MEMORANDUM

TO: Cannabis Regulatory Commission Board

FROM: Jeff Brown, Executive Director

SUBJECT: TERRASCEND NJ TRANSFER OF OWNERSHIP
DATE: JULY 18,2023

BACKGROUND: On March 31, 2023, TerrAscend NJ submitted documentation proposing to
transfer two of its adult use Class 5 retail licenses held by TerrAscend NJ to a newly formed entity,
Apothecarium Dispensary LLC. The proposal was sent by Associate General Counsel Jake
Thornton. Mr. Thornton stated in the proposal that the change is being sought due to a corporate
reorganization and that the licenses will still ultimately be owned, as they are now, by TerrAscend
Corporation, the ultimate parent company of both TerrAscend NJ and TerrAscend USA Inc.

The two proposed licenses for transfer are as follows, and include only the adult use Class 5
Retailer licenses, not the medicinal dispensary permits that also operate out of the locations:

1865 Springfield Avenue, Maplewood, NJ 07040
ATC Permit #: 01162020

Class 5 Retailer License #: RE000003
TerrAscend NJ dba Apothecarium

200 Route 17 South, Lodi, NJ 07644
ATC Permit #: 01162020

Class 5 Retailer License #: RE000029
TerrAscend NJ dba Apothecarium

AUTHORITY: As an alternative treatment center permit holder, TerrAscend NJ must abide
by the enabling statute governing medicinal marijuana as well as the implementing regulations.
Pursuant to N.J.S.A. 24:61-7(k)(2), the sale or transfer of any interest of five percent or more in a
medical cannabis cultivator, medical cannabis manufacturer, medical cannabis dispensary, or
clinical registrant permit shall be subject to approval by the New Jersey Cannabis Regulatory
Commission (the “Commission”) and conditioned on the entity that is purchasing or receiving
transfer of the interest in the medical cannabis cultivator, medical cannabis manufacturer, medical



cannabis dispensary, or clinical registrant permit completing a criminal history record background
check pursuant to the requirements of the statute.

As an Expanded ATC license holder, TerrAscend NJ must also abide by the New Jersey Cannabis
Regulatory, Enforcement Assistance, and Marketplace Modernization Act (“CREAMM Act”) as
well as the Commission’s personal use regulations under N.J.A.C. 17:30, et. seq.

The goveming personal use regulations regarding transfers of ownership interest fall under
N.J.A.C. 17:30-9.3. Pursuant to N.J.A.C. 17:30-9.2(a), Cannabis business license holders shall
submit an application for an amended license, along with the applicable fee, if any, pursuant to
N.J.A.C. 17:30-7.17 for a change of ownership or location, or modification of its capacity, physical
plant, premises, or administrative office.

As set forth in N.J.A.C. 17:30-7.17(3)(3), the fee to apply for the transfer of more than 50 percent
of ownership interest in a license holder is $20,000. A person or entity, however, shall be an owner
of only one license applicant or license holder. N.J.A.C. 17:30-6.8(g). Additionally, in accordance
with N.J.A.C. 17:30-7.10, all entities wishing to enter the adult-use cannabis industry are required
to submit an annual cannabis business license application.

Pursuant to N.J.A.C. 17:30-9.4(m)(5)(11), nothing shall authorize an alternative treatment center
that has not been licensed as an expanded ATC pursuant to N.J.A.C. 17:30-7.1 to purchase or
acquire cannabis items in a manner or from a source not permitted by the Jake Honig
Compassionate Use Medical Cannabis Act, P.L. 2009, c. 307 (N.J.S.A. 24:6I-1 et seq.).
Additionally, nothing shall authorize an alternative treatment center that has not been licensed as

an expanded ATC pursuant to N.J.A.C. 17:30-7.1 to operate on the same premises as a cannabis
business license applicant or license holder. N.J.A.C. 17:30-9.4(m)(5)(111).

COMPLETENESS REVIEW: A telephone call was held with Mr. Thornton to discuss the
above-mentioned proposal and the related documents submitted. Mr. Thomton was asked to
provide a brief explanation regarding the restructuring of the Organization of TerrAscend
Corporation that included TerrAscend NJ, the current license holder of five (5) cannabis licenses
i New Jersey. On May 3, 2023, Mr. Thomnton provided an explanation regarding that
restructuring. In brief, he reported that TerrAscend NJ i1s owned 87.5% by Well and Good Inc.,
7.6% by BWH NJ LLC and 4.9% by Blue Marble Ventures LLC. The investigator noted that these
three (3) entities were previously vetted by the New Jersey Department of Health’s Medical
Marijuana Program as part of TerrAscend NJ’s alternative treatment center permit application of
2018. TerrAscend New Jersey’s corporate ownership structure will remain the same except for the
transfer of the two adult use retail licenses to Apothecarium Dispensing, LLC.



