 
4. PROPERTY ADMINISTRATION WORK CALENDAR 

Published by Property Administration, Division of Taxation and can be downloaded at 
http://www.state.nj.us/treasury/taxation/lpt/localtax.shtml.   
 

5. PROPERTY ASSESSMENT VALUATION  
Published by International Association of Assessing Officers. www.iaao.org   
 

314 West 10th Street 
Kansas City, MO 64105-1616 

    (800) 616-4229 (toll free); (816) 701-8100; (816) 701-8149 (fax) 
 
6. PROPERTY APPRAISAL AND ASSESSMENT ADMINISTRATION 

Published by International Association of Assessing Officers (see contact information above).         



 7 
          

 

       
 
7. THE APPRAISAL OF REAL ESTATE 

Published by National Association of Independent Fee Appraisers, Inc. www.naifa.com                                                        
e-mail address: info@naifa.com                 401 North Michigan Avenue 

      Suite 2200 
Chicago, IL 60611 

      (312) 321-6830; (312) 673-6652 (fax) 
 
8. INCOME PROPERTY APPRAISING 

Published by National Association of Independent Fee Appraisers, Inc. 
   
************************************************************************************************************************************************** 

       
     CONTINUING EDUCATION REQUIREMENTS FOR ASSESSORS 

 
Chapter 278, P.L. 1999, enacted on December 8, 1999, provides that all tax assessor certificates now issued will expire in five years 
from the issuance date. Assessors must complete continuing education requirements of fifty (50) continuing education credit 
hours over this initial five-year period in order to maintain certification. Tax assessor certificates issued prior to July 1, 2000 
expired five years from that date (June 30, 2005) and must also have been renewed. The initial five-year period for tax assessor 
certificates issued after July 1, 2000 begins on the date of all newly issued certificates. In order to track the initial five-year period 
in which the aforementioned fifty (50) continuing education credit hours are required, the Division of Taxation issues certificates 
following the March exam every year dated July 1 of that year and, following the September exam every year, dated January 1 
of the year immediately following the year in which you passed the September exam. Assessors can         
find approved courses and additional information regarding Continuing Education and Recertification at 
http://www.state.nj.us/treasury/taxation/lpt/localtax.shtml. Beyond this initial five-year period, renewal is required every 
three years, provided that assessors have obtained continuing education of thirty credit hours over three years.  

 
CHAPTER 44, LAWS OF 1967 

APPROVED MAY 4, 1967 
(SENATE BILL NO. 252, AS AMENDED) 

 
“AN ACT TO PROVIDE FOR THE QUALIFICATION, CERTIFICATION AND EXAMINATION OF TAX ASSESSORS AND 
SUPPLEMENTING TITLE 54 OF THE REVISED STATUTES. 

WHEREAS, THE LOCAL PROPERTY TAX IS THE MAJOR SOURCE OF REVENUE IN THE STATE–LOCAL 
FINANCE IN THE NEW JERSEY; AND  

WHEREAS, IT IS CERTAIN THAT THE PROPERTY TAX WILL REMAIN VITALLY IMPORTANT TO NEW JERSEY IN 
THE FORESEEABLE FUTURE; AND  

WHEREAS, IT IS ESSENTIAL THAT THE BURDEN OF THE PROPERTY TAX BE DISTRIBUTED EQUITABLY 
AMONG THE TAXPAYERS IN ACCORDANCE WITH THE LAW; AND 

WHEREAS, IT IS RECOGNIZED THAT NO OTHER SINGLE FACTOR IS SO IMPORTANT IN INSURING THE 
COMPETENT AND EQUITABLE ADMINISTRATION OF THE PROPERTY TAX AS THAT THE TAX ASSESSMENT BE MADE 
BY A WELL-QUALIFIED PERSON. 
 BE IT ENACTED BY THE SENATE AND GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF THE STATE OF NEW JERSEY: 

