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Candidate Information Bulletin 

State of New Jersey 
Multiple Dwelling Inspector Examination 

The New Jersey Hotel and Multiple Dwelling Inspector exam provides an evaluation 
of minimum competency of the individuals who inspect hotels and multiple 
dwellings. The State of New Jersey has contracted with Prometric Inc. to 
administer this exam. 

Follow these main steps if you are interested in taking the New Jersey Multiple 
Dwelling Inspector exam. 

To take an exam 
1 Register and schedule an exam appointment with Prometric—Page 1. 

2 Prepare for your exam, using this bulletin and other materials—Page 3. 

3 Present your required identification and take your exam—Page 4. 

 

To get answers not provided in this bulletin 
For questions about exams: 

Prometric 
ATTN: NJMDI Program 
1260 Energy Lane 
St. Paul, MN 55108 
Phone: 800.864.5309 
www.prometric.com/NewJersey/Multiple
+Dwelling+Inspector.htm 

For questions about licensing: 

Department of Community Affairs 
Code Official Licensing Unit 
P.O. Box 816 
Trenton, NJ 08625-0816 
Phone: 609.984.7834 
www.nj.gov/dca/divisions/codes/offices/licensing_cont_ed.html 

 To register for an exam, you must complete the following steps: 

1 Register for your exam online or by phone. 
2 Pay the exam fee ($96). 
3 Schedule an appointment to take your exam. 
 
Online exam registration and scheduling 
To register and schedule your exam online at any time: 
1 Access www.prometric.com/NewJersey/Multiple+Dwelling+Inspector.htm 
2 Click on Continue under the “Do more” tab and follow the prompts. 
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Register and schedule an exam by phone 
You may register and schedule your examination by calling 800.864.5309 between 
8 a.m. and 9 p.m. (Eastern time), Monday through Friday. Please have your Visa 
or MasterCard information available. At the end of the call, you will be given a 
number confirming your appointment. Record and keep this confirmation number 
for your records. 

Exam fee 
The exam fee of $96 is payable by Visa or MasterCard at the time you register and 
schedule for your exam. Fees are not refundable or transferable. 

Test center locations 
You may take your exam at any Prometric test center in the United States. 
A complete list of test center locations may be found by going to 
www.prometric.com/NewJersey/Multiple+Dwelling+Inspector.htm and clicking 
on the “Do More” button. Alternatively, you may call 800.853.5448. Test center 
locations are subject to change. Be sure to verify the address of and directions to 
your destination before you leave for your exam. 

Holidays. Testing generally does not occur on the following holidays: 

 New Year’s Day 
 Martin Luther King Jr. Day 
 Presidents’ Day  
 Memorial Day 

 Independence Day 
 Labor Day 
 Thanksgiving Day 
 Christmas Day 

Additional state holidays may be observed in the state where you schedule your 
exam appointment. 

 ADA accommodation. If you require testing accommodations under the 
Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA), please call Prometric at 888.226.9406 to 
obtain an accommodation request form. Reasonable testing accommodations are 
provided to allow candidates with documented disabilities recognized under the 
ADA an opportunity to demonstrate their skills and knowledge. 

Candidates should submit professional documentation of the disability with their 
form to help us determine the necessary testing arrangements. Thirty days’ 
advance notice is required for all testing arrangements. There is no additional 
charge for these accommodations. 

ESL note. If English is your second language, please note that a language barrier 
is not considered a disability. 

 To avoid an additional fee, you must contact Prometric at least three full 
business days before the day of your originally scheduled appointment. 

Rescheduling fees will apply as follows: 

 No fee if you reschedule on the fourth business day or sooner prior to your 
appointment date. 

 $40 fee if you reschedule one to three business days before your appointment 
date. 

 Another full examination fee if you reschedule on or after your appointment 
date. 

 

Special test 
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This schedule does not include weekends or holidays since they are not business 
days. You will need to call earlier if a weekend or holiday is involved. You may pay 
any additional fee with Visa or MasterCard and reschedule your appointment 
online or by calling Prometric at 800.864.5309. 

If absent or late for your appointment 
If you miss your appointment or arrive late and are not allowed to test, you will 
need to reschedule your exam and pay another full examination fee. 

If you are unable to attend your scheduled exam due to illness or emergency, call 
Prometric. Under certain circumstances, the fee to reschedule may be waived. 
Prometric reserves the right to request documentation to support any illness or 
emergency claim. 