According to Mr. Thomton, in the proposed structure, WDB Holding PA, Inc. (WDB) would own
87.5% of the Applicant, together with Blue Marble Ventures LLC (4.9%) and BWH NJ LLC
(7.6%). Both Well and Good Inc. and WDB are wholly owned subsidiaries of TerrAscend USA
Inc. According to Apothecarium Dispensing, LLC’s December 22, 2022, LLC Operating
Agreement, it is wholly owned by WDB Holding PA. Mr. Thornton explained that, if the license
transfer takes place, BWH and Blue Marble would receive their pro rata ownership. As such, at

the time of the license transfers, the ownership would be remedied to reflect the end result whereby
BWH would own 7.6%, Blue Marble 4.9% and WDB Holdings PA Inc. 87.5%.

Because WDB would own 87.5% of the Applicant, which would then hold the two adult use
licenses, Mr. Thornton was asked to provide an Entity Disclosure Form (EDF) of WDB for review.
The mnvestigator received that competed EDF with attachments on May 12, 2023. A review
conducted of WDB’s EDF failed to uncover any items, issues or litigation which warranted further
review or investigation.

Upon the license transfer, Apothecarium Dispensing, LLC would own the two Adult Use licenses
identified above. TerrAscend NJ would continue to own each of the remaining licenses. This
would include all current medical licenses and the adult-use licenses for cultivation (C0000006),
processing (MC000006) and dispensing for the Phillipsburg (RE000004) location. See the attached
ORG Charts submitted with WDB’s EDF.

According to Mr. Thornton, TerrAscend Corp. will still ultimately own the licenses. The re-
organization is immaterial to the management of the facilities. While the technical ownership of
the licenses will change, the beneficial ownership of each facility will not change, nor will anything
else about the way the current facility is operated. The proposed change in ownership is required,
however, because the addition of a new subsidiary would result in a change to TerrAscend’s
mnternal corporate structure and a technical change to the listed owner of each facility. Mr.
Thornton also reported that one additional change has occurred since the license transfer request
was originally filed. Gage Growth Corp. recently had its name change to TerrAscend Growth Corp.
The certificate of amendment is attached. This is not a name change requiring NJ-CRC approval,
as 1t 1s a related entity but not the license or permit holder. No other changes are proposed.

Corporate Structure
Apothecarium Dispensing LL.C

Apothecarium Dispensing LLC was formed as a New Jersey Domestic Limited Liability
Company on December 22, 2022, and is currently owned 100% by WDB.
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Corporate Officers:
: CFO & Treasurer
: President & COO

: Secretary

WDB Holding PA, Inc.

WDB was formed as a Delaware Limited Liability Company on July 26, 2019. WDB is a
wholly owned subsidiary of TerrAscend USA. It operates as a Holding company and is
100% owner of ten other TerrAscend Corporation related entities in Pennsylvania.

Corporate Officers:

: CFO & Treasurer
: President & COO

: Secretary

WDB PA Holding Inc. (EDF Review)

Entity Disclosure From

Certificate of Incorporation

WDB Bylaws

Legal Entity Structure (Corporate ownership chart)
TerrAscend Organization Chart

TerrAscend USA stock certificate

PA State Tax Returns (2020)

RECOMMENDATION: The Office of Compliance and Investigations recommends denial
for the application to amend the two Class 5 Retail licenses held by TerrAscend NJ and prohibit
the ownership structure change as presented by Counsel for TerrAscend NJ.

While all owners and officers that will retain their positions have been previously vetted as
required by the statutes and regulations and have been deemed qualified to hold their positions in
the medicinal and adult use cannabis markets, allowing the transfer of a limited number of licenses
that are attached to an expanded alternative treatment center may cause a dangerous precedent.
Further, allowing Apothecarium Dispensing LLC to hold the two proposed adult use retail licenses
rather than TerrAscend NJ may result in TerrAscend NJ violating the limitations on license holders
that authorizes an entity to be an owner of only one license holder. (See N.J.A.C. 17:30-6.8(g)).

Allowing a medicinal dispensary permittee and an adult use retail licensee to operate under
different ownership out of the same physical space may create investigatory and enforcement
complications. To date, the Commission has never authorized two licensees, or two permittees, or
a licensee and a permittee that were organized under different ownership groups to operate their



licenses/permits out of the same facility as if they were one business. OCI does not recommend
authorizing this structure and license transfer.

APPENDIX

N.J.A.C. 17:30-6.8 Limitations on license applicants, license holders, owners, principals,
passive investors, financial sources, management services contractors, and vendor-
contractors

(a) The license holder is the party that has responsibility and liability for the conduct of the
cannabis business(es).

(b) A license applicant or license holder shall not be established as a trust.

(c) A license applicant or license holder shall only have, at most, one open and pending cannabis
business license application for each class of license at any one time and may only hold cannabis
business licenses in accordance with the limitations in this section.

