LEGAL CANNABIS in NEW JERSEY

What is legal for adult-use?

New Jersey's Cannabis Regulatory, Enforcement Assistance, and Marketplace Modernization (CREAMM) Act allows adults 21 years or older to purchase, carry, and use cannabis (commonly called marijuana, pot, or weed) legally.

🚽 Where can I buy?

You may only buy at alternative treatment centers and dispensaries licensed by the Cannabis Regulatory Commission. A list of licensed businesses are on the CRC's website.

How much cannabis/ cannabis product can I buy?

Registered patients may purchase up to 3 ounces of medicinal cannabis/cannabis product from an alternative treatment center every 30 days, though dosage is directed by the authorizing health care provider. Recreational users can purchase up to the equivalent of 1 ounce of cannabis.

Can my out-of-state guests purchase cannabis while they're here?

Any adult of legal age can legally purchase cannabis/cannabis products at a licensed dispensary.

Cannabis patients registered in another state may apply for a temporary New Jersey registration to take advantage of a lower tax rate, guaranteed supply, and larger quantity allowance.

Can you give cannabis as a gift?

Yes. You may share up to 1 ounce of cannabis with another adult 21 years or older. You may not receive any form of payment or compensation for the gifted cannabis.

👋 Where can I smoke cannabis?

You can use cannabis on private property, but property owners have the right to restrict cannabis use on their property. You may also use, smoke, eat, or vape in dispensaries licensed and zoned for onsite consumption. You cannot use, smoke, eat, or vape cannabis on federal lands, in federal buildings, or smoke in public spaces where smoking is banned.

What happens if I drive while high?

The rules and consequences for impaired driving are the same whether the intoxication is the result of cannabis use, alcohol, medication, or some other substance.

Can I take my stash on vacation?

Not by plane, train, or automobile. You may not take cannabis in any amount across state lines. You also cannot mail it anywhere – even to places where cannabis use is legal.

Solution Can I be fired for smoking weed?

Workplaces have the right to prohibit cannabis at work, and to require a drug test if work procedure or safety is compromised.

Y Can I grow my own cannabis?

No. New Jersey's legislation does not allow for personal growing.