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RESOLUTION # 16

AGRICULTURAL OFFSET TO STATE MINIMUM WAGE

WHEREAS, New Jersey agriculture is heavily concentrated in the production of
fruit and vegetable crops meant for fresh-market sale, as well as nursery, greenhouse
and floriculture stock; and

WHEREAS, dairy farms are also labor-intensive operations and most dairy farms
rely on hired labor to help with the day-to-day operations throughout the entire year; and

WHEREAS, these sectors, as well as others, including equine and agri-tourism,
are labor-intensive operations, as the products being produced or experiences being
offered rely upon aesthetic appeal to the consumer as much as, or more than, any other
attribute; and

WHEREAS, this need for excellent physical appearance requires the hand-
picking and/or hand-tending of these agricultural products and experiences; and

WHEREAS, most New Jersey farms are family-owned operations, in which there
are not enough family members to provide all the needed labor; and

WHEREAS, this creates the need for the hiring of outside labor, much of which
requires some knowledge and experience in working on a farm; and

WHEREAS, farm labor wages in New Jersey often already exceed the minimum
wage due to competition for that labor from other industries, such as construction,
landscaping and food-service; and

WHEREAS, a 2013 ballot question passed, raising the state’s minimum wage as
of January 1, 2014, to $8.25 per hour, plus annual increases tied to the Consumer Price

Index.
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WHEREAS, this increase in the minimum wage has resulted in a “ratchet effect”
of all other higher levels of pay on a given farm in order to maintain incentives to “move
up” in that farm’s labor structure; and

WHEREAS, many produce farm operators pay a “piece-rate,” in which workers
are paid based on the amount of fruits or vegetables they pick and, during peak harvest,
good workers can make significantly more than the minimum wage under this piece-rate
system; but by contrast, the farm operator must pay at least the minimum wage for
those workers who pick less, or during times when there are not enough crops to be
picked, to have the piece-rate wage be at least equal to the minimum wage; and

WHEREAS, the $8.25 minimum wage is $1.00 more than the federal minimum
wage ($7.25 per hour) paid by businesses in other states that have not adopted
minimum wages higher than the federal minimum; and

WHEREAS, there are two proposals in the Legislature to increase the minimum
wage rate to $15 per hour, one of which is legislation to immediately increase the rate to
$15 per hour, and the other of which is a proposed Constitutional referendum to increase
the minimum wage rate to $9 per hour in Year 1, then by $1 per year over the next six
years until it reaches $15 per hour; and

WHEREAS, only two years ago, voters approved an increase in the state
minimum wage rate that carried with it an immediate $1 per hour increase and which
allows for annual upward adjustments, to reflect inflation, a measure intended to
eliminate the need for any future minimum wage rate increases; and

WHEREAS, this juxtaposition of higher labor costs in New Jersey with lower
production costs for produce coming from surrounding states puts New Jersey
agriculture at a competitive disadvantage with surrounding states whose farmers are
paying a lower minimum wage, since those out-of-state farmers will be able to undercut

New Jersey farmers on prices for their similar products; and
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WHEREAS, this competitive disadvantage created by lower labor expenses in
other states serves to undermine the prices for products from New Jersey specialty crop
producers, as well as the viability of direct-marketing and agri-tourism efforts by New
Jersey farmers, leading to stagnating growth in the Garden State’s agricultural sectors;
and

WHEREAS, New Jersey farmers who hire outside labor also frequently provide
those employees with lodging, meals and the costs of traveling to New Jersey from other
parts of the United States or from foreign countries, but do not currently receive, under
state laws, any consideration of those labor-connected cost factors in determining
whether agricultural operators must pay the state-mandated minimum wage.

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED, that we, the delegates to the 101*
State Agricultural Convention, assembled in Atlantic City, New Jersey, on February 10-
11, 2016, urge the Legislature to introduce and approve, and the Governor to sign,
legislation that would establish either a separate agricultural minimum wage or, in the
alternative, tax credits that recognize the unique contributions to employee
compensation made by agricultural operators, including but not limited to the provision of
housing, meals and the cost of transportation to bring labor to the farm.

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, that we urge the Legislature to introduce and
approve, and the Governor to sign, legislation that would establish, through a tax credit
for agricultural operators, an effective freezing of the training wage for agricultural
workers who have not worked on that particular farm before and who must be trained in
the methods of that farm, at the current minimum wage, without the annual increases
afforded to other wages through the increase in the Consumer Price Index.

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, that the State Board of Agriculture and the
Secretary of Agriculture should work in conjunction with the Commissioner of Labor and

Workforce Development to develop support within the Administration for a separate
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agricultural minimum wage or, in the alternative, an “agricultural training wage” to be
paid to employees who have not worked on that particular farm before and who must be

trained in the methods of that farm.

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, that the State Board of Agriculture opposes in the
strongest terms possible, due to its profound negative impact on the viability of farms in
New Jersey, any further increase in the state minimum wage rate, whether by legislation

or yet another Constitutional referendum.

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, if the Legislature proceeds with yet another
minimum wage rate increase, it should include an exemption for all agricultural

employers.
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