1. A license applicant or license holder may abandon a license application, by providing
written notice to the Commission, in order to accept another license or submit a new
license application.

(d) During the 24-month period following February 22, 2021:

1. A license holder and its owners and principals may concurrently hold one cannabis
cultivator and one cannabis manufacturer license;

2. A license holder and its owners and principals may concurrently hold one cannabis
retailer license and one cannabis delivery service license;

3. A license holder and its owners and principals may concurrently hold one cannabis
wholesaler license and one cannabis distributor license; and

4. A license holder and its owners and principals that have an expanded ATC license may
concurrently hold a cannabis cultivator, cannabis manufacturer, a cannabis retailer
license, additional cannabis retail licenses for each satellite dispensary, and a cannabis



delivery service license; or a cannabis wholesaler license and a cannabis distributor
license.

(e) After the end of the 24-month period following February 22, 2021:

1. A license holder and its owners and principals may concurrently hold one cannabis
cultivator, one cannabis manufacturer, one cannabis retailer, and one cannabis delivery
service license;

2. A license holder and its owners and principals may concurrently hold one cannabis
wholesaler license and one cannabis distributor license; and

3. A license holder and its owners and principals that have an expanded ATC license may
concurrently hold a cannabis cultivator license, a cannabis manufacturer license, a
cannabis retailer license, additional cannabis retail licenses for each satellite dispensary,
and a cannabis delivery service license; or a cannabis wholesaler license and a cannabis
distributor license.

() A license holder holding a testing laboratory license may hold up to three testing laboratory
licenses, but may not hold any cannabis business licenses.

(g) A person or entity shall be an owner of only one license applicant or license holder.

1. Where a person is an owner of a license applicant or license holder, that person's
spouse, domestic partner, civil union partner, child, sibling, or parent may only be an
owner of such license applicant or license holder and shall not be an owner of another
license applicant or license holder.

(h) A person or entity may hold an ownership interest as a passive investor in more than one
cannabis business or testing laboratory license applicant or license holder.

(1) An owner, notwithstanding the amount of capital or assets that such owner contributes to a
cannabis business or testing laboratory license applicant or license holder, shall enjoy the
customary incidents of ownership and shall share in the profits and losses of such cannabis
business or testing laboratory license applicant or license holder proportionate to the owner's
percentage of ownership interest in such license applicant or license holder.

(j) An ownership interest may be held directly or indirectly through an intermediary controlled
by the holder, such as a shell company or holding company; the presence of such an intermediary
shall not change the determination of the actual holder of the ownership interest.

1. An ownership interest may be in stock or securities or other forms;

2. An ownership interest may not include a security interest on a property, a lien, or an
encumbrance; and



3. Mere receipt of a percent of revenue or profits in accordance with the terms of an
agreement without a right to ownership or equity interest is not ownership interest.

(k) The majority share of the license applicant's ownership interest, including the ownership
interest that qualifies it as a diversely owned business, social equity business, impact zone
business, or microbusiness, shall remain the same from the date of submission of a conditional
license conversion application or submission of an annual license application until two years
after the commencement of cannabis business operations.

1. A transfer of ownership interest, in a license applicant from a deceased owner to their
heir shall not be prohibited; and

2. A transfer of ownership interest in a license applicant from a deceased owner to their
surviving spouse, domestic partner, or civil union partner, if the license was issued jointly
to both the parties, shall not be prohibited.

(1) A person or entity shall be a principal of only one license applicant or license holder.

(m) A principal may have control or decision-making authority over a cannabis business or
testing laboratory license applicant, license holder, cannabis business, or testing laboratory
directly or indirectly through an intermediary controlled by the principal, such as a shell
company or holding company; the presence of such an intermediary shall not change the
determination of the actual person or entity exercising control or decision-making authority.

(n) Nothing in this chapter shall be construed to prohibit an employee or volunteer from working
with more than one license applicant or license holder, at any or all of its cannabis business
premises.

(o) An owner, passive investor, principal, employee, or volunteer of a cannabis business or
testing laboratory license applicant or license holder shall be at least 21 years of age, except that
a person less than 21 years of age who receives the transfer of ownership interest from a
deceased owner or passive investor of a cannabis business or testing laboratory license applicant
or license holder as an heir may be an owner or passive investor of a cannabis business or testing
laboratory license applicant or license holder.

1. Such ownership interest shall be put into a trust with the heir as the beneficiary until
the heir is at least 21 years of age.

(p) A management services contractor may contract with and provide management services to up
to five license applicants or license holders.

(q) A license applicant or license holder or its owners or principals may not serve as a
management services contractor.
(r) A financial source may provide funding to up to seven license applicants or license holders.



(s) A vendor-contractor may contract with and provide services to more than one license
applicant or license holder during the licensing process and after the issuance of license(s).

(t) Remuneration provided by a cannabis business license holder to a management services
contractor, financial source, or vendor-contractor may include either a flat fee or a percent of
revenue or profits, but in no case shall remuneration include an ownership interest in the
cannabis business license holder.

