The Code Advisory Board provides advice and assistance to the Commissioner in the administration of the Uniform Construction Code. 

There are 15 members designated by statute (N.J.S.A. 52:27D-125)—four are public members that are not designated to represent a specific interest group.  However, of the four undesignated public members, two now represent specific interest groups—one member represents elevator inspectors and chairs the Elevator Safety Subcode Committee; the other represents technical assistants who manage the local code enforcement offices and assist construction officials in the administration of the Uniform Construction Code.  The other 11 members hold designated seats as follows:  licensed fire prevention inspector; public member representing people with disabilities; licensed professional engineer (mechanical);  licensed electrical inspector; architect; licensed professional engineer (structural); public health official; builder; municipal building official; public member representing consumers; and licensed plumbing inspector. These seats are appointed by the Commissioner and the terms are for four years; the membership list follows:

  • top of page
  • Board Members




    Beth Pochtar, PE
    (Chair, CAB)


    Professional Engineer

    Anthony Neibert
    (Vice-Chair, CAB)
    (Chair, Electrical Subcode Committee) 


    Licensed Electrical Inspector

    Charles Baldanza, RA, PE, PP



    Douglas Boydston
    (Chair, Elevator Subcode Committee)


    Public Member 

    Mark Caputo


    Public Health Official

    John Del Colle
    (Chair, Barrier Free Subcode Committee)


    Public Member, Advocate for People with Disabilities

    Kathy Herity 


    Public Member 

    Arthur Londensky
    (Chair, Fire Protection Subcode Committee)
    2010 Licensed Fire Prevention Inspector
    Robert Mellohusky, P.E.
    (Chair, Mechanical/Energy Subcodes Committee)
    2018  Licensed Professional Engineer (Mechanical)
    Gregory Moten, AIA  2001 Architect

    Steven Rodzinak
    (Chair, Plumbing Subcode Committee)


    Licensed Plumbing Inspector

    Michael Seeve


    Public Member

    William Tevald


    Public Member

    Valerie Waricka
    (Represents Technical Assistants)


    Public Member

    Michelle Wood
    (Chair, Building Subcode Committee)


    Municipal Building Official

    The Code Advisory Board typically meets the second Friday, every other month, beginning in February.  All meetings are held at the Department of Community Affairs, 101 South Broad Street, Trenton, Room 129**.  The meetings begin promptly at 9:30 a.m.

    top of page
  • 2023 Board Meetings
    Feb 10 - Agenda; Minutes 
    Apr 14 - Agenda; Minutes
    Jun 09 - Agenda; Minutes (to be approved at next meeting)
    Aug 11 - Cancelled
    Oct 13 - Cancelled
    Dec 08

    ** For those of you from the public that would like to attend virtually (currently, the only option), please see the applicable Agenda above for instructions.  Otherwise, please reach out to

    top of page
  • Previous Board Minutes
    2022 - 2021
    2020 - 2014
    2013 - 2008
    top of page