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Changes to Rebate

Program

The Homestead Property Tax Credit
Act was signed into law April 3,
2007. The Act replaced the FAIR Re-
bate Program and increases the prop-
erty tax benefit received by many
New Jersey homeowners. The Act
provides that, for most homeowners,
the benefit can be paid as a credit
applied to the homeowners’ next
property tax bill. However, because
of unresolved issues with banking
and mortgage lending industries, as
well as municipalities, all eligible
applicants will receive the benefit as
a check this year.

Who is Eligible

Homeowners and tenants who occu-
pied their principal residence in New
Jersey on October 1, 2006, and who
paid property taxes on that dwell-
ing either directly or through rent,
are eligible for a 2006 homestead
rebate, provided that their gross in-
come for the entire year does not
exceed the income limit. The income
limit is $250,000 for homeowners
and $100,000 for tenants.

How to Apply

Homeowners: The 2006 homestead
rebate applications were mailed in
May to homeowners who were 65
years of age or older or disabled on
December 31, 2006. Application
packets were mailed beginning in
late June to nonsenior, nondisabled
homeowners.

Volume 36, Number 2
Summer 2007

Most homeowners can file
their applications by phone by
calling 1-877-658-2972 or online at:
www.state.nj.us/treasury/taxation/
The filing deadline for all homeown-
ers has been extended to October 31,
2007.

Tenants: Applicants who are re-
quired to file a 2006 New Jersey
income tax return complete their
tenant homestead rebate application
(Form TR-1040) and file it with
their resident income tax return
(Form NJ-1040, or return filed
electronically using NJ WebFile or
approved vendor software) by
April 17, 2007. If a taxpayer re-
quests an extension of time to file
their State income tax return, the fil-
ing deadline for the homestead re-
bate is also extended.

Tenants who have already filed their
income tax returns but did not com-
plete the homestead rebate applica-
tion even though they were eligible,
have until October 31, 2007, to file
the tenant rebate application, Form
TR-1040.

Applicants who are not required to
file a 2006 New Jersey income tax
return because their income is below
the minimum filing threshold file
only Form TR-1040 and have until
October 31, 2007, to apply.

continued on page 2
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Benefit Amounts

Benefit amounts differ for home-
owners and tenants, and are deter-
mined by income, amount of
property taxes (or rent) paid, and
whether the applicant is 65 or older
or eligible to claim an exemption as
blind or disabled for the tax year.

Homeowners: For tax years 2006
and after, homeowners will receive
10%-20% of the first $10,000 of
property taxes paid, depending on
their income level:

$100,000 or less — 20%
$100,001 — $150,000 — 15%
$150,001 — $250,000 — 10%

Homeowners who are age 65 or
older or disabled will receive the
larger of either the applicable per-
centage of property taxes paid (see
above) or the amount by which the
property taxes paid exceed 5% of
gross income, but within the range
specified based on income:

$70,000 or less — $1200 — $1000
$70,001 — $125,000 — $800 — $600
$125,001 — $200,000 — $500

In no case will a homeowner receive
a rebate greater than the amount of
property taxes actually paid.

Tenants: For tax year 2000, tenants
age 65 or older or disabled will re-
ceive rebates ranging from a mini-
mum of $160 up to a maximum of
$860. Tenants under age 65 and not
disabled will receive a minimum of
$80 up to a maximum of $350.

Rebate Checks

Homeowners: Checks for senior
and disabled homeowners who filed
by June 1 were mailed on July 31,
while checks for those who file be-
tween June 1 and October 31 will

be issued as quickly as possible
thereafter. Checks for all nonsenior,
nondisabled homeowners are sched-
uled to be mailed in the fall.

Tenants: Checks for tenants, who
file their applications with their in-
come tax returns, were also mailed
on July 31.

More information on the Homestead
Rebate Program is available at:
www.state.nj.us/treasury/taxation/
homestead/06hrintro.shtml O

SALES AND USE TAX
Membership Fees/
Parking Charges

P.L. 2007, c.105, effective July 1,
2007, amends the Sales and Use Tax
Act to exempt from sales tax mem-
bership fees or dues for access to fa-
cilities of a health and fitness,
athletic, sporting or shopping club
or organization when the charges are
made by qualified exempt organiza-
tions or New Jersey State or local
government entities. All other
charges for initiation fees, member-
ship fees or dues for access to fa-
cilities of a health and fitness,
athletic, sporting or shopping club
or organization remain subject to
sales tax.

P.L. 2007, c.105, also exempts
charges for parking, storing, and ga-
raging a motor vehicle when made
by a municipality or county or a
municipal or county parking author-
ity. All other charges for parking,
storing, or garaging a motor vehicle,
other than residential and employee
parking, remain subject to tax. The
amendment also eliminates the im-
position of sales tax on the $3 park-
ing fee at Atlantic City casino hotels.

continued on page 3
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For more detailed information about
these changes visit the Division’s
Web site at:
www.state.nj.us/treasury/taxation/
notice repealofsales.shtml

For general information about ini-
tiation fees, membership fees and
dues, see Tax Note on this topic.

For general information about park-
ing, storing, or garaging a motor ve-
hicle, see Tax Note on this topic. 4

SALES AND USE TAX
Newspaper
Production
Equipment

The sale of machinery, apparatus, or
equipment used directly and prima-
rily in the publication of newspapers

is exempt from sales tax under
N.J.S.A. 54:32B-8.29.

In the last several years, the news-
paper industry has undergone many
technological advances that affect
the application of this exemption.
For example, computers and digital
imaging have automated the
newspaper publishing industry, in-
tegrated multiple processes, and re-
placed the more traditional methods
of publishing.

The availability of new technology
has necessitated a reevaluation of
how the phrase “directly and primar-
ily” applies in the context of news-
paper production. In general,
“primarily” means used more than
50% of the time in the exempt ac-
tivity, and “directly” refers to the
physical proximity of the machin-
ery, apparatus, or equipment in re-
lation to the physical production of
newspapers as a process.

In terms of newspaper production in
a digital environment, the physical
location of the equipment does not
determine exempt status. Equipment
that is used directly and primarily
in the production process qualifies
for the exemption even if it is physi-
cally located at a facility other than
where the actual printing occurs. For
example, the equipment used di-
rectly and primarily to coordinate
the creation and layout of the news-
paper pages may not be at the same
location as the actual printing opera-
tion. Some small newspaper pub-
lishers may even outsource the
entire printing process so that none
of the printing takes place at their
own facility.

