
 
  

New Jersey Department of Community Affairs 
Division of Codes and Standards 

 Landlord-Tenant Information Service 

 
  

FORECLOSURES 
TENANT’S RIGHTS 

 
February 2010 

 
Due to the national mortgage crisis many properties are being foreclosed upon in New Jersey.  
Tenants may receive letters from landlords, realtors or attorneys that appear to be official notices 
threatening tenants with eviction due to foreclosures.  These notices may contain “cash for keys” 
or “bona fide” cash offers, whereby tenants are offered money to move out of a property in a 
specific timeframe.  Tenants are not required by law to accept these “offers,” and may not be 
evicted for not accepting them.  A landlord must have good grounds under the New Jersey 
Eviction Law, N.J.S.A. 2A:18-61.1 to evict a tenant.  Tenants should be aware that they retain 
their rights under landlord-tenant laws even in properties that are being or have already been 
foreclosed. 
 
A foreclosure may occur when a landlord defaults on paying his mortgage.  In New Jersey the 
creditor can bring suit for foreclosure against the defaulting borrower (landlord) for delinquency 
of payments and force a sale of the property to recover money due on a loan.   
 
Federal Foreclosure Law 
Recent changes to federal law have strengthened a tenant’s rights in foreclosure proceedings.  
However, the federal law does not preempt any State or local law that provides longer time 
periods or other additional protections for tenants.  Pursuant to 12 USC § 5220 the Helping 
Families Save Their Homes Act of 2009, P.L. 111-22, Div A, Title VII sec. 702, 123 Stat. 1660, 
before a tenant can be evicted due to foreclosure, the landlord must provide the tenant with a 90 
day notice to quit when the foreclosed property has been purchased by a buyer who wants to 
personally occupy it as his or her primary residence.  However, if a tenant has a lease agreement 
that goes beyond the 90 days the landlord may not take action to evict the tenant until after the 
lease expires and the 90 day notice to quit has been given.  The 90 day notice may be given 90 
days before the lease expires.  Month-to-month tenants and two and three-family owner-
occupied units are not exempt from the 90 day notice requirements.  
 
New Jersey Foreclosure Fairness Act 
Pursuant to the New Jersey Foreclosure Fairness Act, N.J.S.A. 2A:50-69, et seq. any person 
acquiring a foreclosed property containing one or more residential rental units must provide 
notices to the tenants in English and Spanish, within 10 business days after the sale, letting 
tenants know that ownership has changed hands and that the tenants are not required to move 
because of the foreclosure.  In buildings with 10 or fewer dwelling units, the new owner must 



make a good faith effort to obtain the names of all the tenants occupying the property.  Notices 
must be addressed to tenants by name, unless the new owner is unable to identify the tenant by 
name, then the owner shall address the notice to “Tenant.”  The notice must also be placed on the 
front door of each tenant’s unit and sent to each tenant via certified and regular mail.  (See 
Attachment A for a copy of the required, “NOTICE TO TENANTS”) 

 
In a residential property containing more than 10 dwelling units, the new owner must provide 
notice to tenants occupying the property by conspicuously displaying a copy of the “NOTICE 
TO TENANTS” in a prominent location, such as a common area of the building or other 
structure on the property.  If there is no common area, the notice must be posted in a conspicuous 
location in each building, such as the walls of the front vestibule or any foyer or hallway near the 
main entrance of the building.  (See Attachment A for a copy of the required, “NOTICE TO 
TENANTS”) 

 
Notice Requirements to Tenants Prior to the Transfer of Title Due to a Foreclosure Action 
Any written or verbal communication, including a summons and complaint, an initial written or 
verbal communication by a foreclosing creditor, or any communication written or verbal that 
requests a tenant to vacate the property before the foreclosure or sale of the property, requires the 
foreclosing creditor to give notice to the tenants as outlined in the New Jersey Court Rules, 
Appx. XXII-K (2010) entitled “Notice to Residential Tenants of Rights During Foreclosure.”  
(See Attachment B for a sample of the “Notice to Residential Tenants of Rights During 
Foreclosure.”) 
 
Notice Requirements to Tenants After the Transfer of Title Due to a Foreclosure Action 
When making a bona fide monetary offer to induce tenants to move, the new owner must provide 
a separate and different notice from the notice required to be given by a foreclosing creditor.  
The new owner must provide a copy of the “NOTICE TO TENANTS” (Attachment A) and give 
it with the initial and final written or verbal offer to the tenant.   
 
