NEW JERSEY FIRE SAFETY COMMISSION ARTICLE VIII – ADVISORY COUNCILS

Section 1:

There shall be the following seven standing advisory councils:

Uniform Fire Safety Act (Codes) Training and Education Statistics and Information Master Planning and Research Public Education Firefighter Safety and Health Youth Firesetter Prevention

Section 2:

The Uniform Fire Safety Act (Codes) Advisory Council shall advise concerning the adoption, implementation, and revision of the Uniform Fire Safety Act. **Chairperson:** Arthur Londensky; **Division Liaison:** Pete D'Amore

Section 3:

The Training and Education Advisory Council shall advise concerning the training and education of firefighters and inspectors. At least 60% of the members of this Advisory Council shall be representatives of the volunteer fire service.

Chairperson: Lawrence Wood; Division Liaison: Kent Neiswender

Section 4:

The Statistics and Information Advisory Council shall advise concerning the collection, analysis, and dissemination of statistics and information relevant to fire safety. **Chairperson:** Gerard Naylis ; **Division Liaison:** Vincent Campagna

Section 5:

The Master Planning and Research Advisory Council shall advise concerning the development of plans and programs for the improvement of the fire service and the enhancement of fire safety.

Chairperson: Raymond Heck; Division Liaison: Jerry Clark

Section 6:

The Public Education Advisory Council shall advise concerning public fire safety education and a public information program on fire prevention. **Chairperson:** Daniel DeTrolio; **Division Liaison:** Charles Lavin

Section 7:

The Firefighter Safety and Health Advisory Council shall advise concerning health and safety standards as well as the development of recommendations for new standards for consideration by the Commission. At least 50% of the members of this advisory council shall be representatives of the volunteer fire service.

Chairperson: Richard Blohm; Division Liaison: Vincent Campagna

Section 8:

Youth Firesetter Prevention Advisory Council

Chairperson: Kathleen O'Leary, Division Liaison: Charles Lavin

Section 9:

Each Advisory Council shall consist of a Chairperson and a Vice Chairperson, who shall be members of the Commission, and at least 11 persons who are experienced and knowledgeable in matters related to the subject matter that is within the Advisory Council's jurisdiction. The Chairperson of the Commission shall appoint the Advisory Council Chairperson and the Vice Chairperson. The Commissioner and members of the Commission shall make recommendations to the Commission for the appointment of Advisory Council members for a term of two years. A majority of the Commission members present and voting shall make appointment.

Section 10:

It shall be the duty of each Advisory Council Chairperson:

To call meetings of the Advisory Council

To report verbally on the work of the Advisory Council at each Commission meeting.

To file written reports of the work of the Advisory Council as appropriate, but at least annually during the month of August, with the Chairperson of the Commission and with the Commissioner.

Section 11:

It shall be the duty of each Advisory Council vice Chairperson, in the absence of the Chairperson, to report to the Commission concerning the meetings and activities of the respective Advisory Council.

Section 12:

All members of the Commission other than the Advisory Council Chairperson and Vice Chairperson shall be non-voting members of each Advisory Council.

Section 13:

The Commission may, upon request, appoint the representative of any State agency, which has an interest in the activities of an advisory council, to serve as a non-voting member of any standing Advisory Council that may be established by the Commission.

Section 14:

An Advisory Council can hold an official meeting only if the Chairperson or Vice Chairperson is present.