Governor Chris Christie • Lt.Governor Kim Guadagno  
The Official Web Site For The State of New Jersey - Department of Treasury
Global Navigation
FAQs Departments/ Agencies Services A to Z NJ Home Page
Disclaimer

Property Tax Reimbursement General Information

Eligibility requirements, including income limits, and benefits available
under this program are subject to change by the State Budget.


The Property Tax Reimbursement Program reimburses eligible senior citizens and disabled persons for property tax increases. The amount of the reimbursement is the difference between the amount of property taxes that were due and paid for the "base year" (the first year that you met all the eligibility requirements) and the amount due and paid for the current year for which you are applying for the reimbursement, provided the amount paid for the current year was greater. You must meet all the eligibility requirements for the base year and for each succeeding year, up to and including the current year to qualify for the reimbursement. See Property Tax Reimbursement Definitions for more information.

Residents who receive homestead benefits and/or property tax credits or deductions may also receive the property tax reimbursement if they meet the eligibility requirements. However, the total of all property tax relief benefits that you receive (property tax reimbursement, homestead benefit, property tax deduction for senior citizens/disabled persons, and property tax deduction for veterans) cannot exceed the amount of property taxes (or rent/mobile home park site fees constituting property taxes) paid on your principal residence for the same year.

Under New Jersey law, if an applicant receives a property tax reimbursement that is larger than the amount for which they are eligible, the applicant will be required to repay any excess received. The amount owed can be deducted from any property tax reimbursement, income tax refund or credit, or homestead benefit before the payment is issued.

Note:
For 2012 the State Budget limited reimbursement payments to certain applicants. Only those applicants whose 2011 income did not exceed $80,000 and whose 2012 income did not exceed $70,000 (the original limit was $82,880) were eligible to receive reimbursement payments for 2012, provided they met all the other program requirements. The State Budget may apply similar limitations for 2013.


Last Updated: Thursday, 02/06/14



Taxation: Home | Site Index | Site Help | Legislature | Judiciary | Revenue | IRS | Other Tax Links
Treasury: Home | ServicesPeopleBusinesses | Divisions/AgenciesForms
Statewide:
NJ Home | Services A to Z | Departments/Agencies | FAQs
Copyright © State of New Jersey, 1996-
This site is maintained by the Division of Revenue and Enterprise Services.


Accessibility Statement Legal Statement Privacy Notice Contact Us Open Public Records Act