Bona Fide Offer 
The foreclosing agency, including a bank, creditor, or a new landlord may make a written bona 
fide (good faith) monetary offer requesting that the tenant vacate the property, without “good 
cause.”  An acceptance of the offer by the tenant must be in writing and include an 
acknowledgement of the date of the receipt of the offer, and an understanding that the tenant had 
a five-day review period to accept or reject the offer presented.   
 
However, it is important to note that the acceptance of a bona fide monetary offer is voluntary.  
The tenant shall not be pressured by anyone, including the person making the offer to accept any 
offer to vacate the property.  Pressure tactics include but are not limited to: 
 

1) Mischaracterizing or misrepresenting the rights of the tenant under the law; 
2) Implying the tenant is obligated to accept the offer;  
3) Implying that there will be consequences against the tenant for failing to accept the 

offer; 
4) Harassment, including but not limited to discontinuance of utilities, failure to 

maintain common areas or facilities, or any other failure to maintain the premises in a 
habitable condition; and 

5) An increase in rent in excess of any rent control or rent leveling ordinance, or if the 
property is not subject to rent control, an unreasonable or unconscionable rent 
increase. 



If a landlord imposes an unconscionable or unreasonable rent increase on a tenant in an attempt 
to get the tenant to move, the tenant should contact the local rent control board in the city or 
town where the property is located to file a complaint.  If the rental unit is not controlled by rent 
leveling, then the tenant must dispute the unreasonable increase by going to court.  See our Rent 
Increase Bulletin for information on unconscionable rent increases.   
 
Notice to Municipality 
A creditor serving a summons and complaint to foreclose on a residential property must, within 
10 days of serving the summons and complaint, notify the municipal clerk of the municipality in 
which the property is located with a copy of the notice at the same time it is served on the owner.  
The municipal clerk shall forward a copy of the notice to the public officer, or other local 
officials responsible for enforcing property maintenance or public nuisance codes. (N.J.S.A. 
46:10B-51) 

 
If the owner of a residential property vacates or abandons any property on which foreclosure 
proceeding has been initiated, but not yet conveyed, and the property is found to be a nuisance or 
in violation of any applicable State or local codes, the local public officer, municipal clerk, or 
other authorized municipal official shall notify the creditor.  The creditor will have the 
responsibility to fix the nuisance or correct the violations.  (N.J.S.A. 46:10B-51) 
 
Self-Help Evictions or Lockouts 
A landlord may not attempt a self-help eviction or lockout.  Self-help evictions occur when the 
landlord or someone acting on the landlord’s behalf enters into the dwelling unit without the 
permission of the tenant and without a judgment from the Court and forces the tenant to move, 
by removing the tenant’s personal property from the premises or shutting off utilities in an 
attempt to force the tenant to move.  A lockout occurs when the landlord padlocks the door or 
changes the locks while tenants are not home and then refuses to allow them back into the 
premises.  Self-help evictions and lockouts are illegal in New Jersey.   

 
If the landlord shuts off the utilities voluntarily or if the utilities are discontinued due to non-
payment, the tenant may contact the electric, gas, or water and wastewater public utilities 
company and have the utilities placed in the tenant’s name for continued service to be billed to 
the tenant, if a landlord-tenant relationship can be determined.  This can usually be accomplished 
by providing a copy of the lease agreement.  See the regulations for public utilities at N.J.A.C. 
14:3-3A.6.  If the landlord was responsible for the payment of those utilities, the tenant may 
deduct the utility costs paid by the tenant from the rent.  The tenant may not be evicted for 
nonpayment of rent if the tenant used the unpaid portion of the rent to continue utility services to 
the rental premises after receiving notice that the services were in danger of being discontinued 
or were discontinued. 

 
If a landlord performs an illegal lockout, the tenant should call the police immediately.  Under 
the New Jersey Criminal Code, N.J.S.A 2C:33:11, if the landlord refuses to allow the tenant back 
into the premises after the police have warned the landlord about the illegal procedure, the 
landlord may be charged with a disorderly person’s offense.   “It shall be the duty of the (police) 
officer to prevent the landlord or any other person from obstructing or hindering the reentry and 
reoccupancy of the dwelling by the displaced occupant.”  The landlord must take a tenant to 
court before he can be evicted.  Only a judge can order a legal eviction.  If the tenant does not 
show up to court on the hearing date the tenant may be evicted by default. 
 



