\*\*\* Current through New Jersey 221st First Annual Session, L. 2024, c. 87 and J.R. 2 \*\*\*

LexisNexis® New Jersey Annotated Statutes > Title 30. Institutions and Agencies (Subts. 1 — 9) > Subtitle 7. Private Institutions (Chs. 10 — 12) > Chapter 11A. Facilities for Residential Health Care (§§ 30:11A-1 — 30:11A-14)

## § 30:11A-1. Definitions.

As used in P.L.1953, c.212 (C.30:11A-1 et seq.):

"Department" means the Department of Health or the Department of Community Affairs, as appropriate.

"Licensee" means the owner, operator, or administrator of a residential health care facility that is certified to operate pursuant to this chapter.

"Residential health care facility" means any facility, whether in single or multiple dwellings, whether public or private, whether incorporated or unincorporated, whether for profit or nonprofit, which:

- (1) is operated at the direction, or under the management, of an individual or individuals, a corporation, a partnership, a society, or an association;
- (2) furnishes food and shelter to four or more persons 18 years of age or older who are unrelated to the proprietor;
- (3) provides any one or more of such persons with dietary services, recreational activities, supervision of self-administration of medications, supervision of and assistance in activities of daily living, and assistance in obtaining health services; and
- (4) is regulated by either the Department of Health or the Department of Community Affairs.

"Residential health care facility" shall not include any community residence for the developmentally disabled, as defined in section 2 of P.L.1977, c.448 (C.30:11B-2); any facility or living arrangement that is operated by, or under contract with, any other State department or agency, upon the written authorization of the Commissioner of Health or the Commissioner of Community Affairs, as appropriate; or any privately operated establishment licensed under chapter 11 of Title 30 of the Revised Statutes.

"Resident" means a person 18 years of age or older who:

- (1) is ambulant, with or without assistive devices;
- (2) has been certified by a licensed physician to be free from communicable disease and not in need of skilled nursing care; and
- (3) except in the case of a person 65 years of age and over, is in need of dietary services, supervision of self-administration of medications, supervision of and assistance in activities of daily living, or assistance in obtaining health care services.

A resident shall not be given skilled nursing care while a resident, except as hereinafter provided. The foregoing definition shall not be construed to prevent care of residents in emergencies or during temporary illness for a period of one week or less, and shall not be construed to prevent a licensed physician from ordering nursing or other health care services.

#### **History**

L. 1953, c. 212, p. 1606, 1; Amended by L. 1964, c. 147, 2; L. 1979, c. 496, 26; <u>2017, c. 234</u>, § 1, effective September 13, 2017.

**Annotations** 

#### **Notes**

#### **Amendment Notes**

2017 amendment, by Chapter 234, rewrote the section.

#### **CASE NOTES**

Family Law: Delinquency & Dependency: Foster Care

Governments: Legislation: Statutory Remedies & Rights

Healthcare Law: Actions Against Facilities: Facility Liability: Nursing Facilities

Public Health & Welfare Law: Healthcare: Services for Disabled & Elderly Persons: Care Facilities:

**General Overview** 

Real Property Law: Zoning & Land Use: State & Regional Planning

Family Law: Delinquency & Dependency: Foster Care

Zoning ordinance restricting buildings to one-family dwellings was properly applied to occupants who accepted foster children because the ordinance did not conflict with either <u>N.J. Stat. Ann. § 30:4C-26</u> because it did not indicate a policy of necessary inclusion of a one-family dwelling for the housing of the children or <u>N.J. Stat. Ann.</u> § 30:11A-1 because it was not restrictive, but rather was intended to regulate boarding houses for adult persons. Newark v. Johnson, 70 N.J. Super. 381, 175 A.2d 500, 1961 N.J. Super. LEXIS 846 (Cty. Ct. 1961).

#### Governments: Legislation: Statutory Remedies & Rights

Superior Court of New Jersey, Appellate Division held that inhabitants of an assisted living residence may not assert a private cause of action for the facility's alleged breach of their statutory bill of rights. <u>Burns, Estate of, by and through Burns v. Care One at Stanwick, LLC, 468 N.J. Super. 306, 258 A.3d 368, 2021 N.J. Super. LEXIS 79 (App.Div. 2021).</u>

Healthcare Law: Actions Against Facilities: Facility Liability: Nursing Facilities

Superior Court of New Jersey, Appellate Division held that inhabitants of an assisted living residence may not assert a private cause of action for the facility's alleged breach of their statutory bill of rights. <u>Burns, Estate of, by and through Burns v. Care One at Stanwick, LLC, 468 N.J. Super. 306, 258 A.3d 368, 2021 N.J. Super. LEXIS 79 (App.Div. 2021)</u>.

