About NJTA: Who We Are

The New Jersey Turnpike Authority is dedicated to the safe and efficient movement of people and goods over two of the busiest toll roads in the United States -- the New Jersey Turnpike and the Garden State Parkway. The Authority’s highways are a critical link in the transportation network of the Northeast I-95 Corridor. Every day, they provide the safest, quickest, and most convenient routes for hundreds of thousands of commuters, truckers, and recreational travelers.

Vision, Mission and Core Values

New Jersey TurnpikeLogo

The Turnpike was the first toll road in New Jersey and the third in the nation when it opened in 1951. It has grown over time from 118 miles to 148 with the addition of the Newark Bay Hudson County Extension (1956), the Pearl Harbor Memorial Turnpike Extension (1956), the Western Spur (1970) and the I-95 Extension (1992). The road has grown wider over the years, too. Originally four lanes for its full length, it’s now as wide as 14 lanes in some areas. There are 366 toll lanes at the 28 interchanges. They include 142 entry lanes and 222 exit lanes. E-ZPass is accepted in all lanes. There are express E-ZPass lanes at interchanges 1, 6 and 18W. For drivers who don't have E-ZPass, there are 69 entry lanes with dual-height ticket machines and 108 staffed exit lanes.

Information about the rich history of the New Jersey Turnpike is available in the online New Jersey Historical Society exhibit called What Exit: New Jersey and its Turnpike.


Garden State ParkwayLogo

The Parkway, which opened to traffic in 1954, passes through 50 municipalities in 10 counties between the Cape May-Lewes Ferry in Cape May and the New York State line at Montvale. The highway is still at its original four lanes south of milepost 80 in Ocean County and north of milepost 168 in Bergen County, but it has grown much wider in between. It’s now 12 lanes at its widest point in Monmouth and Middlesex counties. The Parkway maintains a total of 359 exits and entrances. Tolls are collected at 50 locations, including 11 plazas on the main roadway and 39 on entrance or exit ramps. The 236 toll lanes include 118 E-ZPass lanes, 84 exact change lanes and 34 staffed lanes. Express E-ZPass lanes operate at the Pascack Valley, Raritan, Asbury, Toms River, Barnegat and Cape May plazas.

To learn more about the history and heritage of the Garden State Parkway, visit the online exhibit called The Garden State Parkway: A Historic Journey.

» Back to Top

Board of Commissioners

Chris Christie Head shot
Chris Christie

Governor of New Jersey

The New Jersey Turnpike Authority is governed by an eight-member Board of Commissioners. One seat is currently vacant. The Governor himself does not serve on the Board, but he appoints most of the members and designates the chairman. He has the statutory authority to overturn an action of the Board by vetoing the minutes of the meeting at which the action was taken.

Jamie Fox
Jamie Fox


Mr. Fox became Chairman after his appointment as Commissioner of the New Jersey Department of Transportation in September 2014. He has served in senior positions in five administrations under Governors from both parties. His service includes a previous stint as NJDOT Commissioner and turns as Chairman of the Board of NJ Transit and Deputy Executive Director of PANYNJ. He was a partner in Fox & Shuffler before returning to the public sector. Commissioner Fox is a graduate of Villanova University. He resides in Lambertville, Hunterdon County.

Ronald Gravino
Ronald Gravino

Vice Chairman

Mr. Gravino is VP for finance and human resources at Invidi Technologies Corp. in Princeton, which he joined after many years as a financial/turnaround consultant. He serves as chairman of the Newark Liberty International Airport Advisory Board and on the boards of the Transportation Finance Review Commission and the Garden State Arts Foundation. He served for six years as a commissioner of the former New Jersey Highway Authority, including a term as chairman. Mr. Gravino lives in Middlesex County.

Michael R. DuPont Head shot
Michael R. DuPont


Mr. DuPont is a partner in the law firm McKenna, DuPont, Higgins & Stone. He serves on the Borough Council in Red Bank, Monmouth County, and is president of the Garden State Arts Foundation. He has a B.A. in political science and business administration from Loyola University and a J.D. from the John Marshall School of Law.

Raymond M. Pocino Head shot
Raymond M. Pocino


Mr. Pocino is a 50-year member of the Laborers International Union of North America and is president emeritus of Construction & General Laborers Local 172. He serves on the boards of the New Jersey AFL-CIO and the Port Authority of New York & New Jersey. He is serving his fifth term on the Turnpike Authority. Mr. Pocino resides in Lawrenceville, Mercer County.

Ulises E. Diaz Head shot
Ulises E. Diaz


Mr. Diaz is vice president for governmental affairs at Verizon New Jersey. He previously worked for several years at United Water New Jersey, where he was responsible for government and public affairs, communications and business development. He has a B.A. in business administration from Rutgers University. He is a resident of Rutherford, Bergen County.

Daniel F. Becht Head shot
Daniel F. Becht Esq.


Mr. Becht is executive director of the Jersey City Municipal Utilities Authority and counsel to the Newark Planning Board. He previously served as vice chairman of the New Jersey Lottery, chairman of the Passaic Valley Sewerage Authority and as a commissioner on the New Jersey Law Revision Commission and the New Jersey Public Broadcasting Authority. Mr. Becht resides with his wife and 3 children in Wall Township, Monmouth County.

Jan Walden Head shot
John D. Minella


Mr. Minella is Executive Director of the Hudson County Democratic Organization. He retired from the NJTA as Assistant Superintendent of Garden State Parkway Roadway Maintenance in 2011 after more than 25 years of service. A graduate of St. Peters College in Jersey City, Mr. Minella is a trustee of the Madeline Fiadini LoRe Foundation for Cancer Prevention and 1st vice president of the Bayonne Chapter of UNICO National. He resides in Bayonne, Hudson County.

» Back to Top


Joseph W. Mrozek

Executive Director

Mr. Mrozek was named executive director of the Turnpike Authority in March 2014. Previously, he served for four years as Deputy Commissioner of the New Jersey Department of Transportation. Before he went to work for NJDOT, Mr. Mrozek accumulated more than 30 years’ experience in both staff and line senior management positions in the private sector, including Managing Partner of Moffitt International Inc.’s Northeast Division. He holds a B.S. and an M.B.A. from Seton Hall University and has completed programs in finance, strategic planning and international marketing at the Wharton School and the Columbia Graduate School of Business.

John F. O’Hern Head shot
John F. O’Hern

Chief Operating Officer

Mr. O’Hern has worked at the Turnpike Authority since 2003. He was director of labor relations and deputy executive director before his appointment as COO in 2012. He holds a B.A. from Lafayette College, a J.D. from the Seton Hall University School of Law, and an M.P.A. from the John F. Kennedy School of Government at Harvard University.

Sheri Ann Czajkowski
Secretary to the Authority
Bruce A. Harris
General Counsel
Robert Fischer
Chief Engineer
Donna Manuelli
Chief Financial Officer
Barry Pelletteri
Chief Information Officer
James Carone
Director of Internal Audit
Henry Eibel
Director of Operations
Mary Elizabeth Garrity
Director of Human Resources
Kenneth McGoldrick
Acting Director of Maintenance
Andrea Ward
Director of Procurement and Materials Management
Robert B. Quirk
Director of Tolls

» Back to Top

» New Jersey Turnpike Authority Government Records Request