(u) No owner who also has decision-making authority or principal of a license holder operating a
licensed microbusiness shall hold any financial interest in another licensed cannabis business,
whether or not a microbusiness.

N.J.A.C. 17:30-7.10 Annual cannabis business license application

(a) An applicant for an annual license shall submit a complete, separate application, on forms
prescribed by the Commission, for each cannabis business license requested and for each
physical address and cannabis business premises at which a license applicant seeks to operate.

(b) A license applicant shall disclose and submit, as part of the annual license applications
process, the following materials for the Commission’s evaluation:

1. The Federal and State tax identification numbers for the license applicant;

2. Documentation of a valid Business Registration Certificate on file with the Division of
Revenue and Enterprise Services in the Department of the Treasury;

3. Information about the license applicant, including its legal name, and any registered
alternate name;

4. A copy of the documents reflecting the formation of the license applicant entity,
including, but not limited to, articles of incorporation or organization, charter, bylaws,
stock issuance records, operating agreements, partnership agreements, other formation
documents filed with the Secretary of State, and any other documents that govern the
legal and ownership structure of the entity;

5. If applicable, documents from the Federal or State government recognizing the
license applicant entity’s nonprofit status;

6. A description of the proposed location and its surrounding area, including the
following:
1. The mailing and physical address of the license applicant’s proposed
location;
il. A description of the suitability or advantages of the proposed location;
iii. A site plan of the proposed location, including a floor plan, which may

optionally include renderings, architectural plans, or engineering plans;



7. Evidence of compliance with local codes and ordinances including, but not
limited to:

1. The distance from the closest church, synagogue, temple, or other place
used exclusively for religious worship; or

il. The distance to the closest school, playground, park, or child daycare
facility;

8. Zoning approval, which shall consist of a letter or affidavit from appropriate
officials of the municipality stating that the location will conform to municipal zoning
requirements allowing for activities related to the operations of the proposed cannabis
business, and any variances granted concerning the operation of a cannabis business;

0. Proof of local support, which shall be demonstrated by a resolution adopted by the
municipality’s governing body, or where the municipality has no governing body, a
written letter of support from the municipality’s executive;

10.  Documentation demonstrating that the license applicant will have final control of
the premises upon approval of the application. Documentation includes, but is not limited
to, a lease agreement, contract for sale, title, deed, or similar documentation;

11. Where a license applicant will lease the premises, certification from the landlord
that the landlord is aware that the tenant’s use of the premises will involve activities
associated with operations as a cannabis business.

1. An application for an annual license that does not include such
certification shall be disqualified from consideration;

12. The plan by which the license applicant intends to obtain appropriate liability
insurance coverage for the proposed cannabis business;

13. Evidence supporting any of the following bonus point categories, as applicable:

1. License applicants that are party to a collective bargaining agreement with
a bona fide labor organization that currently represents, or is actively seeking to
represent, cannabis workers in New Jersey;

il. License applicants that are party to a collective bargaining agreement with
a bona fide labor organization that currently represents cannabis workers in
another state;

iii. License applicants that submit a signed project labor agreement with a
bona fide building trades labor organization for the construction or retrofit of the
facilities associated with the license applicant;

v. License applicants that submit a signed project labor agreement with a
bona fide labor organization for any other applicable project associated with the
license applicant; or



V. License applicants that include at least one owner lawfully residing in
New Jersey for at least five years as of the date of the application,;

14.  An operating plan, including, as applicable, a cultivation, manufacturing, retail
sale, wholesaling, distributing, or delivery services operating plan pursuant to N.J.S.A.
24:61-36.d(1)(b)(i), (ii), and (iii);

15. A business and financial plan;

16. An environmental impact plan, which shall, at a minimum, include consideration
of sustainable alternatives to single-use plastic packaging, efforts to minimize water
usage, and any other factor required by the Commission in a notice of application
acceptance published in the New Jersey Register issued pursuant to N.J.A.C. 17:30-6.1;

17. A safety and security plan that conforms with N.J.A.C. 17:30-9.10;
18. A community impact or social responsibility plan;

19. A workforce development and job creation plan, which may include an optional
diversity plan;

20. Standard operating procedures for:
1. Adverse event reporting;
il. Quality assurance and quality control;
1ii. Recall of cannabis items, as needed or directed;

iv. Packaging and labeling;

V. Inventory control, storage, and diversion prevention;
vi. Recordkeeping;

vii.  Waste disposal/sanitation;

viii.  Cultivation, manufacturing, retail sale, delivery, and/or secure transport, as
applicable, based on the class of license sought;

iX. Accounting and tax compliance; and

X. The reporting of test results, as applicable, based on the class of license
sought.

21.  An attestation signed by a bona fide labor organization stating that the license
applicant has entered into a labor peace agreement with a bona fide labor organization.