Public Health & Welfare Law: Healthcare: Services for Disabled & Elderly Persons: Care Facilities: General Overview

Holding, that an agreement between the trustees of a life-care community home and its residents impliedly included the residents' right to an accounting by the trustees on the grounds that the monthly fees were expected to remain stable and reasonable, was consistent with the legislative policy expressed in New Jersey's fairly extensive regulation of the residential health care facilities industry set forth in <a href="N.J. Stat. Ann. § 30:11A-1">N.J. Stat. Ann. § 30:11A-1</a> et seq., <a href="N.J. Stat. Ann. § 26:2H-1">N.J. Stat. Ann. § 30:11A-1</a> et seq., and N.J. Admin. Code tit. 8, § 43-1.1 et seq. <a href="Onderdonk v. Presbyterian Homes of New Jersey">Onderdonk v. Presbyterian Homes of New Jersey</a>, 85 N.J. 171, 425 A.2d 1057, 1981 N.J. LEXIS 2589 (N.J. 1981).

#### Real Property Law: Zoning & Land Use: State & Regional Planning

Zoning ordinance restricting buildings to one-family dwellings was properly applied to occupants who accepted foster children because the ordinance did not conflict with either <u>N.J. Stat. Ann. § 30:4C-26</u> because it did not indicate a policy of necessary inclusion of a one-family dwelling for the housing of the children or <u>N.J. Stat. Ann.</u> § 30:11A-1 because it was not restrictive, but rather was intended to regulate boarding houses for adult persons. Newark v. Johnson, 70 N.J. Super. 381, 175 A.2d 500, 1961 N.J. Super. LEXIS 846 (Cty. Ct. 1961).

#### Research References & Practice Aids

#### **Cross References:**

Inapplicability of act to hotel, motel or guest house rented to transient guest or seasonal tenant or to residential health care facility, see <u>2A:18-59.2</u>.

Definitions, see 26:2H-37.

Nursing homes and residential health care facilities; heat emergency action plan; approval; annual review; notice of heat emergency, see 26:2H-14.2.

New Jersey Boarding Home Advisory Council, see 30:1A-4.

Definitions, see 55:14K-3.

LexisNexis® New Jersey Annotated Statutes Copyright © 2025 All rights reserved.

\*\*\* Current through New Jersey 221st First Annual Session, L. 2024, c. 87 and J.R. 2 \*\*\*

LexisNexis® New Jersey Annotated Statutes > Title 30. Institutions and Agencies (Subts. 1 — 9) > Subtitle 7. Private Institutions (Chs. 10 — 12) > Chapter 11A. Facilities for Residential Health Care ( $\S\S$  30:11A-1 — 30:11A-14)

# § 30:11A-2. Certificate of approval, license.

Residential health care facilities, as defined in section 1 of P.L.1953, c.212 (<u>C.30:11A-1</u>), shall operate within this State pursuant to a certificate of approval first had and obtained for that purpose from the Department of Health, or pursuant to a license had and obtained from the Department of Community Affairs. No such certificate of approval or license shall be issued unless the commissioner is satisfied that the institution in question is adequately prepared to furnish facilities, care, and service complying with standards relating thereto, except that temporary permits, valid for a period not exceeding six months and not subject to renewal, may be issued under the circumstances specified in section 6 of P.L.1953, c.212 (<u>C.30:11A-6</u>). Boarding and rooming houses shall not be construed to be within the provisions of P.L.1953, c.212 (<u>C.30:11A-1</u>) et seq.).

## **History**

L. 1953, c. 212, p. 1606, § 2; Amended by L. 1964, c. 147, § 3; L. 1979, c. 496, § 27; <u>2017, c. 234</u>, § 2, effective September 13, 2017.