N.J.S.A. 54:1-35.25. COMMENCING IN 1968, THE DIRECTOR OF THE DIVISION OF TAXATION SHALL, 
ANNUALLY, IN MARCH AND SEPTEMBER OF EACH YEAR, HOLD EXAMINATIONS OF APPLICANTS FOR 
CERTIFICATION AS TAX ASSESSOR. AN APPLICANT FOR EXAMINATION SHALL, NOT LESS THAN 30 DAYS BEFORE 
AN EXAMINATION, PRESENT TO THE DIRECTOR WRITTEN APPLICATION ON FORMS PROVIDED BY THE DIVISION 
TOGETHER WITH SATISFACTORY PROOF THAT THE APPLICANT IS NOT LESS THAN 21 YEARS OF AGE, IS A CITIZEN 
OF THE UNITED STATES, IS OF GOOD HEALTH AND FREE FROM DISABLING PHYSICAL AND MENTAL DEFECTS, IS 
OF GOOD MORAL CHARACTER, HAS OBTAINED A CERTIFICATE OR DIPLOMA ISSUED AFTER AT LEAST 4 YEARS OF 
STUDY IN AN APPROVED SECONDARY SCHOOL OR HAS RECEIVED AN ACADEMIC EDUCATION CONSIDERED AND 
ACCEPTED BY THE COMMISSIONER OF EDUCATION AS FULLY EQUIVALENT, AND HAS GRADUATED FROM A 4-
YEAR COURSE AT A COLLEGE OF RECOGNIZED STANDING. AN APPLICANT WHO DOES NOT MEET THE COLLEGE 
EDUCATION REQUIREMENT MAY SUBSTITUTE FULL-TIME EXPERIENCE IN REAL ESTATE APPRAISAL WORK OR 
EXPERIENCE IN PROPERTY TAX ASSESSMENT WORK ON A YEAR-FOR-YEAR BASIS. SUCH APPLICATION SHALL NOT 
BE CONSIDERED BY THE DIRECTOR UNLESS ACCOMPANIED BY PAYMENT OF A FEE IN THE SUM OF $10.00 TO THE 
ORDER OF THE STATE TREASURER. EXAMINATIONS SHALL BE WRITTEN, OR BOTH WRITTEN AND ORAL, SHALL BE 
OF SUCH CHARACTER AS FAIRLY TO TEST AND DETERMINE THE QUALIFICATIONS, FITNESS AND ABILITY OF THE 
PERSON TESTED ACTUALLY TO PERFORM THE DUTIES OF ASSESSOR, AND SHALL BE WEIGHTED IN A MANNER TO 
BE PRESCRIBED BY THE DIRECTOR. 
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N.J.S.A. 54:1-35.25b.  
(1) ALL TAX ASSESSOR CERTIFICATES SHALL BE RENEWED UPON APPLICATION, PAYMENT OF THE REQUIRED 

RENEWAL FEE, AND VERIFICATION THAT THE APPLICANT HAS MET CONTINUING EDUCATION 
REQUIREMENTS, AS SET FORTH IN PARAGRAPH (2) OF THIS SUBSECTION. AFTER THE INITIAL EXPIRATION OF 
ANY TAX ASSESSOR CERTIFICATES FOLLOWING THE EFFECTIVE DATE OF P.L. 1999, c. 278 (C. 54:35.25b ET AL.), 
EACH RENEWAL PERIOD SHALL THEREAFTER BE FOR A PERIOD OF THREE YEARS. THE RENEWAL DATE 
SHALL BE 30 DAYS PRIOR TO THE EXPIRATION DATE OF THE TAX ASSESSOR CERTIFICATE. 

