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New Property Tax 
Deduction/Credit 

 

New legislation, approved July 9, 
1996, provides a deduction on the 
State income tax return for home-
owners and tenants who pay 
property taxes, either directly or 
through rent, on their principal 
residence in New Jersey. This 
benefit is in addition to the 
existing Homestead Property Tax 
Rebate which continues to be 
available to many New Jersey 
residents. Eligible residents may 
claim either a deduction from 
income or a refundable credit.  

Benefits will be phased in over a 
three year period. For the 1996 
tax year, eligible residents may 
deduct 50% of their first $5,000 
of property taxes paid or $2,500, 
whichever is less. For tenants, 
18% of the rent paid during the 
year is considered property taxes 
paid. As a minimum benefit to 
taxpayers, the law provides for a 
refundable credit of $25. 

For 1997, the deduction will be 
the lesser of 75% of the first 
$7,500 of property taxes paid (for 
tenants, 18% of rent) or $5,625; 
the minimum benefit will be 
$37.50. For 1998 and thereafter, 
the deduction will be the lesser of 
total property taxes paid (for 
tenants, 18% of rent) or $10,000; 
the minimum benefit will be $50. 

For taxpayers not required to file 
an income tax return, who are 65 
years of age or older, or blind/ 
disabled, the law provides a 
refundable credit of $25 for 1996, 

$37.50 for 1997 and $50 for 1998 
and thereafter.  

Further details on calculating the 
deduction and credit will appear 
in the next issue of the New 
Jersey State Tax News.  

Amnesty Generates 
$359 Million 
New Jersey’s recently concluded 
Tax Amnesty program has gener-
ated a total of $359 million, an 
amount that will offset the un-
expected shortfall from Corpora-
tion Business Tax revenue, State 
Treasurer Brian W. Clymer 

continued on page 2 

important 
Phone 

numbers 
Tax Hotline…………………….. 609-588-2200 
Automated Tax Info……………. 800-323-4400 
Speaker Programs……………… 609-984-4101 
NJ TaxFax……………………… 609-588-4500 

Alcoholic Bev. Tax…………….. 609-984-4121 
Corp. Liens, Mergers, Withdrawals 
     & Dissolutions……………… 609-292-5323 
Director’s Office……………….. 609-292-5185 
Inheritance Tax………………… 609-292-5033 
Local Property Tax…………….. 609-292-7221 
Motor Fuels Tax Refunds……… 609-292-7018 
Public Utility Tax……………… 609-633-2576 
Tax. Registration………………. 609-292-1730 

http://www.state.nj.us/treasury/taxation/ 
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announced. Clymer said the 
program was one of the most 
effective state tax amnesty efforts 
of its kind and cited four main 
reasons for its success: 

“We had a good ‘carrot’ in the 
form of a waiver of interest and 
penalties, and a good ‘stick’ in the 
form of an additional, unabatable 
five percent penalty for people 
who chose not to participate. 
Second, I think the Division’s 
reputation for having one of the 
best and most comprehensive 
enforcement programs in the 
nation forced people to take us 
seriously when we talked about the 
consequences of not paying. 

“Third, we had an exceptional 
public awareness program, high-
lighted by our very memorable 
advertising campaign and our 
effective outreach and public 
relations efforts. And finally, 
through our simplified filing pro-
cess, we made it very easy for 
people to take advantage of the 
Amnesty opportunity,” he said. 

Clymer said the standard method 
of measuring the success of state 
Amnesty programs is to take the 
amount of revenue raised and 
divide it by the state’s total 
population. “Before New Jersey’s 
1996 Amnesty, the most successful 
state effort was the one undertaken 
by the state of New York in 1986 
that netted $401.3 million or 
$22.80 per capita. Our per capita 
figure is $45.30, far outpacing any 
other program,” he said. 

“Now that Amnesty is over, tens of 
thousands of people and 
companies have cleared up their 
obligations, new taxpayers have 
come on the rolls and we’ve 
resolved many of our backlogged 
cases. We will be able to turn our 

Division’s attention — and 
considerable audit and compliance 
efforts — to catching the truly hard 
core tax cheats,” said Clymer. 

amnesty - from page 1 

Division of Taxation Director 
Richard D. Gardiner noted that the 
Division had maintained its usually 
stringent enforcement efforts 
throughout the campaign. Among 
the cases he cited were: the seizure 
of two truckloads of furniture from 
North Carolina that was being sold 
on the roadside in Ocean County 
by people who were not registered 
to do business in New Jersey; a 
sweep of merchants in Union 
City’s Urban Enterprise Zone that 
found that 73 of the 387 merchants 
were unregistered; and ongoing 
sweeps of flea markets and 
auctions that resulted in the 
registration of more than 2,000 
new taxpayers during a three-
month period. 

“Our revenue agents are out there 
every day, everywhere. So if you 
think you can continue to avoid 
paying taxes, you should know we 
are — as the slogan said — ‘going 
to get you’.” 

Gardiner said considerable atten-
tion will continue to be focused on 
cash businesses by audit and 
compliance activities. “Cash busi-
nesses are still the major culprits 
when it comes to failing to remit 
sales tax to the Division,” he said, 
adding that the Division expects to 
add 50 new employees to its audit 
activities to focus exclusively on 
businesses, such as restaurants, 
liquor stores and auto shops, that 
the Division believes are under-
reporting the taxes they collect. 

More than 63,000 individuals and 
48,000 companies took advantage 
of Amnesty. The average payment 
for businesses was about $5,300, 
and the average payment for 
individuals was approximately 

$1,100. Gardiner said the 
Division received 48 checks for 
more than $500,000 in back tax 
payments. He said the smallest 
check was for 1 cent, “which was 
clearly from someone with a very 
active conscience.” 

Almost 193,000 people called the 
Amnesty hotline seeking infor-
mation on the program. In addi-
tion, nearly 7,000 people visited 

continued on page 3
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the Division’s regional offices on 
Amnesty-related matters (almost 
2,000 of them on June 1, the last 
day of the program) and more than 
8,700 people accessed the Am-
nesty home page on the Internet. 
More than $700,000 was collected 
through credit card transactions 
which was made available as a 
payment method during the last 
month of the program. 

Gardiner said that while the 
Legislature had appropriated $10 
million to the Division to run the 
Amnesty program, the total cost of 
advertising and administration for 
the program is not expected to 
reach that amount. He added that 
any funds not used for the program 
will be returned to the State’s 
General Fund. 

“Even if you assumed that we 
would spend the entire $10 mil-
lion, that would be a 35-1 return 
for the State,” said Gardiner. 
“Anyone in the collection business 
will tell you that is a phenomenal 
ratio.” 

Treasurer Clymer cited the com-
mitment of Taxation staff and 
recognized them for their success 
with the Tax Amnesty Program. 

“I’d like to commend the staff of 
the Division of Taxation for their 
outstanding efforts on this proj-
ect,” Clymer said. “Designing and 
implementing a huge program like 
Tax Amnesty, especially one that 
generates the public response that 
this one did, places a tremendous 
burden on any staff, and everyone 
at the Division rose to the occasion 
and performed superbly.”  

Rebate Checks 
Issued July 31 

amnesty - from page 2 amnesty - from page 2 

Governor Christie Whitman stres-
sed her commitment to returning 
more money to the hands of the 
taxpayers on July 23 when she 
toured the Division of Taxation 
facilities where homestead rebate 
checks were being processed for 
distribution at the end of July. 

“This administration has made a 
basic commitment not to take more 
money from taxpayers than 
necessary, and further not to hold 
on to money taxpayers are entitled 
to receive,” said Governor Whit-
man. “Previously homestead re-
bates were not distributed until 
October. Now, thanks in part to 
improved computer technology, 
we are delivering rebates to the 
State’s taxpayers in the summer. 
Qualified citizens will now be able 
to save, spend or invest their 
checks sooner than ever.” 

Approximately 1.2 million New 
Jersey residents received home-
stead rebates averaging $220 soon 
after the end of July. State-of-the-
art computer imaging and proces-
sing systems at the Department of 
Treasury enabled the State to 
process the checks much earlier 
than the traditional October 
mailing.  

Eligible recipients include senior 
citizens who are 65 years of age or 
older, residents who are blind or 
disabled; and those under age 65 
who earn less than $40,000. The 
rebate checks issued total approx-
imately $264 million. 

Senior citizens over age 65 and 
those who are blind or disabled 
with gross incomes of $70,000 and 
under are eligible for rebates of up 
to $500 if they are homeowners or 
tenants. Residents in this category 
making between $70,000 and 

$100,000 would receive 
up to $100 if they are 
homeowners and $35 if they are 
tenants. Residents making more 
than $100,000 are not eligible for 
rebates. 

 

Taxpayers who are under 65 with 
gross income up to $40,000 are 
eligible for rebates of $90 if they 
are homeowners; $30 if they are 
tenants. 

New Jersey taxpayers who are eli-
gible to receive homestead rebates, 
and have not received them, can 
call the State’s automated Home-
stead Rebate InfoLine at 1-800-
323-4400 to check on the status of 
their rebate applications. Callers 
must have a copy of their rebate 
application to use this information 
line.  

Division on the 
World Wide Web 
You can find the New Jersey 
Division of Taxation on the Inter-
net by accessing our home page at 
the following address:  

http://www.state.nj.us/treasury/ 
taxation/ 

Since February 28, 1996 the Divi-
sion’s home page has been ac-
cessed over 13,000 times. E-mail 
inquiries and form order requests 
have been received world wide 
from places as distant as Europe 
and Japan. The Division’s home 
page contains a wealth of infor-
mation. Some of the areas that can 
be visited include: 

• Frequently Asked Questions 
• Helpful Publications 
• Important Tax Notices 
• Obtaining Tax Forms 
• Enforcement Activity News 

continued on page 4
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• Listing of Taxes Administered 
by the Division of Taxation 

• Organization of the Division 
including key names and phone 
numbers 

The World Wide Web has pro-
vided the Division of Taxation 
with a new avenue to inform, 
educate and support New Jersey 
taxpayers and practitioners. New 
Jersey taxpayers and practitioners 
can use the home page to com-
municate with the Division. 
Additionally, the home page has 
links with other helpful home 
pages such as the New Jersey 

Legislature, the Federation of Tax 
Administrators and the Internal 
Revenue Service. The Federation 
of Tax Administrators link allows 
access to every state revenue 
collection agency having a home 
page. 

The Division’s home page is a 
continuously evolving and grow-
ing communications medium. The 
home page proved to be a valuable 
asset during the recently concluded 
Tax Amnesty Program. Taxpayers 
accessed the Amnesty section of 
the home page to request forms 
and have questions answered. 