**Annotations** 

#### **Notes**

#### **Amendment Notes**

2017 amendment, by Chapter 234, in the first sentence, inserted "of P.L.1953, c.212 (C.30:11A-1 et seq.)", "a" preceding "certificate", and "or pursuant to a license had and obtained from the Department of Community Affairs", in the second sentence, inserted "or license" and substituted "is" for "shall be" and "P.L.1953, c.212 (C.30:11A-6)" for "this act", substituted "P.L.1953, c.212 (C.30:11A-1 et seq.)" for "this act" in the third sentence, and made stylistic changes.

LexisNexis® New Jersey Annotated Statutes Copyright © 2025 All rights reserved.

\*\*\* Current through New Jersey 221st First Annual Session, L. 2024, c. 87 and J.R. 2 \*\*\*

LexisNexis® New Jersey Annotated Statutes > Title 30. Institutions and Agencies (Subts. 1 — 9) > Subtitle 7. Private Institutions (Chs. 10 — 12) > Chapter 11A. Facilities for Residential Health Care ( $\S\S$  30:11A-1 — 30:11A-14)

# § 30:11A-3. Rules, regulations and standards.

- a. The Department of Health and the Department of Community Affairs shall each adopt, promulgate, and enforce such rules, regulations, and standards with respect to the residential health care facilities that are approved hereunder, and that fall under each department's jurisdiction, as each such department may deem to be necessary to assure that: persons living in such facilities are afforded the opportunity to live with as much independence, autonomy, and interaction with the surrounding community as they are capable of; such persons are afforded a minimum standard of sanitation, housekeeping, heat, light, air, food, lodging, care, service, and fire safety which also preserves and promotes a homelike atmosphere appropriate to such facilities; such persons are not deprived of any constitutional, civil, or legal right solely by reason of their living in such facilities; employees of public and private agencies have reasonable access to such facilities upon receiving the consent of a resident to be visited by them.
- **b.** Nothing in this chapter, or in any rule or regulation promulgated hereunder, shall be construed to mean that any residential health care facility may advertise, hold itself out, or operate, as a nursing home.
- **c.** Each department may determine that the various establishments covered by P.L.1953, c.212 (*C.30:11A-1* et seq.), which are subject to each department's respective jurisdiction, are appropriately and reasonably classified into two or more classes, and may establish separate rules, regulations, and standards for each such class. Such rules, regulations, and standards shall include, but need not be limited to, all requirements and limitations legally imposed upon any such establishment by any other municipal, county, or State office or officer having inspection, approval, licensing, or regulatory authority with respect to such establishment.
- **d.** The provisions of this subsection shall apply only to those free-standing residential health care facilities that are not located with, and operated by, a licensed health care facility, and which are subject to the authority of the Department of Community Affairs.
  - (1) No licensee shall cause any resident to be evicted from a residential health care facility that is not located with, and operated by, a licensed health care facility, except for good cause, as defined in P.L.1974, c.49 (C.2A:18-61.1) et seq.), and except in accordance with the procedural requirements of P.L.1974, c.49 (C.2A:18-61.1) et seq.). Nothing in P.L.1953, c.212 (C.30:11A-1) et seq.) shall prohibit the transfer of a resident to a screening center for an evaluation to determine whether the resident poses a risk of danger to the resident's own self or to others. In the event of such transfer, the licensee may contemporaneously proceed with eviction against such resident pursuant to P.L.1974, c.49 (C.2A:18-61.1) et seq.). All references in P.L.1974, c.49 (C.2A:18-61.1) et seq.) to the terms "landlords," "tenants," "tenancy," "lease," or similar terminology shall be equally applicable to residents of and residential agreements used by a residential health care facility that is not located with, and operated by, a licensed health care facility.
  - (2) In addition to the other requirements of this subsection, a licensee shall provide prompt written notice to the county welfare agency, to the Department of Community Affairs, and to the New Jersey Office of the Ombudsman for the Institutionalized Elderly of any proposed eviction of a resident. The

§ 30:11A-3. Rules, regulations and standards.

written notice required by this paragraph shall be provided at the time that a complaint for eviction is filed with the appropriate court and appended thereto. No Judgment of Possession shall be entered unless the requirements of this paragraph have been met.

#### **History**

L. 1953, c. 212, p. 1607, 3; Amended by L. 1964, c. 147, 4; L. 1979, c. 496, 28; <u>2017, c. 234</u>, § 3, effective September 13, 2017.