In addition, computer equipment is
likely to have dual uses, some “di-
rect and primary” and some admin-
istrative. One factor that may be
used to evaluate whether the pur-
chase of a particular piece of equip-
ment is exempt is the presence of
software on the equipment which is
used in the page layout process. The
presence of such software creates a
rebuttable presumption that the
computer equipment is used directly
and primarily in the production pro-
cess; however, this presumption will
be overcome if the equipment’s ac-
tual use in the workplace indicates
a nonexempt use more than 50% of
the time. For example, if a computer
that is used in a business office
where its operator does a variety of
tasks related to the conduct of busi-
ness, including page composition, is
used only 30% of the time for pro-
duction purposes, it does not qualify
for exemption. 4

Small
Business
Workshops

The Division of Taxation periodi-
cally conducts free workshops
throughout New Jersey designed to
help small businesses better under-
stand their State tax obligations. The
seminars are a half day in duration
and cover the following topics:

e Business registration

e Meeting employer responsibilities
e Reporting business income

e Filing sales and use tax returns

For more information, including the
current workshop schedule, visit the
Division’s Web site at:
www.state.nj.us/treasury/taxation/
smallbus.shtml U

LOCAL PROPERTY TAX

PAMS Countdown
to Implementation

With the first implementation of
New Jersey’s new Property Assess-
ment Management System (PAMS)
only months away, the project team
continues testing and is beginning
to focus on activities to prepare the
three early implementation counties
for cutover to the new system. The
counties will go live on a staggered
schedule beginning in October as
follows:

October — Hunterdon County
November — Camden County
December — Salem County

Project activities in recent months
have included installing computer
servers at the Office of Information
Technology’s facility, meeting with
vendors to discuss interfaces with

continued on page 4
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the new system, and testing business
functions or procedures used to per-
form specific tasks in an office, such
as appraising low-income housing or
creating a lien certificate.

The latest edition of the quarterly
PAMS newsletter, Update, is avail-
able on the Division’s Web site at:
www.state.nj.us/treasury/taxation/

pamsvol/pams.shtml

For questions, contact Dana Max at
dana.max @treas.state.nj.us or
609-292-8311. 4

LOCAL PROPERTY TAX
Tax Assessors’

Calendar
July 1-

Where County Board of Taxation
cannot hear and determine all ap-
peals within the prescribed time,
Board may apply to Director, Di-
vision of Taxation for extension
of time within which appeals may
be heard and determined.

Disallowed property tax deduc-
tion recipients, granted an exten-
sion, required to pay deduction
previously granted. If unpaid, be-
come real property liens.

MOD IV Master file sent to Prop-
erty Administration via appropri-
ate medium.

Assessor to mail Application for
Farmland Assessment (Form
FA-1) for tax year 2008 together
with a notice that the completed
form must be filed with the as-
sessor by August 1, 2007, in or-
der to claim continuance of
Farmland Assessment.

2nd Tuesday in July—

State Equalization Table

prepared.

August 1-

Owners of farmland must file
Application for Farmland Assess-
ment (Form FA-1) with the asses-
sor to have land assessed under
Farmland Assessment Act for tax
year 2008.

August 5-

All SR-1A forms showing in-
formation to be used in compil-
ing 2007 Table of Equalized
Valuations for State School Aid
to be received by Property
Administration.

August 15—

County Board of Taxation Presi-
dents to annually file a report
(Form TAS) that contains appeal
information and statistics to the
Director, Division of Taxation.

August 25—

Completion of State Equalization
Table by Director, Division of
Taxation.

September 1-

Extension to file Application for
Farmland Assessment (Form
FA-1) where assessor has deter-
mined failure to file by August 1
was due to illness of the owner
or death of the owner or an im-
mediate member of the owner’s
family.

Local exchange telephone, tele-
graph, and messenger system
companies file tangible business
personal property returns (Form
PT-10) with respect to tax year
2008 with the assessor for taxing
district in which the said property
is located.

Summer 2007

e Petroleum refineries file tangible
business personal property re-
turns (Form PT-10.1) with asses-
sor for tax year 2008 for
machinery, apparatus, or equip-
ment directly used to manufac-
ture petroleum products from
crude oil.

September 13—

e County Tax Board transmits
Table of Aggregates to County
Treasurer who then transmits to
Taxation and Local Government
Services Directors, State Auditor,
Municipal Clerks, and Clerk of
Board of Freeholders. 1

Criminal
Enforcement

Criminal Enforcement over the past
several months included:

e On February 21, 2007, the Office
of Criminal Investigation (OCI)
conducted a joint investigation
with the Little Falls Police

continued on page 5

Interest 11.25%

The interest rate assessed on amounts
due for the period January 1, 2007 —
December 31, 2007, will be 11.25%.

The assessed interest rate history is
listed below.

Effective Interest
Date Rate
1/1/02 8.00%
1/1/03 7.25%
1/1/04 7.00%
1/1/05 8.00%

10/1/05 9.50%
1/1/06 10.00%
10/1/06 11.25%
1/1/07 11.25%
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Department. Acting on a citizen
complaint regarding the purchase
of unstamped cigarettes at
Deepali & Pinku, Inc., trading as
Valley Spa, located at 61 E. Main
Street in Little Falls, 192.5 car-
tons of cigarettes were seized,
40.3 of which bore counterfeit
New Jersey tax stamps. The
owner, Daxesh Parikh, was
charged with numerous offenses,
the most serious being the third-
degree crime of possessing 2,000
or more cigarettes with counter-
feit tax stamps.

On March 26, 2007, a Clifton
woman, Rosa M. Castro, 51, and
her boyfriend, Rafael E. Ramos,
50, were indicted on charges that
they stole more than $16,000 by
filing fraudulent State tax returns.
They were indicted by a State
Grand Jury on third-degree
charges of theft by deception,
money laundering, and con-
spiracy. It is alleged that Castro
and Ramos filed 46 fraudulent
New Jersey gross income tax re-
turns between March and Decem-
ber 2006, consequently receiving
and depositing 22 refund checks
from the Division of Taxation
totaling $15,209 and 4 homestead
rebate checks totaling $865.
Castro, who offered tax return
preparation services to others,
allegedly used the names of 13
different clients without their per-
mission to prepare the fraudulent
returns for tax years 2000 through
2005. All of the returns listed the
defendants’ home address. At the
time of the alleged misconduct,
Rosa M. Castro was on parole
from State prison in connection
with a prior fraud conviction in-
volving more than 1,400 false
State tax returns.