1. This requirement does not apply to a microbusiness applying for an annual
license;

10



(©)

22. If a license applicant intends to enter into, or has entered into, a partnership with a
re-entry program for the purpose of identifying and promoting employment opportunities
for currently or formerly incarcerated people at the cannabis business, the details of such
partnership including:

1. The name of the re-entry program;

il. The employment or training opportunities at the license applicant’s
cannabis business that will be made available to the re-entry population;

iii. Any other initiatives the license applicant will undertake to provide
support and assistance to the re-entry population; and

v. The training and support offered or provided for the advancement of the
re-entry population;

23. An affidavit that the statements included in the application are true and correct,
sworn by the license applicant’s representative;

24.  An authorization to release all information pertaining to the license applicant, as
requested by the Commission, signed by the license applicant’s representative;

25. A waiver of liability for any damages results to the license holder from any
disclosure or publication in any manner, other than a willfully unlawful disclosure or
publication, of any information acquired during the licensing process, signed by the
license applicant’s representative; and

26.  Any other information the Commission deems relevant in determining whether to
grant a license to the applicant.

The cannabis retailer annual license application shall additionally include a certification

that the proposed cannabis retailer location is not in or upon any premises which operates a
grocery store, delicatessen, indoor food market, or other store engaging in retail sales of food; or
any premises in which operates a store that engages in licensed retail sales of alcoholic
beverages, as defined at N.J.S.A. 33:1-1.b.

(d)

A license applicant shall disclose and submit, as part of the annual license application, the

following submissions relating to its qualification for an annual license, pursuant to N.J.A.C.
17:30-7.11:

1. License applicant and cannabis business organizational charts identifying
ownership, control, and operational structure, including owners, principals, management
services contractors, managers, as well as all parent companies, subsidiaries, affiliates,
predecessors, and successors of the license applicant;

2. A list of all persons that are owners, passive investors, principals, and managers
of the license applicant, including their names, addresses, dates of birth, and each
owner’s and passive investor’s percentage of ownership interest;

11



3. For all persons that are owners or principals of the license applicant, a copy of
their unexpired driver’s license or other photo identification issued by the State, another
state, or the Federal government, which shall be proof that the person is at least 21 years
of age;

4. For all persons that are owners and principals of the license applicant, a
completed Personal History Disclosure Form, including a resume;

5. A list of the persons that are owners of the license applicant who have resided in
this State for at least two years as of the date of the application and documentation of
such residency;

6. For each owner, principal, or employee of a license applicant or license holder, as
well as for each staff member of a license applicant’s or license holder’s management
services contractor that participates in the obtaining, possession, securing, cultivating,
manufacturing, transporting, selling, delivering, or destroying cannabis items, proof that
the person has been fingerprinted and written consent to undergo a criminal history
record background check pursuant to N.J.A.C. 17:30-7.12;

7. For any person seeking to become an owner, principal, or employee of a license
applicant or license holder who has a disqualifying conviction pursuant to N.J.A.C.
17:30-7.12(d), evidence of rehabilitation pursuant to N.J.A.C. 17:30-7.12(e), if any;

8. For any person seeking to become a staff member of a license applicant’s or
license holder’s management services contractor that participates in the obtaining, pos-
session, securing, cultivating, manufacturing, transporting, selling, delivering, or
destroying cannabis items who has a disqualifying conviction pursuant to N.J.A.C. 17:30-
7.12(d), evidence of rehabilitation pursuant to N.J.A.C. 17:30-7.12(e), if any;

0. For the license applicant and each of its owners, principals, or managers, a list of
any pending or adjudicated criminal charges or convictions;

10. A list of entities that are owners, passive investors, principals, and management
services contractors of the license applicant, including their names, addresses, and each
owner’s and passive investor’s percentage of ownership interest;

11. For all entities that are an owner, principal, or management services contractor of
a license applicant, a completed Entity Disclosure Form;

12. For all persons or entities that hold at least 10 per-cent aggregate ownership
interest in, or are a member of the executive team of a management services contractor of
a license applicant, their names, addresses, dates of birth, positions held, percentage of
ownership interest in the management services contractor entity, and a completed
Personal History Disclosure Form for each person.