 
(2) PRIOR TO THE FIRST RENEWAL DATE OF A TAX ASSESSOR CERTIFICATE PURSUANT TO P.L. 1999, c.278 (C. 54:1-

35.25b ET AL.) EVERY APPLICANT FOR RENEWAL SHALL, ON A FORM PRESCRIBED BY THE DIRECTOR OF THE 
DIVISION OF TAXATION, FURNISH PROOF OF HAVING EARNED A TOTAL OF AT LEAST 50 CONTINUING 
EDUCATION CREDIT HOURS OVER THE PRIOR FIVE-YEAR PERIOD. THEREAFTER, PRIOR TO EACH SUCCEEDING 
RENEWAL DATE OF A TAX ASSESSOR CERTIFICATE, EVERY APPLICANT FOR RENEWAL SHALL, ON A FORM 
PRESCRIBED BY THE DIRECTOR OF THE DIVISION OF TAXATION, FURNISH PROOF OF HAVING EARNED A 
TOTAL OF AT LEAST 30 CONTINUING EDUCATION CREDIT HOURS OVER THE PRIOR THREE-YEAR PERIOD. FOR 
THE PURPOSES OF THIS SECTION, ONE CONTINUING EDUCATION CREDIT HOUR MEANS 50 MINUTES OF 
CLASSROOM OR LECTURE TIME. AFTER VERIFYING THAT THE APPLICANT HAS FULFILLED THE CONTINUING 
EDUCATION REQUIREMENT AND AFTER RECEIVING A FEE OF NOT LESS THAN $50 PAID BY THE APPLICANT 
TO THE ORDER OF THE TREASURER OF THE STATE OF NEW JERSEY, THE DIRECTOR OF THE DIVISION OF 
TAXATION SHALL RENEW THE TAX ASSESSOR CERTIFICATE. THE DIRECTOR OF THE DIVISION OF TAXATION 
SHALL DETERMINE, BY REGULATION, THE CIRCUMSTANCES UNDER WHICH AN EXTENSION OF TIME TO 
COMPLETE THE REQUIREMENTS FOR CONTINUING EDUCATION MAY BE GRANTED BY THE DIRECTOR. 

 
b. THERE IS ESTABLISHED WITHIN THE DIVISION OF TAXATION IN THE DEPARTMENT OF THE TREASURY 

THE TAX ASSESSOR CONTINUING EDUCATION ELIGIBILITY BOARD. THE BOARD SHALL CONSIST OF SIX 
MEMBERS AND BE COMPRISED AS FOLLOWS: THE DIRECTOR OF THE DIVISION OF TAXATION OR HIS 
DESIGNEE, THE PRESIDENT OF THE ASSOCIATION OF MUNICIPAL ASSESSORS, AND THE PRESIDENT OF 
THE ASSOCIATION OF COUNTY TAX BOARD COMMISSIONERS AND COUNTY TAX ADMINISTRATORS 
SHALL BE PERMANENT MEMBERS. THE DIRECTOR OF THE DIVISION OF TAXATION AND THE PRESIDENT 
OF THE ASSOCIATION OF MUNICIPAL ASSESSORS SHALL EACH APPOINT AN ADDITIONAL MEMBER WHO 
SHALL SERVE FOR A TERM OF TWO YEARS. THE DIRECTOR OF GOVERNMENT SERVICES AT RUTGERS 
UNIVERSITY SHALL SERVE EX OFFICIO. ANY VACANCY IN THE MEMBERSHIP OF THE BOARD SHALL BE 
FILLED FOR THE UNEXPIRED TERM IN THE MANNER PROVIDED BY THE ORIGINAL APPOINTMENT. THE 
FIRST MEETING OF THE BOARD SHALL BE HELD AT THE CALL OF THE DIRECTOR OF THE DIVISION OF 
TAXATION, AND THEREAFTER THE BOARD SHALL MEET ANNUALLY AND SHALL HOLD AT LEAST ONE 
ADDITIONAL MEETING WITHIN EACH 12-MONTH PERIOD. THE BOARD SHALL ESTABLISH THE 
CURRICULUM AREAS AND THE NUMBER OF HOURS IN EACH CURRICULUM AREA THAT AN ASSESSOR 
SHALL COMPLETE IN ORDER TO RENEW CERTIFICATION. 