Castro pled guilty in 2002 to a
Federal charge of aiding in the
preparation of a false Federal in-
come tax return and received
three years’ probation. In June
2004 she pled guilty to a second-
degree charge of theft by decep-
tion brought by the Division of
Criminal Justice for filing 1,448
fraudulent tax returns with the
State of New Jersey. She was sen-
tenced to five years in State
prison but was released on parole
in October 2005.

On April 17,2007, Castro was re-
turned to custody and on May 9,
2007, the New Jersey State Pa-
role Board-Adult Panel revoked
her parole and ordered Castro to
serve the balance of her prison
term (10 months, 17 days). Ac-
cordingly, she will serve a prison
sentence until March 4, 2008, for
the 2004 conviction. The dispo-
sition of the current charges is
still pending.

On March 30, 2007, Joan Or-
lando, 60, of Brick, was sen-
tenced to five years in prison and
ordered to make restitution for
stealing $738,163 from St.
Benedict Roman Catholic
Church. She was arrested in 2005
and pled guilty in January 2007
to theft by deception and failure
to pay taxes. During a four-year
period Orlando, with sole control
of the books as a financial admin-
istrator at the Holmdel church,
padded her $47,000 salary to sup-
port her compulsive gambling ad-
diction. In charge of payroll at the
church, Orlando, who worked in
the parish office for six and a half
years, submitted paycheck
amounts for church employees to
Automatic Data Processing Inc.
of Roseland, which produced the
checks. From January 2001 to

June 2005, she inflated g
the amount of money she “
was to receive in her paycheck for
each pay period. Joan Orlando’s
husband, Richard, who is accused
of receiving nearly $300,000 in
cash and checks from his wife’s
bank account between 2003 and
2005, is scheduled to go to trial.

On April 2, 2007, Mack Barden,
58, of Paterson, was sentenced to
five years in State prison for steal-
ing $210,035 by fraudulently ob-
taining hundreds of New Jersey
tax refund and homestead rebate
checks. Barden pled guilty on
January 18, 2007, to second-
degree theft by deception, a
charge contained in a State Grand
Jury indictment obtained by the
Division of Criminal Justice in
July 2006. As part of the plea
agreement, Barden agreed to
make full restitution to the New
Jersey Division of Taxation. The
investigation by OCI revealed
that Barden, a truck driver who
earned additional income by pre-
paring tax returns, submitted hun-
dreds of fraudulent New Jersey
gross income tax returns and
homestead rebate applications
between 1997 and 2005 using
false names and social security
numbers. Barden submitted al-
tered W-2 forms with the tax re-
turns, including forms from his
tax preparation clients.

On April 25, 2007, a search war-
rant and arrest warrants were ex-
ecuted at the residence of Jimmy
and Jennifer Pham regarding al-
legations of tax evasion and struc-
turing. The Phams accumulated
sizeable liquid assets, but their
reported gross income deemed it
unlikely that their accumulation

continued on page 6
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of assets was through the savings
of a portion of their income. The
IRS had seized certificates of de-
posit totaling $300,000 and the
New Jersey State Police confis-
cated $200,000 in jewelry found
during the search. The Phams
claimed that the accumulation of
money was from gambling win-
nings which they had previously
secured in safes in their house and
later decided to deposit in banks.
The Phams stated they were mak-
ing the deposits in amounts less
than $10,000 in order to avoid the
need for the banks to file a Cur-
rency Transaction Report. Jimmy
and Jennifer Pham were charged
with financial facilitation and fil-
ing false and fraudulent tax re-
turns for tax years 2005 and 2006.
This is a joint investigation with
the Financial Investigation Unit
of the New Jersey Division of
Gaming Enforcement and the
IRS.

On April 27, 2007, Lisa A. Gor-
don of Little Egg Harbor was sen-
tenced to prison for theft of
movable property and failure to
file a New Jersey gross income
tax return for tax year 2000. Gor-
don was sentenced to four years
in State prison and ordered to
make restitution to the Jewish
Community Center, her former
employer. In June 2005 a Mon-
mouth County Grand Jury handed
up a seven-count indictment of
Lisa Gordon and her husband,
Christopher, charging that they
embezzled more than $400,000
from the Jewish Community Cen-
ter in Ocean Township. The in-
vestigation established that the
Gordons used these funds to
gamble in Atlantic City in addi-
tion to purchasing automobiles

and property. On July 14, 2006,
Lisa A. Gordon pled guilty to the
second-degree crime of theft of
movable property and one count
of failure to file a New Jersey
gross income tax return. As part
of the plea agreement the remain-
ing charges against Lisa Gordon
and all charges against her hus-
band were dismissed at the time
of sentencing. This was a joint in-
vestigation with the Monmouth
County Prosecutor’s Office.

On May &, 2007, Terry Tolbert
was indicted in Union County Su-
perior Court on charges of sell-
ing cigarettes without the
required revenue stamp and pos-
session of 2,000 or more ciga-
rettes with counterfeit tax stamps.
This indictment is the result of
action taken on November 30,
2006, when Terry Tolbert and
Ryan Mills were arrested for the
possession, sale, and transporta-
tion of cigarettes bearing coun-
terfeit tax stamps in Roselle, New
Jersey. Ryan Mills pled guilty in
Union County Superior Court and
is awaiting sentencing. Terry
Tolbert’s case is pending trial.
The arrests were the result of a
six-month investigation con-
ducted by OCI special agents of
illegitimate cigarette wholesalers
under the names C&M Tobacco
and Tobacco Express.