1. Except that for a person or entity holding owner-ship interest in or control
over a management services contractor that is a qualified institutional investor, a
completed Personal History Disclosure Form for each person is not required;

12



13. Any management services agreement, pursuant to N.J.A.C. 17:30-6.9;

14. A list of all parent companies, subsidiaries, affiliates, predecessors, and
successors of the license applicant;

15. A list that describes, beginning with the formation of the license applicant entity,
any and all events such as sales, mergers, business combinations, or consolidations
involving the entity, including all former names of the entity;

16. A list of all financial sources, including qualified institutional investors, holding
debt of the license applicant.

1. The nature, type, terms, covenants, and priorities of all outstanding debts
of the license applicant, including, but not limited to, bonds, loans, mortgages,
trust deeds, debentures, lines of credit, notes issued or executed, or to be issued or
executed, or other forms of indebtedness of the license applicant or on its behalf;

il. A completed Entity Disclosure Form for each financial source, except a
qualified institutional investor; and

iii. A completed Personal History Disclosure Form for each financial source
that is a person;

17. Any proposed or executed contract, term sheet, agreement, or side letter between
an owner, principal, or financial source and another party that relates to the ownership
and control structure, assets, liabilities, real or intellectual property, revenue, funding or
capitalization, royalties, or profit, or future profit, of the license applicant or comparable
documents that change the legal structure of the license applicant, including any financial
source agreement, pursuant to N.J.A.C. 17:30-6.10;

18. A list of all vendor-contractors with whom the license applicant has contracts or
agreements;
19. For the license applicant and each of its owners, principals, managers,

management services companies, parent companies, subsidiaries, affiliates, predecessors,
O SUCCESSOTs:

1. A list of any organizations that hold or previously held permits, licenses,
or other authorizations to participate in the cultivation, manufacturing, sale, or
distribution of medical cannabis or cannabis in any jurisdiction, including a
foreign jurisdiction, where the per-son or entity serves or served as an owner,
principal, or employee for six or more months;

20. For the license applicant and each of its parent companies, subsidiaries, affiliates,
predecessors, Or SUCCessors:

1. A list of any previous violation of, or judgment, order, consent decree,
consent order, sanction, or penal-ty pertaining to any state or Federal statute,
regulation, or code; and

13
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il. A list of all pending litigation or past litigation that concluded in the last
five years, whether in the State or in another jurisdiction, in which the entity was
involved;

21.  Alist of every financial institution at which the li-cense applicant has had
an account in the last five years;

22. A list of bankruptcy or insolvency proceedings by the license applicant, and each
of its parent companies, subsidiaries, affiliates, predecessors, or successors, and a copy of
any bankruptcy decree as a result of the same;

23. A list of any charitable contributions made by the license applicant in the last five
years;

24. A list of stocks held by the license applicant;

25. For each owner, principal, management services contractor, and employee of the
license applicant, certification confirming the person’s or entity’s submission to the
jurisdiction of the courts of the State and agreeing to comply with all laws and rules of
the State pertaining to personal use cannabis;

26. For a license applicant that is a diversely owned business, the certification that the
license applicant is a minority-owned business, woman-owned business, or dis-abled
veteran-owned business, in accordance with N.J.A.C. 17:30-6.4;

27. For a license applicant that is an impact zone business, an attestation from any
qualifying owner, passive investor, or employee attesting to their qualification under the
impact zone business criteria, pursuant to N.J.A.C. 17:30-6.5;

28.  For alicense applicant that is a social equity business, an attestation from any
qualifying owner or passive investor attesting to the qualification of the person under the
social equity business criteria, pursuant to N.J.A.C. 17:30-6.6;

29. For a microbusiness license applicant, proof that at least 51 percent of the total
number of persons included in the microbusiness, including all owners, principals, and
employees, are residents of either of the municipality in which the microbusiness, is or
will be located, or of a municipality directly bordering such a municipality, at the time of
the application;

30.  An affirmation that the license applicant exercised reasonable care to confirm its
submission information and the ability of each person or entity in its submission to serve
as an owner or principal without violating N.J.A.C. 17:30-6.8; and

31. Any other application requirement established by the Commission in a notice of
acceptance of application published in the New Jersey Register issued pursuant to
N.J.A.C. 17:30-6.1.

A license applicant shall provide the Commission a complete disclosure pursuant to (d)

above that includes all true parties of interest.

14



1. The license applicant or license holder shall not at-tempt to conceal or disguise
ownership or other control over its operations in its submissions.

63} Application materials submitted to the Commission pursuant to N.J.S.A. 24:61-36 or this
section shall not be considered public records pursuant to N.J.S.A. 47:1A-1 et seq., or the
common law concerning access to government records.

(a) 17:30-7.17 Cannabis business and testing laboratory fees
(j) The following material change fees shall be paid by license holders, as applicable:
1. The fee to apply for a change of location of a cannabis business premises is:
1. Standard cannabis business annual license holder: $10,000; or
ii. Microbusiness license holder: $1,000;

2. The fee to apply for a change or modification of the cannabis business’ capacity or
physical plant is $2,000;

1. This fee shall not apply to a microbusiness converting to a standard cannabis
business pursuant to N.J.A.C. 17:30-7.15; and

3. The fee to apply for the transfer of more than 50 percent of ownership interest in a
license holder is $20,000.

1. Any financial source, management services contractor, owner, or principal may
be required to pay background investigation fees as part of an ownership interest
transfer

N.J.A.C. 17:30-9.2 Changes to license applicant or license holder; approval and notice;
provisional approval