**Annotations** 

#### **Notes**

#### **Amendment Notes**

2017 amendment, by Chapter 234, designated former section as a., b., and c.; in a., substituted "Department of Health and the Department of Community Affairs shall each adopt" for "State Department of Health, shall adopt", "that are" for "to be", and "and that fall under each department's jurisdiction, as each such department may deem to be necessary" for "as it may deem necessary", inserted "a" following "afforded", deleted "and that" preceding "employees", inserted "to such facilities" and deleted "but nothing" at the end; in b., added "Nothing" at the beginning and substituted "or in" for "nor"; in c., substituted "Each" for "The", "P.L.1953, c.212 (C.30:11A-1 et seq.), which are subject to each department's respective jurisdiction" for "this act", and deleted "in any event" following "standards shall"; added d.; and made stylistic changes.

#### **Notes to Decisions**

Governments: Legislation: Statutory Remedies & Rights

Healthcare Law: Actions Against Facilities: Facility Liability: Nursing Facilities

Governments: Legislation: Statutory Remedies & Rights

Superior Court of New Jersey, Appellate Division held that inhabitants of an assisted living residence may not assert a private cause of action for the facility's alleged breach of their statutory bill of rights. <u>Burns, Estate of, by and through Burns v. Care One at Stanwick, LLC, 468 N.J. Super. 306, 258 A.3d 368, 2021 N.J. Super. LEXIS 79 (App.Div. 2021).</u>

Healthcare Law: Actions Against Facilities: Facility Liability: Nursing Facilities

Superior Court of New Jersey, Appellate Division held that inhabitants of an assisted living residence may not assert a private cause of action for the facility's alleged breach of their statutory bill of rights. <u>Burns, Estate of, by and through Burns v. Care One at Stanwick, LLC, 468 N.J. Super. 306, 258 A.3d 368, 2021 N.J. Super. LEXIS 79 (App.Div. 2021)</u>.

#### **Research References & Practice Aids**

#### **Administrative Code:**

§ 30:11A-3. Rules, regulations and standards.

<u>N.J.A.C. 5:27A</u> (2013), CHAPTER STANDARDS FOR LICENSURE OF RESIDENTIAL HEALTH CARE FACILITIES NOT LOCATED WITH, AND OPERATED BY, LICENSED HEALTH CARE FACILITIES, 5, Chapter 27A — Chapter Notes.

LexisNexis® New Jersey Annotated Statutes Copyright © 2025 All rights reserved.

\*\*\* Current through New Jersey 221st First Annual Session, L. 2024, c. 87 and J.R. 2 \*\*\*

LexisNexis® New Jersey Annotated Statutes > Title 30. Institutions and Agencies (Subts. 1 — 9) > Subtitle 7. Private Institutions (Chs. 10 — 12) > Chapter 11A. Facilities for Residential Health Care (§§ 30:11A-1 — 30:11A-14)

# § 30:11A-4. Application for certificate of approval

Application for a certificate of approval shall be made upon forms furnished by the department, and the applicant shall be required to furnish any evidence which the department may require, as part of or in support of such application, relating to the applicant's ability and intention to comply with prescribed standards of facilities and operation.

#### **History**

L. 1953, c. 212, p. 1607, 4.

LexisNexis® New Jersey Annotated Statutes Copyright © 2025 All rights reserved.

\*\*\* Current through New Jersey 221st First Annual Session, L. 2024, c. 87 and J.R. 2 \*\*\*

LexisNexis® New Jersey Annotated Statutes > Title 30. Institutions and Agencies (Subts. 1 — 9) > Subtitle 7. Private Institutions (Chs. 10 — 12) > Chapter 11A. Facilities for Residential Health Care (§§ 30:11A-1 — 30:11A-14)

#### § 30:11A-5. Investigation of applicant; certificate not transferable; display

Upon receipt of an application for a certificate of approval, the department shall cause an investigation to be made of the applicant and the facilities, and shall issue a certificate of approval if it is found that the applicant is of good moral character and that the facilities comply with the provisions of this act and with the regulations and standards required by the department pursuant hereto. The certificate of approval shall not be transferable or assignable or applicable to any premises or proprietor other than those specified therein. The certificate shall be conspicuously displayed within the residential health care facility at all times.