In the area of refund fraud, the
Office of Criminal Investigation
prevented the issuance of fraudu-
lent refund claims totaling
$10,799,292 during the current
fiscal year. In addition, the Of-
fice of Criminal Investigation
continues to diligently issue as-
sessments based on refunds found
to be fraudulently obtained. U

Tax Briefs

Corporation Business Tax
Termination of New Jersey S Cor-
poration Status — A corporation
that has elected and been accepted
as a New Jersey S corporation re-
mains a New Jersey S corporation
as long as it is a Federal S corpora-
tion, unless it revokes its New Jer-
sey status before the end of the first
tax year. To revoke an election, a
letter of revocation must be filed.
The letter must be signed by all
shareholders holding more than 50%
of the outstanding shares of stock on
the day of the revocation, and a copy
of the original election form must
be enclosed. The letter of revocation
must be filed on or before the last
day of the first tax year of the elec-
tion. N.J.A.C. 18:7-20.1(f).

To terminate New Jersey S corpo-
ration status after the first year, a
corporation must terminate its
Federal S corporation status. An
S corporation cannot end its New
Jersey S corporation status without
first terminating its Federal S cor-
poration status. The corporation
must then reregister with the State
as a C corporation.

Multiple Taxes

Breast, Chin, and Other Implants
— Several inquiries have been re-
ceived regarding the taxability of
breast implants under the Sales and
Use Tax Act, N.J.S.A. 54:32B-1 et
seq., the Cosmetic Medical Proce-
dures Gross Receipts Tax Act,
N.J.S.A. 54:32E-1, or both.

The sale or use of breast implants is
not subject to sales and use tax.
Breast implants, chin implants,
cheek implants, and similar bodily
implants are deemed to be “pros-
thetic devices” and are therefore

continued on page 7
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exempt from sales and use tax pur-
suant to N.J.S.A. 54:32B-8.1. Nei-
ther the medical services provider
who purchases the implants from a
supplier nor the patient who has
them surgically implanted should
pay sales tax or use tax on the
implants.

If the medical services provider
bills the patient for the implants in
addition to billing for the medical
services, then under certain circum-
stances the implants may be sub-
ject to cosmetic medical procedures
gross receipts tax (CMPGRT), pay-
able by the patient. If the procedure
is a “cosmetic medical procedure,”
i.e., amedical procedure performed
in order to improve the patient’s
appearance, but without signifi-
cantly serving the purpose of pre-
venting or treating disease,
improving functioning of the body,
or correcting or minimizing abnor-
malities caused by birth or devel-
opmental defects, trauma, or
disease, then charges for the medi-
cal service are subject to the
CMPGRT, payable by the patient
and collected by the medical ser-
vices provider. In that case, charges
for any goods or facility occupan-
cies required for the procedure and
billed to the patient are also sub-
ject to the CMPGRT. For example,
if a patient undergoes a breast aug-
mentation procedure for purely aes-
thetic reasons, charges for the
procedure as well as any additional
charges for necessary room occu-
pancies, implants, or other tangible
personal property will be subject to
the CMPGRT. However, if the pro-
cedure is reconstructive surgery
performed to repair or correct ab-
normalities resulting from disease

or trauma (including prior surgeries)
or congenital or developmental de-
fects, then neither the medical ser-
vices nor the implants and other
goods will be subject to CMPGRT.

Partnerships

Partnership Filing Fee — Under
N.J.S.A. 54A:8-6, a partnership fil-
ing fee is imposed on partnerships
that have income (or loss) derived
from New Jersey sources and that
have more than two owners. The fil-
ing fee is $150 for each owner up to
a maximum of $250,000. The filing
fee is due on or before the 15th day
of the fourth month following the
close of each privilege period. An in-
stallment payment equal to 50% of
the filing fee is also required at the
same time.

A partnership may not be required to
pay the filing fee if there is no New
Jersey source income. To qualify for
this exception, all operations and fa-
cilities must be located outside New
Jersey. However, if the partnership
has New Jersey source income, ex-
penses, deductions, or losses it will
not qualify for this exception. For
example, a partnership that owns raw
land in New Jersey on which it pays
property taxes does not qualify for
exemption because the property
taxes constitute New Jersey ex-
penses. On the other hand, fees paid
by the partnership for a New Jersey
checking account or to a New Jersey
accounting firm are not considered
New Jersey source expenses for pur-
poses of determining liability for the
filing fee. Similarly, the fee paid for
simply filing the annual report in
New Jersey will not be considered a
New Jersey source expense for
purposes of measuring filing fee
liability.

If the partnership derives

no income (or expenses)
from New Jersey sources as de-
scribed above, it would not be re-
quired to submit the $150 per
member filing fee. However, the
partnership would still be respon-
sible for filing a New Jersey part-
nership return (Form NJ-1065) if it
had a New Jersey resident partner.

The partnership filing fee must be
paid by the original due date of the
partnership return. There is no ex-
tension for payment of the filing fee,
even if the partnership has an exten-
sion for the filing of the partnership
return. A prepayment of 50% of the
next year’s filing fee must also be
made with the fee for the current
year. No other installment payments
are required for the partnership fil-
ing fee.

The filing fee cannot be prorated for
partners who own an interest for
only a portion of the year. Similarly,
the fee cannot be prorated if the part-
nership was in existence for only
part of the tax year for which
Form NJ-1065 is due. If a partner-
ship dissolves before the end of a
tax year, the 50% prepayment of the
$150 per partner filing fee for the
next year is not required.

For additional guidance on the im-
position of the partnership filing fee,
see N.J.A.C. 18:35-11.1-11.6 and
TB-55, Partnership Filing Fee and
Nonresident Partner Tax.

Sales and Use Tax

Coin-Operated Laundromat — The
sales tax exemption for laundering,
dry cleaning, tailoring, weaving, and
pressing is limited specifically to
providing these services for cloth-
ing. N.J.S.A. 54:32B-3(b)(2)(iv).

continued on page 8
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When performed on nonclothing
items, the services are subject to tax.

It is the Division’s position that the
operator of a coin-operated laun-
dromat is permitted to make a basic
presumption based on the traditional
nature of the business that custom-
ers are using the coin-operated laun-
dry machines to launder clothing.
Therefore, receipts for the use of
coin-operated washing machines
and dryers at a self-service laundro-
mat are not subject to sales tax.

Investigation and Security Services
Sourcing — P.L. 2006, c.44, im-
poses tax on “Investigation and Se-
curity Services.” See N.J.S.A.
54:32B-3(b)11.