Emergency closings 
Severe weather or an emergency could require canceling scheduled exams. If this 
occurs, Prometric will attempt to contact you by phone or e-mail; however, you 
may check for testing site closures by calling Prometric. If the site is closed, your 
exam will be rescheduled without a rescheduling fee. 

If a test center is open for testing and you choose not to appear for your 
appointment, your fee will be forfeited and you will need to pay another full 
examination fee to reschedule your exam. 

 The exam content outline below is the basis for the exam. The outline lists all 
topics covered in the exam and the number of questions asked about each topic. 
The exam consists of multiple-choice questions with all questions weighted 
equally. A score of 70 percent or above is required to pass the exam. 

Multiple Dwelling Inspector exam 
Open Book, 50 questions, 3 hours 

Scope – The scope of work for a Multiple Dwelling Inspector is to inspect hotels 
and multiple dwellings in the State of New Jersey for minimum maintenance 
requirements and standards in the interest of public safety, health and welfare. 

Exam Topic Number of Questions 
Law 5 
Fire Code 20 
Life Safety (other than fire code) 10 
Non-Life Safety (other than fire code & life safety) 15 

 

Exam references 
The following references were used to develop the exam and are allowed in the 
test center. The exam is based on the edition listed below. You may use older 
editions of references at your own discretion. However, older editions may or may 
not contain applicable information to the content on the exam. You assume the 
risk of using an older reference than that listed below. 

1. New Jersey Hotel and Multiple Dwelling Law, N.J.S.A. 55:13 A-1 / 13A-28, 
www.state.nj.us/dca/divisions/codes/publications/pdf_bhi/h_md_law.pdf. 
(2011) 

2. New Jersey Hotel and Multiple Dwelling Regulations, (N.J.A.C. 5:10), 
www.nj.gov/dca/divisions/codes/codreg/pdf_regs/njac_5_10.pdf. (2011) 

 

Exam content 
outline 
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3. New Jersey Uniform Fire Code, Subchapter 4, www.michie.com/newjersey/ 
lpext.dll?f=templates&fn=tools-contents.htm&cp=/&2.0, then go to Title 5 
Community Affairs, Chapter 70 Uniform Fire Code, Subchapter 4 Fire Safety 
Code. (2011) 

The reference standards can be found online as well at 
www.nj.gov/dca/divisions/codes/offices/licensing_cont_ed.html. 

NOTE: Handwritten or additional notes (letters, words, diagrams, etc.), and 
highlighting and permanent tabbing are allowed in the references if done prior to 
the exam. Post-it notes are not considered permanent tabbing and will not be 
allowed. Sharing reference materials is not allowed. Any reference materials that 
have been written in during the exam will be confiscated. 

 Exams are administered using Prometric’s user-friendly, Microsoft Windows-
based, computerized testing system. You do not need computer experience to use 
this system. In fact, you only use five keys on the entire keyboard to take the 
test. The other keys are disabled. Before you start the exam, you will be given a 
personalized introduction to the testing system. 

Arrival. You should arrive at least 30 minutes before your scheduled 
examination appointment in order to verify your identification and allow time for 
you to sign in. 

Identification required. You must present a valid form of identification before you 
can test. That identification document must: 

 Be government-issued (e.g., driver’s license, state-issued identification card, 
passport, or military identification card). 

 Contain both a current photo and your signature. 
 Have a name that exactly matches the name used to register for the exam 

(including designations such as “Jr.” and “III”). 

Important Failure to provide appropriate identification at the time of the exam 
is considered a missed appointment. You will need to pay another exam fee to 
reschedule your exam appointment. 

 
 To ensure that all candidates are tested under equally favorable conditions, the 

following regulations and procedures will be observed at each test center. Failure 
to follow any of these security procedures may result in the disqualification of your 
examination 

1 You will be continuously monitored by video, physical walk-throughs and the 
observation window during your test. All testing sessions are video and audio 
recorded. 

2 You must present valid (unexpired) and acceptable ID(s) in order to take your 
test. (See “Identification required” in the above section). 

3 You are required to sign out on the test center roster each time you leave the 
test room. You must also sign back in and show your ID to the Test Center 
Administrator (TCA) in order to be re-admitted to the test room. 