(a) Cannabis business license holders shall submit an ap-plication for an amended license,
along with the applicable fee, if any, pursuant to N.J.A.C. 17:30-7.17, for the following material
changes, a change:

1. In ownership, which shall include:
1. Addition or removal of owners or passive investors;
il. Change in license holder entity structure, including any related mergers,
acquisitions, or creation of new related entities;
1il. Change in ownership structure or ownership interest that results in a
change of owner, pursuant to N.J.A.C. 17:30-9.3; and
v. Any other changes to the ownership and financial information provided to

the Commission pursuant to N.J.A.C. 17:30-7.10 and 7.13;
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2. Of management services contractor or the terms of any management services
agreement; pursuant to N.J.A.C. 17:30-6.9;

3. Of financial source or the terms of a financial source agreement (FSA) pursuant to
N.J.A.C. 17:30-6.10;

4. Of location;

5. Of modification of capacity, physical plant, premises, or administrative office; or
6. Of name of the cannabis business.

(b) Failure to seek approval for such material changes pursuant to (a) above may result in
sanctions upon the li-cense holder pursuant to N.J.A.C. 17:30-20, including civil penalties, or
suspension or revocation of any license issued to the license holder.

N.J.A.C. 17:30-9.3 Transfers of ownership interest

(b) From the submission of a conditional license conversion application or an annual license
application to at least two years after the cannabis business commences operations, a license
holder holding an annual license shall not make any change to more than 50 percent of its
ownership interest, except that a transfer of the ownership interest license applicant or
license holder from a deceased owner to the deceased:

1. Owner’s heir shall not be prohibited;

2. Owner’s surviving spouse, domestic partner, or civil union partner, if the license was
issued jointly to both the parties, shall not be prohibited.

(b) From the submission of the conditional license conversion application or an annual license
application to least two years after the cannabis business commences operations, a license holder
may add new loans from new or existing financial sources or gifts.

(c) Until at least two years after the cannabis business commences operations, a diversely owned
business license holder shall maintain all conditions required to qualify as eligible for its
diversely owned business certification.

(d) Until at least two years after the cannabis business commences operations, a social equity
business license holder shall maintain the conditions required to qualify for its social equity
business status

(e) A license holder operating as a microbusiness shall not transfer ownership interest such that
the license holder no longer qualifies as a microbusiness.

(f) If the cannabis business ceases operations during the two-year period after the cannabis
business commences operations, the license holder may not transfer the license to another entity;

the license will be considered to be abandoned and will be returned to the Commission.

(g) A cannabis business license holder shall not provide, transfer, or sell, or offer to provide,
transfer, or sell any ownership interest to or employ or offer to employ any Commission member
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or employee restricted from such transactions by the provisions of sections 33 through 35 of P.L.
2019, c. 153 (N.J.A.C. 24:61-26 through 28).

(h) The Commission retains discretion to determine when a transfer of ownership interests has
occurred.

N.J.A.C. 17:30-9.4 Ongoing material conditions and general requirements applicable to
cannabis business license holders

(a)  No person or entity shall operate a cannabis business without a Commission-issued
license.

(b) A cannabis business shall only be operated under the name on the license, which shall
be the legal entity name as found on the New Jersey business registration of the license holder.

() A license holder and its owners, principals, employees, management services
contractors, financial sources, and vendor-contractors shall:

1. Maintain qualification to hold a license pursuant to N.J.A.C. 17:30-7.4, as
applicable;

2. Comply with the Act and this chapter; and
3. Cooperate with the Commission and its staff.

(d) Upon request of the Commission, a license applicant or license holder shall provide,
for any submission to the Commission, a redacted copy that may be released to the public.

1. Redactions shall be limited to information that is likely to be found to be
exempted pursuant to N.J.S.A. 47:1A-1 et seq., or the common law on public records.

(e) A license holder shall make a good faith effort to recruit and employ, or contract with,
as vendor-contractors, persons who would otherwise qualify for the provisions at N.J.A.C.
17:30-6.6(a)l or 2. A “good faith effort” means that the license applicant or license holder
shall demonstrate that it took all necessary and reasonable steps to achieve employee and
vendor-contractor participation by the persons who are among the qualifying groups, which by
their scope, quality, quantity, intensity, and appropriateness to the objective, could reasonably
be expected to obtain sufficient participation from such persons.

1. Good faith efforts shall extend beyond merely interviewing candidates from
qualifying groups to include documentation of follow-up and offers of employment and
contracting.

2. Good faith efforts shall include sufficient written documentation of the license
applicant’s efforts to recruit qualifying persons, including a list of the names, addresses,
and contact information of all potential employees and contractors, identifying those
who qualify pursuant to N.J.A.C. 17:30-6.6(a)1 or 2, and whether they have accepted
an employment or contracting offer, and the dates of contact.

17



4.

