Guidance for Avoiding Fraud, Waste, and Abuse: A Presentation for New Jersey Pharmacy Providers

Any chance you'd consider allowing a bulk eligibility search on
the NJMMIS site? It would be very helpful for us to avoid lapses
in patient care. Thank you.

Questions and Answers / February 28, 2024

There are Division of Medical Assistance and Health Services (DMAHS) approved vendors on
this list that provide bulk eligibility services. Go to the NJMMIS.com website and then choose
Approved vendor list under the information section on the right.

DMAHS

Where can | find updated BIN and PCN and group name for
each of the Managed Care Organizations?

Fee For Service

BIN: 610515;

PCN: SUPP NJ;

GROUP: there is no Group

DMAMHS (Fee For Service)

Aetna Better Health of New Jersey
BIN: 10591;

PCN: ADV;

GROUP: RX8829

Aetna Better Health of New
Jersey

Fidelis Care
BIN: 003858
PCN: MA
GROUP: 2GDA

Fidelis Care

Horizon NJ Health
BIN: 610606

PCN: HMC
GROUP: HORIZON

Horizon NJ Health

UnitedHealthcare Community Plan
BIN: 610494

PCN: 4343

GROUP: AMNJ

UnitedHealthcare Community
Plan

Wellpoint
BIN: 020107

PCN: WP
GROUP: WKPA

Wellpoint

Is there a fee to use the NJMMIS portal?

No, there is no fee to use the NJIMMIS portal.

DMAHS

Ownership changes only 5 years of RX records but we keep for
7?

Most pharmacy records are retained for at least 5 years (prescription and patient records,
employee records, temperature records, etc). However immunization and collaborative
practice related records are to be maintained for 7 years.

NJ Board of Pharmacy
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Track and trace software is mandated by the Drug Supply Chain Security Act (DSCSA). As of
November 27, 2023, DSCSA began requiring trading partners (manufacturers, repackagers,
wholesalers, and dispensers) to provide, receive and maintain documentation about products
and ownership only electronically — rather than either electronically or on paper. However, a one-
year stabilization period was enacted to accommodate troubleshooting and maturation of
electronic systems. While the stabilization period will last until November 27, 2024, after which
trading partners will be required to provide product and ownership documentation strictly by
electronic format (this requirement will not be placed on any product — or its ownership
information — that is introduced into the stream of commerce before the end of the stabilization
date until its expiry). This one-year period of time was not intended to be used to delay the
implementation of electronic monitoring systems.

As of June 12, 2024, the FDA has extended the implementation period until November 27, 2026
for small dispensaries (those with 25 or less full-time employees licensed as pharmacists or
qualified as pharmacy technicians), if a waiver is requested and granted. Trading partners that do
not qualify for the small dispenser exemptions and are unable to meet the enhanced drug
distribution security requirements of section 582 of the FD&C Act by November 27, 2024, may
request a waiver or exemption from those requirements.

If a transfer pertains to a transfer of a medication for a specific patient from another pharmacy,
DSCSA requirements are not mandated, but the pharmacy that transferred the medication would

have all of the track and trace information. 21 USCS § 360eee-1(d)(1)(A)(ii).
The presentation stated that we would be required to store lot

numbers of medications coming into and going out of our If a transfer pertains to inventory received by the pharmacy from a wholesaler, they would need
pharmacy. How would we be able to do that if we aren’t to work with their software vendors to ensure that they are compliant with the DSCSA Information cited from FDA
5 receiving any of that information in a downloadable format? regulations. All wholesalers already store this information. source



https://www.fda.gov/drugs/drug-supply-chain-integrity/drug-supply-chain-security-act-dscsa
https://www.fda.gov/drugs/drug-supply-chain-integrity/drug-supply-chain-security-act-dscsa
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Distributors only store sales information for 6 years; doesn't the
responsibility of record storage also fall on them?

Questions and Answers / February 28, 2024

Per DSCSA a wholesale distributor shall capture the transaction information (including lot
level information) consistent with the requirements of this section, transaction history, and
transaction statement for each and maintain such information, history, and statement for not
less than 6 years after the date of the transaction. 21 USCS § 360eee-1 (c)(1)(A)(v)(1)

Per DSCSA, a dispenser (pharmacy) shall capture transaction information (including lot level
information, if provided), transaction history, and transaction statements, as necessary to
investigate a suspect product, and maintain such information, history, and statements for not
less than 6 years after the transaction. 21 USCS § 360eee-1 (d)(1)(A)(iii)

Both are responsible to maintain track and trace information for 6 years.

Information cited from FDA

source

What is the policy on using highly reimbursable National Drug
Codes (NDCs) where the profit is extremely large? There are
wholesalers marketing to pharmacies for this. The average
wholesale price (AWP) is normally high and the reimbursement
is high as well. Is there guidance on the consequences of
excessive billing for these NDCs?

