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SUMMARY OF RULE CHANGES IN MAY 16, 2016 TRANSMITTAL 
(including April 4, 2016 transmittal and 2015 changes to UCC Act) 

 
 
N.J.S.A. 52:27D-123f and 124, Carbon monoxide detectors required in certain 
structures:  Per P.L. 2015, c.146, the requirement for the installation of carbon monoxide 
devices has been expanded to all occupancies.  (Please note that rules will be proposed and 
adopted to implement this requirement.) 
 
N.J.S.A. 52:27D-126e, Waiving of construction permit, enforcing agency fees for 
certain construction projects to benefit disabled persons:  Per P.L. 2015, c.273, a 
municipality shall not charge a person who has a service-connected disability declared by the 
United States Department of Veterans Affairs, or its successor, to be a total or 100% 
permanent disability that would entitle them to a property tax exemption under section 1 of 
P.L.1948, c.259 (C.54:4-3.30) or a spouse, parent, sibling, or guardian of the disabled 
veteran, a construction permit surcharge fee or enforcing agency fee for any construction, 
reconstruction, alteration, or improvement designed and undertaken solely to promote 
accessibility by the disabled veteran to his own living unit. 
 
N.J.S.A. 52:27D-131. Construction permits; application, approval, expiration, 
cancellation, extension:  Per P.L. 2015, c.159, applications limited to the construction of a 
ramp designed to provide wheelchair access to a one- or two-unit dwelling, and required for 
such access by a resident of the dwelling shall be granted or denied within five business 
days.  (Please note that rules will be proposed and adopted to implement this requirement.) 
 
April 4, 2016 New Jersey Register 
 
N.J.A.C. 5:23-3.4, Responsibilities: The adopted amendments contain the assignment of 
enforcement responsibilities for the 2015 I Codes, 2015 NSPC and 2014 NEC, now adopted 
as subcodes of the UCC.  N.J.A.C. 5:23-7.15 is repealed because Chapter 11 of the building 
subcode, and ICC A117.1-2009 as referenced therein, are now the standard for accessibility 
and enforcement responsibility is assigned in N.J.A.C. 5:23-3.4. 
 
 

 



N.J.A.C. 5:23-12.6, Tests and inspection fees:  The adopted amendment here modifies the 
Department fees for inspections and witnessing of tests on devices installed in buildings of 
Group R-3, Group R-4, Group R-5 or otherwise exempt devices in Group R-2. This 
amendment reduces the fees charged for dumbwaiters, stairway chairlifts, inclined and 
vertical wheelchair lifts from $227.00 to $76.00, to bring them in line with fees charged for 
such devices installed in other occupancies. 
 
May 16, 2016 New Jersey Register 
 
N.J.A.C. 5:23-4.18 and 4.20, Fees:  For large open-volume buildings, the adopted 
amendments cap the height at 20 feet for purposes of calculating the volume upon which the 
fee is based. This will reduce the fee to reflect more accurately the associated work for the 
construction code enforcing agency. 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
NOTE:  This summary lists only the changes to the regulations initiated by the Department of Community 
Affairs.  There may be other replacement pages included in this transmittal as a result of formatting changes 
(changes to the arrangement of text on the page) made by the publisher, administrative corrections made by the 
Office of Administrative Law, or recently decided court cases which are listed in the notes following each 
section. 
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