Visit our home page and send us 
an e-mail telling us what you 
would like to see included on our 
home page. The Division’s e-mail 
address is: 

nj.taxation@treas.state.nj.us  

ELF Program to 
Expand in ’96 
This tax year, New Jersey’s 
Electronic Filing (ELF) Program 
was very successful. It allowed for 
the filing of refund and zero 
balance returns for full time 
residents whose returns did not 
require the attachment of addi-
tional forms and schedules. By 
April 15 the Division had received 
and accepted over 65,000 elec-
tronic returns. In many cases, the 
Division was able to generate 
refund checks for these taxpayers 
in ten days. The Division will 
continue to participate in Federal/ 
State ELF and for Tax Year 1996 
the program will be expanded to 
allow for many additional cate-
gories of returns to be filed. More 
complex returns, those requiring 

the attachment of additional forms 
and schedules, may be filed this 
coming season. 

world wide web - from page 3 

Tax preparers are reminded that all 
participants in the New Jersey 
program must register each year. 
The Division will be sending 1996 
registration forms, for renewal, to 
those that participated last year. If 
you have never participated or you 
do not have a blank copy of last 
year’s form, you may contact the 
Division at (609) 588-2200 and 
request a copy or write to the 
following address: 
NEW JERSEY DIVISION OF TAXATION 
CN 191 — ELF 
TRENTON NJ 08646-0191 

While last year’s overall rejection 
rate was only 4%, the majority of 
these were because either trans-
mitters or EROs had failed to 
register with New Jersey. It is 
important to remember that reg-
istering with the IRS does not 
constitute registration with New 
Jersey. If you have never partic-
ipated in this program, you should 
also contact the IRS coordinator at 
the Newark District Office, as this 
program includes both the Federal 
and State returns. 

 

Interest 11.75% for 
Third Quarter 
The interest rate assessed on 
amounts due for the third quarter 
of 1996 is 11.75%. 

The assessed interest rate history 
for the last eight quarters is listed 
below. 

 Effective Interest 
 Date Rate 
 10/1/94 9% 
 1/1/95 11.5% 
 4/1/95 11.5% 
 7/1/95 11.5% 
 10/1/95 11.5% 
 1/1/96 11.75% 
 4/1/96 11.75% 
 7/1/96 11.75% 

The Division continues to use the 
IRS Bulletin Board (BBS) to post 
copies of manuals and to dissem-
inate information regarding the 
program. Interested parties may 
call the BBS at (606) 292-0137 for 
the latest information regarding 
ELF. In conjunction with New 
Jersey, the IRS conducts work-
shops which you may wish to 
attend. For additional information 
you may contact the IRS in 
Newark at (201) 645-6690. 

continued on page 5
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General information about New 
Jersey’s electronic filing program 
is available on the Internet by 
accessing the Division’s home 
page at: 

http://www.state.nj.us/treasury/ 
taxation/ 

New Jersey’s Electronic Filing 
Handbook for tax year 1996 will 
be posted on our home page when 
it becomes available.  

CORPORATION TAX 
Nexus Schedule 
A new Corporation Business Tax 
schedule, Schedule N, Nexus-
Immune Activity Declaration, is 
now available. Any foreign 
corporation claiming immunity 
from tax based upon income 
pursuant to the Federal Interstate 
Income Act, Public Law 86-272, 
15 U.S.C. 381, should annually 
complete and file Schedule N 
along with only page 1 of the 
Corporation Business Tax Return 
(Form CBT-100 or 100S) and 
remit the minimum tax prescribed 
by N.J.S.A. 54:10-5(e). 

Foreign corporations that meet the 
criteria for immunity from State 
taxation based on income under 
Public Law 86-272 would qualify 
to file Schedule N. If the in-State 
activities of the foreign corporation 
go beyond the protected activities 
under Public Law 86-272, as 
interpreted by the applicable 
Federal and State case law and 
New Jersey Corporation Business 
Tax regulation N.J.A.C. 18:7-1.9, 
the foreign corporation must file a 
complete Corporation Business 
Tax Return and pay the 
appropriate tax on the allocated 

income as prescribed by the three 
factor business allocation formula. 

elf program - from page 4 

Schedule N is not part of the Cor-
poration Business Tax Return 
packet. The schedule may be ob-
tained by calling the Division’s 
Automated Tax Information Sys-
tem at 1-800-323-4400. Any ques-
tions regarding Schedule N can be 
referred to the Division’s Nexus 
Audit Group at (609) 984-5749 or 
write to: 

NEW JERSEY DIVISION OF TAXATION 
NEXUS AUDIT GROUP 
CN 264 
TRENTON NJ 08646-0264  

CORPORATION TAX 
Section 8 Credit  
Where the Business Allocation 
Factor computed on the basis of 
property, receipts and payroll 
under Section 6 of the Act 
(N.J.S.A. 54:10A-6) is 100% and 
the taxpayer in fact paid a tax 
based on or measured by income to 
a foreign state resulting in a 
duplication of income being taxed, 
it may, under Section 8 of the Act 
(N.J.S.A. 54:10A-8), apply for a 
reduction in the amount of its tax 
paid to New Jersey. The reduction 
is available only where the tax-
payer in its own right acquired a 
taxable status in a foreign state by 
reference to at least one of the 
criteria described at N.J.A.C. 18:7-
1.6 as if the New Jersey Corpo-
ration Business Tax Act were the 
law of the foreign state. It should 
be noted that the credit for taxes 
paid on duplicated income is only 
on tax based on or measured by 
income to a foreign state and not to 
a city or other municipality or the 
District of Columbia. 

An eligible taxpayer 
computes its reduction 
on a rider attached to its return. For 
purposes of calculating the 
reduction: 

 

1. The reduction may be based 
upon only so much of adjusted 
entire net income appearing on 
its Corporation Business Tax 
Return as is reported to a 
foreign state; 

2. The apportionment formula 
used in the foreign state may not 
exceed the Business Allocation 
Factor as determined under 
Section 6 of the Act and rules 
under N.J.A.C. 18:7-8.3; 

3. The reduction must be com-
puted by using the lesser of the 
tax rates of the foreign state or 
the tax rate under the New 
Jersey Corporation Business 
Tax Act. 

For details, see N.J.A.C. 18:7-8.3. 

The credit for taxes paid to other 
states on duplicated income is 
carried to the face of the return and 
is subtracted from the amount of 
tax due to New Jersey. 

Below is an example derived from 
the regulation of how the credit is 
computed. 

Example: 
Corporation B does not maintain a 
regular place of business outside 
New Jersey other than a statutory 
office. Its Business Allocation 
Factor is 100%. It did, however, 
start and complete a construction 
job in State Z and paid an income 
tax to that state at a rate of 10.5%. 
It may determine the portion of its 
Corporation Business Tax mea-
sured by net income as follows: 

continued on page 6 
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section 8 credit - from page 5 
  
 

 The New Jersey courts have 
considered and upheld the use of 
this credit mechanism, see Kettler 
Realty Corporation v. Director, 
Division of Taxation, 12 N.J. Tax 
470 (1992), affirmed 14 N.J. Tax 
165 (App. Div. 1993). 

As a result of P.L. 1995, c.245, the 
New Jersey sales fraction will be 
double weighted for fiscal years be-
ginning on and after July 1, 1996.  

GROSS INCOME TAX 
Domicile 
The Division of Taxation contin-
uously receives inquiries from in-
dividuals who are New Jersey 
residents taking job assignments 
overseas and who are requesting 
information about their filing re-
sponsibilities to New Jersey while 
they are working overseas. Many 
of these individuals will be renting 
out their New Jersey homes while 
they are out of the country. 

The New Jersey Gross Income Tax 
Act, N.J.S.A. 54A:1-2(m), defines 
a “resident taxpayer” as any 
individual who is domiciled in 
New Jersey, unless he or she 
fulfills all three of the following 
conditions for the entire year: 

1. Maintains no permanent place 
of abode in New Jersey; and 

2. Maintains a permanent place of 
abode elsewhere; and 

3. Spends no more than 30 days of 
the taxable year in New Jersey. 

To determine whether a person is a 
resident or nonresident, it is nec-
essary to know the person’s 
domicile. Domicile is any place an 
individual regards as their perma-
nent home. Once established, a 
domicile continues until the person 
moves to a new location with the 

  NJ Tax 
Income Base

Duplicated
In State Z 

Taxable income before net operating 
 loss deduction & special deductions 

 
$227,500 $227,500

Add ACRS $15,000   
Less NJ Depreciation 12,000 3,000 0
    

Taxes imposed on or measured by 
 income from State Z return $28,800 

 
22,500

NJ CBT paid or accrued—add back 22,500 22,500
Municipal bond interest—add back  +7,000 +0
  $260,000 $250,000
  

Dividend Exclusion NJ $10,000 – 10,000 – 10,000
State Z 0 0 0
Entire Net Income  $250,000 
   

Portion of entire net income 
 duplicated 

  
$240,000

Apportionment (computed below)   x    .25
Tax @ 9%  $22,500 $60,000
   

Tax @ 10.5%   $6,300
Reduction 60,000 @ 9%  – 5,400 
Reduced Tax  $17,100 
    

Corporation B computed its apportionment on its State Z return as follows: 
  State Z Everywhere % 
Property owned  $140,000 $500,000
Leased property (at 8 annual rentals) +40,000

180,000
+    100,000
÷    600,000 .30

Receipts (double weighted .20 + .20) 200,000 ÷ 1,000,000 .40
Payroll 90,000 ÷    300,000 +.30
Total    1.00
Average 1.00 ÷ 4 .25
     

If the apportionment formula had been determined in State Z, consistent 
with the Corporation Business Tax Act, it would have been: 
  State Z Everywhere % 
Property owned  $140,000 ÷  $500,000 .28
Receipts  200,000 ÷ 1,000,000 .20
Payroll  90,000 ÷    300,000 +.30
    .78
Business Allocation Factor .78 ÷ 3   .26
 
Since the apportionment formula used in State Z produces a factor (.25) 
which does not exceed the New Jersey Business Allocation Factor as it 
would have been determined under the Act and N.J.A.C. 18:7-8.3, the State 
Z factor is used for purposes of determining the reduction. 

continued on page 7 
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domicile - from page 6 

intent to establish a fixed and per-
manent home there and has no 
intention of returning to his or her 
previous home. Moving to a new 
location, even for a long time, does 
not result in a change of domicile 
if the intent is to remain only for a 
limited time. 

Thus the New Jersey resident who 
intends to return to New Jersey 
after living and working in an 
overseas location for a period, no 
matter how long the duration, has 
not given up his New Jersey 
domicile and must file as a New 
Jersey resident for the entire 
period. 

An individual who rents out his 
New Jersey home, while currently 
living outside of New Jersey, and 
has no right of use to the New 
Jersey home during the term of the 
lease, can be considered a non-
resident as long as he maintains a 
permanent home elsewhere and 
spends less than 30 days in this 
State. 

A place of abode, whether in this 
State or elsewhere, is not deemed 
to be permanent if it is maintained 
only during a temporary stay for 
the accomplishment of a particular 
purpose. If the dwelling is main-
tained for more than a temporary 
stay, then it will be considered 
permanent. 

It should be noted that all the 
statutory conditions for non-
resident taxpayer status must be 
satisfied by the taxpayer. 

The burden of proof would be 
upon the individual asserting a 
change of domicile to show that 
the necessary intention existed to 
abandon his or her domicile in one 
location and to establish a fixed 
and permanent home in another.  

GROSS INCOME TAX 
Gambling Winnings 
or Losses 
Under the provisions of R.S. 
54A:5-1(g), all gambling win-
nings, with the exception of New 
Jersey Lottery winnings, are sub-
ject to New Jersey Gross Income 
Tax. 

The winnings of residents are sub-
ject to tax no matter where these 
winnings are received. Nonresi-
dents’ gambling winnings from 
New Jersey sources are likewise 
subject to tax. 