The state and the Medicaid Managed Care Organizations that pay pharmacy claims seek to
prevent payments for high cost/low value medications. To that end, there is MCO Contract
language (Section 4.2.4.H) as well as a number of internal systems that MFD, DMAHS, and
MCOs use to identify and prevent payment of claims for these products.

If you are aware of a provider who prescribes such products or a pharmacy that dispenses
them, please contact any of the following parties to share this information:

¢ Aetna Better Health of New Jersey - (855) 282-8272

o Fidelis Care - (866) 685-8664

® Horizon NJ Health - (855) 372-8320

¢ UnitedHealthcare Community Plan - (844) 359-7736

* Wellpoint - (866) 847-8247

¢ NJ Office of the State Comptroller, Medicaid Fraud Division - (888) 937-2835

NJ Medicaid MCOs and MFD

All biologic injectable /non-injectable meds are excluded from
the Drug Supply Chain Security Act (DSCSA)?

This Food and Drug Administration (FDA) webpage provides information on this topic: Drug
Supply Chain Security Act Product Tracing Requirements | Frequently Asked Questions | FDA

NJ Board of Pharmacy

Are home infusion providers or specialty pharmacy providers
allowed to leave a delivery outside a patient's home if they have
requested that? There wouldn't be anyone available to sign for
it.

A signature is required for Medicaid members.

NJ Medicaid MCOs



https://www.fda.gov/drugs/drug-supply-chain-security-act-dscsa/drug-supply-chain-security-act-product-tracing-requirements-frequently-asked-questions
https://www.fda.gov/drugs/drug-supply-chain-security-act-dscsa/drug-supply-chain-security-act-product-tracing-requirements-frequently-asked-questions
https://www.fda.gov/drugs/drug-supply-chain-security-act-dscsa/drug-supply-chain-security-act-product-tracing-requirements-frequently-asked-questions#q2
https://www.fda.gov/drugs/drug-supply-chain-security-act-dscsa/drug-supply-chain-security-act-product-tracing-requirements-frequently-asked-questions#q2
https://www.fda.gov/drugs/drug-supply-chain-security-act-dscsa/drug-supply-chain-security-act-product-tracing-requirements-frequently-asked-questions#q2
https://www.fda.gov/drugs/drug-supply-chain-security-act-dscsa/drug-supply-chain-security-act-product-tracing-requirements-frequently-asked-questions#q2
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Will bulk ingredients be allowed for hazardous compounding See njmmis.com Newsletter Volume 23 Number 13; Active Pharmaceutical Ingredients (APIs)
and will NJ FamilyCare set a base for reimbursement for are excluded from coverage by NJ Medicaid (we allow APIs in compounds, but exclude from
10 pediatric hazardous compounding? payment). DMAHS
What about a change in ownership, where the Pharmacist-
In0OCharge (PIC) remains the same. Is closing and opening
11 control inventory still needed? Please refer to N.J.A.C.13:39-4.5(a)(1) as this addresses this question. NJ Board of Pharmacy
Each MCO has their own network contracts. A pharmacy’s reimbursement from a plan is set
12 Who makes decision how much to reimburse pharmacy? contractually in their agreement to participate with that plan. DMAHS
Which department oversees patient lock in/restriction program DMAHS and NJ Medicaid
13 and contacts? Each MCO oversees their lock-in program, with guidance coming from DMAHS. MCOs
Only pharmacies operated by covered entities using 340B inventory are eligible to receive
FFS payments for covered outpatient drugs when dispensed to a 340B-eligible beneficiary.
Regarding 340b eligibility:
1. In reading the guidelines it appears that the payors excluded [A 340B-eligible beneficiary is defined as an individual who receives medical care, typically in
from 340b are FFS (Fee for service) Medicaid payors, and so an outpatient setting, from the covered entity. Contract pharmacies shall not be eligible to
would not include the 5 MCOs in New Jersey. Is that accurate? |receive New Jersey FamilyCare FFS payments for 340B prescriptions dispensed to 340B-
2. Are New Jersey PAAD, Senior Gold, & ADDP considered to be |eligible beneficiaries. Only beneficiaries enrolled under Medicare part D long with PAAD/SG
FFS (Fee for service) Medicaid payors? and ADDP beneficiaries are considered eligible to receive FFS payment for 340B
14 prescriptions if dispensed and billed by covered entity pharmacy. DMAHS
How far in advance will we be notified for formulary changes?
Insurance determines notification or state regulations for Each plan has their updates on their website. Members and Prescribers are notified prior to
15 formulary changes? change depending on the type of update. NJ Medicaid MCOs



https://www.njconsumeraffairs.gov/regulations/Chapter-39-State-Board-of-Pharmacy.pdf
https://www.njconsumeraffairs.gov/regulations/Chapter-39-State-Board-of-Pharmacy.pdf
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