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Partial-care prior authorization requests and approvals are required at least once 
every six months. According to N.J.A.C. 10:66-1.4(c), “mental health and substance use 
disorder outpatient rehabilitative services, including individual psychotherapy, group 
therapy, family consultation, and family therapy, provided to each Medicaid or NJ 
FamilyCare fee-for-service beneficiary require prior authorization when payment to an 
independent clinic exceeds $6,000 for that Medicaid or NJ FamilyCare fee-for-service 
beneficiary in any 12-month period . . . . The maximum period of authorization for partial 
care shall not exceed six months.” N.J.A.C. 10:66-1.4(c)(6) also states that “[i]f the 
request for prior authorization is approved, the Division’s fiscal agent shall notify the 
provider in writing regarding the Division’s decision; authorized date or time frame; and 
activation of the prior authorization number.” Further, pursuant to N.J.A.C. 10:49-6.1 
and 10:66-1.4(a) and (c), payment for services requires prior authorization except in 
emergencies. Accordingly, providers may not submit claims for units in excess of the 
prior authorized number of units. 
  
 Enclosed please find password protected files containing claims detail for those 
prior authorization numbers where Medallion improperly billed for units of service that 
were greater than the pre-approved number of authorized units for such services. To 
obtain the password, please contact Ms. , by electronic mail at 

. 
 
 PLEASE TAKE NOTICE: If, after reviewing OSC’s list of claims, you believe 
that Medallion billed the Medicaid program in accordance with state regulations, you 
may submit to OSC a written explanation with relevant supporting documentation 
within thirty (30) days of the date of this letter. Should you submit such a written 
explanation within this thirty (30) day period, OSC reserves the right to request 
additional records, conduct on-site visits, and/or perform any additional analysis 
necessary to conclude this review. Should you fail to respond in writing to OSC within 
this thirty (30) day period, OSC may take further appropriate action, including but not 
limited to: issuing a Notice of Claim, Certificate of Debt, Notice of Withholding, which 
would withhold a portion of your future claims payments, and any other remedy 
available to OSC by law.   
 
 If you agree with OSC’s conclusion, please mail a Certified Check, Bank Check, or 
Attorney Trust Check in the amount of $32,769.48 made payable to “Treasurer, State of 
New Jersey” to the address below. Please insert on the “memo line” of the check “

”.  
 

Treasurer, State of New Jersey 
Division of Revenue  
200 Woolverton Street, Building 20  

     Lockbox 656  
Trenton, New Jersey 08646 

     Attn: Processing Bureau 
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In addition, please forward a copy of your certified payment by email to 
 or by US Mail to the Office of the State Comptroller, 

Medicaid Fraud Division, P.O. Box 025, Trenton, New Jersey, 08625-0025, attention: 
. Should you have any questions regarding this letter, please contact 

Ms.  by email at  or Ms.  by 
email at . 
 
 
 
 
 

Sincerely,  
 
KEVIN D. WALSH 
ACTING STATE COMPTROLLER 

 
 
          By: /s/Michael M. Morgese  
     Michael M. Morgese 
     Audit Supervisor 
     Medicaid Fraud Division 
 
 
 
 
 
Enclosures:  Appendix A – Prior Authorization Overpayment Summary Report. 
 (password protected) 
 Appendix B – Prior Authorization Overpayment Claim Detail Report. 

(password protected) 
 
[These appendices were omitted to maintain confidentiality.] 
 
 
c: Don Catinello, Supervising Regulatory Officer, MFD 
 Glenn Geib, Recovery Supervisor, MFD 
 
 

MFD Audit Update – December 2, 2021 
 

On November 26, 2021, MFD received a check dated November 9, 2021 from 
Medallion Behavioral Health LLC for the full amount due $32,769.48. 
 

 