All gambling winnings whether 
they are the result of legalized 
gambling (casino, race track, etc.) 
or illegal gambling are subject to 
the tax. However, this category of 
income is given treatment similar 
to the treatment of gambling win-
nings under the Federal Income 
Tax code. Gambling losses incur-
red during the same period as the 
winnings may be used to offset 
winnings. In other words, tax-
payers may deduct gambling losses 
from their gambling winnings 
during the tax period not to exceed 
the total of the winnings. In the 
case of nonresidents, gambling 
winnings from New Jersey sources 
may only be offset by gambling 
losses incurred in New Jersey 
during the same tax period. 

Taxpayers may be required to 
substantiate gambling losses used 
to offset winnings reported on their 
New Jersey Gross Income Tax 
Return. Evidence of losses may 
take several forms, including 
losing race track pari-mutuel 
tickets, a daily log or journal of 
wins and losses, canceled checks, 
notes, etc. Such evidential material 
should be kept by the taxpayer for 
a period of six years after the filing 
of the New Jersey Gross Income 
Tax Return for that period. 

With respect to winnings 
or losses resulting from 
casino gambling, letters from 
casinos which purport to “rate” the 
gambling activity of an individual 
or “estimate” losses are not 
acceptable as evidence of 
gambling losses. 

 

Although no specific rider to the 
New Jersey Gross Income Tax 
Return is required, it is requested 
that a taxpayer who enters gam-
bling winnings net of losses on the 
New Jersey return indicate the 
total winnings and total losses on a 
supporting statement. Although not 
taxable, the supporting statement 
should include New Jersey lottery 
winnings and losses. This 
supporting statement may elimi-
nate certain questions in the event 
the return is selected for audit.  

SALES AND USE TAX 
Carnival Rides & 
Nonprofits 
In reply to an inquiry regarding the 
treatment for sales tax purposes of 
sales of admissions by not-for-
profit organizations for amusement 
rides at carnivals or circuses, the 
Division replied that under 
N.J.S.A. 54:32B-9(f)(2)(B) of the 
Sales and Use Tax Act, such 
admissions are subject to sales tax 
if “any professional performer or 
operator participates for compen-
sation.” The fact that the not-for-
profit is an exempt organization 
pursuant to N.J.S.A. 54:32B-9 
does not matter; nor is the result 
changed by the method of payment 
agreed to by the not-for-profit and 
the amusement ride operator. In 
this regard, note that N.J.S.A. 
54:32B-9(f)(1) provides that under 
no circumstance can the splitting 
of proceeds support an exemption 

continued on page 8 
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claim. 

Every recipient of admission 
charges is a person required to col-
lect tax under the Act. See 
N.J.S.A. 54:32B-2(p); N.J.S.A. 
54:32B-2(w). Whenever the pro-
ceeds are split between an amuse-
ment ride operator and a not-for-
profit organization, the operator is 
a recipient of admission charges. 
The operator is required to file 
returns and remit the tax with 
respect to admission charges sub-
ject to sales tax under N.J.S.A. 
54:32B-3(e)(1). See N.J.S.A. 
54:32B-17; N.J.S.A. 54:32B-18.  

INHERITANCE/ESTATE TAX 
CPA Prepared 
Returns 
It has been ten years since Opinion 
No. 10 of the Committee on the 
Unauthorized Practice of Law was 
modified by the Supreme Court of 
New Jersey to permit preparation 
of inheritance tax returns by 
certified public accountants. How-
ever, there is still considerable 
unnecessary and avoidable delay in 
processing certain returns which is 
being caused by an apparent 
ignorance of conditions imposed 
by the Supreme Court. 

Opinion No. 10 of the Committee 
on the Unauthorized Practice of 
Law was modified by the Supreme 
Court of New Jersey, on April 14, 
1986, to permit the preparation and 
filing of New Jersey Inheritance 
Tax Returns by qualified certified 
public accountants licensed in 
New Jersey provided that the 
accountant notifies the client in 
writing before work is commenced 
that review of the return by a 
qualified attorney may be desirable 
because of possible application of 
legal principles to the preparation 

of the tax return. 102 N.J. 231. For 
these purposes, public accountants 
duly licensed in New Jersey have 
equivalency with certified public 
accountants. 

carnival rides - from page 7 The Transfer Inheritance Tax 
Branch, in the absence of receipt 
of the client’s original signed 
acknowledgment of the required 
notification, is precluded from 
accepting or negotiating returns 
filed by CPAs. Accountants should 
not expect or request that Division 
personnel act in a way that is 
contrary to the provisions of the 
statute. The following CERTIFI-
CATION may be reproduced. It is 
suggested that it be photocopied 
and/or made a permanent “form” 
in word processors of New Jersey 
certified public accountants.  

CERTIFICATION 

The New Jersey Supreme Court in IMO Application of New Jersey Society of 
Certified Public Accountants, 102 N.J. 231 (1986) held that the preparation of an 
inheritance tax return is, in general, so dependent on the correct application of 
legal principles as to require the Supreme Court to exercise its supervisory 
jurisdiction over the practice of law. In exercising this supervisory jurisdiction, 
the Court observed that many certified public accountants are qualified to prepare 
inheritance tax returns for most estates. 

Therefore, the Supreme Court concluded that the public interest is best served by 
permitting certified public accountants to prepare and file inheritance tax returns 
without the supervision of any attorney, on the condition that: 

a) before the CPA commences work on the return, he or she has notified client in 
writing that review of the return by a qualified attorney may be desirable because 
of the possible application of legal principles to the preparation of the return; and 

b) consistent with the professional obligation of the CPA to perform his or her 
services subject to a standard of care commensurate with the skill and knowledge 
normally possessed by members of the CPA profession in good standing, he or 
she recommends consultation with counsel whenever the complexities of a return 
indicate that legal advice is desirable. 

In accordance with the New Jersey Supreme Court’s directive as set forth above, 
this is to certify that my certified public accountant has given me this writing and 
that I have read it thoroughly, that I understand that review of this estate’s 
inheritance tax return by a qualified New Jersey attorney may be desirable, that 
my CPA also may recommend consultation with an attorney because of com-
plexities with this estate and the inheritance tax return, and that it is my decision 
whether I will seek the services of an attorney unless my CPA determines that he 
or she must consult with counsel. 

Executor, Executrix 
Administrator, Administratrix 
Beneficiary, or Heir 
Dated: 
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LOCAL PROPERTY TAX 
New Rules for   
Tax Maps 
Revised tax map regulations were 
adopted on January 2, 1996 by 
Richard D. Gardiner, Director, 
Division of Taxation. These rules 
became effective on February 5, 
1996 and will expire on Feb-
ruary 5, 2001. A full text appears 
in N.J.A.C. 18:23A. 

Property Administration, Engi-
neering Section, which administers 
tax map review and approval 
procedures, has developed a book-
let for the New Jersey Licensed 
Land Surveyors who are respon-
sible for the preparation, revision 
and maintenance of tax maps and 
for Municipal Assessors who are 
responsible for local assessments. 
The booklet includes illustrated 
standards, a formal opinion con-
cerning land surveyors, seals, a 
check list of items to review and 
advice about the manner of 
reflecting riparian interests.  

LOCAL PROPERTY TAX 
Deductions for 
Co-op, Mutual 
Housing Residents 
Property Administration’s Local 
Property Branch recently had 
several inquiries from cooperative 
and mutual housing residents who 
were having difficulty receiving 
credit for their $250 senior citizen 
and $50 veteran property tax 
deductions from their housing 
management despite their deduc-
tion claims having been approved 
by their municipal tax assessors. 

To ensure resident shareholders’ 
proper entitlement to and receipt of 
both property tax deductions for 

qualified senior and disabled citi-
zens and war veterans and their 
respective surviving spouses, 
assessors are reminded to send 
Form CMHC-1 to Co-op and 
Mutual Housing managers on a 
yearly basis. Unless this form is 
completed by property managers 
each year, continuance of and 
changes to deduction entitlement 
will not be verifiably documented. 
CMHC Forms for residential 
Cooperative and Mutual Housing 
should be returned to assessors in 
time to allow the data to be used 
for the annual October 1 property 
status review. 

Assessors needing a copy of the 
CMHC Form and the accom-
panying transmittal letter should 
contact Property Administration, 
Policy and Planning Section.  

LOCAL PROPERTY TAX 
Tax Assessors’ 
Calendar 
October 1– 
• All real property in taxing 

district valued for tax purposes 
(pretax year). 

• $50 veterans’ tax deduction 
eligibility established (pretax 
year). 

• $250 real property tax deduction 
for qualified senior citizens, 
disabled persons, surviving 
spouses eligibility established 
(pretax year). 

• Agricultural land values for 
farmland assessment published 
by State Farmland Evaluation 
Advisory Committee. 

• Table of Equalized Valuations 
for State School Aid promul-
gated by Director, Division of 
Taxation. 

• Added Assessment 
List and duplicate 
filed with County Tax Board. 

 

• Omitted Assessment List and 
duplicate filed with County Tax 
Board. 

November 1– 
• Initial Statements, Forms I.S., 

and Further Statements, Forms 
F.S., for property tax exemption 
filed with tax assessor.  

• Notices of Disallowance of 
farmland assessment issued by 
tax assessor.  

November 15– 
• Notices of revisions to State-

owned property listing given by 
Director, Division of Taxation, 
to County Tax Boards and 
taxing districts. 

• Deadline for taxing districts’ 
appeals of Table of Equalized 
Valuations to N.J. Tax Court. 

December 1– 
• Appeals from added assess-

ments filed with County Tax 
Board. 

• Appeals from omitted assess-
continued on page 10

Correction 
Editor’s note: There were several 
errors in an article in the last issue 
of the State Tax News (Summer 
1996, Volume 25, Number 2) on 
page 9. In the chart entitled New 
Jersey Property Valued at $496 
Billion, the correct figure for the 
1994 True Value in Sussex County 
is $8,176,299,578. In Warren 
County, the correct figure for the 
amount of Decrease/ Increase is 
+$148,187,544, and for % of 
Change, +2.78. We apologize for 
these mistakes. 
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ments filed with County Tax 
Board. 

December 31– 
• Legal advertisement of availa-

bility of Tax List for public 
inspection.  

LOCAL PROPERTY TAX 
Tax Assessor 
Certificates 
The tax assessor examination is 
held in accordance with the Asses-
sor Certification and Tenure Act, 
which requires that anyone taking 
office as a tax assessor after July 1, 
1971 must hold a tax assessor 
certificate. 

Twenty-four persons passed the 
examination for the tax assessor 
certificate held on March 30, 1996 
and became certified tax assessors 
on May 24, 1996: 

Bergen County: Lisa L. Lisciotto, 
Fairview Borough; Marguerite L. 
Pilsbury, Demarest Borough; 
Karen Purpura, Wyckoff Town-
ship; Mario N. Silvestri, North 
Arlington Borough. 

Burlington County: William F. 
McLaughlin, Mount Laurel Town-
ship; Grace Ann Shotwell, Mount 
Laurel Township. 

Camden County: Gregory J. 
Busa, Gloucester Township; 
Timothy W. Sheehan, Haddon 
Heights Borough. 

Cumberland County: Lois E. 
Mazza, Hopewell Township. 

Essex County: Brian J. Iannarone, 
North Caldwell Borough. 