 
c. WHEN THE HOLDER OF A TAX ASSESSOR CERTIFICATE HAS ALLOWED THE CERTIFICATE TO LAPSE BY 

FAILING TO RENEW THE CERTIFICATE, A NEW APPLICATION AND CERTIFICATE SHALL BE REQUIRED. IF 
APPLICATION IS MADE WITHIN SIX MONTHS OF THE EXPIRATION OF THE CERTIFICATE, THEN 
APPLICATION MAY BE MADE IN THE SAME MANNER AS A RENEWAL, BUT WITH AN ADDITIONAL LATE 
RENEWAL FEE OF $50. 

 
d. THE DIRECTOR OF THE DIVISION OF TAXATION, IN ACCORDANCE WITH THE “ADMINISTRATIVE 

PROCEDURE ACT,” P.L. 1968, c.410 (C.52:14B-1 ET SEQ.), SHALL ADOPT SUCH REGULATIONS AS ARE 
NECESSARY TO EFFECTUATE THE PROVISIONS OF THIS SECTION. 

  
N.J.S.A. 54:1-35.26. UPON THE SUCCESSFUL COMPLETION OF THE EXAMINATION BY AN APPLICANT, A TAX 
ASSESSOR CERTIFICATE SHALL BE ISSUED TO HIM, UPON THE PAYMENT OF AN ADDITIONAL FEE OF $25.00 TO THE 
ORDER OF THE STATE TREASURER.  
N.J.S.A. 54:1-35.27. THE DIRECTOR SHALL PRESERVE THE APPLICATIONS, TEST PAPERS AND OTHER WORK, EXCEPT 
SUCH AS MAY BE RETURNED TO THE APPLICANTS AND SHALL KEEP A RECORD OF THE RESULTS OF THE 
EXAMINATIONS AND THE DATE OF ISSUANCE OF TAX ASSESSOR CERTIFICATES.  AFTER 10 YEARS, SUCH RECORDS 
MAY AT THE DISCRETION OF THE DIRECTOR BE DESTROYED. 
N.J.S.A. 54:1-35.28. IN THE CASE OF AN APPLICANT WHO, ON OR AFTER EFFECTIVE DATE OF THIS ACT BUT NOT 
LATER THAN JUNE 30, 1969, WHILE ACTUALLY IN OFFICE AS AN ASSESSOR OR PERFORMING THE DUTIES OF AN 
ASSESSOR, WHETHER IN THE CLASSIFIED OR UNCLASSIFIED SERVICE UNDER TITLE 11, CIVIL SERVICE, OR         
IN A MUNICIPALITY WHICH HAS NOT ADOPTED TITLE 11, CIVIL SERVICE, SHALL FURNISH PROOF THAT HE HAS  
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RECEIVED CERTIFICATES INDICATING SATISFACTORY COMPLETION ON OR BEFORE JUNE 30, 1969 OF TRAINING 
COURSES HERETOFORE DESIGNATED AS PRINCIPLES OF MUNICIPAL ASSESSING I AND PRINCIPLES OF MUNICIPAL 
ASSESSING II, OR SUCH OTHER TRAINING COURSES AS ARE CERTIFIED AS THEIR EQUIVALENT BY RUTGERS, THE 
STATE UNIVERSITY, THE DIRECTOR SHALL ISSUE TO SUCH APPLICANT A TAX ASSESSOR CERTIFICATE WITHOUT 
EXAMINATION, UPON PAYMENT OF AN ADDITIONAL FEE OF $25.00 TO THE ORDER OF THE STATE TREASURER. 
 