If you are a tenant who is being wrongly evicted you should consult an attorney for legal 
assistance.  If you can’t afford an attorney, you may contact Legal Services of New Jersey to see 
if you qualify for free or reduced costs for legal services, call 1 888-576-5529.  If a residential 
tenant receives a letter during a foreclosure proceeding or after a foreclosure from a licensed real 
estate agent in violation of the New Jersey Eviction Law or the New Jersey Foreclosure Fairness 
Act, the tenant may contact the New Jersey Real Estate Commission at (609) 292-7272 to file a 
complaint against the real estate agent.  See our Grounds for an Eviction Bulletin for good 
causes for an eviction and notice requirements. 
 
Penalties 
Landlords or their agents, or employees who violate the New Jersey Foreclosure Fairness Act 
with respect to the tenant notice requirements or the treatment of tenants shall be subject to triple 
damages, or at the sole discretion of  the victimized tenant, damages in the amount of $2,000, 
plus attorney’s fees and costs. 

 
 

 



 
NOTICE TO TENANTS 

 

THE FORMER OWNER OF ____________________________________ 

(insert property address) HAS LOST THE PROPERTY AS A RESULT OF A 

FORECLOSURE.  FROM THE TIME YOU RECEIVE THIS AND UNTIL 

FURTHER NOTICE, YOU SHOULD PAY RENT TO   

_________________________________________________________________

_________________________________________________________________

_________________________________________________________________

(insert name and address of person to whom rent is due)  PLEASE SEND RENT 

BY _____________________(insert method of transmission) ON THE 

_________________(insert day) OF EACH MONTH. 

     WITH LIMITED EXCEPTIONS, THE NEW JERSEY ANTI-EVICTION 

ACT, N.J.S.A.2A:18-61.1 ET SEQ., PROTECTS YOUR RIGHT TO REMAIN 

IN YOUR HOME.  FORECLOSURE ALONE IS NOT GROUNDS FOR 

EVICTION OF A TENANT. YOU ARE PROTECTED BY THIS LAW EVEN 

IF YOU DO NOT HAVE A WRITTEN LEASE. 

     THE NEW OWNER CANNOT EVICT YOU WITHOUT "GOOD CAUSE," 

AS DETERMINED BY A COURT.   EXAMPLES OF "GOOD CAUSE" ARE 

FAILURE TO PAY RENT, WILLFULLY DAMAGING THE PREMISES, OR 

PERSONAL OCCUPANCY BY THE NEW OWNER OF THE HOUSE OR 

APARTMENT THAT YOU NOW LIVE IN. 

    A RESIDENTIAL TENANT IN NEW JERSEY CAN BE EVICTED ONLY 

THROUGH A COURT PROCESS.  ONLY A COURT OFFICER WITH A 

COURT ORDER MAY REMOVE YOU FROM THE PREMISES, AND ONLY 

AFTER YOU HAVE BEEN GIVEN THE OPPORTUNITY TO DEFEND 

YOURSELF IN COURT. 

     

 

Attachment A 



   INDIVIDUALS CAN BE SUBJECT TO BOTH CIVIL AND CRIMINAL 

PENALTIES FOR TRYING TO FORCE YOU TO LEAVE YOUR HOME IN 

ANY OTHER MANNER, INCLUDING SHUTTING OFF UTILITIES OR 

OTHER VITAL SERVICE OR FAILING TO MAINTAIN THE PREMISES.  

YOU MAY, HOWEVER, ACCEPT FINANCIAL COMPENSATION FOR 

LEAVING VOLUNTARILY IF THE NEW OWNER OFFERS SUCH 

COMPENSATION. 

     IF SOMEONE IS PRESSURING YOU TO LEAVE, CONSULT WITH AN 

ATTORNEY. 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 



AVISO A INQUILINOS 
 

EL ANTERIOR DUEÑO DE __________________________________________ 

(incluir la dirección de la propiedad) HA PERDIDO DICHA PROPIEDAD 

COMO RESULTADO DE UNA EJECUCIÓN HIPOTECARIA (FORECLOSURE 

EN INGLÉS). A PARTIR DE LA FECHA EN QUE USTED RECIBA ESTE 

AVISO Y HASTA NUEVO AVISO, USTED DEBE PAGAR LA RENTA A 

__________________________________________________________________ 

__________________________________________________________________

__________________________________________________________________ 

(incluir el nombre y la dirección de la persona que recibirá el pago de la renta). 

POR FAVOR ENVÍE LA RENTA POR ______________ (incluir método de 

pago) EL DÍA _____________________ (incluir día) DE CADA MES. 