Mercer County: Peter Edward 
Sockler, Hightstown Borough. 

Morris County: Kevin J. Cooper, 
Mount Olive Township; Marc 
Edward D’Agostino, Mendham 
Borough; Denis M. Duvoisin, 
Morris Plains Borough; Olga 
Rotonda, Montville Township; 
J. Scott Thornton, Parsippany-Troy 
Hills Township. 

Ocean County: Kathy J. Marmur, 
Point Pleasant Borough. 

Somerset County: Joseph M. 
Baxter, Bound Brook Borough; 
Kevin D. Smith, Bedminster 
Township; George John Sopko, 
Bridgewater Township. 

Sussex County: Tamara Athoe 
Pyskaty, Andover Township. 

Union County: Alan Rapoport, 
Kenilworth Borough. 

Pennsylvania: John D. 
Charlesworth, Milford Borough; 
Eugene P. Davey, Philadelphia.  

 

Criminal 
Enforcement 

assessors’ calendar - from pg. 9 

Criminal Enforcement over the 
past several months included: 

• James J. Bobowicz of Caldwell, 
New Jersey, pled guilty on May 
28, 1996 to eight counts relating 
to State income tax violations. 
In addition to failing to file 
State income tax returns from 
1989 through 1992, Bobowicz 
filed a false tax return and 
claimed a fraudulent income tax 
refund in 1993. This case 
resulted from a joint investi-
gation effort between the Sussex 
County Prosecutor’s Office and 
the Office of Criminal 
Investigation.  

• On June 11, 1996, Paul C. 
McDaniel of West Chester, 
Pennsylvania, pled guilty to one 
count of failure to file a petro-
leum products gross receipts tax 
return. McDaniel, a waste oil 
dealer, was indicted in March 
1996 with nine other individuals 
alleging 18 counts of conspir-
acy, racketeering, and falsifying 
records. Also included in the 
indictment was the theft of 
$159,000 of New Jersey petro-
leum products gross receipts 
tax, the theft of $798,000 of 
Federal motor fuels excise tax 
and various environmental 
offenses during the period 
between September 1992 and 
June 1993.  

• Richard Lugero of Millstone 
Township, the sole principal of 
a purported security guard firm, 
was indicted on June 3, 1996 by 
a Monmouth County grand jury 
on four counts of filing 
fraudulent State income tax 
returns and failing to pay the tax 
of $43,885 on the unreported 

New Jersey tax forms at your fingertips! 
From your fax machine’s phone, d

609-588-4500 
ial 

NJ TaxFax 
NJ Tax Forms & Publications 
24 Hours – 7 Days a Week  

continued on page 11  
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criminal enforcement - from page 10 

income. The criminal 
investigation ascertained un-
reported income from the 
security firm totaling $608,000 
for the 1993 and 1994 tax 
periods. In addition, there was 
probable cause to believe that 
unreported proceeds also existed 
from the theft of goods and 
services that totaled $78,951 for 
the two year period. The case 
was initiated by the Monmouth 
County Prosecutor’s Office and 
conducted jointly with the 
Division’s Office of Criminal 
Investigation. 

• Larry Ansell and Michael 
Gohar, the president and former 
co-president of Emerald Hotels 
Management Co. Inc., made a 
partial payment of $450,000 for 
back taxes owed to New Jersey. 
As a condition of their Feb-
ruary 7, 1996 guilty plea, an 
additional $400,000 must be 
paid prior to the September 
sentencing date. Under the plea 
agreement, the balance of the 
taxes still owed after that pay-
ment must be paid no later than 
one year from the date of entry 
of the Judgment of Conviction. 
This case resulted from a crimi-
nal investigation that discovered 
nearly $1.25 million in unpaid 
New Jersey sales tax, corpo-
ration business tax and income 
tax for the period January 1988 
through August 1995. Ten 
corporations owning hotel and 
motel franchises throughout the 
State were identified as being 
part of the scheme to evade 
payment of these taxes. Addi-
tional information regarding this 
case may be found in the 
Summer 1996 issue of the State 
Tax News. 

• On April 30, 1996, Vincent T. 
Szymanski of Bayonne, New 
Jersey, pled guilty to embez-
zling monies from his employer 
and failing to file New Jersey 
income tax returns and pay the 
tax obligation. Szymanski, who 
was indicted by a Mercer 
County Grand Jury on March 
22, 1996, admitted to em-
bezzling $337,000 from Conair, 
Inc. in East Windsor by manip-
ulating credit accounts from 
1991 through 1994 during the 
period of his employ. Conair 
discovered the missing money 
after Szymanski was laid off. As 
part of the plea agreement, 
Szymanski is required to pay 
back the money he stole, as well 
as pay the income tax owed 
which totaled over $18,700 on 
the unreported income for this 
period. The case resulted from a 
joint investigation effort be-
tween the Mercer County 
Prosecutor’s Office and the 
Division’s Office of Criminal 
Investigation. 

• James H. Haluszka, the former 
Chief Financial Officer of 
Ocean Gate Borough, was 
sentenced on April 18, 1996 to 
five years in prison as a result of 
his guilty plea to one count of 
official misconduct. Mr. 
Haluszka had received a seven 
count indictment in October 
1995, for violations involving 
theft of municipal funds and the 
failure to perform duties im-
posed by law. Included in one 
count for official misconduct 
was Haluszka’s failure to file 
and remit New Jersey with-
holding taxes for 1993 and 1994  

for borough employ-
ees. As part of the 
guilty plea, however, this count 
and several other counts for 
official misconduct were 
dismissed. The Borough of 
Ocean Gate as a result of the 
investigation was made aware of 
the delinquencies for New 
Jersey income tax withholdings 
and is in the process of 
correcting them.  

 

• Rosalie Randazzo, president of 
MVP Sports Cafe, Inc., in 
Aberdeen, New Jersey, was 
admitted to a Pre-trial Inter-
vention Program on April 15, 
1996 as a result of a plea to an 
accusation of misapplication of 
entrusted property. Ms. Ran-
dazzo was accused of under 
reporting the sales tax and 
failing to remit $43,894 of 
collected tax. Prior to the plea, 
the taxpayer made full restitu-
tion of the sales tax monies 
involved. 

• On March 22, 1996, Clinton 
Point Associates, Inc., the 
former operator of a bar/restau-
rant in Clinton, New Jersey, was 
sentenced in Essex County 
Superior Court for failing to 
remit $46,523.82 of collected 
sales tax. As a condition of the 
plea, Joseph Diaz, president of 
the corporation, executed a 
Consent Judgment personally to 
ensure payment of the tax, 
penalties and interest due. 

• On April 4, 1996, Ann 
Cinquemani, president of 
Friendly Three, Inc., in Flem-
ington, New Jersey, was admit-
ted to a Pre-trial Intervention 
Program as a result of an accu-
sation involving the filing of 
fraudulent sales tax returns and 

continued on page 12 
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the failing to remit $14,597 of 

tax collected. As a condition of 
the program, Ms. Cinquemani is 
required to make full restitution 
of the tax and maintain steady 
employment during her three 
year term in the program.  

• Twenty-one guilty pleas were 
entered in municipal courts 
throughout New Jersey between 
April and June 1996 by individ-
uals and businesses for noncom-
pliance with the cigarette tax 
law. The charges included 
counts for failure to register a 
business, for selling cigarettes 
without a license, and for 
transporting untaxed cigarettes. 
Fines and penalties were im-
posed in the amount of $18,081 
and 4,439 cartons of seized 
cigarettes with a value of 
$88,000 were awarded to the 
State. In addition, charges were 
filed for violations including 
transporting untaxed cigarettes 
and selling cigarettes without a 
license in municipal court for 
eight cases. The value of the 
assets seized for these cases 
totaled $82,629.  

Enforcement 
Summary 
Civil Collection Actions Quarter 
Ending - June 30, 1996 
Following is a summary of en-
forcement actions for the quarter 
ending June 30, 1996. 

Certificates of Debt 
During the quarter ended June 30, 
1996, the Division filed 753 
Certificates of Debt in New Jersey 
Superior Court. These COD’s, 
which have the same force and 
effect as docketed judgments, 
totaled $9.3 million. 

Levies 
$28,355 was collected by levying 
against payments made under 
State contracts to satisfy debts 
owed by State vendors. 

Seizures 
When a liability, for which the 
Division of Taxation has secured 
judgments, cannot or will not be 
satisfied by a taxpayer and all 
other means of collection of the 
debt have been exhausted, seizure 
of the business and personal assets 
will take place. Field Investigators 
will close a business, seizing any 
tangible assets including licenses, 
inventory, machinery, furniture, 
vehicles, etc., until arrangements 
are made for payment of the debt. 

For the quarter ending June 30, 
1996, property of 11 businesses 
was seized. Some businesses were 
able to reopen, others remain 
closed. A listing of these seizures 
appears on page 14. 

Auctions 
If the liability of a business seized 
by the Division is not satisfied or 
resolved, the business will remain 
closed. To satisfy the debt, the 
Division can sell the business 
assets at a public auction. 

During the quarter ending June 30, 
1996, six auctions were held by the 
Division. A listing follows on 
page 14. 

In the event an auction does not 
net enough monies to resolve the 
debt, the Division will execute 
against the personal assets of any 
of the business’s responsible offi-
cers. Responsible officers are held 
personally liable for the trust fund 
portion of the debt which includes, 
but is not limited to, sales tax, 
withholding tax and motor fuels 
tax.  

Tax Briefs 
 criminal enforcement - from pg. 11 Corporation Business Tax 

Federal Modified Accelerated 
Cost Recovery — The Division 
received an inquiry as to whether 
New Jersey allows the use of 
Federal modified accelerated cost 
recovery depreciation for assets 
placed in service in New York, as 
well as for assets in New Jersey. 

New Jersey will allow Federal 
modified accelerated cost recovery 
depreciation for assets placed in 
service in New York as well as in 
New Jersey. Taxpayers should use 
the same depreciation method they 
are using for Federal purposes. For 
assets placed in service on or after  

July 7, 1993, New Jersey follows 
Federal depreciation rules. 
N.J.S.A. 54:10A-4(k)(2)(F)(i). 

continued on page 13 

Tax Clearance Certificate Re-
quired for Partnerships, Limited 

Wanted
! 

 New Jersey  
 Tax Cheats 
You pay State taxes, why shouldn’t 
everyone? It’s time to stop carrying the 
burden alone! Help us identify and locate 
tax cheats in New Jersey. 

To CATCH a Cheat Call 

609-588-2200 
WRITE:  

 NEW JERSEY DIVISION OF TAXATION 
 COMPLIANCE ACTIVITY 
 CN 245 
 TRENTON  NJ   08646-0245 
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Partnerships, Limited Liability 

Companies Mergers — Partner-
ships, limited partnerships and 
limited liability companies are 
permitted to merge and consolidate 
into other business entities, 
pursuant to N.J.S.A. 42:1-49, 
N.J.S.A. 42:2A-73 and N.J.S.A. 
42:2B-20. Public Law 1995, 
chapter 279 amended the State Tax 
Uniform Procedure Law, N.J.S.A. 
54:50-14, to provide that the 
Secretary of State shall not accept 
for filing a certificate of merger or 
consolidation of any business 
entity into any other business 
entity other than a domestic corpo-
ration or a foreign corporation 
authorized to transact business in 
this State unless the business entity 
files a tax clearance certificate with 
the Secretary of State. 
Partnerships, limited partnerships 
and limited liability companies are 
required to obtain a tax clearance 
certificate, pursuant to N.J.S.A. 
54:50-14 before merging or 
consolidating with any other 
business entity other than a 
domestic corporation or a foreign 
corporation authorized to transact 
business in this State. 