N.J.S.A. 54:1-35.29. ANY TAX ASSESSOR CERTIFICATE MAY BE REVOKED OR SUSPENDED BY THE DIRECTOR FOR 
DISHONEST PRACTICES, OR WILLFUL OR INTENTIONAL FAILURE, NEGLECT OR REFUSAL TO COMPLY WITH THE 
CONSTITUTION AND LAWS RELATING TO THE ASSESSMENT AND COLLECTION OF TAXES, OR OTHER GOOD 
CAUSE. FAILURE TO COMPLY WITH REQUIREMENTS FOR CONTINUING EDUCATION PURSUANT TO SECTION 1 OF 
P.L. 1999, c. 278 (C. 54:1-35.25b) SHALL CAUSE THE AUTOMATIC REVOCATION, WITHOUT A HEARING, OF THE TAX 
ASSESSOR CERTIFICATE. OTHERWISE, NO CERTIFICATE SHALL BE REVOKED OR SUSPENDED EXCEPT UPON A 
PROPER HEARING BEFORE THE DIRECTOR OR HIS DESIGNEE AFTER DUE NOTICE. IF THE TAX ASSESSOR 
CERTIFICATE OF A PERSON SERVING AS ASSESSOR SHALL BE REVOKED, SUCH PERSON SHALL BE REMOVED FROM 
OFFICE BY THE DIRECTOR, HIS OFFICE SHALL BE DECLARED VACANT, AND SUCH PERSON SHALL NOT BE 
ELIGIBLE TO HOLD THAT OFFICE FOR A PERIOD OF 5 YEARS FROM THE DATE OF HIS REMOVAL. 
N.J.S.A. 54:1-35.30. EXCEPT AS HEREIN OTHERWISE PROVIDED, NO PERSON SHALL ON AND AFTER JULY 1, 1971, BE 
APPOINTED OR REAPPOINTED AS TAX ASSESSOR IN ANY MUNICIPALITY IN THIS STATE UNLESS HE SHALL HOLD 
A TAX ASSESSOR CERTIFICATE. THE FOREGOING LIMITATIONS SHALL NOT APPLY TO AN ASSESSOR WHO SHALL 
HAVE SERVED CONTINUOUSLY IN OFFICE FROM JULY 1, 1967 TO THE DATE OF REAPPOINTMENT. 
N.J.S.A. 54:1-35.31. NOTWITHSTANDING THE PROVISIONS OF ANY OTHER LAW TO THE CONTRARY, EVERY PERSON  
(1) WHO, UPON REAPPOINTMENT OR RE-ELECTION SUBSEQUENT TO HAVING RECEIVED A TAX ASSESSOR 

CERTIFICATE AND HAVING SERVED AS TAX ASSESSOR OR PERFORMED THE DUTIES OF ASSESSOR FOR NOT 
LESS THAN 4 CONSECUTIVE YEARS IMMEDIATELY PRIOR TO SUCH REAPPOINTMENT OR RE-ELECTION, OR 