CON ALGUNAS EXCEPCIONES, LA LEY ANTIDESALOJO DE NEW 

JERSEY (N.J.S.A.2A:18-61.1 ET SEQ.) PROTEGE SU DERECHO A 

PERMANECER DONDE VIVE. LA EJECUCIÓN HIPOTECARIA POR SÍ 

SOLA NO JUSTIFICA EL DESALOJO DE INQUILINOS. USTED ESTÁ 

PROTEGIDO POR ESTA LEY, INCLUSO AUNQUE NO TENGA UN 

CONTRATO DE RENTA POR ESCRITO. 

EL NUEVO PROPIETARIO NO PUEDE DESALOJARLO SIN UNA 

“RAZÓN VÁLIDA” DETERMINADA POR UNA CORTE. EJEMPLOS DE 

UNA “RAZÓN VÁLIDA” SON FALTA DE PAGO DE LA RENTA, DAÑO 

INTENCIONAL A LA PROPIEDAD, O QUE EL NUEVO DUEÑO VAYA A 

OCUPAR LA CASA O APARTAMENTO DONDE USTED VIVE. 

UN INQUILINO RESIDENCIAL EN NEW JERSEY SÓLO PUEDE SER 

DESALOJADO A TRAVÉS DE UN PROCESO JUDICIAL. SÓLO UN OFICIAL 

DE LA CORTE CON UNA ORDEN JUDICIAL PUEDE DESALOJARLO DE 

SU RESIDENCIA, PERO SÓLO DESPUÉS DE QUE USTED TENGA LA 

OPORTUNIDAD DE DEFENDERSE EN LA CORTE. 

 

Attachment A 



QUIEN TRATE DE CUALQUIER OTRA MANERA DE FORZARLO A 

DESALOJAR SU VIVIENDA, YA SEA CORTANDO LOS SERVICIOS 

BÁSICOS O DEJANDO DE MANTENER LA PROPIEDAD, PUEDE SER 

SUJETO A CASTIGOS CIVILES Y PENALES. SIN EMBARGO, SI EL NUEVO 

DUEÑO LE OFRECE COMPENSACIÓN ECONÓMICA PARA QUE USTED 

SALGA DE LA VIVIENDA POR SU PROPIA VOLUNTAD, USTED PUEDE 

ACEPTARLA. SI ALGUIEN LO ESTÁ PRESIONANDO PARA QUE SE 

VAYA, CONSULTE CON UN ABOGADO. 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 



NOTICE TO RESIDENTIAL TENANTS OF RIGHTS DURING 

FORECLOSURE  

 

A FORECLOSURE ACTION HAS BEEN FILED CONCERNING 

_________________________________________________________________ 

(insert address of property) AND THE OWNERSHIP OF THE PROPERTY 

MAY CHANGE AS A RESULT.  

UNTIL OWNERSHIP OF THE PROPERTY CHANGES OR YOU ARE 

OTHEWISE INFORMED BY THE COURT OR THE MORTGAGE HOLDER, 

YOU SHOULD CONTINUE TO PAY RENT TO THE LANDLORD OR TO A 

RENT RECEIVER, IF ONE IS APPOINTED BY THE COURT.  YOU 

SHOULD KEEP RECEIPTS OR CANCELLED CHECKS OF YOUR RENT 

PAYMENTS.  IF YOU ARE NOT SURE HOW OR WHERE TO PAY RENT, 

SAVE YOUR RENT MONEY SO THAT YOU WILL HAVE IT WHEN THE 

OWNER DEMANDS IT.  NONPAYMENT OF RENT IS GROUNDS FOR 

EVICTION.   

FORECLOSURE ALONE IS GENERALLY NOT GROUNDS TO 

REMOVE A BONA FIDE RESIDENTIAL TENANT.  TENANTS WHO 

WANT TO STAY IN THEIR HOMES CAN BE REMOVED ONLY 

THROUGH A COURT PROCESS.  WITH LIMITED EXCEPTIONS, THE 

NEW JERSEY “ANTI-EVICTION ACT” PROTECTS RESIDENTIAL 

TENANTS’ RIGHTS TO REMAIN IN THEIR HOME.  THIS LAW 

INCLUDES PROTECTION FOR TENANTS WHO DO NOT HAVE 

WRITTEN LEASES.  

IT IS UNLAWFUL FOR ANYONE TO TRY TO FORCE YOU TO 

LEAVE YOUR HOME OUTSIDE THE COURT PROCESS, INCLUDING BY 

SHUTTING OFF UTILITIES OR FAILING TO MAINTAIN THE PREMISES.   
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