Gross Income Tax 
Withholding On Wages Paid To 
Household Employees — It is not 
mandatory for an employer to 
withhold New Jersey gross income 
tax from wages paid to household 
workers. If Federal tax is withheld 
from the household worker’s 
wages, then New Jersey gross 
income tax must be withheld if 
otherwise required under New 
Jersey’s employer withholding 
instructions. 

For example, an employer who is 
withholding Federal income tax is 
required to furnish the NJ-W4 to 

all employees, but an employee is 
not required to complete the 
NJ-W4. If a household employee 
has requested that the employer 
withhold Federal income tax but 
does not wish to have State income 
tax withheld, the employee may 
claim exemption from withholding 
on the NJ-W4 if one of the 
following conditions is satisfied: 

• Filing status is single, head of 
household or qualifying wid-
ow(er) and the employee’s 
wages plus taxable non-wage 
income will be $7,500 or less 
for the current year; or 

• Filing status is married joint and 
the employee’s wages combined 
with his spouse’s wages, plus 
taxable non-wage income will 
be $7,500 or less for the current 
year; or  

• Filing status is married separate 
and the employee’s wages plus 
taxable non-wage income will 
be $3,750 or less for the current 
year. 

Sales and Use Tax 
Home Warranty Repairs — The 
Division responded to an inquiry 
regarding the taxability of war-
ranty work performed on new 
houses. The taxpayer does work 
under contract for builders of new 
homes, making “adjustments and 
repairs” on a house whenever the 
homeowner reports problems with 
the construction that need to be 
corrected during the warranty 
period. 

In these circumstances, the 
builder’s purchase of the repair 
services is a purchase for resale 
under N.J.S.A. 54:32B-3(b), since 
the builder is reselling the service 
to the homeowner through the war-
ranty which was included in the 
sale of the home. 

Thus, the taxpayer may 
accept a Resale 
Certificate (ST-3) from the builder 
for repair services when the 
builder pays for the warranty work. 
However, the taxpayer is 
responsible for paying sales or use 
tax on any materials and supplies it 
purchases in order to perform the 
warranty work; these purchases are 
not considered purchases for 
resale. N.J.S.A. 54:32B-2(e). 

 
tax briefs - from page 12 

Leased Hotel Room, Permanent 
Resident — The Division received 
an inquiry concerning the sales tax 
exemption on the rent for a room 
or rooms in a hotel paid by a 
permanent resident. N.J.S.A. 
54:32B-3(d). The New Jersey sales 
tax is imposed on: “The rent for 
every occupancy of a room or 
rooms in a hotel in this State, 
except that the tax shall not be 
imposed upon (1) a permanent 
resident, or (2) where the rent is 
not more than at the rate of $2.00 
per day.” N.J.S.A. 54:32B-3(d). 

The Sales and Use Tax Act defines 
a permanent resident to be “any 
occupant of any room or rooms in 
a hotel for at least 90 consecutive 
days….” N.J.S.A. 54:32B-2(m). If 
the occupancy occurs under a lease 
agreement for a period of 90 or 
more consecutive days, the rental 
payments  are  exempt  from  sales 

continued on page 15 
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Division of Taxation Seizures 
(April – June 1996) 

Note: Businesses listed may have satisfied their tax liability or otherwise come to agreement with the Division following the 
date of seizure and may now be reopened. 

 

County Name/Address Seizure Date Business Type Status 
     

Bergen Mercer Street Pub 
Wallington 

06-25-96 Pub Liquor License Seized 

     

Gloucester Money Max, Inc. 
Sewell 

06-25-96 Commercial Laundry Motor Vehicles Seized 

     

Mercer Tuxedo Club, Inc. 
Trenton 

05-16-96 Bar/Social Club Liquor License 

     

Middlesex Melnizek, Frances, t/a  Fran’s Sail Inn 
Carteret 

06-12-96 Bar/Tavern Closed 

     

 ADA, Inc., t/a Fords Bar & Liquors 
Fords 

06-28-96 Package Store/Bar Closed 

     

Monmouth Cheasapeake, Inc., t/a Sand Bar 
Brielle 

05-06-96 Restaurant/Bar Liquor License 

     

 Molitor, Cora, Est. of 
t/a Mulligan’s Tavern 
Highlands 

05-06-96 Bar Liquor License 

     

 Safari VIP Food & Spirits, Inc. 
Aberdeen 

05-16-96 Bar/Restaurant Contents seized;  
Business already closed 

     

 Periwinkles, Inc. 
Sea Bright 

05-23-96 Bar/Restaurant Liquor License 

     

Passaic Kalra, Vinit, t/a Vee & Dee Towing 
Wayne 

05-17-96 Towing Tow Truck Seized 

     

Union Fork Lifters, Inc. 
t/a The Loading Dock Restaurant 
Garwood 

05-15-96 Bar/Restaurant Liquor License 

     

 

Division of Taxation Auctions 
(April – June 1996) 

County Name/Address Auction Date Business Type 
    

Atlantic 1401 Arctic Ave Corp. 
Atlantic City 

04-16-96 Liquor License 

    

Camden Larsid, Inc., t/a Cotton Club 
Camden 

04-24-96 Liquor License 

    

 Camelot Lounge 
Camden 

06-06-96 Liquor License 

    

Gloucester Stiehl Grove, Inc., 
t/a Paulsboro Hotel 
Paulsboro 

04-22-96 Liquor License 

    

Monmouth Safari VIP Food & Spirits, Inc. 
Aberdeen 

05-30-96 Bar/Restaurant 

    

 Molitor, Cora, Est. of 
t/a Mulligan’s Tavern 
Highlands 

06-19-96 Liquor License 
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tax, and the hotel is not required to 
collect sales tax for any of the 
days. The agreement serves as 
proof of the exemption. No 
exemption certificate is required. 

Senior Citizen Clubs — While all 
nonprofit organizations may make 
application for exempt organiza-
tion status for sales and use tax 
purposes, the vast majority of non-
profit organizations do not qualify 
for exemption under the provisions 
of the law. 

N.J.S.A. 54:32B-9(b)(1) provides 
exempt organization status, upon 
application, to “Any corporation, 
association, trust or community 
chest, fund or foundation, organ-
ized and operated exclusively for 
religious, charitable, scientific, 
testing for public safety, literary or 
educational purposes….” The lan-
guage was taken directly from 
section 501(c)(3) of the Internal 
Revenue Code. It has been held by 
ruling that the intent of the New 
Jersey Legislature in formulating 
this statute was to grant exempt 
organization status solely to 
501(c)(3) types of organizations. 
The New Jersey sales and use tax 
exempt organization application 
process requires the submission of 
an Internal Revenue Service deter-
mination letter granting the appli-
cant exemption from Federal in-
come tax under section 501(c)(3) 
of the Internal Revenue Code. 
N.J.A.C. 18:24-8.4(c)(5). 

Senior citizens clubs usually are 
not designated 501(c)(3) type 
organizations, as they are neither 
organized nor operated exclusively 
for the exempt purposes listed 

under N.J.S.A. 54:32B-9(b)(1). 
Therefore, senior citizens clubs are 
not qualified for exempt organi-
zation status under the New Jersey 
Sales and Use Tax Act. 

“Tax-Free” Shopping — The 
Division received a complaint 
about tax-free shoppers in 
Delaware from a New Jersey 
business located in Cape May 
County. 

The Division replied that while 
purchases made in Delaware are 
not subject to any sales tax in 
Delaware, they are not “tax free” 
for New Jersey residents. When 
goods that are not tax-exempt in 
New Jersey are brought into this 
State for use here, the user must 
pay a “compensating use tax” to 
New Jersey. The requirement of 
paying use tax has been part of the 
Sales and Use Tax Act since 1966.  
See N.J.S.A. 54:32B-6. The 
purpose of this requirement is to 
ensure that out-of-State purchases 
of goods used mainly in the State 
are subject to the same tax liability 
as purchases of the identical items 
within the State. Residents cannot 
avoid sales tax simply by crossing 
State lines. Coppa v. Director, 
Division of Taxation, 8 N.J. Tax 
236, 252 (Tax Ct. 1986). 

Individuals who owe use tax may 
file a Form ST-18 and remit 
payment within 20 days of 
bringing their purchase into this 
State. Alternatively, if the 
individual has not paid the use tax 
liability during the year, this 
liability can be reported on the 
“use tax” line of the NJ-1040 and 
paid with that return.  

In Our Courts tax briefs - from page 13 
Corporation Business Tax 
Entire Controversy Doctrine  – 
Sutton Warehousing, Inc. v. 
Director, Division of Taxation, 
Superior Court of New Jersey, 
Appellate Division, decided May 
31, 1996, DDS no. 35-2-9081. 

The issue in this case is whether, 
during discovery for an appeal of 
taxpayer’s sales and use tax 
assessment, the Director of Taxa-
tion can issue a corporation busi-
ness tax (CBT) notice for discrep-
ancies found in the taxpayer’s 
records without violating the entire 
controversy doctrine. The entire 
controversy doctrine requires a 
court to adjudicate all of the 
equitable and legal issues arising 
from a single underlying trans-
action to the extent possible so to 
exercise fairness and efficiency. 
The Appellate Court reversed the 
Tax Court’s determination that the 
CBT assessment violated the entire 
controversy doctrine. 

Plaintiff, while in the business of 
storing and distributing clothing 
products, purchased a storage rack 
system and sprinkler system. 
Director audited plaintiff and 
found that plaintiff owed sales and 
use tax on the storage rack system. 
Plaintiff appealed and contended 
that it was an exempt capital im-
provement. During discovery for 
the appeal, Director found that 
plaintiff also owed CBT for depre-
ciating the sprinkler system over 
too short of a time period. Director 
issued plaintiff an additional 
assessment and plaintiff filed a 
complaint maintaining that 
Director’s actions violated the 
entire controversy doctrine. 

continued on page 16 
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The Appellate Court held that the 
entire controversy doctrine did not 
apply because the CBT was not a 
“matter in controversy between 
parties” when the sales and use tax 
was assessed. The cause of action 
for the CBT assessment did not 
arise in time to have been joined 
with the sales and use tax assess-
ment as a defense or counterclaim 
without violating plaintiff’s statu-
tory right to protest the assessment. 
Further, under N.J.S.A. 54:49-6, 
Director has four years to examine 
and audit a return and assess 
additional taxes, and he was within 
this statutory limitation. In 
addition, the sales and use tax 
assessment and the CBT assess-
ment did not arise from one 
underlying transaction, and there-
fore cannot be said to violate the 
entire controversy doctrine. 

The Appellate Court held that 
plaintiff could be assessed with the 
CBT and reversed the Tax Court 
ruling. 

REITs May Deduct Dividends 
Paid to Shareholders – Corporate 
Property v. Taxation Division, 15 
N.J. Tax 205 (Appellate Division, 
decided June 23, 1995). 