## **History**

L. 1953, c. 212, p. 1608, 5; Amended by L. 1964, c. 147, 5; L. 1979, c. 496, 29.

LexisNexis® New Jersey Annotated Statutes Copyright © 2025 All rights reserved.

\*\*\* Current through New Jersey 221st First Annual Session, L. 2024, c. 87 and J.R. 2 \*\*\*

LexisNexis® New Jersey Annotated Statutes > Title 30. Institutions and Agencies (Subts. 1 — 9) > Subtitle 7. Private Institutions (Chs. 10 — 12) > Chapter 11A. Facilities for Residential Health Care (§§ 30:11A-1 — 30:11A-14)

# § 30:11A-6. Existing facility; reasonable time to comply with rules, regulations or standards

Any residential health care facility which is in operation on the effective date of this act, or at the time of promulgation of any applicable rules, regulations or standards under this act, may be given a reasonable time, not to exceed 2 years, within which to comply with such rules, regulations and standards, or subsequent amendments or supplements thereto.

#### **History**

L. 1953, c. 212, p. 1608, 6; Amended by L. 1964, c. 147, 6; L. 1979, c. 496, 30.

LexisNexis® New Jersey Annotated Statutes Copyright © 2025 All rights reserved.

\*\*\* Current through New Jersey 221st First Annual Session, L. 2024, c. 87 and J.R. 2 \*\*\*

LexisNexis® New Jersey Annotated Statutes > Title 30. Institutions and Agencies (Subts. 1 — 9) > Subtitle 7. Private Institutions (Chs. 10 — 12) > Chapter 11A. Facilities for Residential Health Care (§§ 30:11A-1 — 30:11A-14)

# § 30:11A-7. Duration of certificate of approval

A certificate of approval shall be valid for one year from date of issue, unless sooner revoked or suspended for cause.

## **History**

L. 1953, c. 212, p. 1608, 7.

LexisNexis® New Jersey Annotated Statutes Copyright © 2025 All rights reserved.

\*\*\* Current through New Jersey 221st First Annual Session, L. 2024, c. 87 and J.R. 2 \*\*\*

LexisNexis® New Jersey Annotated Statutes > Title 30. Institutions and Agencies (Subts. 1 — 9) > Subtitle 7. Private Institutions (Chs. 10 — 12) > Chapter 11A. Facilities for Residential Health Care (§§ 30:11A-1 — 30:11A-14)

#### § 30:11A-8. Denial, revocation or suspension of certificates of approval

The State Board of Control may deny, revoke or suspend any and all certificates of approval granted under the authority of this act, because of violation of or failure to comply with the provisions of this act or the rules, regulations and standards promulgated hereunder.

Prior to the revocation, suspension or denial of any certificate of approval hereunder, the department, if requested, shall afford the establishment an opportunity for a prompt and fair hearing before the department. The procedure governing such hearings shall be in accordance with rules and regulations of the department adopted for that purpose. Either party may subpoen witnesses and compel their attendance on forms furnished by the department.

Notice of revocation, suspension or denial of a certificate of approval shall be sent to the establishment by registered mail and the notice shall set forth the particular reasons for the denial, suspension or revocation of the certificate. Such denial, suspension or revocation shall become effective thirty days after mailing, unless the establishment, within such thirty-day period shall meet the requirements of the department or shall give written notice to the department of its desire for a hearing, in which case the denial, suspension or revocation shall be held in abeyance until the hearing has been concluded and a final decision rendered.

The Commissioner of the Department of Institutions and Agencies is hereby empowered to arrange for prompt and fair hearings on all such cases and to render written decisions stating conclusions and reasons therefor upon each matter so heard, and to enter orders of denial, suspension or revocation consistent with the circumstances in each case.

# **History**

L. 1953, c. 212, p. 1608, 8.

**Annotations** 

# **Opinion Notes**

#### **OPINIONS OF ATTORNEY GENERAL**

FORMAL OPINION No. 4 — 1979, 1979 N.J. AG LEXIS 24.