The law defines “Investigation and
Security Services” as:

1. Investigation and detective ser-
vices, including detective agen-
cies and private investigators, and
fingerprint, polygraph, missing
person tracing and skip tracing
services;

2. Security guard and patrol services,
including bodyguard and personal
protection, guard dog, guard, pa-
trol, and security services;

3. Armored car services; and

4. Security systems services, includ-
ing security, burglar, and fire
alarm installation, repair or moni-
toring services. N.J.S.A. 54:32B-
2(xx).

Investigation and detective services
are sourced for sales tax purposes
where the customer makes first use
of the service. First use of these ser-
vices is deemed to be where the

investigative report is delivered.
N.J.S.A. 54:32B-3.1.

Security guard and patrol services
are also sourced based on where the
customer makes first use of the ser-
vice. N.J.S.A. 54:32B-3.1. Since
security guard and patrol services
are specific to an actual location,
they are sourced based on the loca-
tion of the property being guarded.
Thus, security guard and patrol ser-
vices performed at a location in New
Jersey are subject to tax.

Armored car service is subject to
sales tax if performed entirely within
New Jersey. If the service is not per-
formed entirely within this State,
then the service is sourced to the
customer’s location. Thus, if the
customer’s location is in New Jer-
sey, regardless of whether goods are
picked up or delivered to that loca-
tion, the service is subject to sales
tax.

Limousine Services — Sales tax is
imposed on the sale, except for re-
sale, of “transportation services
originating in this state and provided
by a limousine operator, as permit-
ted by law, except such services
provided in connection with funeral
services.” N.J.S.A. 54:32B-
3(b)(13).

Sales tax will be imposed on limou-
sine service that both begins and
ends in the State of New Jersey, (i.e.,
the trip begins with pickup of
passenger(s) in New Jersey and ends
with the discharge of passenger(s)
within New Jersey) and takes place
entirely within the State of New Jer-
sey. If a customer is picked up in
New Jersey and delivered to a loca-
tion outside this State, that service
will not be taxable. If a customer is
picked up outside of New Jersey and
delivered to a location in this State,
that service will also not be taxable.

continued on page 9

Streamlined Sales and Use Tax

Sales Tax Information

PL. 2005, c.126, effective October 1, 2005, conformed the New
Jersey Sales and Use Tax Act to the Streamlined Sales and Use
Tax Agreement. More information is available at:

P.L. 2006, c.44, increased the New Jersey sales and use tax rate
from 6% to 7%, effective July 15, 2006. The rate change affects
all retail sales of taxable merchandise or services. For more infor-
mation on the rate increase visit:

Information for all Sales and Use Tax Vendors

information is available at:

Additional provisions of P.L. 2006, c.44, effective October 1, 2006,
extended the sales and use tax to new services, limited some exist-
ing exclusions and exemptions, and encompassed product catego-
ries that have come into being with new technologies. More

Information Regarding Sales and Use Tax Changes Effective

October 1, 2006



www.state.nj.us/treasury/taxation/streamchanges.shtml
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For example, a passenger contracts
with a limousine operator to provide
him with round-trip service from his
home in Cherry Hill, New Jersey to
a hospital in Philadelphia, Pennsyl-
vania. The passenger is picked up
in the morning and taken to the hos-
pital. Then, several hours later the
passenger is picked up from the hos-
pital and taken back to Cherry Hill.
The services provided are not
taxable. The morning service is not
taxable because it ends outside New
Jersey, and the afternoon service is
not taxable because it originates
outside New Jersey.

Trucks and Trailers Used in Film
or Video Production — Receipts
from sales of tangible personal prop-
erty and the installation, mainte-
nance, or servicing of tangible
personal property for use or con-
sumption directly and primarily in
the production of film or video for
sale are exempt from New Jersey
sales tax.

The exemption applies to motor ve-
hicles; replacement parts, without
regard to useful life; tools; and sup-
plies. Thus, the rental of trucks and
trailers that are used directly and pri-
marily in the production of film or
video for sale are exempt from New
Jersey sales tax. The exemption does
not apply to tangible personal prop-
erty that is used incidentally to the
production of film or video.

The definition of a film or video is
set forth at N.J.S.A. 54:32B-8.49(c)
which states that . . . “film or video’
means motion pictures including
feature films, shorts and documen-
taries, television films or episodes,
similar film and video productions
whether for broadcast, cable, closed
circuit or unit distribution and
whether in the form of film, tape, or
other analog or digital medium, but
does not include any film or video
that is produced by or on behalf of a
corporation or other person for its
own internal use for advertising,
educational, training, or similar
purposes.” U

In Our Courts 9§

Administration
Jurisdiction — Harry’s Lobster
House Corporation v. Director, Di-

vision of Taxation, decided June 5,
2006; Tax Court No. 004978-2004.

Plaintiff (Harry’s) filed a timely
complaint in response to the
Division’s final determination which
concluded that Harry’s filed an un-
timely protest of the Division’s no-
tice of assessment. There was no
indication that this complaint was
ever served on the Division. The
Court found that Harry’s filed an
untimely protest with the Division
and that it did not appeal the notice
of assessment with the Tax Court.

Harry’s further alleged that the com-
plaint should not be dismissed
because representatives of the Di-
vision met with Harry’s after the is-
suance of the final determination as
well as after the filing of Harry’s
complaint and reached an agreement
to reaudit the tax years at issue.
Harry’s alleges that the Division

continued on page 10

IRS Stakeholder Liaison presents:

]

National Phone Forum

IRS e-file — How to Get Started
Date: September 19th, 2007

Cost. FREE

Location: The convenience of your home or office

More information is available at: www.state.nj.us/treasury/taxation/pdf/irsefile.pdf
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cannot renege on the agreement be-
cause it relied on this agreement and
spent substantial money to prepare
for the reaudit.

The only remaining issue was
whether the Division had any au-
thority to reach an agreement to re-
voke or modify the original
assessment following the filing of
the complaint. For purposes of this
motion, the Court assumed that the
Division agreed to redetermine
Harry’s tax liability for the period
related to the notice of assessment
based upon Harry’s subsequent pe-
riod records.