Good faith efforts may include:

1. Coordinating meetings, including meetings in economically disadvantaged
areas, at which qualifying persons could be informed of the employment and
contracting opportunities;

1. Advertising in general circulation, trade association, and minority-
focused media concerning the opportunities for persons who have been affected
by the criminalization of cannabis to participate in the regulated cannabis
industry; and

iii. Contacting minority-, women-, and veteran-owned business
organizations and educational institutions concerning the opportunities for
persons who have been affected by the criminalization of cannabis to participate
in the regulated cannabis industry.

The cannabis business shall submit quarterly progress reports that include specifics

on the good faith efforts being made to ensure the cannabis business’s social equity plan
as presented in its application or certification to the Commission is being achieved. The
Commission may request additional information from the cannabis business to assist in
making a determination on whether good faith efforts are being made.

() A microbusiness license holder shall employ no more than 10 employees.

(2) The maintenance of a labor peace agreement with a bona fide labor organization by a
licensed cannabis business, including an expanded ATC, shall be an ongoing material
condition of the cannabis business’s license.

1.

A microbusiness is exempted from this requirement.

(h) Where a majority of the employees of a cannabis business, including an expanded ATC,
have voted to join a bona fide labor organization, failure to enter into a collective bargaining
agreement within 200 days of the opening of such licensed cannabis business, may result in a
referral to the National Labor Relations Board.

1.

A microbusiness is exempted from this requirement.

(1) A license holder shall maintain sanitary conditions throughout the
cannabis business premises.

() A cannabis business shall seek to prevent the escape of odors associated
with cannabis over the boundary of the property. Failure to engage in such an
effort may result in sanctions, including civil monetary penalties.

(k) A license holder shall implement a plan to increase sustainability in its operations,
which may include, but is not limited to:

1.
2.

A waste reduction plan;
A water usage reduction plan;
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3. Biodynamic farming;

4. A sustainable packaging plan that reduces or eliminates the use of single-use
plastics and promotes the use of recyclable or environmentally friendly packaging; or

5. A plan to use renewable energy to power its operations.

Q) A visitor entering a cannabis business premises must be accompanied by an escort with a
Cannabis Business Identification Card at all times, except in the consumer area of a cannabis
retailer.

1. A vendor-contractor’s staff shall be considered to be a visitor during any time
present at a cannabis business premises, except if the person is a management services
contractor or other cannabis handler that possesses a Cannabis Business Identification
Card, in accordance with N.J.A.C. 17:30-8.1(a).

(m) An expanded ATC issued cannabis business licenses pursuant to N.J.A.C. 17:30-7.1 shall
be authorized to use the premises for all activities under the Act and the Jake Honig
Compassionate Use Medical Cannabis Act, P.L. 2009, c. 307 (N.J.S.A. 24:6I-1 et seq.),
without being required to establish or maintain any physical barriers or separations between
operations related to the medical use of cannabis and operations related to personal use of
cannabis items.

1. As a condition of licensure, an expanded ATC shall meet the anticipated
treatment needs of registered qualifying patients before meeting the retail requests of
consumers, and the expanded ATC shall not make operational changes that reduce
access to medical cannabis for registered qualifying patients in order to operate a
cannabis business.

2. If the Commission finds an expanded ATC does not have sufficient quantities of
medical cannabis or medical cannabis products available to meet the reasonably
anticipated needs of qualifying patients, the Commission may issue fines, limit retail
sales, temporarily suspend the expanded ATC’s cannabis business licenses, or issue any
other penalties included at N.J.A.C. 17:30-20.

3. Not fewer than 90 days prior to the date on which the expanded ATC’s cannabis
business license is set to expire after its first year of operations, in order to renew its
cannabis business license pursuant to N.J.A.C. 17:30-7.16, an expanded ATC shall:

1. Certify to the Commission as to the continued material accuracy of the
expanded ATC’s previously approved ATC license application and its
compliance with the provisions of the Act regarding its operations concerning
cannabis or cannabis items; and

1. Submit a new written approval from the municipality in which the
expanded ATC is located, approving the continued operations as a cannabis
business.
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4. After the end of the second year of expanded ATC’s licensure, the license
renewal process pursuant to N.J.A.C. 17:30-7.16 shall be followed.

5. Nothing shall authorize an alternative treatment center that has not been licensed
as an expanded ATC pursuant to N.J.A.C. 17:30-7.1 to:

1. Provide cannabis items to a person who is not a registered qualifying
patient;
il. Purchase or acquire cannabis items in a manner or from a source not

permitted by the Jake Honig Compassionate Use Medical Cannabis Act, P.L.
2009, c. 307 (N.J.S.A. 24:61-1 et seq.); or

1ii. Operate on the same cannabis business premises as a cannabis business
license applicant or license holder, although it is not prohibited for an unaffiliated
cannabis business and ATC to be located in the same multi-tenant building or strip
mall in separate, unconnected premises.
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