The Tax Court decided whether a 
real estate investment trust (REIT) 
can deduct the dividends paid to its 
shareholders in calculating tax 
under the Corporation Business 
Tax Act (CBT). The Court held 
that the Director incorrectly calcu-
lated plaintiff’s taxable income by 
including the deduction in com-
puting plaintiff’s entire net income 
under N.J.S.A. 54:10A-4(k). 

On appeal, the Director contended 
that plaintiff’s “taxable income” 

under the Internal Revenue Code 
(I.R.C.) is not equivalent to its 
“real estate investment trust tax-
able income” under the I.R.C. 

in our courts - from page 15 

Both plaintiff and the Director 
agreed that I.R.C. §63 applies to 
define “taxable income” to mean 
“gross income minus the deduc-
tions allowed by Chapter One of 
the I.R.C.” The Tax Court held 
that §857(b)(2)(B) in Chapter One 
authorizes a REIT to deduct divi-
dends paid to its investors. The 
Director challenged the use of this 
deduction because §857(b)(2) uses 
the term “real estate investment 
trust taxable income.” 
 

In rejecting that distinction, the 
Appellate Division agreed with the 
Tax Court in that the use of that 
phrase in the I.R.C. is only mean-
ingful when imposing additional 
taxes when a REIT fails to distrib-
ute the proper amount of income to 
its shareholders. The Appellate 
Division said that the basic attrac-
tion of a REIT is the pass-through 
of gains and losses to shareholders 
to have them pay the appropriate 
taxes. Also the Court indicated that 
there is no indication in the CBT 
that the Legislature intended to 
discourage REITs from operating 
in New Jersey. 

The Appellate Division also re-
jected the Director’s contention 
that the Federal paid deduction is a 
“special deduction” to be added 
back to Federal taxable income. 
The Court pointed out that the term 
“special deduction” is defined in 
I.R.C. §§241 through 249, and 
does not include the dividends paid 
deduction authorized by I.R.C. in 
§857(b)(2)(B). Also, as the Court 
stated, §857(b)(2)(A) denies any 
deduction from taxable income for 
“special deductions” for a REIT. 

Litter Control Tax 
Definition of “Food For Human 
Consumption” – Royal Food 
Distributors, Inc. v. Director, 
Division of Taxation, Tax Court of 
New Jersey, decided June 16, 
1995. 

This Litter Control Tax case con-
cerns the scope of the term “food 
for human consumption” as a 
“litter generating product” subject 
to tax under N.J.S.A 13:1E-94e. 
Plaintiff requests a refund for 
Litter Control Tax he paid in 1991 
and 1992 for $30,294 and $37,772 
respectively. Plaintiff contends that 
the products he distributed did not 
meet the statutory definition of 
“litter generating product” and 
therefore, plaintiff was entitled to a 
refund for Litter Control Tax paid 
on these products. The Tax Court 
upheld the Director of Taxation’s 
determination that plaintiff’s 
products were “litter generating 
products” subject to tax, and 
plaintiff would not be entitled to a 
refund of the taxes paid. 

Plaintiff is a wholesale distributor 
to retail stores. Plaintiff distributes 
meats, cheeses, fruits and vege-
tables, and other perishable food 

products. Manufacturers ship food 
continued on page 17 
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products to plaintiff prewrapped, 
usually in plastic wrap, plastic 
containers, or aluminum foil, and 
packaged in cardboard boxes. 
Plaintiff ships food products to its 
customers in the same wrapping as 
received by plaintiff from the 
manufacturer. 

Plaintiff paid Litter Control Tax in 
1991 and 1992, and subsequently 
filed refund claims for tax paid in 
the same years, claiming the 
Legislature did not intend for the 
tax to be levied upon perishable 
food products sold by food stores 
for off-premises consumption such 
as his products. Plaintiff points out 
that the Director’s regulation 
N.J.A.C. 18:38-3.1(b)(5), defining 
“food for human consumption” as 
“any substance, the chief general 
use of which is for human nour-
ishment,” is too expansive, super-
fluous and meaningless, and over-
laps the definitions of other listed 
“litter generating products” such as 
groceries, beer and malt beverages, 
distilled spirits, soft drinks and 
carbonated waters and wine. 
Plaintiff maintains this interpre-
tation of “food for human con-
sumption” contravenes Legislative 
intent because it creates redun-
dancies within the regulation. 
Plaintiff contends that the defi-
nition should be restricted to 
“prepared foods sold for off-
vending operators, vending 
machines and other similar 
establishments.” 

In deciding for the defendant, the 
Tax Court held that the Legislature 
did not intend for the definition of 
“food for human consumption” to 
deviate from the generally ac-
cepted meaning of the language. 
The Tax Court determined that the 
statute was unambiguous and 
plaintiff’s food products met the 

definition of “food for human 
consumption.” The Tax Court re-
futed plaintiff’s contention that the 
Director’s definition of “litter gen-
erating product” made the reg-
ulation superfluous and mean-
ingless. The Tax Court noted that 
any overlap in the regulations 
serves to clarify those categories of 
products that are considered to be 
“litter generating,” and that the 
Legislative intent to promote the 
economy, public health and safety 
is conferred by the Director’s 
interpretation of “litter generating 
products.” With respect to the 
Legislative intent and the plain 
language of the statute, plaintiff 
was responsible for paying Litter 
Control Tax in 1991 and 1992 for 
his food products and the denial of 
a refund for this tax is justified. 

in our courts - from page 16 

Local Property Tax 
Denial of 100% Veterans’ 
Exemption – Mary E. Jackson, 
Plaintiff, v. Township of Neptune, 
Defendant, decided March 27, 
1996; Tax Court of New Jersey; 
Docket No. 010542-94. 

Mary E. Jackson, claiming to be 
the surviving spouse of a 100% 
permanently disabled veteran, 
sought exemption from local prop-
erty taxation for her home under 
N.J.S.A. 54:4-3.30(b). Plaintiff 
married James Jackson in 1965. In 
1967, they purchased the subject 
property, as tenants by the entirety, 
and lived there together. In June 
1972, the United States Veterans’ 
Administration declared James 
Jackson a 100% disabled veteran. 
The Jacksons’ residence was 
exempted from property taxes 
beginning in 1973 and was exempt 
for tax year 1993.  

By deed dated January 21, 1993, 
the property was conveyed to 

plaintiff, Mary E. 
Jackson, individually. 
On February 16, 1993, plaintiff 
obtained a divorce from bed and 
board from James Jackson but they 
continued to live together some of 
the time until James Jackson’s 
death in April 1993. 

 

For the 1994 tax year, defendant, 
Township of Neptune, denied an 
exemption from local property 
taxation for plaintiff’s property. 
Plaintiff filed an appeal with the 
Monmouth County Board of 
Taxation. On June 28, 1994, plain-
tiff’s exemption request was de-
nied based on the fact that the 
marital home had been transferred 
to plaintiff in January 1993. 

On September 13, 1994, plaintiff 
filed a complaint with the Tax 
Court of New Jersey seeking a 
determination that subject property 
was exempt from local taxation 
under N.J.S.A. 54:4-3.30(b). Plain-
tiff asserted that only one legal 
issue was before the Court. She 
claimed that divorce from bed and 
board did not affect her legal  

continued on page 18 
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status as James Jackson’s wife, 
therefore she is his widow and thus 
qualified for exemption as his 
surviving spouse.  

Defendant contended two legal 
issues were before the Court. 
Defendant argued because of the 
divorce from bed and board 
plaintiff ceased to be James 
Jackson’s wife and did not qualify 
as his surviving spouse. Defendant 
also contended that transfer of the 
property from ownership of 
plaintiff and her husband to sole 
ownership of plaintiff disqualified 
the property for exemption because 
it was no longer owned by a 
permanently disabled veteran. As 
no exemption was available to 
James Jackson upon his death, no 
exemption could be available to 
his surviving spouse. 

The New Jersey Legislature has 
established both absolute divorce 
and divorce from bed and board. 
“Absolute divorce dissolves the 
marital bond and all dower rights 
are barred. In divorce from bed 
and board the marital bond 
subsists….” Divorce from bed and 
board is not a true divorce because 
it does not dissolve the bonds of 
matrimony but merely decrees a 
judicial separation. The facts 
before the Court suggest that the 
divorce from bed and board was 
obtained in an attempt to protect 
plaintiff’s rights to certain veteran-
related benefits such as medical 
insurance, commissary rights, and 
the veteran’s dwelling tax 
exemption at issue. 

Historically, New Jersey courts 
have held that divorce from bed 
and board does not break the bonds 
of matrimony, and without specific 
statutory disqualification, plaintiff 
was found to be the surviving 
spouse of James Jackson. Despite 
that finding, the exemption was 
still denied because of the deeded 
transfer of the property in January 
1993 from their ownership as 
tenants by the entirety to sole 
ownership of the plaintiff. As 
indicated earlier, because James 
Jackson no longer had a right to 
the exemption, there was no ex-
emption for the surviving spouse. 

Greenhouse Assessed As Real 
Property – Leonard Van 
Wingerden, Plaintiff v. Lafayette 
Township, Defendant, Tax Court 
of New Jersey, decided March 22, 
1996, Docket Nos. 008311-93 & 
007139-94, Dougherty, J.T.C. 

Before the New Jersey Tax Court 
was whether a 66,000 square feet, 
prefabricated modular 16 unit, 
Dutch-style, steel columned, glass 
greenhouse and shipping house 
with computer automated heat, 
electrical, ventilation and irrigation 
systems, anchor bolted to 500 
concrete piers 18 inches across, set 
two and three feet deep and 
assessed at $582,000 should be 
classed as real or personal property 
and taxed or exempted respectively 
as such. Also requested of the 
Court by the taxpayer was a 
reduction in assessed value for 
depreciation. 

In concurring with Sussex County 
Tax Board’s affirmation of 
Lafayette Township’s 1993 and 
1994 assessments, the Court held 
the greenhouse was taxable real 
property under N.J.S.A. 54:4-1 and 
the exemption under N.J.S.A. 
54:4-23.12, though applicable to 

the greenhouse, was void as a pri-
vate, preferential benefit and a 
nonpermitted classification of real 
property. The Court affirmed, too, 
the amount of the township’s 
assessments when the taxpayer 
failed to support his opinion of 
depreciated value. 

New Jersey law under N.J.S.A. 
54:4-1 taxes property classed as 
either real or personal. At present, 
taxable personal property is nar-
rowly defined to include only 
certain property of telephone, 
telegraph and messenger systems 
companies and certain petroleum 
refinery equipment. The taxpayer 
and the State contended the green-
house was taxable real property 
only in that it was affixed to the 
land and improvements and that it 
retained its character as personal 
property. As personal property, 
they further argued that N.J.S.A. 
54:4-23.12 classified it nontaxable 
(as a single-use agricultural or 
horticultural facility which by 
definition includes greenhouses) 
and that the exemption clause of 
the State Constitution, Article VIII, 
S1, par. 2. authorized such 
classification. 

The township, however, chal-
lenged N.J.S.A. 54:4-23.12 as an 
unconstitutional exemption of real 
property creating a tax preference 
contrary to the uniformity clause 
found in Article VIII, S1, par. 1(a). 