The Court found that the Division
has limited authority to redetermine
sales tax, gross income tax withhold-
ing, and litter tax liabilities after the
assessment has become fixed and fi-
nal. The authority extends to cases
dealing with compromises and clos-
ing agreements. Prior to the case’s
being referred to the Attorney
General for defense, the Division
may compromise a civil liability
where there is doubt as to
collectability. The Attorney
General’s opinion must be obtained
before any compromise involving
unpaid tax of $5,000 or more may
be accepted. A closing agreement
must be requested before the case is

filed with the Tax Court. In both in-
stances, the law requires that admin-
istrative action commence before
litigation commences. Therefore,
the Division would have had no au-
thority to enter into an agreement as
the complaint was already filed and
no valid compromise or closing
agreement could have been entered
into. The Court held that it lacked
jurisdiction to hear the case and
therefore granted the Division’s mo-
tion to dismiss the complaint.

Harry’s appealed this decision to the
Appellate Division.

Cash Audits

Mark-Up Methodology — Yilmaz,
Inc. v. Director, Division of Taxation,
decided February 2, 2007; Appellate
Division No. A-0080-05T5.

The Appellate Division framed the
issue as the standard of proof needed
to overcome the presumed correct-
ness of the Division’s State tax as-
sessment regarding the audit of a
cash business involving factual is-
sues and the Division’s methodol-
ogy. The Appellate Division noted
that the Tax Court previously held
that in order to overcome the
Division’s presumption of correct-
ness of assessment there must be
cogent evidence that is definite,
positive, and certain in quality and
quantity.

The Appellate Division affirmed the
Tax Court.

Mark-Up Methodology - Yilmaz,
Inc. v. Director, Division of Taxation,
decided May 29, 2007; Supreme
Court of New Jersey No. C-995 Sep-
tember Term 2006; 60,791.

The New Jersey Supreme Court
denied Yilmaz, Inc.’s petition for
certification.

Corporation Business Tax
Basis for Depreciation of Trans-
ferred Assets — Clorox Products
Manufacturing Corporation v. Di-
rector, Division of Taxation, decided
November 29, 2006; Tax Court No.
007867-2004.

The Clorox Company (Parent Cor-
poration) transferred its manufactur-
ing operations and assets to plaintiff
(Clorox) in July 1996 in exchange
for 100% of Clorox’s stock pursuant
to a transaction that qualified as tax-
free under Internal Revenue Code
Section 351. The transferred assets
consisted of uncoupled property,
property originally placed in service
during a time period when the New
Jersey Corporation Business Tax Act
(CBT) required the use of straight-
line depreciation and did not permit
the accelerated depreciation methods
available to corporations under the

continued on page 11

Enforcement Summary Statistics

First Quarter 2007

Following is a summary of enforcement actions for the quarter ending March 31, 2007.

o Certificates of Debt:
Total Number
Total Amount

e Jeopardy Assessments

$58,058,207

e Jeopardy Seizures

4,032 e Seizures

e Auctions

107

178 o Referrals to the Attorney General’s Office 463

For more detailed enforcement information, visit our Web site at:
www.state.nj.us/treasury/taxation/jdgdiscl.shtml
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Federal Internal Revenue Code
(IRC).

Prior to the transfer, Parent Corpo-
ration depreciated the transferred as-
sets using the straight-line method
for CBT purposes and under an ac-
celerated depreciation method for
Federal purposes. On its CBT re-
turns, Clorox used the Parent
Corporation’s CBT carryover basis
and depreciated the assets using the
straight-line method. The Division
determined that Clorox should have
used the Parent Corporation’s IRC
carryover depreciable basis per
its regulations. N.J.A.C. 18:7-
5.2(a)(2)(v) provides as follows:

Gain or loss on property sold
or exchanged is to be deter-
mined with reference to the
amount properly to be recog-
nized in determination of Fed-
eral taxable income. However,
on the physical disposal of re-
covery property, whether or
not a gain or loss is properly
to be recognized under the
Federal Internal Revenue
Code, there shall be allowed as
adeduction any excess or there
must be restored as an item of
income any deficiency of de-
preciation disallowed under
(a)Ix above over related de-
preciation claimed on that
property under (a)2iv above. A
statutory merger or consolida-
tion shall not constitute a dis-
posal of recovery property.

The Court ruled that the Parent
Corporation’s transfer to Clorox was
a physical disposal of recovery prop-
erty under the regulations. However,
the Court found nothing in the regu-
lation that required the Parent
Corporation to take an adjusting

depreciation deduction for the prop-
erty it transferred to Clorox in 1996,
which Parent Corporation did not
take, and for which Clorox would
have areduced CBT carryover basis.
The plain language of the regulation
does not require the adjusting depre-
ciation deduction but merely allows
for the deduction in the year of the
transfer. As Parent Corporation
chose not to take the excess depre-
ciation deduction, the Court found
nothing within the regulation that
precluded Clorox from using the
Parent Corporation’s higher depre-
ciable basis.

The Division appealed this decision.

Gross Income Tax

Timeliness of Complaint -
Szymczak v. Director, Division of
Taxation, decided April 30, 2007;
Docket No. 005768-2006.

In this case, the Director moved to
dismiss the complaint because it was
filed after the expiration of the statu-
tory 90-day appeal period.

A final determination was mailed to
the plaintiff on March 10, 2006.
Plaintiff had 90 days to file an ap-
peal with the Tax Court. N.J.S.A.
54A:9-10.

R. 8:4-2(b) provides, “If a notice of
an action is mailed the time period
within which a complaint for review

may be filed shall be ex-
tended pursuant to R.1:3-3.”
R. 1:3-3 provides, “When service of
a notice or paper is made by ordi-
nary mail, and a rule of court order
allows the party served a period of
time after the service thereof within
which to take some action, 3 days
shall be added to the period.” Thus
plaintiff had until June 12, 2006, to
file her complaint (June 11, 2006,
was 93 days from March 10, 2006,
but June 11 was a Sunday).
However, plaintiff did not file a
complaint with the Tax Court until
June 21, 2006.

In his decision Judge Small opined:

While plaintiff argues that de-
nying her right to an appeal
would be unconscionable, the
Tax Court has no authority to
relax the statute of limitations.
It appears that the plaintiff re-
lied on her accountant to file a
timely appeal on her behalf ...
She must look to the accoun-
tant to compensate her for any
loss she may have suffered
because of his actions or must
assume the consequences of
her own actions or failure to
act. The State is entitled to exert
its defense that the court lacks
jurisdiction. The court may not
relax a statutory limitations

continued on page 12

below.