\*\*\* Current through New Jersey 221st First Annual Session, L. 2024, c. 87 and J.R. 2 \*\*\*

LexisNexis® New Jersey Annotated Statutes > Title 30. Institutions and Agencies (Subts. 1 — 9) > Subtitle 7. Private Institutions (Chs. 10 — 12) > Chapter 11A. Facilities for Residential Health Care (§§ 30:11A-1 — 30:11A-14)

#### § 30:11A-9. Inspection of premises; alterations, additions or improvements

The department shall make or cause to be made such inspections of the premises of any residential health care facility from time to time as it may deem necessary to be assured that any such establishment is at all times complying with the provisions of this act and with the rules, regulations and standards promulgated hereunder. Any approved establishment, prior to making any alterations, additions or improvements to its facilities or prior to the construction of new facilities shall, before commencing such work, submit plans and specifications to the department for preliminary inspection and approval or recommendations with respect thereto.

## **History**

L. 1953, c. 212, p. 1609, 9; Amended by L. 1979, c. 496, 31.

LexisNexis® New Jersey Annotated Statutes Copyright © 2025 All rights reserved.

\*\*\* Current through New Jersey 221st First Annual Session, L. 2024, c. 87 and J.R. 2 \*\*\*

LexisNexis® New Jersey Annotated Statutes > Title 30. Institutions and Agencies (Subts. 1 — 9) > Subtitle 7. Private Institutions (Chs. 10 — 12) > Chapter 11A. Facilities for Residential Health Care ( $\S\S$  30:11A-1 — 30:11A-14)

# § 30:11A-10. Penalties for operating uncertified, unlicensed residential health care facility.

**a.** Any person, firm, corporation, partnership, society, or association who shall operate or conduct a residential health care facility without first obtaining the certificate of approval or license required by P.L.1953, c.212 (<u>C.30:11A-1</u> et seq.), or who shall operate such establishment after revocation or suspension of a certificate of approval or license, shall be liable to a penalty of \$10.00 for each day of operation in violation hereof for the first offense, and for any subsequent offense shall be liable to a penalty of \$20.00 for each day of operation in violation hereof.

The penalties authorized by this section shall be recovered in a summary proceeding, brought in the name of the State of New Jersey pursuant to the "Penalty Enforcement Law of 1999," <u>P.L.1999, c.74</u> (<u>C.2A:58-10</u> et seq.). Money penalties, when recovered, shall be payable to the General State Fund.

The Department of Health or the Department of Community Affairs, as appropriate, may, in the manner provided by law, maintain an action in the name of the State of New Jersey for injunctive relief against any person, firm, corporation, partnership, society, or association that continues to conduct, manage, or operate a residential health care facility without a certificate of approval or license, or after suspension or revocation of such certificate of approval or license.

The practice and procedure in actions instituted under authority of this section shall conform to the practice and procedure in the court in which the action is instituted.

No officer or agent of any municipal or county agency having responsibility for making payments of any form of public assistance under the provisions of Title 44 of the Revised Statutes, shall make such payments to or on behalf of a person residing in a residential health care facility as defined in P.L.1953, c.212 (C.30:11A-1 et seq.), unless such establishment is, at the time of such payment, approved or provisionally approved pursuant to P.L.1953, c.212 (C.30:11A-1 et seq.).

- **b.** No residential health care facility, licensed hereunder, shall by public or private advertisement or by any other means hold out to the public that it is equipped to provide post-operative or convalescent care for persons with a mental illness or an intellectual disability or who are suffering or recovering from illness or injury or who are critically ill. Any person, firm, association, partnership, society, or corporation who violates the provisions of this subsection shall cease and desist from such practices and shall be liable to a penalty of \$100.00 for the first offense and \$200.00 for each subsequent offense, which penalties shall be recovered in the manner provided for in subsection a. of this section.
- **c.** No residential health care facility licensed hereunder, shall operate as a private mental hospital, convalescent home, private nursing home, or private hospital, unless it is licensed pursuant to chapter 11 of Title 30 of the Revised Statutes. Whenever there is reason to believe that any such facility or institution is in violation of the provisions of this subsection, the Department of Health or the Department of Community Affairs, as appropriate, may conduct a reasonable inspection of the premises for the purpose of ascertaining whether there is any violation. Any facility or institution which violates the provisions of this

§ 30:11A-10. Penalties for operating uncertified, unlicensed residential health care facility.