4 You are prohibited from communicating, publishing, reproducing, or 
transmitting any part of your test, in any form or by any means, verbal or 
written, for any purpose. 

5 You must not talk to other candidates or refer to their screens, testing 
materials, or written notes in the test room. 

Taking your 
exam 

  
Test center 
regulations 
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6 You must not use written notes, published materials, or other testing aids, 
except those allowed as listed in the “exam references” section on Page 3. 

7 You are allowed to bring soft ear plugs or center-supplied tissues in the test 
room. 

8 Any clothing or jewelry items allowed to be worn in the test room must remain 
on your person at all times. Removed clothing or jewelry items must be stored 
in your locker. 

9 You must not bring any personal/unauthorized items into the testing room. 
Such items include but are not limited to: outerwear, hats, food, drinks, purses, 
briefcases, notebooks, pagers, watches, cellular telephones, recording devices, 
and photographic equipment. Weapons are not allowed at any Prometric Test 
center. You will be asked to empty and turn your pockets inside out prior to 
every entry into the test room to confirm that you have no prohibited items. 

10 You will be scanned with a metal detector wand prior to every entry into the test 
room. If you refuse, you cannot test. 

11 You must return all materials issued to you by the TCA at the end of your test. 
12 You are not allowed to use any electronic devices or phones during breaks. 
13 Your test may have either scheduled or unscheduled breaks, which are 

determined by the State. The TCA can inform you what is specifically permitted 
during these breaks. 

14 Repeated or lengthy departures from the test room for unscheduled breaks will 
be reported by the TCA. 

15 If you need access to an item stored in the test center during a break such as 
food or medicine, you must inform the TCA before you retrieve the item. You 
are not allowed to access any prohibited item (as defined by the State for the 
test you are taking). 

16 You must conduct yourself in a civil manner at all times when on the premises of 
the test center. Exhibiting abusive behavior towards the TCA, or any other staff 
member of the test center, may result in criminal prosecution. 

17 To protect the privacy of all testers, the TCA can neither confirm nor deny if any 
particular individual is present or scheduled at the test center. 

18 Persons not scheduled to take a test are not permitted to wait in the test center. 
 

If questions arise. Test center administrators are not allowed to answer any 
questions pertaining to the exam content. If you do not understand a question on 
the examination, you should answer the question to the best of your ability. 

Copyrighted questions. All test questions are the property of Prometric Inc. and 
are protected by copyright. Federal law provides severe civil and criminal penalties 
for the unauthorized reproduction, distribution, or exhibition of copyrighted 
materials. 

 At the end of your exam, your score will be shown on the screen and you will 
receive a printed score report. The report indicates whether you passed or failed. 
Exam scores are confidential and will be revealed only to you and the State. 

Passing score. A score of 70 percent or above is required to pass the exam. 
If you pass the exam, please contact the State for information about obtaining 
your license. 

 

 

 

Your exam 
results 
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Retake information. If you did not pass the exam, the score report will indicate 
your overall score and number of questions answered correctly on each major 
section of the exam. These section scores are shown to guide you about areas 
requiring additional preparation before retesting. If you do not pass, you will need 
to re-register for the exam and pay another exam fee. 

Note There is no limit to the number of times you may take an exam, however, 
it is recommended that you spend some time studying between attempts. 
 

Duplicate score report. You may call or write to Prometric to request a duplicate 
of your score report for a period of one year after taking an exam. You will be 
charged a $15 processing fee per report. 

 Our goal is to provide a quality exam and a pleasant testing experience for every 
candidate. If you are dissatisfied with either and believe we can correct the 
problem, we would like to hear from you. We provide an opportunity for general 
comments at the end of your exam. Your comments will be reviewed by our 
personnel, but you will not receive a direct response. 

If you are requesting a response about exam content, registration, scheduling or 
test administration (testing site procedures, equipment, personnel, etc.), please 
submit an appeal in writing. Your appeal letter must provide your name and 
ID number, the exam title, the date you tested and the details of your concern, 
including all relevant facts. Be sure to include your signature and return address. 
Mail your appeal letter to: 

Prometric 
ATTN: Appeals Committee 

1260 Energy Lane 
St. Paul, MN 55108 

The Appeals Committee will review your concern and send you a written response 
within 10 business days of receipt. Faxed appeals are not accepted because an 
original signature is required. 

  
Appeals process 