1A Sept. 4 — Oct. 31

Current Amnesty Programs

Iowa is conducting a tax amnesty program. During the designated am-
nesty period, taxpayers have a chance to pay back taxes with reduced (or
eliminated) penalty and/or interest. For more information, including eli-
gibility requirements, or to obtain an application, visit the Web site listed

www.iowataxamnesty.gov/



http://www.iowataxamnesty.gov/

Summer 2007

”in our courts - from page 11

period. The State does not act
as a malpractice insurer for
professionals. To the extent
that the plaintiff has a merito-
rious claim and she was pre-
cluded from raising it..., she
must look to him (CPA), and
not the State, for relief. A
motion to dismiss on subject
matter jurisdictional grounds
can never be waived.

Judge Small went on to say, “As
plaintiff’s complaint was not timely
filed, her complaint must be dis-
missed. The Director’s motion to
dismiss for lack of jurisdiction is
granted.” U

In Our Legislature

Administration

Changes in Tax Debt Collection
and Compliance Procedures —
P.L. 2007, ¢.100, enacted June 28,
2007, effective immediately, but
with the provision applicable to bulk
sales not operative until August 1,
2007, makes several changes in tax
compliance procedures in order to
enhance tax collection and increase
revenue.

Tax Clearance Program for Cer-
tain Business Assistance and
Incentives — P.L. 2007, ¢.101, en-
acted June 28, 2007, effective
immediately, and operative July 1,

2007, establishes a tax clearance cer-
tificate requirement for awards of
certain monetary and financial in-
centives offered to businesses by
State departments, agencies, instru-
mentalities, and independent au-
thorities. The Act prescribes that as
a precondition for obtaining an
award of business assistance or in-
centives, such as grants, loans, and
other financial assistance (but not in-
cluding tax credits or tax exemp-
tions), the applicant must obtain a
tax clearance certificate from the
Division of Taxation showing that
it has filed its required tax returns,
and paid any taxes, fees, or penal-
ties and interest due.

Gross Income Tax

Earned Income Tax Credit —
P.L. 2007, c.109, enacted June 28,
2007, effective immediately, and
applicable to tax years beginning on
or after January 1, 2007, expands the
eligibility for the New Jersey earned
income tax credit and enhances the
benefit amount. The Act extends eli-
gibility for the State credit to any in-
dividual who is eligible for a Federal
earned income tax credit.

Penalties for Misclassifying Con-
struction Workers as Independent
Contractors — P.L. 2007, c.114, en-
acted July 13, 2007, and effective
immediately, establishes penalties
for employers who misclassify con-
struction work employees as “inde-
pendent contractors,” thereby

New Jersey tax forms at your fingertips!

From your fax machine’s phone, dial

609-826-4500
NJ TaxFax

NJ Tax Forms & Publications
24 Hours — 7 Days a Week

o
f",:,Q

affecting their rights and obligations
under laws affecting State and Fed-
eral income tax withholding, social
security, unemployment and disabil-
ity benefits, workers’ compensation,
and other benefits. The Act makes
it a criminal offense for an employer
(or its agent, officer, foreman, em-
ployee) to misclassify a construction
work employee, with the degree of
the offense ranging from disorderly
persons offense to second degree,
depending on the intent and on the
monetary value of the work contract.
In addition, such misclassification
may be subject to administrative
penalties and civil penalties imposed
by the Commissioner of Labor and
Workforce Development, including
suspension of registration, stop-
work orders, and fines.

The Act creates a presumption that,
for purposes of the Gross Income Tax
Act and certain State benefit laws,
workers who are remunerated by an
employer for services performed in
improving real property are deemed
to be “employees” unless they meet
all the criteria of a three-pronged test
set forth in P.L. 2007, C.114 estab-
lishing that the worker is an indepen-
dent contractor.

Local Property Tax

Uniform Shared Services and Con-
solidation Act and Other Reforms
— PL. 2007, c.63, signed into law
on April 3, 2007, enacted several por-
tions of a large package of reform
proposals. Many of the provisions of
the Act were designed to encourage
fiscal savings among local units of
government through a system of
shared services. Other provisions
promote openness and ease of pub-
lic access to information regarding
the budgeting processes for munici-
palities and public school systems.

continued on page 13
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The Act also expands the authority
of executive county superintendents
(superintendents of schools). The
Act indirectly affects local property
taxation.

Short-Term Property Tax Abate-
ment for Certain Reconstructed
Homes — P.L. 2007, ¢.90, enacted
May 6, 2007, and effective immedi-
ately, allows short-term property tax
relief for a five-year period for own-
ers of residential property located in
a redevelopment area that has been
rebuilt or renovated by certain vol-
unteer labor after being destroyed or
damaged by fire. The Act enables
municipalities to enact an ordinance
granting a five-year exemption from
property tax on the value of the im-
provements made in such situations.

Short-Term Property Tax Abate-
ment for Certain Homes Altered to
Accommodate Disabilities —
P.L. 2007, c.91, enacted May 6,
2007, and effective immediately,
permits municipalities to allow a
five-year property tax abatement for
certain improvements made on
single-family dwellings located in
an area declared in need of redevel-
opment, if half of the occupants of
the dwelling qualify for a Federal in-
come tax credit because of perma-
nent and total disability. The tax
relief, which will allow the im-
proved property to be assessed based
on its value before the renovations
or reconstruction, will apply if the
improvements were made in order
to accommodate the occupants’
physical disabilities and the work
was done by volunteer labor satis-
fying certain statutory criteria.

Miscellaneous

Reduced Cigarette Ignition Pro-
pensity and Firefighter Protection
Act — P.L. 2007, ¢.86, enacted
May 4, 2007, and effective June 1,
2008, sets various requirements to
ensure that cigarettes sold in the
State satisfy fire safety standards. It
also provides that in the regular
course of its inspections of cigarette
dealers, the Division of Taxation
may inspect cigarettes to determine
whether they are marked as required
by this Act. If they are not, the Di-
rector, Division of Taxation, shall
notify the Director, Division of Fire
Safety, Department of Community
Affairs, notwithstanding the con-
fidentiality provision (N.J.S.A.
54:50-8) of the State Tax Uniform
Procedure Law.

Revisions of Neighborhood Revi-
talization State Tax Credit —
P.L. 2007, c.89, enacted May 6,
2007, and effective immediately, in-
creases the amount of State tax cred-
its granted to businesses providing
funding to qualified neighborhood
revitalization projects.