In its decision, the Court restated 
the history and purposes of the 
Constitution’s uniformity and 
exemption clauses saying they 
were to ensure the ad valorem 
taxation of all real property; to 
preserve charitable, religious and 
educational use exemptions; and to 
prevent tax exemption of real 

continued on page 19 
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property by classification. The 
apparent contradiction in the ex-
emption and uniformity provisions 
was justified in part by the Court 
on the basis of public purpose. The 
Court also noted that real property 
was not defined in the Constitution 
or statutes and that its meaning 
must be examined to reconcile the 
conflicting clauses. The Court 
looked to the five principles of 
statutory construction and the 
common law for clarification, 
citing Teaff v. Hewitt, 1 Ohio St. 
511 (Sup. Ct. 1853). Teaff set forth 
the still valid three pronged test for 
determining when personal prop-
erty becomes taxable realty based 
on the manner of its attachment 
and its intended use with intention 
being a critical factor. 

Regarding the disputed green-
house, the Court held that although 
it could be unassembled by re-
moving its connecting bolts and 
flanges, as well as its concrete 
piers, there was no evidence the 
design was meant to permit 
movement from one location to 
another and the ordinary intent was 
that it was to remain permanently 
affixed. The greenhouse’s 
permanence was also indicated by 
the loss in value which would 
occur by the sale, separate from the 
land, of its structures and parts 
used at a $1.00 per square foot 
(with the land $4.00 per square 
foot) versus a construction cost of 
$8.94 per square foot where the 
structural investment would be 
recouped from sale of its 
horticultural products over a useful 
life of 30 years. As real property, 
taxable under the uniformity 
clause, the Court then determined 
the validity of the exemption 
specifically granted greenhouses 
under N.J.S.A. 54:4-23.12. While 

holding the taxpayer’s greenhouse 
was within the definition of 
excludable structures as per 
N.J.S.A. 54:4-23.12, the Court, 
citing Switz v. Kingsley, 37 N.J. 
566 (1962) and N.J. St. League of 
Municipalities v. Kimmelman, 105 
N.J. 422 (1987), voided the 
exemption as preferential and 
violative of Article VIII, S1, par. 1 
of the State Constitution. 

Finally, relative to the Court’s 
upholding of the township’s 
assessments, it remarked that in the 
absence of any true value estimate 
by the taxpayer, who had the 
burden of providing definite, 
positive proofs, the Court was not 
free to ignore the presumption of 
correctness attached to the asses-
sor’s value determination. 

Taxes to be Paid Before Further 
Appeal – Janice Bernstein, 
Plaintiff, v. Atlantic City, 
Defendant, Tax Court of New 
Jersey, decided May 17, 1996, 
Docket No. 000158-96 

Question: Must a taxpayer, who 
paid taxes on her original assess-
ment, pay taxes on a county tax 
board’s increase in that assessment 
to further appeal to the New Jersey 
Tax Court? 

Background: For tax year 1995, 
taxpayer’s property was originally 
assessed at $78,600; annual prop-
erty taxes were $2,246.39. With 
property taxes paid in full, tax-
payer appealed to reduce the 
original assessment. At appeal, 
Atlantic County Tax Board raised 
the assessment by $11,400 to 
$90,000, increasing the taxes 
$325.82. Taxpayer then appealed 
that assessment to New Jersey Tax 
Court. Defending municipality, 
Atlantic City, next asked that the 
further appeal be dismissed for 

nonpayment of the taxes 
resulting from the 
Board’s revised assessment based 
on N.J.S.A. 54:51A-1(b). N.J.S.A. 
54:51A-1(b) provides, “At the time 
that a complaint has been filed 
with the Tax Court seeking review 
of the judgment of county tax 
boards, all taxes or any 
installments thereof then due and 
payable for the year for which 
review is sought must have been 
paid….” 
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Conclusion: Tax Court decided 
taxes to be paid before further 
appeal of a tax board’s determin-
ation could be heard by said Court 
were those resulting from the 
original assessment, not those from 
a subsequent value increase by a 
board at appeal. 

Analysis: The Court noted that 
while prior courts have upheld the 
payment of taxes on an original 
assessment as a statutory pre-
requisite to appeal, no case or 
statute specifically addressed the 
payment of taxes when a county 
board had increased the original 
assessment. In its reasoning, it 
utilized case law and statute con-
cerning tax refunds rather than 
payments. Woodcliff Management 
v. North Bergen Twp., 106 N.J. 
Super. 292 (App. Div. 1969) 
ordered refunds of several years 
taxes for assessments reduced via 
county tax board appeal where 
judgments were final, but for the 
year still under appeal refund was 
withheld until final adjudication. 
Statute N.J.S.A. 54:3-27.2, enacted 
in 1975 subsequent to Woodcliff, 
provides for property tax refunds 
within 60 days of the “date of final 
judgment” where a lesser assess-
ment is granted. Wilshire Selby 
West v. Ramsey Boro., 6 N.J. Tax 

continued on page 20 
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60 (Tax 1983) examined the 
meaning of the statute’s “date of 
final judgment” and confirmed 
refund deferral until all appeals 
were complete as appropriate. 
From the above, Tax Court 
concluded that if a refund of taxes 
cannot be paid on assessments 
lowered by a tax board but under 
appeal to the Court, payment of 
additional taxes from an 
assessment increased by a tax 
board cannot be required for 
appeal to the Court. The Court 
looked at the treatment of taxes for 
omitted assessments under appeal 
as well in Inwood Owners v. Little 
Falls Twp., 216 N.J. Super. 485 
(App. Div.), cert. den., 108 N.J. 
184 (1987). Here a request for dis-
missal for nonpayment of taxes 
from an omitted assessment was 
denied by reason that the tax pay-
ment necessary to allow appeal 
applied to conventional appeals 
only. The Appellate Division 
explained its denial saying, “[a] 
municipality does not rely on the 
collection of omitted taxes un-
known during the budget process 
to operate its government or meet 
its expenses….” 
 
Using Inwood, the Tax Court drew 
the same conclusion regarding an 
original assessment raised by a 
county board of taxation. Citing 
also Muscarelle v. Saddle Brook 
Twp., 14 N.J. Tax 453, 457 (Tax 
1995), Tax Court indicated, “The 
rationale behind the requirement 
that taxes be paid for the Tax 
Court to have jurisdiction over the 
contest of a local property tax 
assessment is to avoid putting the 
burden of an appealing taxpayer’s 
unpaid property taxes on the other 
taxpayers in the taxing district….” 
As such burden was absent in the 
present circumstances, motion to 

dismiss for nonpayment of taxes 
was denied and the amount of the 
assessment was permitted to be 
reviewed by the Court. 

Sales and Use Tax 
Use Tax Applicable to Tangible 
Personal Property For Employee 
Programs – Fedway Associates, 
Inc. v. Director, Division of 
Taxation, Superior Court of New 
Jersey, Appellate Division, de-
cided June 23, 1995. 

The Appellate Court affirmed the 
Tax Court’s determination that 
appellant was responsible for pay-
ing use tax under the Urban Enter-
prise Zones Act, N.J.S.A. 52:27H-
79, on purchases of tangible per-
sonal property not exclusively 
used or consumed in the Urban 
Enterprise Zone. Appellant pur-
chased tangible personal property 
for its employee incentive and 
marketing programs including 
napkins, corkscrews, calendars, 
golf bags and home electronic 
equipment. Appellate Court re-
jected appellant’s contention that 
the Legislature intended for these 
items to be exempt from use tax 
under N.J.S.A. 52:27H-79, and 
held that appellant owed use tax on 
the purchases, plus interest, in the 
amount of $141,555.26. 

Transfer Inheritance Tax 
Inter Vivos Transfers – Meyerson 
v. Director, Div. of Taxation, 15 
N.J. Tax 128 (Tax Court, decided 
September 29, 1995). 

The Tax Court decided in this case 
that inter vivos transfers to dece-
dent’s niece and grandnieces were 
in contemplation of death and 
therefore subject to transfer inheri-
tance tax. 

To determine whether the transfer 
was a substitute for a testamentary 
disposition, and thus in contem-
plation of death, the Court said that 
it considers (1) the age and general 
health of the donor at the time of 
the gift; (2) the time between the 
inter vivos transfer and the death; 
(3) whether or not the transfer was 
part of a testamentary scheme or 
plan; and (4) whether or not the 
gift was made to the natural 
objects of the donor’s bounty. 
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The Court then found that the 
decedent was almost 91 years old 
and had a serious heart condition 
when the trusts were created. The 
decedent passed away two years 
after the gifts were made. That the 
inter vivos dispositions and the 
testamentary dispositions were 
identical evidenced that the gifts 
were part of a testamentary plan. 
Also, the loving relationship and 
the terms of the will showed that 
the gifts were made to the natural 
object of the decedent’s bounty. 

Plaintiff, executor of decedent’s 
estate, argued that the trusts for the 
grandnieces were “life-motivated” 
as shown through their short dura-
tion and use for the grandnieces’ 
education. 

The Court disagreed, saying that 
irrespective of any life associated 
motives, a gift is made in the 
contemplation of death “if an 
impelling motive exists to make a 
present disposition in lieu of a 
testamentary disposition.” Even 
though the grandnieces were the 
income beneficiaries of trusts 
created for educational assistance, 
the Court pointed out that upon 
termination of the trusts the 

continued on page 21
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principal thereof was payable to 
the trust created for the benefit of 
the decedent’s niece. “[A] dispo-
sition,” the Court continued, “with 
a palpable post mortem aspect.” 

Pursuant to N.J.S.A. 54:34-1, the 
Court found that the transfer 
inheritance tax was properly 
imposed on the gifts made in.  

In Our Legislature 
Gross Income Tax 
Local Payroll Taxes — P.L. 1996, 
c.33 (signed into law on June 17, 
1996) amends P.L. 1970, c.326 to 
extend the expiration date and 
limit enactment of certain payroll 
taxes under the “Local Tax 
Authorization Act.” It preserves 
Newark’s, but removes Jersey 
City’s power to impose a local 
payroll tax. This legislation is 
effective immediately and is 
retroactive to January 1, 1996. 

New Property Tax Deduction — 
P.L. 1996, c.60 (signed into law on 
July 4, 1996) provides a gross 
income tax deduction that phases 
in over three years to reach a 
maximum of up to $10,000 for 
property taxes paid by home-
owners or the rental equivalent 
paid by tenants. The deduction 
applies to a taxpayer’s principal 
residence in this State. For tax 
years beginning in 1996, 50% of 
property taxes or the rental equiv-
alent not in excess of $5,000 may 
be deducted. For tax years begin-
ning in 1997, 75% not in excess of 
$7,500 may be deducted. 

The Act provides for a guaranteed 
minimum benefit of $25 for tax 
year 1996, $37.50 for tax year 
1997, and $50 in each year 
thereafter. This legislation is 
effective immediately and applies 

to taxable years beginning on or 
after January 1, 1996. 
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Local Property Tax 
New Jersey Urban Redevelopment 
Act — P.L. 1996, c.62 (signed into 
law on July 12, 1996) creates the 
New Jersey Redevelopment 
Authority (NJRA) to assist in the 
revitalization of New Jersey’s 
urban areas. The NJRA is given 
bonding authority with an annual 
bonding cap of $100 million.  