subsection shall be liable to a penalty of \$25.00 for each day of operation in violation of this subsection for the first offense and to a penalty of \$50.00 for each day of operation for any subsequent offense. The Department of Health and the Department of Community Affairs, with the approval of the Attorney General, are hereby authorized and empowered to compromise and settle claims for the monetary penalty in appropriate circumstances where it appears to the satisfaction of the department that payment of the full penalty will work severe hardship on any individual not having sufficient financial ability to pay the full penalty but in no case shall the penalty be compromised for a sum less than \$250.00 for the first offense and \$500.00 for any subsequent offense; provided, however, that any penalty of less than \$250.00 or \$500.00, as the case may be, may be compromised for a lesser sum. The penalties authorized by this subsection shall be recovered in the manner provided for in subsection a. of this section.

**d.** No owner, operator, or employee of a residential health care facility shall serve notice upon a resident to leave the premises, or take any other action in retaliation for: (1) the efforts of the resident or a person acting on the resident's behalf to secure or enforce any rights under a contract, the laws of this State or any of its subdivisions, or the laws of the United States; or (2) the good faith complaint of a resident or a person acting on the resident's behalf to a governmental authority concerning the owner, operator, or employee's alleged violation of P.L.1953, c.212 (*C.30:11A-1* et seq.) or any health or safety law, regulation, code, or ordinance, or other law or regulation which has as its objective the regulation of residential health care facilities.

## **History**

L. 1953, c. 212, p. 1609, § 10; Amended by L. 1964, c. 147, § 7; L. 1979, c. 496, § 32; <u>2010, c. 50</u>, § 59, eff. Nov. 14, 2010; <u>2017, c. 234,</u> § 4, effective September 13, 2017.

**Annotations** 

#### Notes

#### **OLS Corrections:**

Pursuant to <u>R.S.1:3-1</u>, the Office of Legislative Services, through its Legislative Counsel and with the concurrence of the Attorney General, substituted "Department of Health and Senior Services" for "Department of Health" and corrected an additional technical error in L. <u>2010</u>, <u>c. 50</u>, § 59.

#### **Editor's Notes**

Construction of L. <u>2010, c. 50</u>, see <u>30:6D-32.5</u>.

#### **Effective Dates:**

Section 85 of L. <u>2010, c. 50</u> provides: "This act shall take effect on the 90th day following enactment." Chapter 50, L. 2010, was approved on August 16, 2010.

#### **Amendment Note:**

2010 amendment, by Chapter 50, in the first sentence of (b), substituted "persons with a mental illness or an intellectual disability" for "persons mentally ill or mentally retarded."

2017 amendment, by Chapter 234, in a., inserted "or license" twice in the introductory paragraph and in the paragraph which begins "The Department of Health"; substituted "P.L.1953, c.212 (C.30:11A-1 et seq.)" for "this

§ 30:11A-10. Penalties for operating uncertified, unlicensed residential health care facility.

act" in the introductory paragraph and twice in the paragraph which begins "No officer or agent of any municipal or county", in the paragraph which begins "The Department of Health", substituted "Department of Health or the Department of Community Affairs, as appropriate" for "department", "that continues" for "continuing", and inserted "approval or license" at the end; in b., inserted "offense" following "first" and substituted "which penalties" for "such penalties"; in c., substituted "Department of Health or the Department of Community Affairs, as appropriate" for "department" and "The Department of Health and the Department of Community Affairs" for "The Department of Health and Senior Services"; in d., substituted "(1) the" for "(a) The", "(2) the" for "(b) The" "P.L.1953, c.212 (C.30:11A-1 et seq.)" for "this act"; and made stylistic changes.

LexisNexis® New Jersey Annotated Statutes Copyright © 2025 All rights reserved.

\*\*\* Current through New Jersey 221st First Annual Session, L. 2024, c. 87 and J.R. 2 \*\*\*

LexisNexis® New Jersey Annotated Statutes > Title 30. Institutions and Agencies (Subts. 1 — 9) > Subtitle 7. Private Institutions (Chs. 10 — 12) > Chapter 11A. Facilities for Residential Health Care (§§ 30:11A-1 — 30:11A-14)

## § 30:11A-11. Effect of issuance of certificate of approval

The issuance of a certificate of approval pursuant to this act shall not preclude a subsequent determination by the department that the establishment so approved is subject to licensing and other requirements of chapter eleven of Title 30 of the Revised Statutes, and shall not exempt such establishment from any requirements or penalties resulting from such determination, nor from any requirements or penalties imposed by any other law of this State.