Set-Off of Certain Debts 4
Against Lottery Winnings —
P.L. 2007, c.106, enacted June 28,
2007, and effective immediately,
provides that child support debts,
debts to State government institu-
tions and agencies, such as the Vic-
tims of Crime Compensation Board,
and certain other debts shall be off-
set by the Department of Treasury
against State lottery prizes greater
than $600. (This Act does not directly
affect taxation.)

Multiple Taxes

Liability of Fiduciary Agents for
Certain Taxes — P.L. 2007, c.102,
enacted June 28, 2007, effective
immediately, and operative on
October 1, 2007, imposes personal
liability on certain individuals and
entities that, as the State’s fiduciary
agents, are required to collect and
remit Cape May County tourism
sales tax, N.J.S.A. 40:54D-4; At-
lantic City luxury tax, N.J.S.A.
40:48-8.15 et seq.; hotel and motel
occupancy fee, N.J.S.A. 54:32D-1;

continued on page 14
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9-1-1 system and emergency
response fee, N.J.S.A. 54:17C-18;
and cosmetic medical procedures
gross receipts tax, N.J.S.A. 54:32E-1.

Property Tax Relief Programs
Homestead Credit Program — P.L.
2007, c.62, enacted April 3, 2007,
establishes a system of homestead
credits for homeowners, replacing
the current homestead rebate pro-
gram. The credit program provides
taxpayers with benefits calculated as
a percentage of the property tax (up
to a maximum of $10,000 tax) that
they paid during the previous year.
The percentages used to calculate
this benefit are based on income lev-
els, with higher percentage benefits
allowed for the lower income lev-
els, and with no benefit allowed for
those whose income exceeds
$250,000. For seniors and residents
who are blind or disabled, the Act
either retains the current calculation
of property tax rebates (the amount
by which property taxes paid exceed
5% of gross income with specified
maximum and minimum rebate
amounts) or applies the new percent-
age of property taxes formula,
whichever provides a greater benefit.

The homestead credit provisions
will begin to apply to claims for re-
bates and credits for property tax
paid for tax year 2006.

The Act also imposes a 4% property
tax levy cap on school districts and
county and local governments,
subject to limited exceptions and
adjustments. The tax levy cap pro-
visions will apply to budget years
beginning on or after July 1, 2007,
but not to years beginning after
June 30, 2012.

Sales and Use Tax

Seven-Year Exemption Period
From Certain Taxes on Energy for
Certain Manufacturers — P.L.
2007, c.94, enacted May 10, 2007,
and effective immediately, provides
an exemption from sales tax im-
posed on energy and utility services
and from the transitional energy fa-
cility assessment unit rate surcharge.
This exemption is to be applied only
to a manufacturing facility produc-
ing products using recycled materi-
als and satisfying several precise and
complex criteria (currently appli-
cable only to one manufacturing fa-
cility in the State). The Act provides
that the exemption is in effect for
seven years, and during that time the
economic effect of allowing the
facility’s exemption will be re-
viewed annually.

Exemption for Certain Member-
ship Fees and Municipal and
County Parking — P.L. 2007, ¢c.105,
enacted June 28, 2007, and effective
July 1, 2007, carves out certain ex-
ceptions to two new impositions of
sales tax that were part of the
expansion of sales and use tax un-
der P.L. 2006, c.44, effective Octo-
ber 1, 2006.

The Act amends N.J.S.A. 54:32B-
3(h), which imposes sales tax on fees
and dues for use of the facilities of
health and fitness, athletic, sporting,
and shopping clubs and organiza-
tions. The amendment exempts such
fees and dues if the club or organi-
zation is either an exempt private or-
ganization or an exempt public
entity pursuant to N.J.S.A.
54:32B-9.

The Act also amends N.J.S.A.
54:32B-3(i) which imposes tax on
receipts for parking or garaging a
motor vehicle, with certain excep-
tions. The amendment carved out
additional exceptions for municipal
parking and garaging, even when not
“metered,” and certain parking fees
at Atlantic City casinos. 4

Tax Calendar

The following three calendars pro-
vide listings of filing and payment
dates for tax year 2007 (January 1,
2007 — December 31, 2007) and tax
year 2008 (January 1, 2008 —
December 31, 2008) for businesses
and individuals:

e Chronological List of Filing
Deadlines — This calendar is for
use by both businesses and indi-
viduals. If you are responsible for
a return that is not listed in this
calendar, please refer to the
instructions that accompanied the
return, or contact the Customer
Service Center at 609-292-6400
for the appropriate filing
deadline.

2007 2008

e Alphabetical Summary of Due
Dates by Tax Type

2007 2008

e Payment Dates for Weekly
Payers — An employer or other
withholder of New Jersey gross
income tax is designated a
“weekly payer” if the amount of
tax they withheld during the pre-
vious tax year was $10,000 or
more.

2007 2008 Q


http://www.state.nj.us/treasury/taxation/pdf/chronolist07.pdf
http://www.state.nj.us/treasury/taxation/pdf/chronolist08.pdf
http://www.state.nj.us/treasury/taxation/pdf/alphasum07.pdf
http://www.state.nj.us/treasury/taxation/pdf/alphasum08.pdf
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phone
numbers
Customer Service Ctr .. 609-292-6400
Automated Tax Info 1-800-323-4400
609-826-4400
Homestead Rebate Hotline
for Homeowners ... 1-888-238-1233
Homestead Rebate Hotline
for Tenants ........ceueee 609-292-6400
Property Tax Reimbursement
Hotline ......ccceeuneee 1-800-882-6597
Earned Income Tax Credit
Information ............. 609-292-6400
NJ TaxFax .....cceceeveevenee 609-826-4500
Business Paperless Telefiling
System ......ccceceueeee 1-877-829-2866
Speaker Programs ....... 609-984-4101
Alcoholic Bev. Tax....... 609-984-4123
Corp. Liens, Mergers, Withdrawals
& Dissolutions......... 609-292-5323
Director’s Office .......... 609-292-5185
InheritanceTax ......cc.e... 609-292-5033
Local Property Tax ..... 609-292-7221
Motor Fuels Tax
Refunds .....ccceeeeueennens 609-292-7018
Public Utility Tax ........ 609-633-2576
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