In addition, the Act creates a 
framework under which properties 
declared as abandoned based on 
their condition may be acquired in 
an abbreviated manner and rede-
veloped. The Act also authorizes 
the use of payments in lieu of taxes 
as a financing method for 
redevelopment projects.  

The legislation also establishes a 
neighborhood empowerment pro-
gram through which certain mu-
nicipalities may be made eligible 
for financial assistance from the 
NJRA. This new statute also sets 
forth procedures for remediating 
contaminated properties.  

The Act appropriates $9 million 
from the General Fund to the 
NJRA and $1 million from the 
General Fund to the Office of 
Neighborhood Empowerment. This 
legislation is effective on the 60th 
day following enactment except 
for the section establishing the 
New Jersey Redevelopment Au-
thority, which is effective 
immediately.  

Miscellaneous 
State Mandate Legislation — P.L. 
1996, c.24 (signed into law on 
May 8, 1996) implements the 
constitutional amendment, 
approved by the voters at the 1995 
general election, prohibiting laws 

enacted on or after 
January 17, 1996 and 
regulations adopted after July 1, 
1996 that impose unfunded 
mandates on counties, munici-
palities, and school districts. The 
Act creates a Council on Local 
Mandates, as required by the 
constitutional amendment, to 
resolve disputes as to whether a 
statute, rule or regulation consti-
tutes an unfunded State mandate. 

 

The Act provides that any such law 
or rule that is determined to be an 
unfunded mandate upon boards of 
education, counties or munici-
palities shall cease in its effect and 
shall expire. An unfunded mandate 
is one that does not authorize 
resources to offset the additional 
direct expenditures it requires. An 
unfunded mandate does not 
establish a standard of care for the 
purpose of civil liability. This 
legislation is effective immediately. 

Business Relocation Assistance 
Grant Program — P.L. 1996, 
c.25 (signed into law on May 9, 
1996) establishes a Business 
Relocation Assistance Grant 
Program within the Department of 
Commerce and Economic 
Development to encourage 
economic development and job 
creation in this State. To the 
extent that funding is available 
from the General Fund, and with 
certain other restrictions, the 
program will provide grants for 
up to fifty percent of the cost of 
relocation to businesses which 
relocate to the State and create a 
minimum of 25 new full-time jobs 
in the State. However, an indi-
vidual grant may not exceed 80% 
of the projected new income tax 
revenues realized from the new 

continued on page 22 
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jobs created by the grant applicant. 

The grants under this bill will not 
be disbursed in any year until the 
new income tax revenues equal or 
exceed the amount of the grant, 
and grant amounts are further 
limited by their interaction with 
other grant programs. This legis-
lation is effective immediately. 

Business Employment Incentive 
Program — P.L. 1996, c.26 
(signed into law on May 9, 1996) 
establishes the Business Employ-
ment Incentive Program to be 

administered by the Economic 
Development Authority to make 
direct payments in the form of 
grants to attract businesses creating 
new jobs in the State. The amount 
of an employment incentive grant 
will equal a percentage, between 
10% and 80%, of the total amount 
of State income taxes withheld by 
the business during a calendar year 
for the new employees hired. The 
employment incentive can be 
authorized for a fixed number of 
years, not to exceed 10. 

The grants under this bill will not 
be disbursed in any year until the 

new income tax revenues received 
from the business during the year 
equal or exceed the amount of the 
grant, and grant amounts are 
further limited by their interaction 
with other grant programs. 

in our legislature - from pg. 21 

In addition, the bill grants a sales 
and use tax exemption for certain 
property purchased by a provider 
of cable/satellite television serv-
ices, whether the provider is 
licensed by the Federal Com-
munications Commission or not. 
This legislation is effective 
immediately.  

 

tax calendar 

october 
SUN. MON. TUE. WED. THU. FRI. SAT. 

     
 

 1 
 

 2  3  4  5 

 6  7  8  9 
 

 10  11  12 

 13  14 
 

 15  16  17  18  19 

 20  21  22  23  24 
 

 25  26 

 27  28  29 
 

 30 
 

 31   

October 10 
CWIP-1 Cigarette Tax—Informational 

report by wholesalers 
CWIP-2 Cigarette Tax—Informational 

report by wholesalers 

October 15 
CBT-100 Corporation Business Tax—  
 Annual return for accounting 

period ending June 30 

continued 

October 15  -  continued 

CBT-150 Corporation Business Tax— 
Installment payment of esti-
mated tax for 4th, 6th, 9th or 
12th month of current tax year 

October 21 
CR-1 & Cigarette Tax—Monthly report 
CNR-1 of cigarettes sold or used by 

distributors, manufacturers, 
representatives and consumers 

GA-1D Motor Fuels Tax—Distributor’s 
monthly report of gallons of fuel 
sold or used 

GA-1J Motor Fuels Tax—Jobber’s 
monthly report of gallons of fuel 

MFT-10 Motor Fuels Tax—Monthly 
report by seller-user of special 
fuels for sales and/or use in the 
previous month 

SCC-5 Spill Compensation and 
Control Tax—Monthly return 

ST-20 New Jersey/New York 
Combined State Sales and 
Use Tax—Quarterly return 

continued 

October 21  -  continued 

ST-50 Sales and Use Tax—Quarterly 
return 

ST-250 Combined Atlantic City 
Luxury Tax/State Sales Tax— 
Monthly return 

1 

9 
9 
6 

ST-350 Cape May County Tourism 
Sales Tax—Monthly return 

ST-450 Sales and Use Tax–Salem 
County—Quarterly Return 

TP-20 Tobacco Products Whole-
sale Sales and Use Tax— 
Monthly return 

UZ-50 Combined State Sales Tax/ 
Urban Enterprise Zone   
Sales Tax—Monthly return 

October 25 
PPT-40 Petroleum Products Gross 

Receipts Tax—Quarterly return 

October 31 
NJ-941 & Gross Income Tax— 
NJ-941-W Employer’s quarterly return 
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november 
SUN. MON. TUE. WED. THU. FRI. SAT. 

           1  2 

 3  4  5  6  7  88 9 

 10  11 
 

 12  13 
 

 14 
 

 15  16 

 17  18 
 

 19 
 

 20  21  22  23 

 24  25  26 
 

 27  28 
 

 29 
 

 30 

November 12 
CWIP-1 Cigarette Tax—Informational 

report by wholesalers 
CWIP-2 Cigarette Tax—Informational 

report by wholesalers 

November 15 
CBT-100 Corporation Business Tax— 

Annual return for accounting 
period ending July 31 

continued 

November 15  -  continued 

CBT-150 Corporation Business Tax— 
Installment payment of esti-
mated tax for 4th, 6th, 9th or 
12th month of current tax year 

NJ-500 Gross Income Tax— 
Employer’s monthly remittance 

November 20 
CR-1 & Cigarette Tax—Monthly report 
CNR-1 of cigarettes sold or used by 

distributors, manufacturers, 
representatives and consumers 

GA-1D Motor Fuels Tax—Distributor’s 
monthly report of gallons of fuel 
sold or used 

GA-1J Motor Fuels Tax—Jobber’s 
monthly report of gallons of fuel 

MFT-10 Motor Fuels Tax—Monthly 
report by seller-user of special 
fuels for sales and/or use in 
the previous month 

SCC-5 Spill Compensation and 
Control Tax—Monthly return 

continued 

November 20  -  continued 

ST-21 New Jersey/New York 
Combined State Sales and 
Use Tax—Monthly return 1 

9 
9 
6 

ST-51 Sales and Use Tax—Monthly 
return 

ST-250 Combined Atlantic City 
Luxury Tax/State Sales Tax— 
Monthly return 

ST-350 Cape May County Tourism 
Sales Tax—Monthly return 

ST-451 Sales and Use Tax–Salem 
County—Monthly Return 

TP-20 Tobacco Products Whole-
sale Sales and Use Tax— 
Monthly return 

UZ-50 Combined State Sales Tax/ 
Urban Enterprise Zone   
Sales Tax—Monthly return 

November 25 
PPT-41 Petroleum Products Gross 

Receipts Tax—Monthly return 

 

december 
SUN. MON. TUE. WED. THU. FRI. SAT. 

 1  2  3  4  5  6  7 

 8  9  10  11  12  13  14 

 15  16  17  18  19  20  21 

 22  23 
 

 24  25 
 

 26  27  28 

 29  30 
 

 31         

December 10 
CWIP-1 Cigarette Tax—Informational 

report by wholesalers 
CWIP-2 Cigarette Tax—Informational 

report by wholesalers 

December 16 
CBT-100 Corporation Business Tax— 

Annual return for accounting 
period ending August 31 

continued 

December 16  -  continued 

CBT-150 Corporation Business Tax— 
Installment payment of esti-
mated tax for 4th, 6th, 9th or 
12th month of current tax year 

NJ-500 Gross Income Tax— 
Employer’s monthly remittance 

December 20 
CR-1 & Cigarette Tax—Monthly report 
CNR-1 of cigarettes sold or used by 

distributors, manufacturers, 
representatives and consumers 

GA-1D Motor Fuels Tax—Distributor’s 
monthly report of gallons of fuel 
sold or used 

GA-1J Motor Fuels Tax—Jobber’s 
monthly report of gallons of fuel 

MFT-10 Motor Fuels Tax—Monthly 
report by seller-user of special 
fuels for sales and/or use in 
the previous month 

continued 

December 20  -  continued 

SCC-5 Spill Compensation and 
Control Tax—Monthly return 

ST-21 New Jersey/New York 
Combined State Sales and 
Use Tax—Monthly return 1 

9 
9 
6 

ST-51 Sales and Use Tax—Monthly 
return 

ST-250 Combined Atlantic City 
Luxury Tax/State Sales Tax— 
Monthly return 

ST-350 Cape May County Tourism 
Sales Tax—Monthly return 

ST-451 Sales and Use Tax–Salem 
County—Monthly Return 

TP-20 Tobacco Products Whole-
sale Sales and Use Tax— 
Monthly return 

UZ-50 Combined State Sales Tax/ 
Urban Enterprise Zone   
Sales Tax—Monthly return 

December 26 
PPT-41 Petroleum Products Gross 

Receipts Tax—Monthly return 

 

 



24  FFall 1996 

 

from the director’s desk 
Revised Due Dates For NJ-941/NJ-941-W 
As reported in the Summer 1996 edition of the State Tax News, effective July 1, 1996 all employers and others 
required to withhold and remit New Jersey income tax are required to file a new quarterly return (NJ-941 or NJ-
941-W). A return must be filed for each quarter regardless of the amount of withholdings. The Division has 
changed the due dates of these quarterly returns. Both returns are now due on or before the last day of the month 
following the close of the calendar quarter. This change applies only to Forms NJ-941 and NJ-941-W. 

New Rebate InfoLine 
With 1995 Homestead Rebate checks being mailed early this year (see related article on page 3), many taxpayers 
have already used the Division’s Homestead Rebate InfoLine. The Homestead Rebate InfoLine is the newest 
addition  to  our  Automated  Tax  Information  System. Touch-tone  phone  users  within  New  Jersey who  have 
questions regarding their rebates can call 
1-800-323-4400 to obtain information. Tax-
payers will need information from their rebate 
application when calling the InfoLine. 

Amnesty Update 
The Director congratulates all the Division 
personnel who contributed to the State’s 
successful Tax Amnesty initiative. See the 
related article on page 1. 
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