#### **History**

L. 1953, c. 212, p. 1610, 11.

LexisNexis® New Jersey Annotated Statutes Copyright © 2025 All rights reserved.

\*\*\* Current through New Jersey 221st First Annual Session, L. 2024, c. 87 and J.R. 2 \*\*\*

LexisNexis® New Jersey Annotated Statutes > Title 30. Institutions and Agencies (Subts. 1 — 9) > Subtitle 7. Private Institutions (Chs. 10 — 12) > Chapter 11A. Facilities for Residential Health Care ( $\S\S$  30:11A-1 — 30:11A-14)

# § 30:11A-12. Conditions for denial of application, regulation of care under certain circumstances.

Nothing in P.L.1953, c.212 (<u>C.30:11A-1</u> et seq.) shall vest authority, or be construed to vest authority, in either the Department of Health or the Department of Community Affairs, to deny any application for a certificate of approval or license on the sole ground that adequate residential health care facilities are already available in the vicinity or area for which the certificate of approval or license is sought.

Nothing in P.L.1953, c.212 (*C.30:11A-1* et seq.) shall be so construed as to give authority to supervise or regulate or control the remedial care or treatment of individuals who are adherents of any well-recognized church or religious denomination which subscribes to the art of healing by prayer and the principles of which are opposed to medical treatment and who are living in any home or institution operated by a member or members, or by an association or corporation composed of members of such well-recognized church or religious denomination; provided, that such home or institution admits only adherents of such church or denomination and is so designated; nor shall the existence of any of the above conditions alone militate against granting a certificate of approval or license to such establishment; and provided further, that such establishment shall comply with all rules, regulations, and standards relating to sanitation and safety of the premises and be subject to inspection therefor.

# **History**

L. 1953, c. 212, p. 1611, 12; Amended by L. 1979, c. 496, 33; 2017, c. 234, § 5, effective September 13, 2017.

**Annotations** 

#### Notes

#### **Amendment Notes**

2017 amendment, by Chapter 234, substituted "P.L.1953, c.212 (C.30:11A-1 et seq.)" for "this act" in the first and second paragraphs; in the first paragraph, inserted "either" and "or the Department of Community Affairs"; inserted "or license" following "approval" twice in the first paragraph and in the second paragraph; and made stylistic changes.

§ 30:11A-12. Conditions for denial of application, regulation of care under certain circumstances.

\*\*\* Current through New Jersey 221st First Annual Session, L. 2024, c. 87 and J.R. 2 \*\*\*

LexisNexis® New Jersey Annotated Statutes > Title 30. Institutions and Agencies (Subts. 1 — 9) > Subtitle 7. Private Institutions (Chs. 10 — 12) > Chapter 11A. Facilities for Residential Health Care (§§ 30:11A-1 — 30:11A-14)

# § 30:11A-13. Additional officers and employees; costs of administration

The department is authorized, directed and empowered to employ, in compliance with the provisions of Title 11 of the Revised Statutes, such additional officers and employees as may be necessary to carry out the provisions of this act. The costs of administration of this act shall be provided for in the annual appropriation law.

#### **History**

L. 1953, c. 212, p. 1611, 13.

LexisNexis® New Jersey Annotated Statutes Copyright © 2025 All rights reserved.

\*\*\* Current through New Jersey 221st First Annual Session, L. 2024, c. 87 and J.R. 2 \*\*\*

LexisNexis® New Jersey Annotated Statutes > Title 30. Institutions and Agencies (Subts. 1 — 9) > Subtitle 7. Private Institutions (Chs. 10 — 12) > Chapter 11A. Facilities for Residential Health Care (§§ 30:11A-1 — 30:11A-14)

#### § 30:11A-14. Effective date

Section thirteen of this act shall take effect immediately, and all other sections of this act shall take effect July first, one thousand nine hundred and fifty-three.

## **History**

L. 1953, c. 212, p. 1612, 14.

LexisNexis® New Jersey Annotated Statutes Copyright © 2025 All rights reserved.