(2) WHO, ON OR BEFORE JUNE 30, 1969, SHALL HAVE RECEIVED A TAX ASSESSOR CERTIFICATE WHILE 
ACTUALLY IN OFFICE AS ASSESSOR OR PERFORMING THE DUTIES OF AN ASSESSOR, AND WHO, ON OR 
BEFORE JUNE 30, 1969, SHALL HAVE SERVED AS ASSESSOR OR PERFORMED THE DUTIES OF ASSESSOR FOR 
NOT LESS THAN 4 CONSECUTIVE YEARS, SHALL HOLD HIS POSITION DURING GOOD BEHAVIOR AND 
EFFICIENCY AND COMPLIANCE WITH REQUIREMENTS FOR CONTINUING EDUCATION PURSUANT TO 
SECTION 1 OF P.L. 1999, c. 278 (C. 54:1-35.25b), NOTWITHSTANDING THAT SUCH REAPPOINTMENT OR RE-
ELECTION WAS FOR A FIXED TERM OF YEARS, AND HE SHALL NOT BE REMOVED THEREFROM FOR 
POLITICAL REASONS BUT ONLY FOR GOOD CAUSE SHOWN AND AFTER A PROPER HEARING BEFORE THE 
DIRECTOR OR HIS DESIGNEE AFTER DUE NOTICE. A PERSON WHO WAS FORMERLY AN ASSESSOR, A 
SECRETARY OF A BOARD OF ASSESSORS OR A MEMBER OF A BOARD OF ASSESSORS WHO SHALL HAVE 
BECOME BY VIRTUE OF THIS AMENDATORY AND SUPPLEMENTARY ACT, P.L. 1981, C. 393, A DEPUTY TAX 
ASSESSOR OR AN ASSESSOR, AND WHO HAS NOT MET THE REQUIREMENTS OF (1) OR (2) ABOVE SHALL NOT 
BE REMOVED DURING HIS TERM IN OFFICE FOR POLITICAL REASONS, BUT ONLY FOR GOOD CAUSE SHOWN 
AND AFTER A PROPER HEARING BEFORE THE DIRECTOR OR HIS DESIGNEE AFTER DUE NOTICE. IN 
MUNICIPALITIES OPERATING UNDER FORMS OF GOVERNMENT WHERE THE ASSESSOR SERVED AT THE 
PLEASURE OF THE APPOINTING AUTHORITY FOR AN UNLIMITED TERM OF OFFICE, RECEIPT OF A TAX 
ASSESSOR CERTIFICATE AND CONTINUANCE IN SERVICE AS ASSESSOR AFTER COMPLETION OF 4 
CONSECUTIVE YEARS OF SERVICE SHALL BE DEEMED THE EQUIVALENT OF REAPPOINTMENT. THE 
PROVISIONS OF THIS SECTION SHALL APPLY TO EVERY PERSON ACTUALLY IN OFFICE AS ASSESSOR OR 
PERFORMING THE DUTIES OF AN ASSESSOR WHETHER IN THE CLASSIFIED SERVICE UNDER TITLE 11A, 
CIVIL SERVICE, OR IN A MUNICIPALITY WHICH HAS NOT ADOPTED TITLE 11A, CIVIL SERVICE. FOR THE 
PURPOSES OF THIS SECTION, “GOOD CAUSE” SHALL INCLUDE THE FAILURE OF A TAX ASSESSOR TO MEET 
THE CONTINUING EDUCATION REQUIREMENT REQUIRED BY SECTION 1 OF P.L. 1999, c. 278 (C.54:1-35.25b), 
AND SUCH FAILURE SHALL RENDER A TAX ASSESSOR INELIGIBLE FOR SERVICE AS A TAX ASSESSOR. 

N.J.S.A. 54:1-35.32. ON AND AFTER JULY 1, 1969 NO ASSESSOR SHALL ACQUIRE TENURE OF OFFICE UNDER ANY LAW 
OF THIS STATE UNLESS HE SHALL HAVE RECEIVED A TAX ASSESSOR CERTIFICATE. NOTHING HEREIN CONTAINED 
SHALL BE CONSTRUED TO AFFECT TENURE OF OFFICE THERETOFORE ACQUIRED NOR TO AFFECT IN ANY WAY 
THE UNEXPIRED TERM OF OFFICE OF ANY ASSESSOR THERETOFORE APPOINTED OR ELECTED, NOR SHALL ANY 
PROVISION HEREIN MAKE VOID OR CHANGE ANY PROVISION OF TITLE 11, CIVIL SERVICE, NOR ANY OF THE 
PROVISIONS OF ANY OTHER TENURE OF OFFICE ACT, EXCEPT WITH RESPECT TO THE ACQUISITION OF TENURE BY 
AN ASSESSOR SUBSEQUENT TO JUNE 30, 1969. 
N.J.S.A. 54:1-35.33. NO PERSON SHALL BE ELIGIBLE TO HOLD THE OFFICE OF JOINT MUNICIPAL TAX ASSESSOR 
UNLESS HE SHALL BE THE HOLDER OF A TAX ASSESSOR CERTIFICATE.  
N.J.S.A. 54:1-35.34. THE DIRECTOR MAY PROMULGATE SUCH RULES AND REGULATIONS AND PRESCRIBE SUCH 
FORMS AS HE SHALL DEEM NECESSARY TO IMPLEMENT THIS ACT.”            SEE RULES AT N.J.A.C. 18:17-1 et seq. 


